Initial D First Stage

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: ID
Japanese: 頭文字〈イニシャル〉D
English: Initial D First Stage
Spanish: Initial D: Supera el Límite de Velocidad Temporada 1
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 19, 1998 to Dec 6, 1998
Premiered: Spring 1998
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: OB Planning, Fuji TV
Licensors: Funimation, Tokyopop
Studios: Gallop, Studio Comet
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, SportsSports
Theme: CarsCars
Demographic: SeinenSeinen
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.301 (scored by 140118140,118 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2332
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #623
Members: 281,748
Favorites: 8,359

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 16, 2007
lowell (All reviews)
I never thought a story about street car racing would be this entertaining. And if I had known what I would be watching when my friend made me watch the first few episodes, I would have said thanks, but no thanks. ...Boy, am I glad I didn't know.

Story: On the surface, it's about a pretty bland high school guy who's got a bunch of car-crazy friends... and turns out to be the 2nd fastest driver in Akina. (Who's first? Ooooh, don't you wanna know?) Below the surface...? Okay, pretty much the same thing. ;) Most of the read more
Dec 27, 2016
FAKEANIMEGIRL (All reviews)
Vroom vroom vroom it’s anime’s most popular racing series, Initial D. Initial D stars Takumi Fujiwara, a constantly spaced-out and quiet gas station worker with no hobbies or interests in life. The normally reserved Takumi is forced into the spotlight when his incredible talent for street racing is discovered, honed by years of doing tofu deliveries for his father’s business. Takumi is forcibly encouraged by his coworkers and friends into putting his racing abilities to the test in order to defend Akina’s hometown pride. Takumi, who first considers racing completely uninteresting and cars a bore, gradually discovers the sense of accomplishment and pride his new read more
Sep 30, 2020
literaturenerd (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

I just finished this series and I KNEW I had to review it right away! Holy shit this series was a trip! Initial D is a series that everyone has heard of, but not as many people have actually watched it. It's not in the top 600 most viewed series on MAL, yet it's somehow so famous that non-anime fans know about it. We all know it's that racing anime with the CHEESIEST OST in existence that spawned all those memes. It's also one of the only pre-2000 series in the MAL top 250. The others are all series like Rose of read more
May 8, 2013
lilithilk (All reviews)
I like watching sports anime. People who know me and have accepted the fact that I am a hardcore couch-potato find this hilarious. But the irony doesn't end there. I am a member of minority who does not possess a driving license nor has the faintest clue about driving.
After my Yawara "Brain-Imploding-Annoyance-Rage" I was rather desperate. There were very few sports animes left I hadn't watched yet. And I was - still am actually, I can't take bludgeoned faces!- digging my heels in not to watch Hajime no Ippo.
Barring any alternatives I gave in to desperation and started watching Initial D though in read more
Apr 19, 2013
yngtadpole (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was really hard-pressed to decide what to rate this anime. I've known about this anime for more than 10 years but never came around to watching it. The thing I find amazing about this anime is how much it pulls you in to the story. Everything is executed perfectly. I admit, especially from watching it now when CG is so much better than it was almost 20 years ago, that the CG kind of turned me off but overlooking this anime because of that reason would be a big mistake. This anime manages to create excitement, intensity, great comedy, compelling romance and wonderful character read more
Oct 11, 2008
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
At first, I’ll admit that I did not think I would like the concept at first, but other factors which I will further elaborate on would keep on pulling me into this franchise and would like it more and more. I know it’s not the most exciting or appealing anime, and that I’m not the biggest gear head, but I felt something special about this one. Even though Takumi is not exactly the most appealing anime character of all time, it’s kind of weird that his lack of charisma in some ways makes him charismatic at the same time because he does all his talking read more
Jan 21, 2018
KanseiDorifuto (All reviews)
Vroom Vroom, if you're into street racing then you'll love initial D. Tak is so gosh darn thicc and irresistible, and my homeboy Shingo can hit a drift faster than anybody can smack that nae nae. Whevever my homeboy Tak does a drift everyone goes zoo wee mama, including me. Bunta is smarter than any Rick and Morty and he smokes really cool. Because of him i've become a heavy smoker and my life expectancy has gone down to 30 years. My boy itsuki sucks at drifting, but he is such a qt π and he does the most epic fails xD. Overall, I'd give read more
Sep 6, 2021
jonaswood1999 (All reviews)
Welcome, to my first ever review on this website!

Introduction:
Initial D is one of the first anime I've ever watched, back when I was young and did not know much about anime and cars. Every single race that immediately got me hooked on, the mesmerizing euro beat soundtracks on standing out on a league of their own and of course, the characters, changed me. We'll get onto those in detail in a bit. To me, cars and anime were never really my thing, but after watching this show I wanted to get a license, I could not wait until I was legally allowed to get one. read more
Jun 6, 2014
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Yeah, this is one of those shows that have a niche audience that I'm not gonna have interest in continuing further with. I've heard quite a bit about Initial D since college where it was popular with street racing fans and even served as a gateway drug to anime for some. It even gets poked fun of for its subpar animation in some comedy anime like Lucky Star and School Rumble, which I'll cover a little later in this review.

Pretty much, Initial D's selling point is the various street racing competitions that male lead Takumi and his friends are involved with. Plenty of in-depth terminology read more
Mar 27, 2021
vebjornzen (All reviews)
Short Review: (click "Overall Rating" for scores)

Overall: The best racing/ car anime. I think people who are not into cars and racing will enjoy it too. Definitely worth to watch!

