Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Whistle!


Alternative Titles

Japanese: ホイッスル!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 39
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 6, 2002 to Feb 3, 2003
Premiered: Spring 2002
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Comet
Source: Manga
Genres: School, Shounen, Sports
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.511 (scored by 4,178 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15512
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3438
Members: 8,607
Favorites: 60

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 14, 2009
Vash (All reviews)
I'll start off first by throwing this out there, I don't really like soccer all that much. Watching it is pretty damn boring, and playing it isn't much better in my opinion. Now, with that out of the way, let me just say that I really loved this anime. I know, you're like, "But he just said he pretty much hates soccer. Is he weird?" Yes, this anime indeed be about soccer, but it is much more than just that. This anime follows a middle school boy, Shou Kazamatsuri, who enjoys soccer and works extremely hard to get better and rise to the top. We read more
Aug 12, 2008
Mangaloverxox (All reviews)
I enjoyed this story very much. It was actually a realistic soccer story and it didn't have to deal with any other side stories. it maintained me entertained for the whole anime and the ending was very exciting, and it left you asking for more. I recommend this anime to the true soccer fans, who know the reality of soccer and that know how hard it is and how much you have to work to make it in the sport.
May 14, 2016
NQ2Resq (All reviews)
When I first began watching Whistle!, there were many things that could classify it as a bad anime. Granted, it is old, but the animation was very choppy and uncoordinated. The main character's voice actor was not the best either, and a lot of the lines were delivered without clear articulation and emotion. However, despite these, there was something about it that drew me in. Next thing I knew, I had finished the last episode and was craving more.

The story for Whistle! revolves around Kazamatsuri Shou, a 2nd-year junior high school student who has an unquenchable passion for soccer. Throughout the anime, most of these read more
Oct 21, 2016
Geddon616 (All reviews)
Do you like fun Football anime that just keeps on giving then this is the one you want.

Whistle has everything you want in a great sports anime but lets start from the beginning.

The story shows the Mc not really being all that great in the beginning but this is one of those anime that lets you see his improvement through the entire story and it makes it even more fun to watch and you just want to root for him or his friends as they become better at football and learn to improve alot. The story feels as if it makes a progress. read more
Sep 20, 2013
yukified (All reviews)
First and foremost, I really have to say that the plot is really interesting, such that it is different from most sports anime I know.

1. The main character Shou may not seem to have the attribute that a striker (forward) ought to have, but yet he does not give up and makes use of whatever he has to put up a play to his advantage.

2. His growth along with the interaction with the other characters were equally as important and good.

However, the thing is that this anime seems to be under budget, I really don't like how the voice casting for Shou is done, read more
Jul 16, 2013
deenooo (All reviews)
After watching hungry heart wild striker it took me a bit of persistence to give Whistle a go but i'm glad i did. Amazing anime! I loved the characters, the music really fitted in nicely, the plot was to a point good but short but overall the anime was excellent! Dissapointed they didn't make another season or carry on the anime as theres more to have seen. It could well have turned out to be an anime such as captain tsubasa in the sense of going on a journey with the tokyo team and there adventures.
Jun 16, 2010
--Sunclaudius (All reviews)
Since childhood, I learned how to play football, turned out I found the anime actually soccer is Whistle. Anime is taught how to play soccer well, though not as famous as the anime Captain Tsubasa. For Soccer, anime is worth to watch. Although Art is too long. but has a storyline that's pretty good.