Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nisekoi


Alternative Titles

English: Nisekoi: False Love
Synonyms: Nisekoi
Japanese: ニセコイ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 20
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 11, 2014 to May 24, 2014
Premiered: Winter 2014
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Shaft
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.841 (scored by 257,257 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #78
Members: 453,770
Favorites: 6,990

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 24, 2014
Suratu (All reviews)
Is it possible to like something that is completely unoriginal? According to Nisekoi, yes, it is.

When Nisekoi was slated for an anime production by studio Shaft, the fans of the manga were torn between elation that it was actually being adapted and complete terror that Shaft would be doing it. If you’re not aware with the common stereotypes of anime studios, a frank description of Shaft would be, “They do whatever they want.” Shaft has never been shy of putting their own... unique spin on their adaptions. And, hey, whatta ya know, it actually works.

The Shaft visuals are capable of turning a read more
May 27, 2014
yogotah (All reviews)

It is a delightment to be able to write a review for Nisekoi, though the anime was not perfect, it has provided me with significant entertainment during the last few months. Even if my review may seem negative, it is just because I am analyzing an anime by parts and category. As a whole, I thoroughly enjoyed Nisekoi.

Story: (30%)

The plot of Nisekoi is rather mediocre. With a redundant premise, Nisekoi has nothing new to contribute to the rom-com genre. The creativity of the story and its complexity is minimal at best, non-existent at least. Do no expect to be blown away by the story line, read more
May 24, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Childhood memories, a gorilla girl, and Shaft. What do you get when you mix all three together? Nisekoi, or rather False Love by what’s known based on the manga of the same name written by Naoshi Komi. For what’s worth, the title is exactly as it implies – a love based on illusions. But in a way, it’s not exactly what you think. The main male protagonist Raku isn’t after Chitoge, the girl that accidentally kneed him in the morning during his walk to school. Rather, they are bound together in a seemingly contract-esque direction. With the two rival gangs making a truce in the read more
Dec 1, 2015
Maroya (All reviews)
I'm going to get a lot of hate for this, but I think this anime is extremely overrated and honestly one of the worst SoL-Romance animes I have ever watched.
Nothing ever changes. Every now and then a new character is introduced and falls in love with the MC. Typical Harem style.
The parts I hated most were when the MC suddenly notices that Chitoge kind of looks cute when she's not a freaking bitch (and I know the different between a tsundere and a bitch) but then she's just back to the old bitchitoge she always was and they go back to disliking each other.
This happened read more
Jan 3, 2015
GodlyKyon (All reviews)
[WARNING: Slightly long review ahead. You can get by by reading the "In short" sections]

I was not interested in this show. The manga was the epitome of "Generic Harem." I don't think there isn't one cliche that hasn't happened in the series yet. From the characters' reactions to the actual settings of events, everything gave me a sense of Deja vu on the scale of the Endless Eight (only 2000s kids would get this reference!). So I anticipated this adaptation to bring exactly nothing new. It would be another bland series to add to every season's list of bland Harem Anime.

But then something happened. If read more
Jun 16, 2014
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
It is that time of the season again. Where that legendary anime studio, that every anime fan and their mother knows the name of, Shaft, comes with another adaptation where they put their own technical chops into. Regardless of whatever manga or light novel they want to adapt, especially when Akiyuki Shinbo is head of production, they always want to shift their own spin on it to make it their own unique vision. The results are either really good or very mediocre. Thankfully with Shaft’s recent show, Nisekoi, it is one of those on their filmography that deserves to be on the former side of read more
Jul 14, 2015
LunaAria (All reviews)
Before you write off my review because of its very low rating I'd appreciate it if you actually read what I have to say first. I'm not about to slate it off for an incomprehensible reason. This is also my first review so I'd appreciate feedback even more. Feel free to disagree with me/point out things I've missed/etc.

Introduction:

So, Nisekoi. The anime that left me so badly conflicted I felt compelled to write a review about it. The anime that had me cursing at the screen every five minutes. The anime that had potential and completely failed to live up to it. It's safe to say read more
May 29, 2014
StyleF1re (All reviews)
Updated: 13, July 2016


I regret initially writing off Nisekoi as another run-of-the-mill romance-comedy. Though preposterous and frantic at its core, Shaft knew exactly how to exploit the source material using trademark visual and directional cues. The results boast of vivid color and heavenly charm, most evidently in the heat of moments between Raku and Chitoge. Venture beyond the surface of dense personalities and logical fallacies, and what remains to be seen underneath is a love-hate spectacular in its purest state.

Treading back on my mention of density and fallacies, both detriments were loud and clear for much of the run. Ramifications dimmed the lights on read more
Apr 24, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Really interesting, and re-watchable romance & comedy title.

The story, the plot and well, pretty much the entire concept of Nisekoi were all very interesting. Not the best of the genre however the show was pretty decent. I liked that even though the show was full of cliche's it still retained it's own uniqueness a feat made possible with the support of studio shaft. Now, things got a bit complicated for me during the whole "Tachibana arc" or "Childhood friend arc" This was because I was so used to the triangle between Onoderna and Chitoge. Not to mention I liked the idea of the mystery girl read more
Jun 15, 2015
0space (All reviews)
With harem series we have a few rules:
1: The Main character must be dense
2: The side characters are better than the heroines
3: No romatic conclusion
Nisekoi strikes the nail on the head when it comes to being generic in most aspects.
Like a doctor I will first deliver the good news then the bad news.

The art in Nisekoi was quite beautiful. I love it when an anime is as colorful and liberal (in changing art style) as Nisekoi is. My only issue is that the girls are in constant blush.