The show starts slow but after a few episodes when the racing starts you are instantly hooked. The story is good, and is like an introduction to the later seasons.
This anime is from the late 90's so the art style is not high quality, and probably the worst aspect of this season (art style becomes better in later seasons). Sound is ok, nothing notable negative.
Caracters have development, but might not seem very deep (in read more
Mar 10, 2021
Bagietson (All reviews)
THIS THING IS A MASTERPIECE! When I first started watching Initial D, I dodn't like the old CGI and art style, but that's only the first season. And OH MAN is the story good. Also the music is outstanding. The show builds up drama in a very good and entertaining way. From a person that likes cars, I want to say that this is the best show I have ever watched.
if you don't like cars/japanese car culture, this could be a great incroduction, but that's not what you watch a show for, so I'll just leave it here. Peace!
Oct 15, 2021
Krishnav (All reviews)
THIS IS SPOILERLESS
The reason this is one of my favorite anime is because of the drifting. Any car enthusiast will like this anime. Its not about the art, its about the drifting. The drifting shown here is art in its purest form. When a car misses a guardrail by a couple of centimetres, a chill runs down our spines. When a car stays on the optimal lane while drifting, we have an orgasm. Another reason is the information given on the show about cars. Its very true. The physics are spot on and you can see that the drifts are real, by real i mean read more
Sep 18, 2021
sp4ce1 (All reviews)
*** This is a review of all the stages of Initial D (contains spoilers) ***

Initial D is one of my favorite animes of all time. Whilst it arguably doesn’t have the best story and certainty not the best animation/art it has influenced me so much. I happened to find the song “Déjà vu” on YouTube and thought it was kinda good, so I looked into it and found that it was from Initial D. I started watching it not expecting too much but wow, it is just great. This later got me into getting into cars which has now become a huge part of my read more
Sep 5, 2021
BigAnimeGuy (All reviews)
Story:
Its a show about street racing. All the parts are there, the show makes it work. Good pacing, you never feel rushed through the story or that its dragging.

Animation:
I personally love the old school animation, but its admittedly dated. The races specifically didn't age great, but the rest of the show makes up for it and carries the weight.

Sound:
Good God, if you aren't a fan of eurobeat now, you will be after watching this.

Characters:
The main cast is easy to love and get invested in. I found no trouble believing any of them.

Overall Enjoyment:
Its old. Its dated. Somehow it still holds up and read more
Jul 2, 2010
AuronSurmount (All reviews)
A friend told me about this Series, the other day. I was skeptical when he explained what it was about. He said it was about street racing and mainly about the cars. To be honest, I am not all that interested in cars. I am like the next person and have a mediocre interest, but not enough where I would be overly excited to watch a series about cars.

I was hanging out with my friends at his house when he insisted that we watch Initial D. Still skeptical, i try to convince him to put in something else.. but he was dead set on read more
Apr 27, 2020
BlackkSakura (All reviews)
I will make it short and spoiler free.

I thought that this anime will be brainless driving action, but i was very wrong. It had much more elements than i expected and you have more than just one main plot. This is one anime which has perfect synchronization with music. Now whenever i hear music from anime i feel same emotion that i felt while watching and it is great. It is not perfect anime but i highly recommend whether you love cars or not.

Plot is simple but good enough to keep you on guard till the end. While having main plot, u have some side read more
Mar 20, 2021
Night_Thastus (All reviews)
Preliminary
To be as brief as possible:

If you like other competition/battle anime because of:

* Tension of who is going to win/stakes
* Strategy/technique/application of abilities
* Visuals/audio/spectacle
* A passionate, interesting main character or team

There is nothing for you here. Turn back while you can.

In a normal sport/battle show, you might have the main character be good at *one* or *two* things at the start. Just a couple advantages that let them really shine under the right conditions. Takumi, the main character, is not like that. He is a god of racing, ordained to always win no matter how stacked the odds are against him. He never has read more
Mar 7, 2015
HarryPness (All reviews)
To start off this review, I have to say; the saying "it's not for everybody" has never been more accurate for anime. As a huge car enthusiast, I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed this anime and finished it in only two days (first stage). Because most cars are automatic nowadays, most people won't have any idea about how manuals work or even about the lost art of double clutching or toe/heel techniques. Seeing little things like this was totally nostalgic and made the show just that much better for me.

Story: 8

I thought it had a pretty interesting story-line, and while some read more
Nov 10, 2015
FireEmblemIke24 (All reviews)
First Stage review
Who would have thought that the fastest driver in town is just your everyday tofu delivery boy. High schooler Takumi Fujiwara’s perception of driving changes after being encouraged to enter his first street race. Remember it’s illegal!
Story –
You would think that an anime revolving around street racing would get pretty dull after a couple of races or so but that is not the case with Initial D. The story begins with the laid-back Takumi being forced to enter a street race by his father which was meant to be Ikitani’s problem who is his co-worker at his part-time job. Takumi accepts the proposal read more
Oct 19, 2020
JoeGar96 (All reviews)
Just finished Initial D, and I have to say it was a wild ride, it was a lot of fun. The races were pretty much the only attraction to this show, but they were filled with a lot of hype, tension and excitement. Just watching the cool drifting and thinking about how a certain character was going to win was a lot of fun, the racing was great.

The sound track was also really good, it had a huge variety in tracks and the famous eurobeat music just added to the excitement of the races and the show overall. The eds/ops were also really nice, read more