Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tenkuu no Escaflowne


Alternative Titles

English: The Vision of Escaflowne
Synonyms: Tenkuu no Escaflowne
Japanese: 天空のエスカフローネ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 1996 to Sep 24, 1996
Premiered: Spring 1996
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 18:00 (JST)
Producers: TV Tokyo, Bandai Visual
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.771 (scored by 48,007 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #909
Members: 104,490
Favorites: 1,872

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 5, 2008
Venneh (All reviews)
Title: The Vision of Escaflowne

Manga, Anime: There are three different manga for this anime, and the two that were released around the same time as the anime are worlds apart. In order to understand this, you need to know a little something about the production.

Escaflowne was in development for about five years. Shoji Kawamori (famous for his work on the Macross series and Eureka Seven) came up with the initial idea for the series after a trip to Nepal, and hashed out the basics of the series with Minoru Takanashi at Bandai, with Hitomi originally as a curvy, long-haired, air-headed girl with glasses, read more
Nov 18, 2007
Tsumayouji (All reviews)
Oh Escaflowne, I do love thee. This is my favorite series to date and is likely to stay that way, but what makes it so appealing?

The first thing about this series that earned it a point in my favor was the wholeness and realness of the characters. Hitomi, the protagonist, in particular earned my approval because she, unlike most anime females, seems very realistic. She's not the stereotypical "cutesy" girl (God, but I do hate those), nor is she overly self-sacrificing; she's not one of those violence prone angry chicks, nor is she the tough loner, she's not a goober who's always eating, nor is read more
Nov 19, 2014
Dantesoblivion (All reviews)
*Contains Heavy Spoilers*

So I've been patiently watching the series mainly because I have nothing else to do, and tbh I quite enjoyed the first half of the series. And then they lost me. I mean it's a fantasy anime, so a fair bit of leeway has to be given to the plot. I can make my peace with the hidden power of fate that the MC uses. I can deal with the mana-mechanical transformer-bots in a medieval setting. Hell, I can even swallow the uber ridiculous goal of the antagonist to control fate, and in corollary, control the world. Classic Villain. Pretty easy to swallow. read more
Apr 4, 2009
Beatnik (All reviews)
Escaflowne is renowned for its soundtrack scored by Yoko Kanno, an epic orchestral voyage to a fantasy land that remains original even today in an era overrun by music for fantasy films and anime, all vaguely familiar with their typical motifs and themes.

Escaflowne’s animation, at least for the remastered DVDs should also be praised, as well as the direction by Kazuki Akane. It’s dynamic, artistic and looks gorgeous; a vivid world brought to life by an excellent production staff.

Escaflowne’s story takes a dump on all of this, squatting on its nonexistent bent knees, its jeans wrapped around its feet awkwardly, while it looks around read more
Jan 14, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Escaflowne is an anime is about a high school girl Hitomi, who is one of the best runners in her school. She also has a gift in fortunetelling and she has a vision of having a weird encounter with a mysterious knight. Then one fateful day this vision becomes a reality when she has a deadly encounter with that knight. If things weren’t strange enough, Hitomi and the knight were suddenly transported back to his world.

I know what most anime fans are wondering, hasn’t this whole other world thing been done before, but this sort of has an original feel to it. Yet another romantic, read more
Jun 28, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
It had all the ingredients of a good anime – and yet it failed to please me. I had to force myself to finish it, since I do think that it is worth finishing. After all, the first time I watched it was almost 9 years ago, and I didn’t think it was that bad when I first saw it. I wasn’t able to finish it then so I decided to finish it now.

