Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

White Album 2


Alternative Titles

English: White Album 2
Synonyms: White Album2, WA2
Japanese: ホワイトアルバム2

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2013 to Dec 29, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Starchild Records
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Satelight
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.841 (scored by 68,322 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8362
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #670
Members: 149,528
Favorites: 2,634

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 8, 2014
ZeroReq011 (All reviews)
Music Room 2. It's the most unassuming of the three that populate Houjou High. Music Room 3 in the building across has the benefit of being bigger and newer, and the adjacent Music Room 1's been sectioned for everyone save those enlisted in the musical curriculum. Nevertheless, it's where Haruki Kitahara spends his time practicing “White Album” by Yuki Morikawa on his guitar. And out of nowhere, from the adjacent room, from the rooftop, a sound has him spellbound. A piano so soothing, a voice so transfixing, plays, sings to the song's melody. And here is where the story of White Album 2 takes off, read more
Dec 28, 2013
opernlied (All reviews)
Visual novel adaptations have always had a notorious reputation in anime communities. Whether it be issues with pacing, narration, or some nonlinear route structure, these adaptations suffer from a variety of heated complaints from fans of the original source material, sometimes even as to have their very existence denied.

Thankfully, White Album 2 is not one of those adaptations.

Adapted from the ~introductory chapter~ segment of the bestselling Leaf visual novel of the same name, White Album 2 (henceforth referred to as “WA2”) manages to retain a lot of the strengths of the source material while approaching it in a different, but appropriate, fashion. It is important read more
Jan 16, 2014
Silent_Scream (All reviews)
Have you ever fallen in love?

I did. I still am.

White Album 2 is set after 10 years of the events that occurred in the original White Album. Despite the title being White Album 2, the story isn't a sequel but is pretty much a standalone or what you could say an alternate setting which has minimal relevance to its predecessor. The only apparent connection are the songs which were sung in the first anime and the people who wrote them, and that it is set in the same world. In simple words, you don't need to watch the first anime to understand this and read more
Dec 28, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
White Album 2 is one of those series many people tend to overlook these days because for a variety of obvious reasons. Some of them might be prior experience with other “White Album” franchise anime that left with mediocre impressions. Then, there’s also a belief that anime series based off of visual novel tends to be the inferior brand. Finally, maybe it could just be the synopsis or premise of the show. It looks simple, tends to be simple, and it is simple. But what you might be surprised at is that White Album 2 is not what it appears to be. Rather than going read more
Feb 25, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Two's a plenty, three's a crowd. Or so the saying goes.

People like to say friendship lasts forever. They want to believe that things will never change between themselves and the ones closest to their hearts during their teenage years. However, when multiple men and women grow close enough to each other there eventually comes a point where life-changing decisions must be made. And if your social circuit happens to consist of one man and two women... then odds are that someone is going to have to be left out.

White Album 2 is a rare anime in the sense that it is a story about actual read more
Oct 29, 2014
Dragon-san (All reviews)
"As if to match the guitar I play in the afternoon music classroom,
As if to match the piano someone plays in the next room,
The pure singing voice from the rooftop connects the three disconnected melodies.
It all started in such a day in late autumn.
At that time, someone fell in love.
Everyone was doing their best. Everyone pushed on. Everyone was intent and honest...
We formed a bond and obtained a precious moment.
That’s why someone fell in love. A love that was too late, a love that shouldn’t have occurred.
And then comes winter. The falling snow covers all sins.
And spring eventually comes, melting the snow and imposing all read more
Jul 9, 2015
Gimerly (All reviews)
Let me go right off the bat and say this anime was disappointing, the first half was fine and looking like it will turn into a decent romance anime but unfortunately for this series where you would expect it to start becoming really good it completely falls down on its fat face. WARNING CONTAINS SPOILS. You have been warned

Story : 6

The story starts off as any romance anime does, introduce the love interests and develop some back story for the characters. The story then revolves around Kazusa Touma, Setsuna Ogiso and Haruki Kitahara getting ready for the school fair which for their act is read more
Apr 28, 2015
ChristopherKClaw (All reviews)
If you're an anime fan and you're anything like me, then you're getting a little goddamn tired of high school rom-com slice of life shows. They seem to breed like rabbits, flooding each new season with waves of uninspired crap. Worse than the fact that they're founded on generic, predictable stories is the fact that 95% of them rely on overused tropes, poor attempts at slapstick humor, cliches, terrible dialogue and more anime-isms than one can count. Shows that are airing now like Ore Monogatari get credit just for deviating ever-so-slightly from the formula, and while I do give such shows credit I still cannot read more
Mar 3, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
Love sucks, plain and simple. Of course, that little detail is often lost in the overwhelming sea of romance anime/mangas out there which paints the whole ordeal of falling in love and actually getting into a relationship like it's all sunshine and rainbows. I think I can speak for the majority of us when I say that romance in real life is nothing like Kimi ni Todoke or Clannad. Furthermore, I think it's safe to say that if you've ever been caught in a love triangle in real life as well, it ain't gonna be like a harem comedy. Humans are fucked up creatures and read more
Dec 28, 2013
Yukariki (All reviews)
Walking on the streets of Kobe one late night on the eve of Christmas has showed me wonderful sights: couples holding hands together, wispy white breaths from salarymen rushing past me, swinging leather briefcases and purses, glaring red and green lights, smiles, and the children who sneaked out at night to sing carols in that small corner right over there.

