Ged Senki


Tales from Earthsea

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Tales from Earthsea
Synonyms: Gedo Senki, Tales of Ged, Ged's War Chronicles
Japanese: ゲド戦記

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 29, 2006
Producers: Toho
Licensors: Walt Disney Studios
Studios: Studio Ghibli
Source: Novel
Genres: AdventureAdventure, MagicMagic, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 1 hr. 55 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.921 (scored by 6651066,510 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #39592
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1340
Members: 111,521
Favorites: 196
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 18, 2007
inoneoutheother (All reviews)
I realize that many people might not agree with what i'm going to say about this film, but please hear me out..

first of all.. i think too many people expected it to be like other miyazaki works.. but the worst thing you could do is assume it'll have the magic and light-heartedness of other studio ghibli films.. after all, it was miyazaki's son that directed it.. and for a first film, i don't think it could've been any better.. i suppose it's tough to keep this in mind, as the art style is the same as other ghibli films.. but please try..

that being said..

Story-i loved read more
Mar 12, 2012
JTurner (All reviews)
Even a prolific animation studio like Ghibli can turn out a lesser effort. Hiroyuki Morita's THE CAT RETURNS was my personal least favorite Ghibli movie, but that film, simplistic and shallow as it was, seems to have much more accolades than 2006's TALES FROM EARTHSEA, arguably one of the first productions from the studio to split audiences and critics alike.

Ironically enough, the controversy actually began prior to the film's release. It has been stated that Hayao Miyazaki had expressed interest in directing a film based on Ursula K. LeGuin's famous fantasy novels, but the author, displeased with previous attempts, declined... until the success read more
May 9, 2011
sen_mcgrath (All reviews)
I have not read the Earthsea novels, and have only seen this film once, so I am going by first impressions, and while admitedly this may not be particularly thorough, first impressions do count for a lot.

I did not enjoy this movie as much as other Ghibli, or anime films in general. Most of this was because I felt that many questions I had about the film and the world in which the film was set were left unanswered. This may have been because I did not read the book, however, I believe an addaptation should be able to stand on read more
Oct 17, 2007
Phill-z (All reviews)
Let me explain first that I am not a Studio Ghibli fan. I find when I watch their films that I am constantly seeing the same recurring characters. Not the same TYPE of characters, just the same art. That greatly bugs me. I saw many of the same archetype characters that i've seen in every Ghibli film in this one as well.

Story: Adapted from Ursula K LeGuins Earthsea series. I've never read the series myself but from watching the anime I might just pick up a couple. I want to ask what part of the story inspired Goro Miyazaki read more
Aug 17, 2011
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Back in my review of Kiki's Delivery Service I talked about how much I love Studio Ghibli and mentioned that their films generally range from good to excellent. This is not only the third exception to that I've found but also the very worst Studio Ghibli film I've seen.

Let's start with the story. The balance of a planet is being destroyed, a prince murders his father for unknown reasons and joins up with a traveling wizard. And all of this has virtually no bearing on the plot whatsoever. Yes, these scenes are mentioned later, but nothing gets done with them. Well, except for the read more
Aug 23, 2007
dollie_mixtures (All reviews)
An epic story of a young prince with a dark side, a wise old wizard and a mysterious, scarred girl. I was so full of hope for this one.

At a first look, it looks like what you would expect; the art is very familiar, especially the character design; the detail of the latter Studio Ghibli movies present, with grandiose scenery and breathtaking settings; the music appropriate, ushering us into the right mood; yet... something is missing.

This is very serious movie, gone is the usual playfulness and humour; there is a strong lesson being taught throughout, not unlike in Mononoke Hime, warning us about how read more
May 14, 2012
animelambie (All reviews)
Tales from Earthsea is adapted from a series of novels written by Ursula K. LeGuin. It was also Hayao Miyazaki's son, Goro's, directorial feature debut. I'm loathe to call any Studio Ghibli film a half-baked mess but that's exactly what this film is. Miyazaki felt his son lacked the experience to direct a feature length film-- especially one as ambitious as Earthsea-- and it's a shame that he was proven right (and that it damaged the relationship between father and son). While the animation quality is on par with some of the other Ghibli movies, it just fails.

The mediums of literature read more
Apr 18, 2009
Yakuri (All reviews)
I had great expectations for Earthsea, mostly because I loved the song by Terru and the beautiful poster with the dragon. I'm disappointed to say the movie did not live to my expectations. You can't really sympathize with any of the characters, and even though the art is outstanding at times it's also plain. I couldn't believe how unimpressed I was with the town, the most colorful part of the movie.

The thing that really drags this movie down is the most important part: the story. Things happen with little to none reason (and those reasons are either stereotypical or absurd), the pace is dreadful; drags read more
Jan 5, 2020
LightScaryRobo (All reviews)
Story:

The story is enjoyable for the most part but is very confusing to those who have not read the book. A lot of people who have read the book, however, complain that this movie confused even them with the plot. Overall though, the story was enjoyable nonetheless.

Art:

They were aiming for the animation and art to be clean yet feel old at the same time, and I feel like they captured this very well.

