Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Diamond no Ace


Alternative Titles

English: Ace of Diamond
Synonyms: Daiya no Ace, Ace of the Diamond, Dia no A
Japanese: ダイヤのA[エース]

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 75
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2013 to Mar 29, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Sundays at 08:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.191 (scored by 57,328 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3392
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #799
Members: 129,273
Favorites: 2,656

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 24, 2015
mushimk (All reviews)
There's a certain finesse in the way all the characters in this anime have to prove themselves at their favorite sport. Overall, characters psychology and in-game tension is here one of the best you could find in an anime sport, but that's it : for the rest, this anime is way deserved by a pitiful story, pretty much non-existent, and full useless and unbearable flashbacks to know more about characters that will STILL lose at the end (most of the time). You want something original and crazy ? Go for One Outs, that's way better.
Jul 20, 2014
ITFujoshi (All reviews)
This was my first venture into the sports anime genre, and DnA just sucked me into it like a black hole. I've never watched a single baseball game in my life and I've never showed any interest in the sport. I honestly thought that I wouldn't like this show, but if it's good enough to get approved for 52 episodes in its first season (and the fact that it was being produced by Madhouse), I thought I'd give it a try. I can honestly say that DnA has become one of my all-time favourite shows.

The story (10/10) is pretty straightforward: we follow Sawamura's journey as read more
Oct 1, 2014
Ilse (All reviews)
Preliminary
Diamond no Ace isn't completed at the time of this review, but I wanted to write a positive review on the anime so maybe more people would watch it. Diamond no Ace is one of the most enjoyable anime I've ever seen. Of course you must be wondering how watching an anime about baseball could possibly be so enjoyable. I'm not much of a baseball fan or sports fan for that matter myself, but Diamond no Ace succeeds in drawing the viewers into all the excitement of the sport with all it's dramatized action.

The story isn't anything unique or original. The plot is basically read more
Jan 1, 2014
Aruseusu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have never written a review before, nor had I planned to. And I really dont care how un-review-like this review may be. I had to do it. I had to make an exception, just for this series, because I don not think that this series has got the credit or acknowledgement that is deserves. I will not go into detail about the story, the characters, sound or any of that (HOWEVER, I love the opening, story, characters and art.. such beautiful art...)

All I will say is this: This show is amazing.

Its hilarious. Its intense. Its my favourite anime EVER. (and that's saying something)

I read more
Apr 13, 2014
DiabloMask (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's hard to talk about what's actually great about this anime, it's the type of anime that you'd just get excited by watching, even if you sometimes don't know why exactly is it so exciting.

-Story-
The story isn't so interesting, it won't draw your attention when you read the synopses, especially since the show took a kinda different way than the first two episodes.
It starts with the main character "Sawamura Eijun" who loves Baseball, and plays it everyday with his friends, who are not so good at it, one day he gets a chance to go to "Seido" a school with a strong Baseball team, even read more
Mar 31, 2015
karlstein12 (All reviews)
DnA is probably one of the best sports anime that I've come across yet. Although hailing from a country where Baseball is scarce, this started out to be a pretty interesting anime. It begins with an aspiring young pitcher named Eijun Sawamura, who throws a wild ball which flies over the catcher giving him no chance to seize it. This happens to grab the attention of a particular woman who turns out to be a scout for the baseball team of the highly popular school named Seido. Hence unfolding the journey which awaited Eijun in his future.

What really got me into this at first read more
Dec 18, 2013
2zenny1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The one thing I felt missing from Major as much as I loved it, was how little of it was focused on high school baseball.

Diamond no Ace, or Ace of the Diamond, differs from this and is quite strongly focused on high school baseball, and true to it's name focuses on finding the 'Ace' of the team; the pitcher that will bring the team to victory.

Before I go on I should mention the image you get of Sawamura from the first 2 episodes differs quite a little from how he ends up during the rest of the series. Think 'Small Town Hero, Big read more
Jun 6, 2015
Cauthan (All reviews)
(This is a spoiler-free review adapted for this site)

[Synopsis]: After failing to take his middle-school team to Nationals, Sawamura Eijun (Osaka, Ryota) decides to enroll at the prestigious Seidou High in order to pursue his aspirations in baseball. The story follows him and the Seidou team as he trains and practices to become the ace pitcher of the team and they try to restore Seidou to its former glory after it’s 6 year absence from the Koushien championship.

[Characters]:

As is the case with many sports shows, Diamond no Ace has an impressively large cast of characters and so I will address the cast mostly as a read more
Aug 29, 2014
darykshinon (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review, excuse me if I didn't do well.

Story (8/10)
The story doesn't really sound all that special, it's something we see all the time in anime but don't let that put you off. The story starts off with our main character Sawamura Eijun, he loves baseball and has a goal of going to nationals with his group of friends. After losing a game, one day Sawamura gets called downstairs to find out he has been invited to Seido High School, which is apparently famous for its strong baseball team. At first Sawamura declines the offer because of his friends but visiting read more
Jul 22, 2015
JamesTBrosnan (All reviews)
NOTE - Do NOT be fooled by the first few episodes or the sport. This is pretty much the Hunter x Hunter 2011 of Shounen sports anime. Starts off typical and ends up something completely different.

