Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Date A Live II


Alternative Titles

English: Date A Live II
Synonyms: Date A Live 2
Japanese: デート・ア・ライブⅡ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 10
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 12, 2014 to Jun 14, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2014
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:35 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production IMS
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.431 (scored by 182,810 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19162
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #261
Members: 307,424
Favorites: 1,758

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 13, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
A series based on dating. Date a Live wastes no time adapting this concept by having Shido Itsuka date various girls/spirits, earn their feelings, and kiss them to seal the deal. As a harem show, you’d expect all the girls drooling over him. While that’s partially right, it also adds additional elements because those so-called girls aren’t actually normal as part of society. Instead, they are spirits, born with supernatural powers who are viewed as a threat to their world. Date a Live II continues directly after the events for season 1. It continues to mush around its formulation of dating and turns it into read more
Jun 17, 2014
StyleF1re (All reviews)
Updated: 13, July 2016


Once again, the momentum of an ambitious premiere is carried straight into a brick wall. Although I reserved my expectations heading into this sequel, I certainly anticipated more than ten episodes of a disgrace. Date A Live II strayed away from the merits which put its prequel on the map, such as the charms of the vivacious heroines or remarkable humor tied to a spectrum of dating simulation choices. It was only yesterday that an udon shop launched an eventful assault on the core group (en route to a local hot spring). It was only yesterday that Shidou matched wits and fists read more
Jun 2, 2014
LawfulEngineer (All reviews)
Still new at reviews but here I go. Date A Live 2, continues the story about Shido, who is a boy who has the ability to seal spirits, thus preventing them from doing large-scale damage, through dating them and eventually kissing them. In this second season, the story is slow to start, but it introduces the Twins spirits and the Diva spirit, along with an inverse version of an earlier spirit (no spoilers here lol).

I enjoyed Date A Live because of the unusualness of the plot. I mean, I haven't heard of a show where a person dates someone, and read more
Jun 13, 2014
LeikoHaran (All reviews)
There comes a time while watching anime where you get this kind of 'itch' that can only be scratched by a very specific genre of show, for some people this itch could be an over-the-top action show like Black Lagoon. for others it could be a good mind-fuck show like Serial Experiments Lain or Evangelion. But for me and my easily-satisfied outlook on anime, this 'itch' is most commonly a dumb harem show with beautiful girls and a dash of action! So when I found out that one of my favourite harem was getting a sequel? Well that was all gravy for me!

Story - 7/10:
I've read more
Jun 13, 2014
MasiTronXIII (All reviews)
This is hard for me because I am a fan of the Date A Live light novel series. It really is hard. Date A Live II was the planned second season of Date A Live and it covers Light Novel volumes 5, 6, and 7. It was only 10 episodes long which in itself was already disappointing before the series even started. The story for Date A Live is silly. Even in the first season there isn't much, but it's much better than what we saw here in this second one.

Date A Live II starts the season with filler which was a disaster since read more
Oct 29, 2014
ryuu9876541 (All reviews)
Ok, where do I start with this massive disappointment. I'll start off with saying that I loved the first Date-A-Live anime and I do not consider myself the biggest fan of this series and I have not read the light novels but this sequel was so disappointing. If this sequel follows the light novel exactly then good job but this sequel pales so much in comparison to the first one because nothing new happens! Date-A-Live II feels like an exact copy and paste of what happened in the last anime but with new spirits. Yes I know it is a sequel or second season to read more
Jun 13, 2014
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Harems, a category of anime that involves one person of a specific gender, being surrounded by three or more members of the opposite gender, in hopes that they become the lover of the one person. While Harems aren't the most favorite out of all of the genres of anime, it doesn't always mean that there aren't some really good ones out there. Date A Live II, an anime in which I can safely say, is one of those few.

Story (7.89/10): For those of you who haven't seen the first season, Date A Live is an anime series that revolves around our main read more
Jun 23, 2015
WildNeptune (All reviews)
Note: This review assumes you have seen the first season and might include spoilers for that season.
Date A Live II continues the exploits of Shidou to seal off the spirits with a kiss. This time around the stakes are even higher and the conquests more difficult.


There is a huge problem with Date A Live II and that is they changed the formula of the show. It used to be a decent comedy with really good action sequences and now it's more of a show with decent action sequences with overused comedy. On top of that the "Date" part of the show is gone. Do read more
Jun 22, 2015
TheBrainintheJar (All reviews)
Expecting Date A Live II to improve was probably too much. It’s obvious from the pictures that something here is going to go wrong. We already have enough goofy characters. We don’t need more. We want to see more of Tohka, Yoshino, Tokisaki and Reinne – all entertaining personalities that tend to light up any scene they’re in. Tokisaki wasn’t really defeated in the previous season, so there’s clearly more to do with her. Why add more?

The additions are not that bad, but they’re bad in a very predictable way. It starts with the twins. The problem they introduce is different enough, but just look read more
Jun 14, 2014
vince1996 (All reviews)
The sequel to anime series Date A Live aired this spring known as Date A Live II and bought with funny moments, tragic moments and more spirits for Shido's harem while keeping the other cast members in it but are seen less than in the previous season.