The story is actually good. Another teenager sucked into an entirely new world. Teenager wants to go home, but somehow forgets about that when she realizes she needs to help out the read more
Sep 6, 2009
ace52387 (All reviews)
Escaflowne is in the same generation as other venerated anime titles often fondly reminisced upon by fans, kenshin, trigun, cowboy bebop, and fushigi yugi. Where those titles all had specific target audiences, Escaflowne goes broader, not by distinguishing itself from any set Anime genre, but mixing the staples, or cliché’s of several genres together. Nothing about Escaflowne is very impressive at first. The juxtaposition of a Shoujo cast of main characters and mecha/fantasy war at its bloodiest is novel, but neither individual elements are even close to out of the ordinary. Hitomi, the main character is an understandably reluctant heroin who read more
Apr 10, 2011
Lindle (All reviews)
Vision of Escaflowne has something of a name for itself in anime history for being an an attempt to appeal to both shonen and shoujo demographics at the same time. Featuring mechas, swordfights, explosions, stuff burning etc. alongside bishonen male protagonists in a love triangle with the regular everyday girl from another world seems to be a lot of its selling point, and as a result, it's often fondly remembered as a true anime classic of the 90s.

Escaflowne revolves around a teenage girl named Hitomi Kanzaki, an everyday ordinary girl who happens to like reading tarot cards. Or so that was the extent of it, read more
Jul 16, 2009
zealot1138 (All reviews)
-- Please do not read if you have not watched this and/or do not like any spoilers. Thank you --

Ok, maybe all that FMP watchin' made me want to revisit another tortured love story chock-full of action and beautifully drawn characters, so I cracked open the Special Edition box set of "Vision of Escaflowne." I hadn't seen this series since I was going to UCLA (and I only mention the school bit so that when I admit about my blubbering later, it won't seem too pathetic).

I wasn't sure I would ever want to see this again since my first impression of the series went from read more
Jul 21, 2008
JTurner (All reviews)
For lovers of full-blooded sci-fi fantasy drama, Escaflowne is a must-see. Produced in 1996, this 26-episode series begins in modern-day Japan where we are introduced to Hitomi Kanzaki, an insecure, lovestruck student who has a special gift for telling fortunes using cards. She has eyes for the handsome captain of the boy's track team, but before she can confess her feelings, Hitomi finds herself magically whisked away to a far-off planet known as Gaea. This strange new place is filled with luscious forests and kingdoms that look as though they could have been drawn from 18th Century France, and are inhabited not only by humans, read more
May 29, 2016
bloggbigg (All reviews)
I'll keep this one short, based on the most notable points.

For about the first 2/3 of the series:

The anime seems like an action fantasy adventure with romantic potential.
Building the world and demonstrating the power structure progresses.
Character development and relationship building are weak, but present.

For about the last 1/3 of the series:

It's unrealistically anti-war- considering the story.
Things happen pretty close to randomly.
The anime becomes a melodramatic soap opera.

At the end:
The conflict element (& resolution) is severely downplayed
Other dumb, unexplained shit happens.
The shipping... is not satisfying.

It's tough to pinpoint without spoiling, but this is one of those stories where events are strung together, plot points are forced, read more
May 8, 2016
BowlingJD (All reviews)
Escaflowne is an anime in the shoujo genre. Do not let that be a deterrent from watching it though. A massive studio is behind the helm in Sunrise (Gundam), but an unknown director by the name of Kazuki Akane as well. Already, that is two out of three categories that are generally not very popular. Again, do not let those be a deterrent from this gorgeous fantasy-mech anime.

One day, high school girl and track athlete Hitome Kanzaki is transported to a fantasy world where she meets a couple princes, battles with falling in love, and must survive an ongoing war waged on by the Zaibach read more
May 1, 2016
Ripo (All reviews)
Tenkuu no Escaflowne 4/10

A few days ago I remembered an anime I used to watch when I was a kid (9 or 10 years old), "Vision of Escaflowne". My memory of it was hazy to say the least. What I did remember were those characters with the long noses, the pretty guy with long blond hair, and a very memorable soundtrack. So I had a strong urge to re-watch it, and I did, unfortunately the result was, my memories of this fairy-tale like anime were shattered.

