Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight!


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Manabi Straight!
Japanese: がくえんゆーとぴあ まなびストレート!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2007 to Mar 26, 2007
Premiered: Winter 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Discotek Media
Studios: ufotable
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.321 (scored by 8,742 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #24512
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2809
Members: 25,038
Favorites: 94

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 26, 2007
maybelletea (All reviews)
What a wonderful series. I am so glad I decided to watch this anime. I wouldn’t hesitate to say it’s one of my favorite, maybe one of the greatest anime I’ve ever seen. Don’t be fooled by its childish loli-looking exterior, what lies in this anime is the bittersweet and heartwarming message of moving forward.

The story is set in the future, where schools’ populations continuously decrease, and is about girls brought together by something as simple as a student council. They develop such a strong bond throughout the series, I don’t think I’ve ever seen an anime where friends were this close. Mainly read more
Mar 21, 2008
KholdStare88 (All reviews)
Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight! This anime features wonderful creativity and enjoyment to the maximum, while not being bogged down with heavy clichés. I will not hesitate to say that it is probably my favorite slice-of-life series and probably one of the most touching series I have ever watched.

5 words review: Deep, touching, fun, cute, epic.

Story: 10/10

The story is amazingly simplistic yet its plot is complex. In fact, this whole series is about the student council and the Seioh School Fair with absolutely no action or romance. There's not a lot of comedy, and it is basically a slice-of-life drama (weird, I know). Manabi Straight uses read more
Oct 28, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
I swore when I seriously started writing reviews that I would never give anything a perfect rating. No anime was flawless no matter how great I thought it was. However, Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight is the closest thing I've found to perfect.

Set in Japan in the near future, Manabi captures the outlook of its setting better than any other series that's tried to work out such a scenery. It is made clear with a national birth rate crisis reflecting the current steady drop in Japanese citizen births, as well as advanced but realistic technology such as streamlined buses, computers built into desks, and student organizers read more
Jul 27, 2008
Chag (All reviews)
Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight! is a classic example of looks over substance. While not totally devoid of any redeemable qualities, it's hard to recommend Manabi Straight to anyone, as it is simply outclassed by too many other choices.

The story revolves around the Seioh high school student council and its attempt at organizing the school fair. Underneath that lies a story of friendship between the five girls who takes part in student council activities. However, neither of these stories succeeds in gathering much interest for one important reason: the characters.

Simply put, after the initial impressions, the characters of Manabi Straight get stale very quickly. You have read more
Apr 25, 2015
Notshane (All reviews)
This was such a good anime; the past flashbacks and the piano made me tear up so much. It reminds me of simpler times when I used to see green meadows all of the time, had more parks around my area and more fun things to do.

Now, most of those areas are closed down for building reconstructions or the ones that I used to play in already have new buildings over them.

The official music of it really knows how to hit me deep in the heart and I love this anime for giving me something different.

Despite its short length, everyone whom is an anime lover read more
Aug 28, 2018
Dionkeykong (All reviews)

Another day another anime another review where i have to come up with interesting things to say about said anime.

But this is not just any other day,it's a rainy day and i'm dead tired.Only thing keeping me awake is my pure hatred which i'll try to transfer into this review as best as i can.

And where to start really?When an anime such as Manabi Straight is so devoid of..Anything to be honest.

Let's get the story part out of the way since there's no story to talk about..It's just another slice of life anime..Cause we needed one in 5 minutes,correct?Well no we didn't need another Moe-SOL read more
Jan 11, 2012
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight is a Manga series created by the animation Studio, Ufotable. They're probably best known for their work on 2x2=Shinobuden, the Tales of Symphonia OVA, and, most recently, Fate/Zero. It shouldn't be any surprise that an anime quickly followed. There's even a visual novel game for the Playstation 2 based on the series. However, in spite of being semi-successful in Japan Manabi Straight was never released elsewhere. Let's take a look at the anime and try to figure out why.

The setting is a future where Japan has a declining population and schools have less students partially due to the lower birth rate read more
Jan 11, 2012
Yukariki (All reviews)
Education is considered one of the most important tenets of civilization. In many ways, education has helped people understand each other; for example, reviewers write about what they like and dislike in a work and the masses can respond to them by either clicking those two buttons below all reviews, or directly thanking/criticizing them.Thank an English teacher every time you f-bomb a reviewer. Language is the greatest tool invented by humankind. Without language, we will not be civilized. We will not be able to watch anime or invent baconnaise.

Many parents and teachers claim that school is a forum for thinking. School is the place to read more
Mar 14, 2015
czxcjx (All reviews)
Preliminary
I just had to get this out here. Very rarely does a work strike out of the blue that hits some pretty amazing spots in just 5 episodes. What flagged me to watch this was mainly the fact that it was directed by the person who made Futakoi Alternative and was produced by ufotable during the experimental pre-Type Moon phase. Although the polish of Kara no Kyoukai and all the Type Moon series has gone up several notches, except in Paradox Spiral, rarely do you see the type of pizazz that they were pulling off with Futakoi Alternative and Manabi Straight.

Anyway the plot is socially read more
Jan 9, 2016
Ernesto502 (All reviews)
Preliminary
What can I say about Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight!? This is the first review I have submitted in MAL and it's for this awful anime. I gave it a go due to the rating it has an the other reviews and I regret that decision.

If you are interested in a soft anime to past the time give Gakuen Utopia a chance, you might like it who knows but if you are interested in getting a good laugh stay away from this. Rest assure this is not going to be a full of hate review not at all, there are a couple of good things read more
Nov 9, 2019
DavidCardenas99 (All reviews)
This anime takes place in a nearby future and it`s a group of cute girls living their high school experience kind of show. What differences this series of others of its kind is its focus in school (not in school`s events but in the school as an institution and how characters deal with it) and time set up which as mentioned previously is placed in a future where highschool is not mandatory and a much less popular option than now.
One of the things I found more interesting about this show is its view of the world in a slightly distopic way. Aestheticaly talking this shows read more
Nov 8, 2019
EggheadLuna (All reviews)
Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight is a composition of ideas that have potential but, ultimately, lead nowhere. In a series written well, like Urusei Yatsura, implications will become incorporated later in the story, but this is a narrative that creates implication upon implication, but constantly contradicts what each of those hints may have initially meant. It seems as if the modus operandi of this show was just to have exploitative shots of girls; who look like they’re 11–12 in age (but are actually, canonically, 19–20 year olds). This review contains spoilers! You have been warned!

This anime takes place in 2035 but the futuristic setting really has read more
Mar 17, 2016
plaide (All reviews)
Fuck! That was so good. This anime does not waste time on useless scenes, every second and minute of it was perfectly crafted and tells a beautiful story.
The Art was exceptional and the sound shook my heart.
The characters were the crucial point of the anime which each and every one of the cast was unique. Blah blah blah.
To summarize, this is a SOL anime that does not go through the usual pains that average SOL presents. It is cute and adorably cute at that. The pains were logical and yet presented perfectly, Sometimes SOL anime creates a premise where it forcefully makes the character read more