Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hidamari Sketch


Alternative Titles

English: Hidamari Sketch
Japanese: ひだまりスケッチ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2007 to Mar 30, 2007
Premiered: Winter 2007
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:25 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Lantis, TBS, Movic, Houbunsha
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Shaft
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.481 (scored by 17,827 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16922
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1504
Members: 52,256
Favorites: 737

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 8, 2008
Ranivus (All reviews)
Hidamari sketch is a wonderful 12 episode slice of life comedy about (SUPRISE!) four high school girls attending an art school. So what makes this show unique from all the other high school comedy's about a group of girls?
Their story may be the same as everyone else,
but their delivery is unlike most other high school
sitcoms you have seen.





When you start watching this show, the first thing you will notice right away is the art style and animation. Its definitely like nothing I've seen before. Well its more like theres two opposing art styles to the show. One is the standard cute read more
Apr 13, 2008
froseph (All reviews)
Welcome to one of the most relaxing anime's you have ever watched! I was pleasantly suprised about how this series turned out. I expected it to be an average slice of life with nothing special, and thoroughly enjoyed the series.

Even though the series is slow-paced, its never dull or mlacking in any way. It does exactly what it says on the tin. Each episode follows the trials of our 4 main heroines through the course of a day. That means no magic battles, no mushy romance, just staight up good, enjoyable slice of life, and all the bettter for it. What makes it a winner read more
Mar 10, 2018
WeeabooColin (All reviews)
When one thinks of the slice of life genre, most people tend to think of K-On. In many ways K-On epitomizes all of the central concepts, patterns, and trappings of the slice of life genre like no other. On the other hand, Hidamari Sketch pioneered almost all of the popular trappings of the slice of life genre; But the nature of Hidamari Sketch, although influential, makes it both hard to recommend, and hard to admit my passion for this show. There is undoubtedly countless problems that caused Hidamari to become relatively obscure, but in my opinion, these problems also give Hidamari Sketch its charm. The read more
Jun 27, 2008
maybelletea (All reviews)
Hidamari Sketch is sort of a cross between Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight and Lucky Star. One thing is to be sure: all of these titles center around high school girls living their daily lives (although Lucky Star advertises to a more general audience and Manabi Straight focuses a bit more on maturing). What makes Hidamari Sketch a little different though is the way the show comes across. The animators were obviously sort of unique in their thinking. It’s just sort of directed in a different sort of way. One might say arty, even. Which isn’t so much a surprise considering Hidamari Sketch takes place at read more
Aug 15, 2016
Jaguar-chan (All reviews)
There is a certain beauty to everyday life. The same old same old routine one has for every day. The time spent just enjoying the little things. The growth every person experiences which does not happen spontaneously but over long drawn-out periods of time. That beauty is what the entire slice-of-life genre strives to depict and portray. A good slice-of-life must fully illustrate the subtle happiness of everyday life, filling itself not with epic adventure or intense circumstances, but with the normal everyday problems and struggles we experience on a day-to-day basis. And I would like to say that Hidamari Sketch is a shining example read more
Jul 20, 2008
Refia (All reviews)
Overview:

Well, my friends were always talking about this anime, so I figured I would pick it up and see what all the fuss was about. I wasn't disappointed at all, and if you go into it expecting a typical boring slice-of-life anime, you will probably be pleasantly surprised, at least if you like this type of anime. If not, steer clear of this anime as it is just about the daily lives of some art students. If you don't mind anime about everyday life, though, I think you will enjoy Hidamari Sketch.

Story:

The story is the only category I really subtracted a bit from. The story read more
Aug 31, 2008
Nyanta (All reviews)
Happiness has a name, and that name is Hidamari Sketch!

If you're a fan of slice of life animes that leave you with a warm fuzzy feeling then look no further! Every episode guarantee to leave you in a euphoric joy! take a peek into the life of some of the most lovable, adorable, and kindhearted characters ever made.

While Hidamari Sketch may not be a fast paced action packed show that usually top the charts, its a slow and steady anime that will never let you down or fail to make you smile :D

Lets start with the beginning! The opening theme song for the first season read more
Apr 4, 2018
nobitakun (All reviews)
When I thought about slice of life + comedy I only could think about something cloying about the comedy part, with full of nonsense and cheap jokes, till I discovered Hidamari Sketch.

I have to admit that I was very reluctant on watching it because the plot seemed boring and simple but one day I started to watch the first episode and I could not stop. The magic engulfes every detail in a surprisingly positive feeling and makes the viewer to enjoy even with the simplest things of life.

Since there are only 4 main permanent characters you get to know them very well, but the story read more
Jan 22, 2017
SHivayogimaTH (All reviews)
Hidamari Sketch is able to drag you into it--in to the everyday lives of four high school girls. "Boring or not?" you may ask. Usually these slice of life anime would have some sort of a twist to it such as the supernatural. As for Hidamari sketch, it's just a normal day to day life that might seem mundane to some. However, I enjoyed this anime more than other with the 'twists'. So, what makes it special? It comes with amazing sound soundtrack and tripy art that helps alleviate the mundane-ness from the simple plot. But ultimately, it comes with a well portrayed human interaction read more
Jan 9, 2010
miscanime (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off, the only school animes I've ever enjoyed were Azumanga Daioh! and Lucky Star. Both had their own unique quirks, in both character and presentation, that made them really enjoyable and drove the plot... As for Hidamari Sketch, I felt as though everything was just trying too hard.