Story - 8
The story of Date A Live II focuses more on Shido defending himself and the spirits against the DEM rather than his attempts to 'capture/save' the sprits which does have a more dramatic and interesting story to the series but in the end it felt like to me it drifted away from Shido attempting to seal the read more
Jun 13, 2014
SweetCoconut (All reviews)
My avatar says it at all who is my favourite girl in Date A Live franchise. But neither way, let's talk about the latest season of Date A Live, Date A Live II.

So Date A Live II just follows the story from the first season. This sequel adapts the Light Novel's Volume 5-7 that only lasted for 10 episodes so the story is pretty rushed. And also, the first episode itself was a filler so basically, if you hate Tohka, just skip it to the second episode.

Keitarou Motonaga still directs this season. Notably known for directing Legend of the Galactic Heroes, School Days and more, read more
Jun 17, 2014
YuuArisato (All reviews)
Date A Live II has been an enjoyable anime for me to watch. This anime doesn't really live up to the high expectations it was given but nonetheless it was still a good anime

Story - It is obviously about Shido trying to save more spirits but I felt like there was a clearer antagonist in the story. The story progressed well in a way but I feel a lot more work should had been put in this anime.

Art - The art is kinda different and I feel it has downgraded a notch. the only one I found with an improvement on this Tobiichi read more
Nov 4, 2014
Anthony_DiGrande (All reviews)
The comedy and the fan service has just increased with this season

Date A Live II follow volumes 5-7 of the light novels. The first half of the show deals with these competitive Yamai Sisters, Kaguya and Yuzuru, who were the same spirit until one day the two were split up into two. Now they compete with each other to prove that they are the real Yamai. They have had 99 matches (25-25-49) and there last competition is to see who can seduce Shido and he would be the deciding factor. The second half of the show is Shido trying to save a spirit called "Diva", read more
Jul 29, 2015
ThisIsLelouch (All reviews)
This anime is one of the best (if not the best) i have watched so far that has gotten me so easily intrigued in the story. I have never seen anything quite like it and I've tried to look in a lot of places since i like this anime so much and can't wait for the new movie that is coming out.

WARNING may contain spoilers:
Although this season has had quite a lot less dates if any it still managed to add in some new spirits and have romantic scenes. In this season The main character Shido has gained powers from some of the spirits he read more
Jun 22, 2014
LolCaptain (All reviews)
This is my first review, so please don't hurt me. Also, this is my second time writing this due to the face >.(then an arrow pointing to the left) causing everything after it to be erased after submitting. Apologies on rushing.

This anime needs justice, and it needs it now.

Story (8):

Alright, so many parts were rushed due to the anime being only 10 episodes. The first 2 or so episodes were, in my opinion, crap. After that, the anime really got its sh*t together. First off, consider all the genres this anime has. Don't expect it to
have extremely good plot like other anime that don't read more
Jun 19, 2016
Inorichi (All reviews)
A good sequel to the first season.

DAL II was alright compared to the first season, however did not measure up to the high bar that the first season set up for it. The soundtrack was great and both the first and second season's opening complimented each other greatly. The art stayed the same as the first season, which was fine, but could have done better as many other anime of that season had good art as well. The adaptation also could have done better as the second season only had enough time to spend on 2 girls / major arcs.

I would only reccommend this anime read more
Oct 10, 2018
Seregosa (All reviews)
Don't read this if you want to read a short review or one with a lot of positive stuff in it, I will mainly write about what I didn't like and it became quite long. Since it was quite long, I also couldn't be bothered to read it again to check for grammar or redundant parts. This might be interesting to read if you wonder about the flaws of the show from the point of view of someone who actually enjoyed watching it overall.

A fatal flaw of this show is that while it’s kind of like a harem series and the very idea of making read more
Aug 20, 2014
JasonBFleece (All reviews)
This was actually a very disappointing series, especially after all the buildup from the first season. First thing that struck me was the change in art, which, for me, was very unwelcoming. The opening soundtrack was, undeniably very good (as expected from SWEET arms), and the closing wasn't bad either.

The second season was meant to be the general plot development season, however, the studio was too disorganized and couldn't notice that it was beyond their budget. They had to kill the story off right when the main plot twist was meant to happen and they spent too little time developing and concentrating on the read more
Dec 10, 2015
MAND4 (All reviews)
**THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS FROM SEASON 1, AND MINOR SPOILERS FROM SEASON 2**

*Disclaimer: The review contains heavy language and imagery; not written for pure-hearted.*

Have you ever been told to just "shut your brain off and enjoy it for what it is"? If you have been, then you must feel like you're probably missing out on something otherworldly, something you can't quite understand. Date A Live is, in short, a figurative abomination and requires aforementioned brain shutdown sequence to even get the slightest inkling of enjoyment. I entered searching for a quick time-killing fantasy action anime with some cute waifus & some harem, and I left read more
Nov 22, 2017
BCxER80 (All reviews)
Love is Strong

Story 6:
A Date to save the world?
A man has so much power that he can seal the spirits powers by a kiss.

Art 6:
Nothing special here, but the fan service was great lol

Sound 6:
The same tracks were played throughout each episode.

Character 6:
They were cute and the fan service was great as I was saying before.
The twin scene at the bench, thats where it was at.

Enjoyment 6:
I didn't have that feeling where... I wanted to watch the next episode?
It was okay wasn't like I had to watch the other episode.

Overall 6:
It was okay better than the first season read more