Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Little Busters!: Refrain


Alternative Titles

English: Little Busters! ~Refrain~
Synonyms: LB!: Refrain
Japanese: リトルバスターズ!~Refrain~

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2013 to Dec 28, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.301 (scored by 53,964 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2382
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #971
Members: 111,083
Favorites: 1,770

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 14, 2014
Veronin (All reviews)
It is rare to find a sequel as emotionally powerful as Little Busters: Refrain. Where the first season blundered with its melodrama, Refrain instead provides a much more thoughtful and meaningful story. If you have developed any sort of attachment to the characters in Little Busters, you will undoubtedly shed at least a few tears by the end of Refrain. It is the second best Key anime to date.

As somebody who regards the Little Busters visual novel as one of the most emotional stories they have ever experienced, I was sceptical hearing about an anime adaptation of Refrain. Did it turn out to be read more
Dec 28, 2013
thelotusf1fan (All reviews)
Let's get one thing out in the open, I played the VN. Little Busters has always been close to my heart with the story itself one of my favorites around. But enough of that, let's get the review under way! Oh, and this review will contain comparisons between this and the first series and occasionally, reference to the VN.

First things first, this series is a massive improvement in every aspect compared to the first series, be it art style, script, or timing of music. If I were to choose one stand out improvement however, it would have to be the animation. I found the read more
Feb 7, 2014
tukky12 (All reviews)
Little Busters Refrain is (loosely) based of the key visual novels who have notably produced some great shows such as Clannad, Kanon and Air. Little Busters Refrain is no different. For a LB refrain is the sequel to Little Busters and in my opinion (and widely regarded to be) much much better than the first season, not that LB was bad in any way. This 2nd season is 13 episodes long.

I should mention at this point that this again would fall under the category of high-school life (almost all of the action occurs here), fantasy and slice of life perhaps. As we have come to read more
Jan 3, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
There is a "secret of this world"….

If there is anything, it’s no secret that Little Busters Refrain is a sequel of the first season based off the visual novel of the same name. Also no secret is the fact that the visual novel has gained tremendous success as one of Key’s works. Key is known to produce a variety of their works with supernatural elements including Kanon, Clannad, and Rewrite. The Little Busters franchise tells the story of a boy named Riki Naoe who is a member of the team known as Little Busters. Along with three other boys and a girl named Rin, they read more
Jan 2, 2014
ChargedCoin (All reviews)
Little Busters! ~Refrain~ Full Review

This fall season, I get the joy and honour of reviewing Little Busters Refrain on Anime Corner. Honestly, I didn't expect it to be this good. It surpassed my low expectations garnered from the mediocre first season, to one of my favourite series of all time. However, please note that I have not played the visual novel, so this review will be solely based on the anime only. Anyway, let’s get on with the review.

Story (9/10):

“I totally didn’t expect that to happen.”

If you have watched the first season of Little Busters, you must have found it rather boring and mediocre. Everything read more
Apr 4, 2015
Nishiyamo (All reviews)
Once in a while, I find myself craving for good drama with at least a decent story depth and a somewhat intense atmosphere. Apart from the latter, Little Busters ~Refrain~ was not able to deliver.

There's one thing in particular that is always inherent to KEY anime: borderline drama. In some cases (Clannad, Kanon), this drama plays out well because it feels genuine. In other cases (Angel Beats!, LB ~Refrain~), it is forced upon the viewer with all one's might and consequently feels artificial. While I must admit that Refrain does have its strengths, especially in terms of plot twists and tension, the characters totally fail read more
Aug 16, 2015
ZachM (All reviews)
"I'd forgotten
That living
Meant losing" -Naoe Riki

Coming of Age is a really tough genre to pull off, especially in recent anime. You have to establish characters, and as the story progresses, force them to endure certain events and cause them to grow up, whether from a child into an adult or grow as a human being. Little Busters pulls off coming of age as good as I've ever seen an anime do it. And it does it while adding such emotional power to the story that only enhances the impact that the story will leave on you. This is thanks in no read more
Dec 28, 2013
Shian96 (All reviews)
My first review so bear with me.

Little Busters! Another anime adaptation done by none other than Key Visual Arts. This anime pretty much revolves around a group of friends looking to carry on their youth and try to make the most out of it with the amount of time they have left in High School. Refrain! As most would know is the sequel which leads more into the main arc of the overall story. I HIGHLY suggest you watch the first season before watching this because it may cause some confusion. Now here is where I get into the actually review.



Story 10/10:

Assuming you haven't watched read more
Nov 2, 2014
Raghnaq (All reviews)
Drama
A lot of good series out there depict an emotion-filled story where the romance comes secondary, if at all. Strong depictions of friendship and in challenging situations can really draw a viewer into the story and start making them sympathize with the characters. It’s a bit of an all-encompassing genre, but only a handful of series really pull viewers in with their screenplay.

It took a while to build. Little Busters! started out slow, and after the first few episodes some people were condemning J.C.Staff for ruining the latest Key adaptation. many of the fans dropped it but I hold on to it. It built slow read more
Dec 28, 2013
Cosmic09Moon (All reviews)
Now that I watched the last episode, I can finally write a review for this anime, I can go on and on about this and list 675 reasons why you should watch it, but I am just going to keep it simple so that people who aren't sure about it, can at least consider it.

