Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Monster


Alternative Titles

English: Monster
Japanese: モンスター

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 74
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2004 to Sep 28, 2005
Premiered: Spring 2004
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 00:40 (JST)
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.741 (scored by 81,364 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #372
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #147
Members: 228,418
Favorites: 10,988

Reviews

TheCriticsClub
May 1, 2009
Monster plays out like a macabre game of cat and mouse in a world that is frighteningly similar to real life. Uncomfortable subjects such as coercive human conditioning and the psychology of the sociopath, morality issues regarding the origin of evil and the value of human life, are horrifyingly, yet engagingly, realized. The protagonist, Dr. Tenma, struggles to fix that which is so remorsefully broken in his world. Monster is a chilling tale rooted in reality, a far cry from the superpowers and supernatural forces found in more detached fantasy series.

Story: 10

The writing in Monster is exceptional. The pace is a slow burn that smartly read more
I found this review Helpful
Fleure
Sep 23, 2013
"Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he does not become a monster. And when you look long into an abyss, the abyss also looks into you”--Nietzsche

Those who have seen Monster can attest collectively (whether they liked it or not) to how incredibly uncomfortable and unconventional this show is. The topic of evil is proactively exploited through revealing the extent of human depravity in conjunction with exploring matters like child abuse, mass murder, collective brainwashing, human experimentation, the value of life, and so much more. These are some themes that most people make a conscious effort to keep as far read more
I found this review Helpful
Lindle
Aug 8, 2010
If you've heard of Monster, then odds are you've probably heard of the incredible hype surrounding it. For a while, Monster has been the absolute critic's darling of anime, being the poster-boy for lofty intellectual types. Because of this, it can be very easy to imagine Monster as being overhyped.

But Monster lives up to every word of the praise it gets.

The story of Monster begins fairly simply. A skilled Neurosurgeon named Kenzo Tenma is due to perform an operation on a patient, but is called away to operate on a popular singer instead. The singer's life is saved, but his original patient dies. Dr. Tenma read more
I found this review Helpful
Xyik
Nov 18, 2007
Monster is an anime that I used to scoff at every time I saw high ratings for it. I was never really into long plot driven anime and I couldn't understand how so many people loved it, but seeing the ratings, I couldn't help but be interested. I downloaded this anime over a year ago and burned it on to 3 DVDs, never really intending to watch it. Maybe I did it because of the hype, decided that a highly acclaimed series like this was something every anime fan needed in his/her collection. Or maybe I just did it so I would have something to read more
I found this review Helpful
3pretentious5u
Jul 11, 2015
I can say I was bored, at many points. This is due to a sluggish pacing and overall length of the series. I did not find this to be the case of my experience though. It was rather the start of a subplot or side story that turned me off. Then, you have to learn about the characters in the side story and what the hell is happening and how the hell it will fit in the main story. Give it an episode or 3 and then you get a complete side story that ties in to the main story, flawlessly. Monster loves to construct read more
I found this review Helpful
UsualGuy
Jan 6, 2015
Monster is a series that sets a very big standard for mystery anime. It was written by Naoki Urasawa and many praise it as the better Death note. I had the pleasure of watching this anime and here are my thoughts.


Monster is all about atmosphere and how it reaches to the viewer. Note, i did not read the source material, the manga, so i can't comment how better it is compared to it, but let's just say it is very good. Honestly, before watching Monster, i had a completly different expectation. I thought it would rely on difficult choises and their outcomes, like how the read more
I found this review Helpful
Ranivus
Jul 26, 2008
Note: Quick Review on bottom of this review
Theres so many things that can be said about this show. Especially the overall plot, story setting, and theme. Theres so many things that can be taken or understood differently based on the viewer its pointless to point out here but, I'll first start out by saying...

I hate this show


With that being said, I'm sure all of you are all saying in unison "But you rated it a 9!" For all those saying that, I commend you Cpt. Obvious. Please allow me to explain myself.

As I have previously stated, so many situations can be taken different read more
I found this review Helpful
Seabury
May 29, 2010
Don't trust this review. Most viewers think this show is a masterpiece, thus by probability you will most likely think the same thing. I'm going to say some harsh things in this review, but even if you think my word is the gospel, you should still watch the first few episodes of the show. And remember, a 6 is not a bad score. I did not dislike this anime at all.

First, on to the good stuff. This has a premise where a man is punished for doing the right thing. It starts off excellently, following his torment and the bizarre chain of consequences following read more
I found this review Helpful
Master10K
Jan 17, 2008
Monster is a compelling Psychological, Mystery, Drama that is heavily driven by its thrilling story. Some who watch this may not be able to get into it but the rest will enjoy the experience.

Set in Germany, the story is about a very promising surgeon Dr. Tenma who ends up being betrayed, just for doing what he believed was right. However what he thought that he did was right ended up coming back to him later, for the better and worse. In the first couple episodes the series keeps on alternating from slowly developing its story to going into a time skip. However the story soon read more
I found this review Helpful
Rampant
Apr 10, 2008
Monster is an anime that has lofty aspirations and does not come close to fulfilling them. It starts out fairly exciting, but it turns into an endless menagerie of typical psychological anime bullshitting that pretends to be meaningful and significant, yet ultimately says patently obvious things and never imparts any meaning at all. I cannot stress strongly enough that from about episode 40 on this anime is horrendously slow (it is probably a 7-8 level for the first 24-26 episodes, which is why I kept watching, hoping it could somehow salvage itself).

