Koukaku Kidoutai Arise: Ghost in the Shell - Border:3 Ghost Tears


Ghost in the Shell: Arise - Border 3: Ghost Tears

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Ghost in the Shell: Arise - Border 3: Ghost Tears
Synonyms: Ghost in the Shell: Arise - Border:3 Ghost Tears
Japanese: 攻殻機動隊ARISE -GHOST IN THE SHELL- border:3 Ghost Tears

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 28, 2014
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Genres: Sci-FiSci-Fi, PolicePolice, PsychologicalPsychological, MechaMecha
Duration: 58 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.371 (scored by 1776317,763 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #20302
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2637
Members: 37,781
Favorites: 30
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 28, 2014
lunarlandor (All reviews)
TRIVIA: The third episode of Arise is subtitled "Ghost Tears" because the franchise is presently balled in a corner weeping from the garbage juice squirted into its eyes.

Preface: I usually don't bother to write reviews unless I find myself auto-forming a review in my head as I watch. This occurred during the third episode of Arise because the flaws are so glaring they jump out at you neatly wrapped; it almost feels like this review has been written for me and I'm merely transcribing. Easy as transcribing is I still wouldn't post, unless what I saw which seemed so obviously godawful to me had yet read more
Jun 30, 2014
Stellio (All reviews)
Ghost Tears opens with Motoko making passionate love to her then-lover, Akira, later even featuring the two attending another couple’s wedding with Motoko wearing a rather promiscuous, alluring dress. Her colleagues, especially Batou, make fun of how fatuous and short-lasting this relationship is. How does Motoko respond? She hacks Batou’s prosthetic arms, again reminding him of how humiliating it is to be punched by your own fists.

Being the third installment to the Ghost in the Shell Arise series, Ghost Tears is quite the bombshell. A sexy and assertive Motoko leads an investigation into a terrorist organization whose symbol is the Scylla, an ancient sea-monster. read more
Jun 30, 2014
iHitokage (All reviews)
So another GITS is here. This time we learn something new about Major's past and also about the legendary Section 9.

I think this Arise series is getting better and better with every episode. I really enjoyed this one and I think it was the best on of Arise so far. I loved the thoughts about the cyberbodies, are they real bodies or just a things?

This film contains again all the GITS stuff like hacking into other people's minds, problems with some body parts, super cool Motoko Kusanagi and of course all the other characters, logicomas etc.

We can see again cyborgs and humans side by read more
Aug 12, 2014
Po_and_Dong (All reviews)
Arise has been a little bit up and down so far, and the series has yet to get into the same league as the films and SAC, but the latest Arise episode succeeds at being its own thing while bringing in classic element from both previous iterations. Ghost in the Shell: Arise - Border:3 Ghost Tears is the first Arise episode to show what the other ones lacked, Section 9 back in action, and this certainly works in favor of this new episode. This is what you should expect from this movie: a SAC style plot with the most intricate storyline so far in Arise, read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
The chance to watch more Ghost in the Shell is always one that I leap at and so far, Arise, the new series of hour-long prequel stories, has not disappointed. Rife with action, great science, and some interesting bits of character development, it’s been a highly successful attempt at rekindling interest in the series for both established fans and newcomers alike. Ghost Tears, the recently released third episode, continues the false memory storyline of the first two episodes while giving us another pretty good case that the newly formed Section 9 must solve. Terrorists are blowing up politicians and facilities dealing with water. These terrorists read more
Mar 16, 2016
morbious37 (All reviews)
Themes:

Evolution of Section 9.

Are we our bodies? Are our bodies just a tool? If our bodies are a tool, then what are we, a soul?

The power of an idea, the hero as idea/meme (hearkening back to the concept of Stand Alone Complex)

How a "full human" fits in a cyborg world.

Loss, what happens after a tragedy.

We see a much more sensual Major in this, and after seeing this, it makes sense why Major was never one for much romance.

Speaking of Major, there are some sweet scenes in the cyber world, with some moderate fanservice, but this reminds me of how much less fanservice read more
May 10, 2017
FAKEANIMEGIRL (All reviews)
This was probably the best Arise episode so far. It's also the one with the least amount of action. And the lowest rating on MyAnimeList. I'll use that to support my observation. But still that advantage is so slight that I'm not even sure if it was better than the first episode. My main reasoning for this is that it turns the focus away from being a detective thriller back towards world building and character development. This means Arise is getting closer to that chemistry that made Stand Alone Complex such a winner. This comes at a somewhat unnecessary cost, however, when the actual action-centric read more
Dec 15, 2020
lethargilistic (All reviews)
The Major having a boyfriend doesn't NECESSARILY have to be a fucking terrible idea that should never be attempted, but it's a thin-as-hell tightrope to walk. This movie decided "to hell with that" and went all-in on being lowkey offensive about it. That scene where they ticked off the Majora's recent romantic liaisons and all of them were men? Unbelievable. Had the people who wrote this even ever watch Ghost in the Shell before?

It's all the more painfully obvious that this angle was just going through the motions when the Major and her boyfriend go to a party and she's in this hideous dress that read more