It's as though the writer(s) knew what they were up against when it came to the popularity of Azu and Lucky and just tried to go all out with their adaptation of this series. Sure there were many interesting ways of showing certain emotions and the faux-3D scenes etc. but I felt the character design and emotions read more
Jul 16, 2010
coolpianoman (All reviews)
If the world of anime was a diner, Hidamari Sketch wouldn't just be the cake, it would be a whole damn bowl of chocolate frosting.

Here you will find a show for an extremely specific audience, one that probably isn't for most fans, to be honest. Not only is it the dreaded slice of life genre, but it's unapologetically moe to boot! Both of these subsets have quite vocal critics, and if you insist on rejecting a show based on either qualification, then stop reading right now.

But if you're curious about why I hold Hidamari Sketch in such high regard despite these two facts, read more
May 21, 2018
earl_of_sandvich (All reviews)
This aired way back when Shaft was a struggling up-and-coming animation house, and I was fresh off of watching Honey and Clover's second season, so I thought "Huh, another anime about a gang of art students? I'll give this one a go."

TL;DR: LOL cute art students.

You'd think this show would start right around where the manga started, with Yuno taking the entrance exam. Uh, well, not quite-- you begin with a "day in the life of Yuno and her housemates", and that's pretty much how it goes for the entire series. I don't know if Shaft took cues from The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, but read more
Jul 8, 2009
JayCee (All reviews)
It was my boyfriend who first introduced me to hidamari sketch, and we watched the first few episodes together. i found from episode to episode they didn't make much sense. it took me a while to really appreciate it for what it was.

it was fun, it wasn't trying to be anything, not serious or too funny, or to sweet. and it wasn't even trying to tell a fully plotted story either. what they focused on most was the interactions between the characters in the setting. And it really showed in the quality.

Hidamari sketch, and it's second season hidamari sketchx365 encompass almost two years of time read more
Nov 8, 2017
TrashDax (All reviews)
Thankfully my nutbladder survived…for now.

Story:
Like with most (all?) slice of life anime, “story” has to be seen as relative, as there is no plot moving forward here. We witness a bunch of art school students doing what they do with their lives, which only rarely includes art. Most of the time they eat or talk about eating. I somehow get the expression from shows like this and many others, that food is very important in Japan. Anyway, Hidamari Sketch is certainly not one of the most exciting shows out there, but it manages to be somewhat entertaining with all its little interactions. Yeah, this anime read more
Apr 21, 2014
TheAwesomeHannah (All reviews)
I first heard of Hidamari Sketch when I downloaded a video. It had parodies of an opening of an anime I like, and Hidamari Sketch was on there. Later I rediscovered it by watching/downloading the opening. I thought it was gonna be a good anime, so I slapped it on my "Plan to watch" list. When Hidamari Sketch was next, I gave it a good looking. At first, I didn't finish the first and second episodes because they were boring, but by the time the 3rd episode rolled around it got more and more interesting. So I am gonna write a review on this wonderful read more
Mar 28, 2013
weiluntong (All reviews)
Hidamari Sketch definitely fills the role, "A Splice of Life." With four girls hanging out as friends for life, this anime creates a relaxing atmosphere where one can just settle down and enjoy watching the dasy which our main characters live through.

I'd like to give a thorough review which allows the readers of my reviews to decide whether they want to watch this anime or not, but unfortunately, I will have to be rather bias for this particular anime.

Story - 3. As an anime of "A Splice of Life," nothing particular happens within this series. In fact, so much so that there really is no read more
Mar 24, 2015
MahouGekijo (All reviews)
Hidamari Sketch is a Slice of Life/Comedy anime about four girls attending an art high school while living together in an apartment building called Hidamari Apartments that's right across the street from the art high school.

This anime is extremely simplistic on the surface and does not offer much of an actual story since what it mostly focuses on are the girls living out their daily lives in Hidamari apartments interacting with each other while also attending school

What makes this anime truly a wonder to behold are the characters themselves and their personalities for each girl has their own special unique quirks and traits about them read more
Sep 9, 2015
_Arcadius_ (All reviews)
Hidamari Sketch

Super cute slice of life about 4 girls in an art club. Though the art club isn't exactly a focus of the show, it's very slice of life based with the girls, Yuno-chi, Miya-chan, Hiro and Sae just living out their lives in high school. The sensei for the art class is beautiful and excentric Yoshinoya-Sensei; she's pretty amazing and the mystery behind her is very intriguing, I hope the other seasons of Hidamari Sketch delve into her backstory some more.

I love the chibi forms of the cast when they're doing things in an exaggerated way, especially the face reactions, they're so read more
Jun 21, 2009
Zovistograt (All reviews)
I want to live in Hidamarisou.

More than any other slice-of-life I've seen, I want to live this perfect life. Yes, this is a perfect life kind of slice-of-life: everybody's always happy, they live on their own and go to a high school for art, and they do fun things even when things look boring.

Now the story...uh...who cares about plot, it's basically a direct feed of happiness and sunshine into your head. I grew rainbows out of my eyes after watching this. And no that's not painful. It feels warm and fuzzy.

I absolutely love how SHAFT does anime, really, and this is read more
Apr 25, 2016
Notshane (All reviews)
I was originally going to review both the two seasons separately, but I felt like they were too similar to warrant separate reviews, so this review kind of sums up both. Don't worry, it's a comedy, so I doubt I could spoil anything from the second season that would make you dislike watching the first; it is not a drama, after all. I would have wrote this on the second season, but I want people to watch this, so I figured here would be the better place to advertise.

Actually, I was originally going to wait until I finished the entire anime and then I would read more