Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sonic X


Alternative Titles

English: Sonic X
Japanese: ソニック X

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 78
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2003 to Mar 28, 2004
Premiered: Spring 2003
Broadcast: Sundays at 08:30 (JST)
Producers: TV Tokyo
Source: Game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 6.511 (scored by 24,591 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #60042
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2004
Members: 43,522
Favorites: 347

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 11, 2012
NeonKazma (All reviews)
I don't really wanna review Sonic X. What about you, Tails? Do you want to? (Tails staring at me bored and pissed) Well...... Sorry Tails, I have to do this anyway. We all know Sonic. He's the badass mascot of SEGA that spawned in the Genesis in the 90's and became a pop culture phenomenon. When news began of a Sonic anime in the works, fans were thrilled with excitement and maybe Sonic can translate well into anime. But then came 4Kids! and...... The results were not pretty. Hated by both Sonic and anime fans, Sonic X was a huge failure among fans of Sonic, read more
Mar 12, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Few names in the history of video games have raised controversy and fierce arguments like Sonic the Hedgehog. In the early 1990s, Sonic was almost universally beloved. His games were fast, simple, and fun. They didn't have the massive number of worlds, secrets, and re-playability that Super Mario for SNES had, but they were the best thing on the Genesis/Masterdrive system...other than Rocket Knight Adventures of course. However, since the Sega Saturn came out, Sonic has starred in a lot of REALLY horrible games including: Sonic R, Sonic Fighters, Sonic Shuffle, Sonic 06, Sonic Free Riders, Sonic Boom: the Rise Lyric etc. At this point read more
Dec 26, 2009
MeltyBlood_Len (All reviews)
There's something to be said when a Sonic fan hates a Sonic show so much that they have to write a review on a public website so that other people can see it and (most likely) disagree. But let me say this clearly: I am a huge Sonic the Hedgehog fan and I hate this show.

Why do I hate this show so much? Well, let's compare it to the best Sonic TV Show ever, Sonic SatAM.

Story:
Sonic X: well... maybe like, 5 out of 10.
Sonic SatAM: 9/10

Any of you who remember Sonic SatAM know that the storyline was pretty intense while still at the same read more
Apr 30, 2012
Animewolfguy (All reviews)
When I was a kid, I love sonic x to death and praise the dub back when I was watching it every Saturday morning of the 4kids block . But as I got older and starting to use the internet, I come a across many people ranting about 4kids who are the one who dub sonic x. As I start to know more of what they do to anime they got, I realize how much of my childhood I wasted. Now that I got that out of the way, lets me say that sonic x is a decent anime but didn't reach its potential when read more
Aug 15, 2015
conformityrules (All reviews)
Sonic X was a favorite of mine back in the day. When the show aired on Saturday mornings, courtesy of the CW4kids, the Sonic fan in me tuned in every Saturday to watch the adventures of Chris Thorndyke and his stranded alien, animal, anthropomorphic friends. What Sega hoped to do what this series was popularize the brand by conveying Sonic's video game adventures in a television format.

Does it work? Sort of . . . It gets some things right but some things wrong.

Story (7/10): Season 1 is a mostly episodic set-up that details the Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh (I mean, Sonic and Chris). read more
May 17, 2009
pheonix2014 (All reviews)
WATCH SONIC X or PLAY SONIC ADVENTURE 1&2 AND SONIC BATTLE BEFORE READING
4KIDS screwed the U.S dub up horribly,i reccomend the uncut verson if you want the full diolouge and story.season 1 was a litle rough around the edges,but it was just starting,i likednhow the characters sticked to their personalitys in the games.but ii have one problem with this anime...its name...chris thorndike!the devil chiled,i really did not like this character.he was verry verry annoying.i liked season 2 the best,it had game based arks,like sonic advnture,and sonic adventure2,also a sonic battle ark.and thare were no filler episodes between SA1&SA2 arks,and at the end of the read more
Aug 9, 2015
Anim3Punk (All reviews)
A Disappointing Review of Sonic X

Story/Characters (5/10): Lets talk about the characters first. Sonic, the blue, funny and fast hedgehog, is the main protagonist of this show. He is the hero, the knight in shining armor, the... okay lets just skip his intro. We all know who Sonic is so there's no need to explain his background. He appears in a lot of videogames and is the mascot character of Sega. In this show he is portrayed as a cool, cocky and fast character. He is headstrong and always runs before he thinks. His goal is to stop Dr. Eggman from obtaining the Chaos Emeralds.
Dr. read more
Oct 1, 2014
MrSonicFan34 (All reviews)
This is by far the worst animated adaption in the whole entire Sonic series, this series really had not effort put into it whatsoever, probably due to Sonic not doing well in japan at all. But to me, that brings up the question, why does this thing exist in the first place?
Story - 3/10
In terms of the series plot, well... it does not really have a plot until later in the series, the first 26 episodes of this is just basicly Sonic and freinds going on an adventure to find the Chaos emeralds to get back hime after being transported to earth. After the first read more
Dec 13, 2015
Dror_Bartal (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sonic X. what can i say about this show: This is one of the shows that are so bad that they're actually good. As a fan of Sonic, this show is less enjoyable than the games. the characters are bad, and the voice acting is not great. especially the English dub. The story is also nothing special the only thing i like about the show is its English theme song which became a meme. Sonic X turns out to be a good anime but with bad parts if you want a great Sonic cartoon, there's the sonic the hedgehog cartoon from 1991 (Not AOSTH).
Apr 4, 2012
Rayla (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have only watched up to episode 20, I will update later when needed. This review might also contain some spoilers which I apologize for.
----------
I will admit right here and right now that I dislike video games and find no use for them; as a result, I have never played any of the Sonic the Hedgehog video games. I have only started watching this anime was because my friends are addicted to Sonic, they have played all the games, watched all the series, and more. This anime is obviously recommended for younger viewers; however I do believe some people forget that. I believe the other read more
Apr 8, 2018
N0TH1NG2SEE (All reviews)
Sonic X began as an ordinary Anime for kids in its first half.