Of all the things that make Christmas what it is, this Kobe street is missing something. Not Santa Claus -- that large man with a huge belly donned in that trademark woolen clothing of his is crying out, "Hohoho~," in the wooden chair. Not Rudolf read more
Dec 11, 2018
VyseofArcadia (All reviews)
"THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MINOR SPOILERS"

I hated this show.

"But," I hear you say, "you gave it a 10/10, so you can't think it all that bad."
Well, no. I don't think it's a bad show, in fact a very good one.

But I still hate it.

Like what the games Spec Ops: The Line and Doki Doki Literature Club are to their respective genres, this is a show that swings a sledge hammer to your face for liking the musical genre.

Story: On the surface, it's a fairly typical high school story about a young guitarist by the name of Haruki Kitahara trying to piece together enough musicians for a read more
Jun 27, 2015
FizzyBalu (All reviews)
After being almost forced into it by a friend, who’s basically in love with romantic stories, I’ve decided to watch White Album 2, despite the fact that I’ve had enough of soap operas about unlucky love for some time already. Anyways, I started watching. Before we get to rating and justifying the aforementioned, I have to admit one thing – this anime evokes borderline emotions. Whether positive or negative depends on the personal taste of the viewer, however, you can’t just walk past them indifferently. And because of that, it reminds me a bit of Golden Time (and not only because of that, mind you).
Warning, read more
May 12, 2016
ndsempai (All reviews)
Generic romance anime with generic characters all of whom fill a stereotype. We have a nice guy man-pussy, a popular kawaii-wannabe idol and you run of the mill tsundere. For an anime focused on music the music is surprisingly generic. The ending song is alright I guess, but the rest of the sounds are rather forgettable. The anime picks up after about 10 episodes and the last two episodes are decent. But the journey to get there is slow, ardous and painful and the ending is just too little too late. I almost dropped the show post the 7th episode. Each of three main characters read more
Aug 24, 2015
Sonata (All reviews)
This is my first review, but I'll do my best.

White Album 2 is, to me, the epitome of human romance in anime.

What do I mean by this? Well, I mean it's a perfect mix of irrational love taking over imperfect human beings and dictating their own actions to a point where those aren't their own anymore, spiced with artistic expression such is music, and with passionately written script.

There are a few flaws in the package of course, like the imprecision (borderline laziness I'd say sometimes) in the graphic department (at some scene, a guitar is being played by itself, without fingers to help create read more
Dec 29, 2013
Smexy (All reviews)
The story is very easy to tell what is going to happen next. On top of that, flashbacks are constantly used and abused. Very poor placement for flashbacks. There was not much unique as well. Generally a very bland love story.

The characters felt really bland until the very end. Even at the end it was very basic development if you could call it that.

I did like the art a tiny bit. At times it was better and at other times it wasn't the greatest.

I just didn't get much feeling or enjoyment out of it. There was not an emotional feel like I should have had. read more
Jul 18, 2014
jambol (All reviews)
It didn't take much to get me interested in this title. I saw "high school" and "music" and I was sucked in. I HAD to watch White Album 2. It wasn't until later that I found out this was also a love triangle anime. White Album 2 is one of those shows that manages to achieve a balance between its multiple elements without losing focus of its main objective. The story and characters of White Album 2 are unrelated to the first White Album anime (which I've heard, by all accounts, is mediocre). The show is based off of the "Introductory Chapter" of the visual read more
Dec 29, 2013
lightninggame (All reviews)
White Album 2 did not give me a good impression from first White album. It was not until I realized that White Album 2 is not really connected with White Album. I took it upon myself to try out the anime. What happened exactly? I was Hooked. I enjoyed this entire series in a day and I thought it was pretty amazing overall.

Story 9/10
The story is well-paced and pretty well thought out. Its a story with a few kids trying to have a good friendship but at the same time there is a love triangle. This leads on for some drama and some tough read more
Jan 3, 2014
yogotah (All reviews)


This is a hard anime for me to review, and honestly, I'm not sure that the score that I gave it is really representative of my feelings towards White Album 2. Hopefully, as I'm writing this review, I can get some type of closure and maybe fortify my rating decision. So bear with me a bit.

I have strayed away from the pure romantic drama genre for years now, I thought that I was offered the best that a romantic drama can deliver in Clannad, and the worst that it can offer in School Days. I've also enjoyed shows like True Tears and Ef in the read more
Jul 8, 2015
Dunpa (All reviews)
"The last moment the three of us could truly be together."

This quote perfectly describes the situation of the 3 main characters within the story and the problems they face. I'd also say that this anime identically portrays situations that people in reality face, as people are always looking for ways to get what they want without hurting their friends. This anime truly makes it fall in love with you as they portray their characters in a way to relate it to reality by showing that humans truly do not like change, as shown in anime as the 3 main characters wish to stay the way read more
Oct 21, 2014
czxcjx (All reviews)
Since being done with Ligotti's Conspiracy Against the Human Race, I've been attached to this idea of Zappfe's Four-Way philosophy. Especially interesting is Sublimation because it seems strange that the pessimistic mindset would be conquered by itself in a self-mutilating loop (though maybe its because it feels self-mutilating that it becomes pessimistic, the thing about pessimistic philosophy is that its based entirely around aesthetic and gut feel over anything else). The point I'm making in bringing up one of the big daddies of dark philosophy is that love for dark things is as fundamental a drive as love for romantic idealist things. It's just as read more