The story is pretty interesting at first, and were this an anime that ended read more
I found this review Helpful
-LIME-
May 18, 2009
~Story~
Oh Boy. Monster is really something else. People are thrown off when they hear that this anime has 74 episodes. Quite a few people say that that it's too slow, but to those I say: "Go watch childish anime, and when you grow up, watch Monster"
Well then, to begin. This anime has an insanely high production value. It should also be said Monster has no filler episodes(they are all connected). The story follows a brain surgeon called Doctor Kenzo Tenma. The very first few episodes set the plot. But as simple as it may look when you start watching it, you will think: "this is read more
I found this review Helpful
welcome2NHK
May 27, 2014
Nothing in this world is perfect. Finding an anime without any flaws is extremely rare; or rather it's pretty much impossible. Fortunately enough, there are always exceptions to every rule, and Monster is one of them. It is a anime which came very close to this 'perfection' with it's very little flaws, complex and beautiful adaption, excellent pacing, characters filled with depth and developments with a mature storyline, creating what we would call a 'masterpiece'.

Adapted from a manga by Naoki Urasawa, who has been called a ‘living genius’ and has given us a taste of many other great manga, which includes 20th Century Boys, and read more
I found this review Helpful
Ben-Deck
Dec 11, 2015
[b]Monster[/b]
Monster is not for people without patience at all, it's really slow paced and it can feel there are a lot of eps. that could seem like fillers despite having relation to the plot but Monster requires your time because it's worth it.

[b][u]Story[/u][/b]
The story since the beginning could have gone in three different ways, the easiest one would be Tenma following orders and rescue the Major and therefore living an unhappy horrible life; The second one would be where Tenma wasn't drunk and never said the things he said in front of the kid after being drunk and angry and the kid never hearing that read more
I found this review Helpful
kajia
Nov 1, 2010
"Monster" may not be the most popular of anime - unlike say, "Death Note" or "Full Metal Alchemist", there are still plenty of people who haven't seen it - but it has attained this almost mythical status as one of the anime that's come closest to being flawless. Could this really be the Holy Grail of anime? Now, being the opinionated jackass that I am, I've never shied away from obnoxiously airing my unwanted views loudly and with extreme prejudice, however controversial they may be, and a fair share of popular anime ("FLCL", "Elfen Lied" and "Clannad" to name a few) have felt the wrath read more
I found this review Helpful
lasherluke
Jul 19, 2015
Never in a million years did I think I would enjoy a series in terms of it being about a doctor on a journey to solve a mystery, I thought for me I would of been bored within the first two episodes. How wrong I was, from the moment the first episode started and we have the religious text come up I knew I was in for something special and this became more apparent when I saw just how much was set up without having to be said. Monster is one of those series that grips you and never let's go.

Story

The story of Monster follows read more
I found this review Helpful
spiffyish
Jan 9, 2008
HOW I WAS INTRODUCED TO MONSTER:
Monster was recently recommended to me by a friend who was rather frustrated that there wasn't enough of a fanbase for such a great anime. It wasn't my usual type of anime, since I'm not a big mystery/detective fan and I doubted I would like it at first... Another note I would like to mention is that the anime and manga of Monster are very close and true to each other.

STORY (10/10):
The story is incredibly intriguing. Avoiding being redundant and giving a plot synopsis, I'll say this: Every story development pulls the watcher further in, without resorting read more
I found this review Helpful
IcehawkDown
Mar 26, 2009
You lock eyes with a girl at a party. Soon, you're talking. A few hours later you find yourself in her room, making out with her. You start to reach for a boob when.... "I don't want to take it any farther than this." Just when you thought you were about to get something, you get shut down, cockteased.

This is monster. The greatest cocktease of all time.

Don't get me wrong, it is a great show. I enjoyed it. It would have to be reasonably good for me to make it through 74 episodes of it while generally enjoying myself, but it never quite lived read more
I found this review Helpful
Playbahnosh
Feb 15, 2015
Let's get one thing out of the way first: I REALLY liked Monster! But, I wouldn't watch it again...

Monster is a down-to-Earth psychological crime drama. At first, it might appear to have supernatural elements, but I won't spoil it for you. After watching the entire thing, I would say Monster would've been great as a live-action TV series, which couldn't be said for any other anime I watched so far (and I watched quite a lot). It has everything a great series needs, a cast of characters that the audience can care about, action-packed scenes to liven up the pretty in-depth crime drama, great character read more
I found this review Helpful
linuslc
Mar 16, 2016
I liked this show so much, that I decided that it would be one of the few that I'd review, so let's go, shall we?

Story: Well I have to give this one a full score, for the simple reason that it KNOWS what it wants. What I mean by that is that this is not an action show, or a thriller that has a lot of, well, action. It's very slow paced, which can be a huge turnoff for some, and a refreshing take on storytelling for others. Now you have probably figured it out, but I belong in the latter group, and for read more
I found this review Helpful
YakuKikyo
Dec 13, 2015
In short “”””””From masterpiece to ruins””””

From such a headline, you might wonder why I would still give it a 6 ? Well, I've thought about it a lot, as on my personal page it is a 7, and I won't change it, but it is an incredibly biaised note. Normally I’d have given it a 4-5, because of the second part of the anime, but I couldn't bring myself to give that note for the review either. So iin the end I decided to take the middle path for this review and give it a 6 instead (as the show isn't bad from begining to read more
I found this review Helpful