Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kai


Alternative Titles

English: When They Cry: Kai
Synonyms: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni 2, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni 2nd Series, Higurashi no Nakukoro ni 2nd Season, The Moment the Cicadas Cry 2
Japanese: ひぐらしのなく頃に解

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2007 to Dec 18, 2007
Premiered: Summer 2007
Broadcast: Fridays at 02:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.361 (scored by 141,648 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1912
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #235
Members: 259,295
Favorites: 5,059

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 12, 2008
UchihaItachi6660 (All reviews)
In this review, I am including both Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni and Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni Kai in my comments. I will be calling the anime simply "Higurashi" in my review to save time. During the few times that I do choose to differenciate between the two seasons, I will refer to "Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni Kai" simply as "Kai".

Story: Higurashi's storyline is stellar. It starts off as a horror/thriller anime where numerous mysteries arise in the small town of Hinamizawa. These mysterious storylines are filled with tension and suspense as the viewer fears for Keiichi's (the main character) life. Since Keiichi read more
Jan 3, 2008
z-pak (All reviews)
I will say this now, if you have not seen the anime called Higurashi no Naku koro ni, then this review will be as useful as the dust that lies under your bed.

With that said, most of what I have to say about Kai will be a rehash of what I said in my season 1 review; therefore, I will not be giving a detailed review. Instead, I will say what I thought were the stronger aspects in Kai compared to that of the first season. No doubt, both seasons of Higurashi were wonderful and one cannot exist without the other. Because of this, it read more
Nov 28, 2008
Ceptryn (All reviews)
Imagine you are an Olympic boxer, about to enter the gold medal match. It's going to be you're toughest fight, the world title holder thrice in a row. You've studied his moves, you're prepared, you know you can win and relish the challenge. You enter the ring and prepare for the greatest fight of your life. The bell rings! You launch forward... only to find your opponent collapsed on the ground due to a heart attack.

You won! But what's the feeling? Elation? Disappointment? Or a weird mixture of both?

Whatever that emotion is, that's what'll you feel upon completion of Higurashi Season 2. Brilliant twists, unparalleled read more
May 10, 2008
L-sama (All reviews)
After finishing the first Higurashi series, I was actually looking forward to seeing what Kai had in store for me. Despite my dislike of the horror genre, I was more than willing to give this one a chance too, since I was proven wrong by the former. I was proven wrong, all right, but it was not for the right reasons.

Where the first Higurashi was centered on shocking the viewer at every turn, Kai went for a slower, more suspenseful approach. Because of this decision, this approach turned out to be exceedingly slow. With only two major arcs present and twenty-four episodes to use, many read more
Nov 6, 2015
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
You know, after playing the excruciating visual novel of Higurashi for PS2
Or the PC game. I told myself that when the anime adaption I'd
Undoubtedly hate it. To my shock the anime was such an improvement I
Just could not get over myself. The story, just like it's previous season is Unique and a bit confusing, however, this season is where things are finally
Starting to be explained. All of the "wait I don't get it" and "I'm confused"
That you may have been saying to yourself or out loud stop. In Kai,
Losing for Rika & Hanyū are not an option. The read more
Aug 30, 2008
YKawashima (All reviews)
before you start to hate me for the low score listen to my reasons. I watched the first season and found it to be amazing and easily deserved a 10 rating. This season was the same universe but felt like it was written by someone else. Where the first season gave you suspense and fear, the second season was too corny and drawn out at boring parts to do anything for me.

While I found Hanyou adorable, I also found her to be detrimental to the story. The first season made it possible for the cause of madness to be anything from disease to aliens. With read more
Sep 19, 2009
SamFury (All reviews)
Disheartening Sunset

Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni Kai [Kai] is the sequel to the popular original [Higurashi] that aired the year before, based off the 07th Expansion's sound novels of the same name. The first season covered the four arcs of the original game and the first two arcs of the sequel. Kai covers the last two arcs of the second game and give closure to mysteries presented in Higurashi.

Kai's story is satisfying at the very most. The riddles that hung like loose threads are woven together nicely giving us most of the big picture. A few questions are left unanswered, which hopefully Rei, the read more
Oct 11, 2009
MikeOnHighway61 (All reviews)
What did we see in Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni so far?

Well, it's been an amazing journey through the depths of human psychology, telling us that everyone is capable of becoming a killer under different circumstances... Watanagashi's mysteries were quite fascinating and there were specific scenes and moments the watcher won't forget that easily, in matter of psychological tension or brutal violence. The season ended with a slight glance of hope to escape the murder scenario repetition going on, so the watcher was looking forward seeing the resolve of that twisted maze.

Then there was Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni Kai... ...and the tension was gone.

The read more
May 13, 2011
spookybun (All reviews)
Even though Higurashi no naku koro ni Kai and Higurashi no naku koro ni are in the same series as a whole, they both have many differences. I'm not going to go on about how season one was better or worse, but I will point out some things that were interesting to me.

Story: I was very pleased with the story and how it really brought some light to the first series. I was no longer in the dark about why their were arcs and why some things were happening. Higurashi Kai takes you through two very intriguing and exciting answer arcs that are a read more
Aug 2, 2009
szaba87 (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

Worst sequel ever.

Reasons:

There are many reasons, but the greatest failure in Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kai is the way it ends. I've endured tons of episodes, for the sake of finally seeing HOW Rika would overcome her fate. And what did I learn from watching Kai?

1.If you want to overcome your destiny, just set up some overly lame traps, in the forest that can take down even an army.