Little Busters!: Refrain is a continuation for the first season, where in that they just focused on introducing the characters best way possible. But Refrain is where things start to get really interesting, the main story will start to unfold, and many plot twists and shocking moments will occur that read more
Dec 28, 2013
Asfaria (All reviews)
As soon as I saw the first season of Little Busters! end announcing a second season, I couldn't help but think that it would be similar to Clannad After Story (I'm assuming almost everyone planning on watching Little Busters has already seen Clannad in this review but I won't spoil anything from it). Having not played the visual novel and only knowing how other Key anime have done so far, I knew Refrain would bring tons of drama that the first season only a small amount of. Since Little Busters! is basically the friendship version of the family-focused Clannad, it's easy to imagine that Refrain read more
Aug 10, 2015
jc9622 (All reviews)
I thought this was going to be "another season, another crappy drama" kind of show but my god was I wrong. This, folks, is an example of a sequel that is a lot better than the original. I'm not a VN reader so I'm reviewing this as an anime-only viewer.

(There will be some SPOILERS in my review)


[Story]: (9/10) (SPOILERS)
The story continues from the season as Rikki now successfully recruited enough members for the Little Busters and won their first game.
Compared to the 1st season's story, the story told in the 2nd season is a lot better. Just by watching the first episodes, you'll think read more
Apr 3, 2015
kawaishou (All reviews)
This Review For Little Busters and Little Buster! Refrain

When I look at this like the early story of friendship which is housed in a comfortable school.

every character undergoes each for its development in the first season of the series little busters this.

the most I like this anime was the development of characters ending with ending the coolest!!

until I can not say much ...

sorry for bad english :p

Overall 10/10
Nov 4, 2014
Micsupreeme (All reviews)
I don't usually review sequel series' for shows, but Little Busters will be an exception.

After being completely blown away by the original series (10/10) mostly due to the amazing character development - despite its predictability, i loved it.

Then i completed Refrain.

Completely different ball park

It was EVERYTHING and more that i wanted it to be.

The best phrase to describe this masterful sequel would be "Edge of my seat", and it does this seamlessly, not through cheap action scenes. Instead, throughout these 13 episodes, doors are constantly being nudged, you lean forward - hoping to find out more, but it wasn't even a door in the read more
Jan 27, 2015
IrohaUtsugi (All reviews)
Little Busters! ~Refrain~, the sequel of Little Busters!. This anime was adapted from Little Busters! VN Refrain route. Maybe some of you will compare this anime with Clannad. In my opinion, we can't compare these two anime because they have different genre and different main story. It will be great if we compare this anime with Angel Beats! because both of them have a same genre. That's my preface of reviewing this anime :)

Okay, i'll start my review of this anime.

Story:
The story was based from LB! VN. The anime producer of LB! Refrain, J.C. Staff, is doing good enough to represent the story. The first read more
Apr 19, 2016
Salmo69 (All reviews)
*No Refrain spoliers*Now i played the VN and little busters changed the way i lived entirely and has always had a place in my heart and the anime is now exception

Story:10/10 Now unlike in the first season of little busters.Refrain is changed in NO way from the VN the only thing missing are the alternate endings to refrain which if you LOVED little busters and refrain i recommend you pick up the vn on steam (not released as of this time if you are reading this at a later date check)however one thing i noticed is that key might have noticed that refrain in itself read more
Jul 22, 2015
gregdubin (All reviews)
"Wait, let me cry just a little longer."

I don't think any quote from this series can really sum up the emotional energy it carries. Forget the overdrawn melodrama of the first season flicking you on the nose; Little Busters!: Refrain is here to punch you in the face.

Everything about Little Busters! has been revamped and improved for Refrain. The story is tighter, more focused, and more emotional. Since this season is only half as long as the last and only focuses on one main story arc, events move along with a much better rhythm and flow.

The art, while still pretty bland and uninteresting, has been read more
Dec 29, 2013
Jammin_Rabbit (All reviews)
Little Busters! has been quite a ride. From the first season when Kyousuke invites us to partake in his missions, to the second season where we are disillusioned alongside Riki & Rin, and made to face a harsh reality. Refrain! brings an emotional end to this journey as a sequel that teaches a lesson.

The story of Refrain! is a sequel to the first season, Little Busters!, where Riki and Rin embark on a path as they become disillusioned by the truth of the world they live in. Continuing their pursuit in discovering the "Secret of the World," they are met with revelations of tragedy read more
May 9, 2015
MaeSis (All reviews)
Being the second season of Little Busters,I was not expecting the darker themes Refrain would offer.But,nevertheless I consider Refrain to be an improvement from the first season.

Story:9/10

The story is balanced, wherein the routes shown in Refrain,are characters who do not have a route in the previous season.The story may be confusing at times due to plot twists,but all will be explained,as the story progress.I love the complexity of the plot and the depth the story exhibits.

Art and Sound :8/10

I love the improvement of the art.The soundtrack is more melodramatic and less upbeat compared to the soundtrack of the first season.signifying its change in genre.

Character:9/10

Kurugaya gets read more
Jul 11, 2014
jchang (All reviews)
Usually I do reviews following more technical matters but in the case of Little Busters!: Refrain I feel it's more important to talk about it's impact and it makes you feel. All in all Refrain is a great sequel that tied all the unknowns of its prequel in an outstanding way. However just like its prequel, the concept is splendid but suffers from some execution mistakes. There are behaviors you can't understand and things that seem to short due to lack of depth in the arcs. However all of this is forgivable if you consider the way it strikes your senses. With its more read more