Story - 10/10
The story is for me split into 2 parts. The first part (episodes 1-20) is used to introduce the characters, the game and the world of this anime. It does so by relying on cliche's. Its the weakest part of the series.
The second part is episode 20 onwards. This is where the writers talent really shines. After going through all the cliche's most of the setup is done read more
Jun 16, 2015
Npk005 (All reviews)
This is my first review on one of my favorite anime as well as one of my second best sports anime of all time. This is a kind of anime which makes you watch for more after each episode. This anime does character development superbly.

Story 9
The story of this anime is well written. IT shows all the aspect of main character life as well as gives enough story of side characters. It knows the perfect timing of telling the story of character and makes sure that person watching it doesn't get bored. Even though the story is well written the episodes in the series feel read more
Apr 1, 2018
Aspection (All reviews)
This review may be biased as baseball is definitely not my cup of tea, but comparatively to other sports and specifically baseball animes I've seen, this one is near the bottom. Nevertheless, Diamond no Ace does it's job well- it stuck to it's focus on baseball, developed a strong cast of likable characters, made every game exciting, and for the most part followed a reasonable plot. If you're looking for an anime entirely dedicated to baseball, this is it.

My 5 rating is very harsh considering this show does a lot of things well, notably establishing one of the most enjoyable, unique, and vast cast read more
Apr 9, 2015
SweetOmelette (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was initially introduced to this show when through a comment on a show saying "Man.. Ace of Diamond makes my Saturdays better." Having no expectations for this show, I decided to watch it because I had not else better to watch. I mean, let’s be real… With Basketball, and Volleyball, and Soccer, and other sports, Baseball is obviously not the most exciting sport to watch. But man, was I wrong.The first click to episode 1 landed me to episode 13. Marathoning all the airing episodes, I was so excited and couldn't focus on any other anime or school work, or sleep or anything at read more
Oct 29, 2014
cjoycoolio (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is not yet completed but I am up-to-date in the episodes and have watched every single episode that is out so far. I wanted to give this anime a review however of what I've seen so far. I watched a couple of sports anime before I started watching this anime but I never had seen a baseball one before. This anime did not disappoint. The reasons why is not because the characters "love the sport". In every sports anime a character has to love the sport in order for it to even be considered a sports anime. No, the reason that I found read more
Dec 8, 2014
ChickenBlocker (All reviews)
Preliminary
TLDR Review:
I don’t exactly enjoy the idea of rating something before it’s over but after 59 episodes I think I've gotten the gist of the show. From the standpoint of someone who has been around and played baseball since I was able to walk, Diamond no Ace is a show that gets baseball right. DnA is by no means a perfect show but in terms of understanding the sport of baseball and developing the characters as a result, it hits the nail on the head. So if you are looking for a realistic baseball anime then DnA should be read more
Jan 10, 2015
sgtkarenbear (All reviews)
Yes, I know that that number of episodes are intimidating, but this anime is truly one of the greatest sports anime I have seen up to date. I normally do not like to watch sport animes, but after convincing myself to keep an open mind, I tried this anime out. And now i am simply hooked. I would like to say beforehand that this anime is not yet completed, everything in here is my own opinion, and that I definitely give this an a solid 10/10

The storyline is rather simple, but just to sum it up in a few words; Sawamura is a country boy read more
Sep 2, 2015
ShinyaKougami (All reviews)
Spoiler free review

"I'm here to become the ace!" - Sawamura Eijun

Diamond no Ace is an exhilarating ride - filled with emotion that is complimented by exciting action.

Story: If one has seen a substantial amount of high school sports anime, one will quickly begin to see that Diamond no Ace follows the typical formula for a successful sports anime albeit with alterations. This makes certain plot elements less meaningful and predictable, however the execution of these elements is skillfully done in order to differ from other titles in its genre.
On the other hand, if one isn't well-versed in this genre, then congratulations the experience will be read more
Jan 1, 2015
lewismclure98 (All reviews)
Preliminary
So this is my first review so pls have mercy. This review is also spoiler free.

Diamond no Ace ( Ace of Diamond) is far too underated outside of Japan.
This year DnA was the 7th most sold manga in Japan (right behind Naruto) so that is proof enough of its greatness.
The story for DnA seems fairky straight forward, to make nationals. However the characters will and devotion to accomplish theis dream is inspiring.
Also there is so many funny and enjoyable characters in this show that it is hard not to like atleast one. I believe the characters make this show, they are easy to follow, read more
Jun 29, 2018
killerqueen2000 (All reviews)
I have caught up with the current ongoing manga so my thoughts on the anime has changed a little since reading it

Story -6 : The story of this series is very typical shounen material so its something you would expect from most sports anime. Usually a sports series is good because of its characters anyways so thats all I will say for the story.

Art -7: I liked the art, it doesn't try to be too flashy, and characters all have different designs so its easy to tell the difference. I think the anime does a decent job, especially when trying to portray the emotions of read more
Jun 17, 2019
veenadaiya (All reviews)
I love this anime. It's pretty safe to say it is my number one favorite for many reasons. I enjoy sports anime almost religiously so seeing my favorite sport of baseball like this is amazing.
There are an abundance of characters due to the high school in the anime being so large as well as the team. All of them have their individual qualities and ticks that make them all very different and gives a wide variety. The pacing of the show is great with the many games and tournaments as well as the animations of the pitching/gameplay. Nothing is rushed or dragged on.