2. Hire a Chuck Norris(known Akasaka Mamoru here), and make him beat up 7-8 members of Yamainu with his bare hands(ending of episode 22). (This whole 1 vs 8 read more
Jun 3, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
"Someone taught me something- that the power of belief will give rise to a miracle that will cut through fate." - Hanyuu

Preface:

Birthday review!

This review is solely for Higurashi Kai, which I will refer to as "Kai" from this point on. Since it's a part two, it's necessary to have seen the first set, as it's divided into "question" and "answer" arcs. This series formulates the many, complex answers to the question: What exactly is happening to Hinamizawa in June of 1983?


Artwork and Animation: 7

Like its predecessor, Kai is approaching 10 years old, and looks somewhat dated when put up against more recent efforts, read more
Jul 9, 2010
Gamer2009 (All reviews)
Being able to sum up the story of Higurashi in less than a chapter of writer is impossible. Being able to explain the story of Higurashi? Even more impossible. Which gives it that feeling of, "I have to keep watching on too understand."

I felt as though I got to grow with the characters in Higurashi, I got to feel the same exact emotions they did. I got to laugh and cry with Higurashi. It's more than just a bunch of lolli girls, or even a bunch of physco lolli girls. The plot is knee-deep and wonderful. The different emotion you get to feel with Higurashi read more
Jun 9, 2015
Quan_ (All reviews)
[Adapted From Original Blog Post]

Probably the biggest reason Higurashi no naku koro ni Kai fails as a sequel is because of a matter of expectation. Now, you might be thinking I just spoiled the entire review right there, but give me a moment, I'm not done, because Higurashi Kai is a very complex thing to pin down why exactly it is the way it is. I guess where you need to start is to consider that any mystery must inevitably have an answer. And when that mystery is played through a dark and chaotic mess, in other words, most of what season 1 of Higurashi read more
Apr 16, 2015
momsspaghetti (All reviews)
Personally, my favourite kinds of stories are the ones that really make you think. Ones that make you look back on what you've already seen, and realize there was more going on than you had initially picked up on. Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni Kai makes you realize that the entire first season was preparing you for the story it has to tell.

The first season of Higurashi is fantastic in its own ways. It's unique in the way it tells its arcs; but it leaves the viewer questioning what they each have to do with one another. The second season, Kai, answers every single read more
May 17, 2015
Dechie (All reviews)
Television has brought back murder into the home - where it belongs.
~Alfred Hitchcock, 1969

It's a rare occurrence when an anime (or any TV show) is able to hold thrill and fear in a perfect balance. For starters, the show has to reach a certain standard of quality in order for the viewer to feel either of those two emotions, but in addition, the series must be able to switch between excitement and terror with ease. But maintaining that equilibrium is in fact possible, and such is the beauty of the Higurashi world as a whole.

Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni Kai (Often abbreviated Higurashi Kai) is read more
Nov 18, 2008
gochisosama (All reviews)
If you have not watched the first season (Higurashi no naku koro ni), this anime is practically useless and the same goes for this review.

Wow! Higurashi no naku koro ni Kai was a great addition to an already very good season one. As I found season one rather interesting and enjoyable, Kai was a must watch for me, in the hope that it would be just as great. With many questions left unanswered, Kai primarily focuses on answering questions and revealing to us the "true" truth. There are a lot less gore and horror elements compared to the first season, as Rika becomes the main read more
Feb 22, 2016
Yuni (All reviews)
KAIII YO! OMOCHIIKAERI!!!!

You better hope you don't hear these words in the middle of the night, cause Rena is comin for your booty.

*MILD SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVEN'T EVEN TOUCHED THE HIGURASHI SERIES*

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kai is the continuation and resolving of the psychological horror mystery/thriller that took moe girls and made them go through the most screwed up and twisted experiences ever. It takes the extremely confusing mystery during the first season and resolves it in a masterful way.

An amazing sequel to resolve the series with a bang, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kai replaces the overwhelming mystery of the first season read more
Mar 25, 2015
Owlythesova (All reviews)
Higurashi (yes, I'm shortening the name once again) must be observed not as two seasons and whole load of OVA's and specials, but as a collective entity, and what a brilliant one! Beware, because I'm including some plot segments and ideas of Higurashi no Naku Koro ni. If you haven't watched it yet - then go and do it right now, before it's too late!

-Story-
This is the strongest and the most striking point of the whole show. I was puzzled while watching the first season, because most of the events seemed random and somewhat insane: characters murdered each other, resurrected again and kept going mad. read more
Dec 4, 2010
FFandMMfan (All reviews)
For years I thought that Higurashi no Naku Koro ni, and it's sequel, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kai were among the best Anime I had ever seen. This is in fact the general consensus, that Higurashi is an amazing Anime and it has garnered much praise over the last few years.

I'm here to tell everyone that I, and everyone else, could not have been more wrong about the Higurashi series. When you look at it on it's own, you may see a wonderful story full of drama, comedy, suspense and mystery, but in actuality, you are only seeing a small portion of the read more
Oct 26, 2014
Sorrow (All reviews)
If you haven't seen the first season, Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni, "Kai" will make almost as little sense to you without watching the first one as the watching the first one without watching Kai afterwards does. For those who loved the gore in Higurashi no Naku Koro ni, I'm sorry to tell you, that if you were looking forward to another twenty-four episodes of eviscerated adolescence and chopped loli then you are in for a disappointment; Kai focuses primarily on giving the viewers a satisfying answer and summarization of the questions and mysteries aroused in the first season.

Every once in a great while, read more