Youkai Watch


Yo-kai Watch

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Yokai Watch
Japanese: 妖怪ウォッチ
English: Yo-kai Watch
German: Yo-Kai Watch
Spanish: Yo-Kai Watch
French: Yo-Kai Watch
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 214
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2014 to Mar 30, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2014
Broadcast: Fridays at 18:30 (JST)
Producers: TV Tokyo, Dentsu
Studios: OLM
Source: Game
Genres: ComedyComedy, SupernaturalSupernatural
Theme: DemonsDemons
Demographic: KidsKids
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 6.501 (scored by 66896,689 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #62032
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3683
Members: 25,328
Favorites: 178

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 13, 2015
Mitsjol (All reviews)
Preliminary
I managed to watch 50 episodes in about a week!

People on the internet will tell you that this tries too hard to be the next Pokémon. But that's not true at all, this show doesn't want to be anything like Pokémon. Youkai Watch tends to be more of a comedy series with various skits than an anime about a teenage boy going on an adventure.

Don't expect much of story, but the anime has a lot of charm to it. This anime is very self-aware and most of the jokes and skits are actually really funny. Some jokes tend to get old after a lot of read more
Jan 29, 2014
sentience (All reviews)
Preliminary
The Youkai Watch anime now lacks an English subbing group for it. This is a shame as the anime is funny to watch and is currently one of the top ten children anime in Japan's Kanto region. I hope this review may be able to help change things as clearly a number of people (including myself) enjoy it. I plan to watch on and probably pick up the Japanese language at the same time, even if it will take ages for a group to pick this up again.

Youkai is a term for Japanese spirits, ghosts and monsters. A "Youki-pedia" series, this anime depend a lot read more
May 18, 2016
lillipup (All reviews)
Preliminary
Youkai Watch. It's an anime you may have heard of, a lot of people compare it to Pokémon partially due to it's growing popularity in Japan overshadowing Pokémon's. However, this anime is not actually as similar to Pokémon as it seems.

Both series center around a boy in a world filled with monsters, but the main difference is that their stories and interactions are presented completely differently. They both function as kids 'monster of the week' series but Pokémon is filled with epic battles and plots about evil teams wanting to take over the regions. In contrast, Youkai Watch is a pure humor anime consisting of read more
Apr 8, 2018
Ryntaia (All reviews)
In the slushy sea of content aimed at an audience of elementary schoolers, it can be difficult to fish up something that is actually genuinely enjoyable. There's a lot of fluff titles, a lot of preachy titles, and a lot of titles that are just dorky action. Nothing is actually wrong with being any of those things but such traits don't mark a show as noticeable in a sea of content. Especially with the competitive nature of appealing to such a young age group with a low attention span. Among this lot, Yo-Kai Watch has become another one of those successful accounts that has grabbed read more
Jan 2, 2018
GrayRealm (All reviews)
Preliminary
I watched 200 episodes of this before I decided I had enough and it is now time to try something else.I wrote a review before (after 76 episodes) and it'll be available at the end of this one.

It goes like this. This is pretty much kids anime, heavily geared towards promoting youkai merchandise. it follows "3 stories per episode" format. Meaning one episode usually contains 3 short stories, usually padded by music. The anime also heavily reuses in many places, in the beginning it is very blatant.

The anime starts in a very uninspiring way - first 20 or so episodes are dedicated to itnroducing yokai, read more
Sep 15, 2017
erikm20 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before the review, I would like to say that I am not fluent in English, so I translated my text by Google Translator, sorry if there is a mistake.

I don't have much to say about Yōkai watch, unless I'm really disappointed in this anime, it's been awhile since I've been wanting to watch, thinking it was an anime I would like a lot, since it has a slight footprint of Pokémon. Unfortunately it was wrong, this anime is not for teenagers and adults, it is only for children, you can perceive it by opening, which is very childish, it seems even old cartoon music, like read more
Feb 21, 2020
dontpanic011 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I watched on netflix they have just the first season, but they have the portugues dub, im always go for the original japanese but the portuguese dub for this show is soo good that i whatched just to see the jokes that the dub insert.

So based in what i said, i'm judging the show in the portuguese dub.

In brazil we have "pessoas da roça" its like country people i think, komassan for me do one "pessoa da roça" veeery well, his voice, and his accent are soo good that i watched the show just to see his parts.

Sorry for my poor read more