Audio was good. Didn't notice anything out of the ordinary. I do like read more
Jun 8, 2014
TokyoCrazyPXD (All reviews)
I'll say it from the get-go that Nisekoi was a highly enjoyable anime to watch and I would recommend it to any anime fans that like shounen comedies and tsundere characters.

Nisekoi is about Raku Ichigyou, the son of the head of the Shue-gumi yakuza group, who at 6 years old, met and fell for a girl he now does not remember. The only thing he remembers is that they made a promise to marry each other when they met again, and would identify each other by the locket and key they exchanged. Raku has held onto this locket for 10 years in the hope read more
May 2, 2015
2LongDidntReview (All reviews)
Has some spoilers

Story 4:
It had potential. Two teens from opposing gang families that pretend to fall in love in order to prevent a gang war. However, the male character is actually in love with another girl and has to try to maintain a good relationship with her while going out with his 'girlfriend'. Over time the girl begins developing feelings for the male.

This story would have had potential if the male wasn't denser than a brick and if he would stop getting embarrassed with every little action.

Art 9:
The art is really nice, I actually liked the character designs (Chitoge is very cute). The quality was read more
May 25, 2014
PsychicEnigma (All reviews)
I'm a big fan of romantic comedies and this anime hit the jackpot for me. This anime is full of cute moments which will keep you intrigued however, i had a tendency to lose interest. I'll start with the story.

Story 9/10
Don't get me wrong, the story is great and keeps your mind predicting what's going to happen next but, it starts to lean away from the whole point of the show. You'll notice that it drags on and some episodes don't even have anything to do with the story, it's just another way for the author to add some 'chummy' moments between the protagonist and read more
May 24, 2014
romansparta (All reviews)
Nisekoi, or Fake Love, follows a fairly standard romcom template, except done better.
Warning: may have mild spoilers
Disclaimer: did not actually watch 2000 episodes of Nisekoi

Story: 7/10
The basis for the story is not exactly generic for a romcom, but isn't extraordinary by any means. A guy meets a girl and immediate hates her after she knees him in the face and they're forced to become a couple lest a gang war breaks out. Throughout the story, a few more characters show up and the main characters get somewhat closer; that's honestly all the plot development that there is in Nisekoi, bar the last few episodes. read more
Dec 13, 2014
Anilapse (All reviews)
Bear w/ me now, I never read the manga, and most likely won't continue on to the 2nd season once it airs. POSSIBLE SPOILERS.

Story: 5/10
The story was your typical bland harem rom com anime. There was obviously something enticing about it, though, because I watched it through to the end. I wasn't a big fan of the tsundere female lead, however I am a bit biased, because I view tsunderes as filler characters that are very cliche. Why? Because like in this anime, tsunderes often aren't undergoing real character development. It's often never gradual and happens out of nowhere. "Oh, I'm in love w/ so-and-so read more
May 27, 2014
Avmugi (All reviews)
Critic's note- This review has solely been written (rushed) for personal pleasure purposes, I had to put an end to these tickling palms, these hands that itch to write a review for each anime I watch, After a long hiatus, here I break my silence. A review by me is going up after a long time so please go easy on me minna ;)

Some people may be sad that Nisekoi has ended (for now because due to the manga's popularity a second season has been confirmed) but I'm relieved that I won't have to dutifully watch it every week.

Even though this anime is the read more
Jul 30, 2015
jc9622 (All reviews)
Raku should be a Harem president. He should invade a country and name it "Haremica". I can see it now...300 Million girls living in his "Harem" country and he's the only guy. Oh, how I would love to be him right now. Or better yet, he should be a Harem God and there will be 7 Billion girls around him. The point I'm trying to make in my opener is this show is another one of those protagonists where the girls are mindlessly falling in love with.


Story: (5/10)
The story is about Raku, a teenager who made a promise 10 years ago to read more
May 31, 2015
moodie (All reviews)
Ok here is my in depth review on Nisekoi and why i love Nisekoi so much.

Story

Lets start with the story itself before we get into the art, direction, and other elements of the series. While many already know Nisekoi has squandered on its potential of becoming a great romance with harem elements. For some odd, or should i say predictable reasons, Komi felt the need to add fillers as well milk the story. Lets be honest here Komi is no where near Nisio where he can milk a product and make it good. Even some vols of gatari that was made out of whim read more
Feb 10, 2015
CroobieLetter (All reviews)
Nisekoi! is the anime that can be summarized in one word: GENERIC
That's debatable of course, it could also be Clichéd.

It's kinda like the writers/makers had a checklist of Anime Must-Haves and went and ticked them all off. This show is a Harem, a Romantic Comedy, and Slice of Life, The story is simple: Boy has a lock, when he was little he promised a girl to marry her, if she kept the key, and he kept the lock. In his teens his dad insists he dates the Tsundere girl to stop a feud between gangsters and the mafia.

The Episodes:
It's all there: The Onsen, The read more
May 18, 2016
TrashDax (All reviews)
If every boring dude gets his own harem...then where's mine?

Story:
To say that Nisekoi has a story would be wrong, it's more like an excuse. An excuse that gets thrown out the window as quickly as possible. Actually, if you started watching halfway through, you would probably not even know about the lock and the keys. The forced couple-plot is also pushed aside more and more and only comes up again if needed for the next shenanigan. All the coincidences will stretch your suspension of disbelief and so will the behaviour of the characters (but that's a different point). Nisekoi is a vanilla harem and nothing read more