Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shingeki no Kyojin OVA


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Shingeki no Kyojin: Ilse no Techou, Attack on Titan: Ilse's Journal, 進撃の巨人 「イルゼの手帳」
Japanese: 進撃の巨人OAD

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 3
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 9, 2013 to Aug 8, 2014
Producers: Production I.G
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Wit Studio
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.881 (scored by 110,839 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #472
Members: 198,790
Favorites: 674

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 11, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
In a land ravaged by Titans - monstrosity that have desolated humanity and left them on the brink of constant fear at every day, every hour, every minute exists warriors that fights for what they believe in. It is freedom and to liberate themselves from fear and destruction of this apocalyptic land at the dawn of the hour, these warriors have vowed to bring the war against Titans. But just exactly who are these mysterious Titans that suddenly popped out of from the earth? Why do they eat humans when they suffer no hunger themselves? Exactly what is a ‘Titan’?

These are questions you might have read more
Feb 1, 2014
0namine1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I must say that before i watched the first episode i would have never expect anything that happened. Something is going to happen with the titans and its just gonnna pull you in for more it will amaze you. I would have never guesed anything! i really do recomend you to watch it especially if you have seen the full series.
the story line is just amazing, if they continue to make more of this OVA watch it all ! :3
Jan 24, 2014
stream_eon (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't have knowledge about Shingeki no Kyojin manga but I've completed the TV series. This OVA occurred during the time when Eren and his batch (104th trainees squad was still in training). Also keep in mind that currently only 1 of the 2 episodes is out and that is the sole information I could review as of now.

It's better to think of this as another anime episode rather than some highly anticipating OVA. It's because there's not much action in here. Nevertheless, I still scored it 10. Why? It's because I strongly believe this is an important fragment in the entire story of Shingeki read more
Dec 11, 2013
iHitokage (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, there is not much to say. Everyone who enjoyed the anime should watch this OVA.

The plot is very interesting. It shows us that there is something more in the titans. What the heck happened? After watching this I got a feeling that the titans actually don't wanna eat humans but they are somehow forced into it. Heh such an interesting topic. "The spirit truly is ready, but the flesh is weak." Mark 14:38

Anyway, basically you return some time before the ending of the first anime season and watch some well-known characters (Levi and his squad, Hanji, Ervin..) discovering another fact about the titans. read more
Dec 11, 2013
Asfaria (All reviews)
The OVAs takes place around the time skip in the series near episodes 3 and 4 in the regular anime. Moving away from just the usual trio of protagonists and their training to become professional titan slayers, the story also focuses on Hanji, Levi and his squad, and several others. This OVA adds a little more background into some of the elder and younger characters of the story as well as some more mysteries to the strange titans. The first episode is the only one adapted from the manga while the other two episodes are original material.

Episode 1: Hanji has become determined to capture a read more
Aug 11, 2014
ImTheRhetorician (All reviews)
Out of the 3 OVA released so far, the first is the standout. It focus's on interesting characters that i wanted to see more of in the main anime so that's a plus. Zoë is a character with a very...unique personality, which is both interesting and entertaining since she's very unconventional. Levi and his squad are the supporting characters and it's nice to see them because i personally enjoy their characters and i wish they were around more in the anime. I'm not sure whether or not to consider this one filler, since it did seem story focus'd but vaguely. The episode talks about the read more
Feb 1, 2014
Lelouchu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Attack on Titan OVA 2: Jean’s Story:

The episode is a back story on Jean Kirstein and the 104th trainees squad with some light comedy and laughs. A light comedy that do not lineup with Attack on Titan's original serious story, unlike "Ilse's Journal" the 1st OVA.

Attack on Titan OVA 1: Ilse's Journal:

A story tells the encounter of Recon Corps on their 49th expedition outside the walls. Levi and his comrades as well as Hange Zoe found a notebook journal written by former Recon Corps member Ilse Langnar. The journal notes some new information about the titans which well then change the force stand on titan read more
Apr 29, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

"Seid ihr das Essen? Ja, wir sind die Jägerschnitzel!"

What happens when you have a HUGELY popular series, but you can only make a new season every 3 years and people are all begging for more? Obviously, you HAVE to give them something, otherwise too many people will abandon ship. Especially since most fans of the anime don't actually read the manga. To solve this dilemma, Attack on Titan created this OVA. However, they really didn't want to create filler material that might accidentally contradict something later on in the manga. The only way to ASSURE that this contradiction doesn't happen, is to make an read more
Dec 10, 2013
Ricz (All reviews)
Preliminary
The cheesiness is strong in this one and it's parent story, the Shingeki no Kyojin TV. The review is written by this aspect and as a separated OVA from that, due to it's "lost episode" meaning. Those who liked the series, don't read more from this and move on to the other reviews.

To be fair, the Shingeki no Kyojin series wasn't a good adaptation at all: the first quarter had a good pace, then it became too slow and slower and slower and in the end, a common snail could be a F-1 race car beside this. And don't mention the unnecessary babbling, without giving read more
Apr 21, 2014
Omega501 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Episode 1: Stays true to the Manga and provides extra information to the plot. Interesting episode and nothing truly to hate on. 8/10

Episode 2: Completely useless fluff, a few comical appearances, essentially ridicules some of the characters whom contribute to the plot of the main Anime. 2/10
Sep 9, 2014
SnazzGary (All reviews)
*This review is meant to poke fun and give insight.

Story (60/100) With all 3 OVA's together, it equals to an overall of 60. After seeing the first OVA, titled Isle's Journal, I had hope for the next OVA. Then I heard they were tacking on another OVA, to make it three in all...

Isle's Journal- By far the most interesting OVA. Hell, even better than the original series itself. You delve into an episode that happens in between episode 3 and 4 (If I am thinking correctly) of the original series. Levi goes on an adventure. Sounds interesting, right? Well, it is. But, I could have read more
Jul 23, 2017
Tyrannicswine117 (All reviews)
Warning possible Spoilers

Usually I watch OVA's only if they provide some sort of continuation to the main series or give us more detail about like backstory stuff and this is one of those OVA's that was actually really enjoyable to watch.

The OVA consists of 3 episodes, The first concentrates on Hange's discovery of an important journal about a scouts recordings on a titan.
The second concentrates one Jean and his annoying selfish nature while he has a cook off battle with Sasha.
And the third concentrates on a exercise that the 104th cadet corps had to go on that didn't really go to plan.
I thought these episodes read more
Dec 12, 2015
AshitaNoJonas (All reviews)
Overview: SnK OVA is a 3 episode special that gives some extra information about the world and characters of SnK. The first episode is actually based on a chapter of the manga. Why this episode wasn't included in the actual series is beyond me (escpecially since it's pretty important for the foreshadowing of some later events). The other 2 episodes don't be seem to be canon, as far as I can tell.

Plot: Episode 1 (8/10)
The first episode is about a girl named Ilse who is part of the Scouting Legion. She was left behind by her crew mates and she writes a journal about her read more