Escaflowne starts promising (girl travels through worlds, meets knights and royalty, can use magic, some interesting adventures) but read more
Feb 18, 2007
acebirchy (All reviews)
This anime was awesome!
I was swept in by the amazing story. It gave a whole new meaning to fantasy and love. The characters all had different personalities and it made them enjoyable. Some may have changed while others stay the same. I don't think I would have been able to watch this if the characters stayed the same. The Guymelefs were an interesting object to add, way better then just swords. The whole point that Guymelefs depended on the user's body was amazing. It was great how, if the Guymelef was slashed, the user would be injured as read more
Nov 9, 2014
Otaku_Apologizt (All reviews)
You'll notice a marked pacifist tone in many of the anime of the 80s and 90s. The horrors of war fresh in the national psyche, anime became a medium of expression for the postwar Japanese artists. Escaflowne is part of the 90s legacy. This 26-episode series was hand drawn from start to finish - even the visceral mecha battles. Though the frames-per-second ratio is a little sparce, the visuals hold up to this day.

Escaflowne is a masterful mix of opposite elements, telling a realistic but fantastical story set in a medieval milieu with sci-fi technology. Though the narrative focuses heavily on emotions, as is common read more
Oct 18, 2015
Lostinblue087 (All reviews)
The Vision of Escaflowne is a lesson in a fine art. Taking you through this lesson, is a man by the name of Allen Schezar. Allen Schezar is a certified hunk, gold medalist, PhD in hunkology. This guy knows how to be a hunk and in The Vision of Escaflowne, he takes you through all the important steps on how you at home can be your very own hunk.

Now while at surface level, it may seem that being a hunk is all about good looks. That’s obviously the first step, and it’s not a step that Allen skips out on. This is entry level read more
May 6, 2011
aelove (All reviews)
Escaflowne is a mecha, action, romance anime (the best kind) which centers around Kanzaki Hitomi, a high school girl who is magically transported via a beam of light to a fictional planet called Gaea. She meets Van the King of a country named Fanelia who pilots a mysterious mecha called Escaflowne. He is possibly one of the hottest anime guys out there (for reals). She also meets Allen, a knight of a country called Asuturia. There she struggles with her emotions, wishes and the implications they have on the people around her and on Gaea.

Story (8/10): The story itself is very creative. I always read more
Nov 3, 2012
Firechick12012 (All reviews)
I think a lot of you rabid Escaflowne fans are gonna hate me for giving out this rating, which I can understand, but in my book, an 85 out of 100 isn't a bad rating. It doesn't mean I hate the anime. In fact, I really enjoyed Escaflowne. Heck, if I have the money, I can order the box set online and show it to a lot of my friends, as I think they'll really like this kind of anime. I don't deny that I can see why Escaflowne is so revered. It's one of the first anime to throw in both shoujo and shounen read more
Aug 5, 2015
Anim3Punk (All reviews)
Story/Characters (8.5/10): Adventure, Fantasy, Mecha, Romance, Divining Powers. This anime used all of these themes beautifully. The plot has many twists and turns with a splash of mythology mixed into it to create a wonderful story. Each of the characters (heroes and villains) have their own detailed back stories that help justify their actions (some more so than others). Their actions were realistic and relatable.

Pacing: The story was very deep/complex but due to the pacing/number of episodes, it could have been better if it was longer. The story moved at a slightly fast paced due to financial reasons and 1/3 of the full series (of read more
Aug 15, 2009
Yarho (All reviews)
SPOILER-FREE REVIEW

This was an anime that I had watched in my childhood that had stuck with me till now even in my late teens. I have long since re-watched it and the impact it's had on me hasn't lessened one bit. There is certainly a time in every girls life where she wished to be whisked away to another world, and poor Hitomi has just that happen to her though entirely against her will. This story appeals especially to girls with the appearance of may bishounen throughout the series, however the mecha-like fighters and bloody scenes also appeal to male audiences. While the art may read more