Simple created episodes where Sonic helps the people on earth and slowly becomes considered a hero in society.

The characters were all pretty good and thoroughly introduced, which gave the viewer the certain feel of commitment.

While the plot wasn't mainly focused in the first half, most episodes were entertaining and gave someone a better view on the whole Sonic Universe. All in all a comfy procedure.

The comedy might not be for everyone, but it isn't bad.

Then, when the second half began, a lot changed. The show was given a whole new setting and read more
Aug 19, 2012
Order-Sol (All reviews)
Sonic X is based on the two games for dreamcast and Gamecube at least for the first part of the anime. Then end up going to space towards the end. The Story really boring. If You aren't a hard core sonic fan you won't enjoy this anime. However this anime is not complex at all so even your average joe can enjoy it.

Art: The art work is decent you can still have some amusement by looking at the characters. The art work on tails and amy are great they have really improved.

Sound: I can say the anime does have good english dub the jp read more
Jun 20, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
Preliminary
I grew up loving Sonic the Hedgehog shows and my favorite was Sonic the Hedgehog and friends with Sally Acorn and the gang. This is not that show. This turned into a sad little piece that 4 kids decided to dumb down and destroy. I wish this was redubbed like they did for One Piece where it was redubbed with better voices and actually whole, not cut up into strange looking segments.

Now the story line is kind of well done, in the idea that it is pretty consistent though it became full of fillers and monster a day type of story. The characters personalities read more
Oct 6, 2012
AngelKitty (All reviews)
Okay, this is my first ever review on here, so this may really suck... But here we go.

First let me say that I'm not even going to bother with the 4Kids dub. The dub was so terrible that it's one of the biggest reasons why I regret ever watching this. I'm going to focus on the original Japanese version as much as I can and just pretend that the 4Kids dub never existed. Everyone knows how much 4Kids ruins anime. But with that out of the way, let's get started with the actual review.

This was one of the very first anime series I remember loving read more
Jan 2, 2011
TheUltimateKalie (All reviews)
Gah! So terrible. The only reason why I watched the show was because I liked the games.
This show kills the psychology of the characters and any form of plot from the games.
There are some parts to the series where the character could have done something right off the bat to avoid the whole situation but instead, decideds to do nothing or do the stupidest thing possible. It was just a terrible anime.
Nov 2, 2013
Cyclonestar (All reviews)
Preliminary
My first review and it's the insu-I MEAN SONIC X!Well,let me begin but please forgive me if this review sucks.

Okay,I just want to say,I don't hate Sonic X completely and it is not the worst anime ever.It's just a bad anime.I just went out there.

Story 7/10
To be honest,Sonic X started out...Horrible when it came to story but as soon as Season 2,Japanese version,came out,I was interested in the anime.It was good but if there was no Sonic games already,I would have enjoyed the story but it wasn't very good compared to the games.Season 3 was very interesting,though.I really liked Cosmo and Chris became a TAD read more
Oct 4, 2015
Ember_Blackwood (All reviews)
Ever since I was a young kid I enjoyed playing Sonic The hedgehog games. They were not only fun, but something that simply drew me in was the link you'd create with some of the characters. Sonic X is not exactly that kind of anime. For hardcore fans of the series like myself, it is without any doubts something you have to watch, but if you aren't, then you might be disappointed.

The plot of the story, or should I say storieS since Sonic X is splitted in 3 segments, each covering different arcs. The first arc was a bit painful, a slice-of-life style that just read more
Dec 19, 2017
Spidertendo (All reviews)
This was the very first anime I've ever seen and at the time, I liked it at the time but that was really only because it was a saturday morning cartoon with the story of the Sonic Adventure games which I religiously played as a kid. Nowadays tho, this show is very boring to watch.

Story:
There really nothing going for it. Sonic and friends get transported to another world and do pretty much fuck all there aside from their usual gig in most games and eventually get transported back and then Meterex attack and... (sigh) this is just painful. Not much of anything interesting happens.

Art:
Meh! It's read more
Feb 7, 2014
GokensLetsPlays (All reviews)
Sonic X is an anime that's based off of Sonic Adventure, originally released for the Sega Dreamcast. The anime is about Sonic and friends trying to stop Doctor Ivo Robotnik (Or just simply Eggman). While fighting him, Chaos Control happens, sending Sonic & Co. from the planet of Mobius to Earth. While running across Station Square, Sonic lands in a pool, and a young boy named Christopher Thorndyke goes to rescue him.
As the plot goes on, Sonic meets some of his friends, such as Cream the Rabbit and Miles "Tails" Prower, also meeting a long-time rival, Knuckles the Echidna. It's from there that the read more
Feb 9, 2012
enkeli33 (All reviews)
Well, I'm not sure what to think about this anime TV series. It's not as bad as I expect, but some things really suck. For example, Sonic himself was poor character. He doesn't talk much, but when he does, it wasn't nothing important. Besides, how he does thumbs up and blink with his eye, that was really annoying. Fortunately, the other characters weren't as stupid...

What can I say? I think the Sonic deserves better anime with better story, smarter characters and natural reasons for them to do something. Not only "We are evil, so we must to do something very fuc*ing evil..."

Sorry for my read more