Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kitakubu Katsudou Kiroku


Alternative Titles

English: Chronicles of the Going Home Club
Japanese: 帰宅部活動記録

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2013 to Oct 11, 2013
Premiered: Summer 2013
Broadcast: Fridays at 02:43 (JST)
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: Nomad
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.811 (scored by 12,612 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #45332
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2183
Members: 39,049
Favorites: 100

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 11, 2013
chicagopiano (All reviews)
Deconstruction of the comedy, school genre.

It never takes itself seriously, too many comedies ruin themselves by adding unnecessary drama. The art is quite a bit better than the manga. Sound is appropriate, they manage new OPs and EDs despite their budget.
Apr 23, 2014
k0nata (All reviews)
Very nice and refreshing gag and parody anime. It has nothing to do with "cute girls & cute things" as some people think for unknown reason. The show heavily relays on breaking 4-th wall and abstract humor and it seems most of the anime watchers are not used for this and miss entire point of the series. The show is full of self-irony and mocks anime-industry quite a bit, and it feel kinda honest which I like.

People bash this show due to inability to understand content outside of typical school comedy/drama tropes. So, while I can't guarantee that you will like it, there are no read more
Aug 17, 2013
raritydash (All reviews)
Preliminary
With markedly solid new offerings like Love Lab, Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C³-bu and Kiniro Mosaic, the Summer 2013 anime season has really been an excellent showcase of schoolgirl shows. With quality production and interesting hooks those anime all work to reaffirm how much fun the genre can be when done right. They also help to highlight the many failings of the peculiar Kitakubu Katsudou Kiroku, the one new schoolgirl series of the season I would not recommend.

Kitakubu Katsudou Kiroku is about five high school friends who are part of a club that doesn't really do anything--basically the same premise as Yuru Yuri or Yuyushiki. This read more
Dec 25, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Kitakubu Katsudou Kiroku is a comedic manga written by Kuroha and published by Square Enix. Thi year it was adapted into a twelve episode anime by Nomad, a studio that's only headed about a dozen productions, none of which I've seen. Let's take a look and see what this studio can do.

The series opens with High school student Andou Natsuki going in for the opening ceremony. Afterwards she checks out some of the club adverts, the strangest of which is someone flailing around in a seal costume. When asked what club she's going to join she responds by saying that she might read more
Apr 7, 2014
ccmdo (All reviews)
Chronicles of the Going Home Club; yet another school comedy?

Everyday, literally millions of school comedy anime are brought forth into existence. No joke. It’s a somewhat... saturated market where the term “sink or swim” springs to mind.

And to start this review, I’ll admit. Going Home Club went the way of the majestic rock. Rocks have, infact, never been very good swimmers, but perhaps I’m getting slightly off topic.

Of course, just because one rock… I mean anime, gets dragged under the clambering of other more popular shows doesn’t mean it’s bad. If anything, Going Home Club is misunderstood.

For instance, those seeking a show with “character development” read more
May 1, 2018
Dionkeykong (All reviews)
Oh the memories..The hate,the pain,the blood running down my comrade's hands,the screams of burning victims as the bombs came down on us like rain,the sweet release of death as our lifeless eyes turned white.

That pretty much sums up everything about CotGHC,so goodbye no........No what are you doing?Why are you dragging me back?Leave me be,don't make me go through this nightmare again please...

Well they said that if i don't write a proper review they'll send me my wife's head in a bag so..

CotGHC then..It's about..Erm..Maybe it has to do something with Japan's school having a ton of clubs for kids to stay out of their parents read more
Oct 24, 2013
War_Paragon (All reviews)
I never took these series seriously and I guess because of that I actually enjoyed it. Every episode left me laughing. I enjoyed the characters because thats basically what the show has. Theirs exciting plot, its just girls caving funny conversations and having a fun time. So I would recommend this show to people who just want a show that will make them laugh for 25 minutes.
Oct 8, 2016
sorata861 (All reviews)
[This review contains minor spoilers.]
I am glad that I watched this.
I would recommend this to others.
I have watched this three times, subtitled. I have only watched the anime.
I will watch this again.
I purchased the soundtrack, which includes all of the EDs.

---- Positives ----

Situational jokes work well.
There are many situational jokes that don't rely on a standard stock. The series largely relies on the throw-these-characters-in-a-room-with-a-topic-and-see-where-it-goes comedy, and it's done well.

The situations are interesting.
In general, a series that takes place primarily in the same room can become stale, but this series manages to introduce enough interesting topics and scenarios that this never becomes a problem. Also, they read more
Apr 5, 2015
senksiang90 (All reviews)
This is one of the most random, craziest, easy going anime I've ever watch. This anime lacks depth, character development and purpose. It can be just about anything at all, from kicking cans to bowling and so on.

While these are the things this series lack, these are what that makes it work. Playing ending credits earlier and so on makes it so easy and fun going to watch. It won't stick with you once you are done but it'll be one of those animes that will put a smile on your face when you watch it.

Overall, I give it a 7 because it's easy read more
Feb 2, 2016
Sombrefloe (All reviews)
This is more of a gag anime than a slice of life anime. The scenes where there actually is something going on other than girls discussing a topic in the club room are rare. It's pretty much "girls talking about topics the creator cares about", rather than "girls talking about things girls would be talking about". It is similar to Joshiraku in that vein. Though the number of language-related jokes are thankfully less, so the translations aren't a nightmare.

So, given its genre, obviously there is no story. There is not much character development other than very mild crushes/bonds between character pairs that appear halfway through read more
Sep 20, 2017
failthrowaway (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is like a tumblr fantasy of a Big Bang Theory about dumb people, but where someone screaming something obvious supplants the laugh track. Didn't finish one episode.

Art and sound (aside from screaming everything) were good. Commendable attention to detail. The first episode took two themes and ran with them, but unfortunately couldn't do either particularly well. I guess if you like the "lol random" genre of comedy, you might like this. I actually do like some "lol random" shows, but the one character screaming the obvious ruined things for me. Maybe a fake dub would make read more
Dec 5, 2015
Notshane (All reviews)
At first, it reminded me a lot of Seitokai no Ichizon, but it has its own flair to it that really sets it apart.

Right off the bat, like the other anime, the fourth wall is ENTIRELY broken! Well, actually, I think they waited a bit with this one. But, they did it quite heavily and it was...surprisingly enjoyable. However, my score is only as high as it is because, well, every review has to list negative points.

But firstly, what I enjoyed about it was that it delivered humor at a rapid pace, similar to another anime I watched, that is still my favorite, that did read more
Sep 5, 2015
Rayl1ght (All reviews)
You want to watch this anime but still undecided what to do?
Here I am to encourage you to watch this anime
Why?
Because this anime is funny!! Worth every your time
If you're looking for a comedy & 4th wall breaker anime here it is
If you like Gintama without the seriousness, sad stories & actions
You can watch this anime alright xD

May contain minor spoilers from here
-----------------------------------------------

Here's the thing...
Have you ever see some anime characters mocking their own anime?
Have you ever see an advanced "shiritori" game with a "taboo" card?
Cliche telepath communication?
Masamune Date Seal? (Date daze!)
You thought the voice actings are bad, later on you thought it's pretty good?
An read more