Sound:

The sound in this was good but not great. It was enjoyable to listen to a lot of the time, but some of the characters voices change into a different tone and I read more
Jul 4, 2013
obtrice (All reviews)
Tales from Earthsea is the debut work from director Goro Miyazaki (From Up on Poppy Hill), son of renowned director Hayao Miyazaki, so naturally you might expect great things. Sadly, the film lacks the magic and sense of wonder of many of its Studio Ghibli predecessors, and fails to deliver much of a story at all in the nearly two hours it spans. Although it starts out strong, featuring an action-packed dragon battle in the skies, a good king trying to determine the source of the strange events in the world, and a shocking murder, it soon becomes slow and uneventful, dedicating nearly an hour read more
Aug 23, 2011
EnterThought (All reviews)
Hayao Miyazaki is considered to be not only one of the greatest writer/directors of animation but of all time. I've seen my fair share of his movies and I would agree with that sentiment. Spirited Away is one of my top 5 favorite animated movies of all time, I thought Ponyo definitely should have been seen by more people and My Neighbor Totoro is one of the most enjoyable films you and everyone in your family can watch. Did you know though that before his first film in the Studio Ghibli canon, Nausicaa Valley of the Wind, he was interested in adapting another project? Ursula read more
May 20, 2019
AnimeBW (All reviews)
Tales from Earthsea has earned a bit of an unfortunate reputation for itself as the Ghibli Film that it’s okay to dislike. Directed by Hayao Miyazaki’s son Goro, the finished product was apparently so underwhelming to Hayao that he would joke in the future that while he was happy Goro had made a film, he would dissuade his son from making another one ever again. But honestly, after actually seeing the movie, I’m gonna have to disagree with the maestro, because I think Tales from Earthsea is a genuinely powerful film. It’s certainly not the best of the Ghibli canon, and it definitely bears the read more
Apr 29, 2019
NintendoSakamoto (All reviews)
Writing a good fiction requires a good level of imagination, character development, and an engaging plot. Goro Miyazaki's Tales of Earthsea fails at several of these points. It is flat, not engaging. It felt like a chore to watch.

The film starts off with a huge negative action: the main character's balance is already stacked heavily against him. In order for the plot to progress, he must overcome that negative balance and progress to a positive balance. Vices must be overcome with virtues, past actions forgiven, lessons learned, etc.

Even as the main character goes on a journey (part of the Hero's Path) the main read more
Aug 20, 2018
Kitsune-Yuki (All reviews)
Honestly, the only thing I can really say about this movie is that it's... average, and definitely subpar when compared to other Ghibi films. Like any Ghibli film, the art is amazing, and the overall quality of the film is good, but as far as the story and characters go, nothing special. I just rewatched it, and yet I can barely remember it. It's very forgettable, and the story is very hard to follow, the characters are bland, and motivation for many of the biggest plotpoints are completely ignored and overlookedOverall, I'd give it a pass, unless you really want to see every Ghibli film.
Jul 7, 2015
QwertY_Mr (All reviews)
The movie tries to stay true to the book in "tone" and also tries to convey many of the main themes apparent in the books and people who have read the books I think will appreciate that and feel very comfortable with this movie. However for this review I will assume that most of the people who would want to watch it aren't familiar with Le'guin's world.

You will not understand the majority of the plot here if you haven't read the books. There is so much material crammed in here (from 3 books) that you will be left wandering what is going on and why read more
Mar 23, 2011
selvania (All reviews)
I suddenly have heard many things about people who didn't enjoy this movie...and frankly I don't know why :(
I am both an Earthsea and a Ghibli fan, with Ghibli being my favorite movie studio (hayaoi miyazaki my favorite director) and Ursala LeGuin being one of my favorite authors, no-one need say that I expected much from this movie. While it is true that I had not yet got to the fourth book (which this is based off of, those who do not know earthsea) of the series, I enjoyed recognizing the characters and the world.
Naturally, a few thigns were changed, and another few adapted, read more
Dec 16, 2014
Souphead (All reviews)
This is probably my least favorite Ghibli movie. I feel as though this movie would have been wonderful if it were not for a few wasted and unneeded scenes. At some parts, I was holding my breath to wait to see what would happen......and then, minutes later, let it out and laugh a little when I realize that I had been led on.

+ The Art+
Of course it was great. Particularly when Arren was wandering around in the market by himself. read more
Mar 9, 2021
EDOSHINRATENSEI (All reviews)
A directorial debut from Miyazaki’s son Goro.

Keeping with the Studio Ghibli standard, the animation was beautiful and colorful. The dragons looked mighty and cool.

Unfortunately, that’s the only thing that kept up with the standard. This movie was a major disappointment. The characters had little background, leading to them having unclear motivations. Some of the actions were quite baffling, and did not have explanations. Many aspects introduced in the movie were barely touched upon, leaving me feel confused and like I’m missing a lot about the movie’s universe.

Most of the background provided by the movie was shown through characters talking, and not actually showing read more
Jan 16, 2021
HanariShizuka (All reviews)
While i understand this was the first time miyazaki's son directed a movie and i shouldn't be that harsh...i still don't like this movie.

As far as i know this was an adaptation of a book and the author themselves said they didn't liked this movie since it mixed stuff and it felt more like a different thing...and i can see why.

This movie is SO SLOW, that's not really a bad thing if you really know how to do it, like whisper of the heart, but Tales of the Earthsea just feels slow every second, even in the action scenes it feels slow. I watched this read more
Jan 17, 2008
internetotaku (All reviews)
Gedo Senki isn't a horrible movie by any means, certainly not. However, it is severely lacking. Given that this is Goro Miyazaki's first time out it is somewhat understandable how this turns out. The movie is absolutely beautiful to look at....and thats about it. The movie takes much too long to even get near even beginning the plot that by the time it decides to, the plot has to be mashed together haphazardly and nonsensically. What we're left with is that is full of beautiful scenes that ultimately amount to little or nothing. Nice looking but with a weakly executed story.