Kyoukai no Kanata


Beyond the Boundary

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Beyond the Boundary
Synonyms: Beyond the Horizon
Japanese: 境界の彼方

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2013 to Dec 19, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:30 (JST)
Producers: Lantis, Pony Canyon, TBS
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, SupernaturalSupernatural, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.761 (scored by 437922437,922 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #9172
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #103
Members: 924,920
Favorites: 10,251
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 18, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching Kyoukai no Kanata is like riding a train but as it moves, it goes down spiral, into the abyss, and finally reaches trainwreck at the shadow of the pit. Don’t get me wrong, the show has quite an promising premise with the style of a dark fantasy genre. It’s something that Kyoto Animation haven’t tried before in the past so Kyoukai no Kanata should set its par high with this new style, right? Wrong. This series is fails at various levels and if you’re expecting a deep engaging story with well developed characters, then look somewhere else. It doesn’t break any boundary or go read more
Jun 21, 2014
Mchi (All reviews)
Damn, I feel like one of the few people who really really loves Kyoukai no Kanata on this damn site. I guess it's explaining time because as I really really like it I want it to have a halfway decent review. (especially since most of these seem written from a bias perspective from someone who only watched the first 3 episodes.

Kyuokai is not perfect, but it makes up for a lot of its flaws with gorgeous animation good laughs and a completely enjoyable ride the whole way through. The story of KnK definitely isn't original in the slightest to start off. Like everyone is saying read more
Dec 18, 2013
Dris (All reviews)
"Judgement prevent us from seeing the good that lies beyond appearances."
-Wayne Dyer

There is one thing I will rarely, if ever, do. That is give the show a rating before watching the entire show through. That doesn't mean that I don't have preconceived notions about the show and have some idea how I'm going to rate it. As a human being, I am flawed with the inability to look at something objectively from the beginning. That being said, I felt like I should take the time to address all the people somehow climbing over each other trying to stick his or her opinion down the throat's read more
Jan 29, 2014
lollith (All reviews)
"No amount of great animation will save a bad story."-John Lasseter

When news came out that Kyoto Animation was going to make a supernatural anime me like many others were surprised and excited. A supernatural show with great animation made by one of the most popular anime studios in japan? What could possibly go wrong with Kyoukai No Kanata? Almost everything,apparently.

The story is set in a fictional world where Supernatural creatures called Youmu exist. Youmu come in various shapes and sizes. Although most Youmu are harmless. Some could be hostile and dangerous. To stop these Youmu from harming read more
Dec 18, 2013
jiroutachi (All reviews)
For quite the long time, people have exposed their wishes for Kyoani, notable for their several slice of life series with high quality animation, to do something else other than the slow moe-filled series they're famous for. After years of exploring safe territory, they finally announced the highly antecipated supernatural series Kyoukai no Kanata. And with that, set themselves up for what is probably their biggest failure in the last few years.

Whether they failed because the transition from slice of life to dark fantasy was too abrupt for them to handle or because they simply do not care for quality anymore, we can't be sure. read more
Jan 10, 2014
MidnightWalker95 (All reviews)
Despite the various bad comments and reviews panning this series, I took a leap of faith and decided to watch it. I must say that, although not the best anime of all time, it is an enjoyable anime series.

With a length of 12 episodes, Kyoto Animation's "Kyoukai no Kanata (Beyond the Boundary)" brings us a tale of two young teenagers, whose hearts are filled with regrets and burdens placed on their shoulders. Their actions will determine the fate of humanity itself, and while at that, they will draw near each other as they learn more about themselves and come to terms with their hardships. It read more
Mar 22, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Pretty damn interesting show. Along the way I had some pretty mixed reactions, and feelings, however those negative feelings didn't stop me from enjoying Kyoukai no Kanata.

Story- 8/10

You can pretty much get a concept or idea of what the show is about by reading the description lol. That aside, the story was actually pretty decent. Full of thrills, excitement, and feels. There were many events that I loved in the story, however my most favorite on-going thing about it was every episode (Including the stupid ones, yeah I'm talking about episode 6) had the right amount of enjoyment whether it was action or read more
Feb 17, 2014
yogotah (All reviews)

“ Don't walk behind me; I may not lead. Don't walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.”
-Albert Camus

If nothing else, Kyoukai no Kanata was an entertaining anime. It was able to produce tears, surprise, excitement, and many laughs. The coherency of the plot may have been questionable, but nonetheless, the ride that the anime portrayed was over-exceeded any nuances with the direction of the story line.

The main read more
Dec 18, 2013
Asfaria (All reviews)
Kyoukai no Kanata is the newest anime from Kyoto Animation who is best known for their multitude of anime all about high school clubs and moe character designs. Kyoukai no Kanata is their first real attempt at a darker action series, despite having all of the previously mentioned aspects in addition to that. So how did this new genre attempt work? Given that it's in KyoAni's name you would expect this, Kyoukai no Kanata has beautiful animation which holds up both during action-packed scenes and the laid back ones. However, while the soundtrack is also good, the story suffers from having a poorly explained plot read more
Dec 18, 2013
allflying (All reviews)
"Fools have a habit of believing that everything written by a famous author is admirable. For my part I read only to please myself and like only what suits my taste." ~Voltaire~

Kyoukai no Kanata was by no means a very ambitious project (or a very pretentious subject). It had very linear and straight forward story line which actually very easy to understand and very comfy to follow, delivered with excellent animation and a proper adolescence romance development ... is probably an understatement. But, saying it was the best foreshadowing is also an exaggeration.

For starters, the anime was built upon a very basic concept: human with read more
Apr 3, 2014
partali (All reviews)
Although I am sure that many people will disagree with my review here it is. After having watched all episodes of Kyoukai no Kanata I can safely state that this anime has gone on my top 10 worst anime.

Allow me to explain why. Even though it showed a promising start it quickly revealed its true nature. At the best moment I could claim it to be mediocre. The only thing that was always exceptional was the art. Other than that the story was lacking if not outright non-existent. The term plot-hole does not begin to describe this anime. A more appropriate term would have read more
Jan 9, 2014
Zelot (All reviews)
I never knew there was a fetish for girls who wears glasses until I watched this anime. Now I realize I enjoy it when some girls wear their glasses? Warning, you may become a megane freak from this anime. Oh and you may get a Japanese lesson from this series as well... how unfortunate.

Story: 7
In what seems to be a normal world is actually inhabited by supernatural creatures (Different subs use different names for these supernatural creatures) and people with supernatural powers. Our main character is half human and half creature as well as a person with a fetish read more
Dec 18, 2013
dreamfollower (All reviews)
Kyoukai no Kanata aka 'Beyond the Boundary' seems to be quite a controversial anime in a sense that some people seem to love it i think, while others say its a let down. I think its brilliant and i loved it till the end. True it could be better. But every anime has areas it needs to improve in. The fall i would say about Kyoukai no Kanata is its potential. It has masses of it. I already think its amazing, but i think it has the potential to be even greater. There was simply not enough time allowed to truly explore and understand read more
Dec 18, 2013
marinasc (All reviews)
This is by far one of my favorite (if not my favorite) anime of all time. Why, you ask? Well i'm about to tell you. From the beginning of the story I fell in love, not only with the animation but with the music and the characters and all other aspects of this show. I just thought it was so wonderful, keep in mind that this is my first review ever though, so the quality of it will be who knows how bad or good- and i'm sure that many of you probably disagree and that's okay. Now onto the review:

Story: (8/10) The fact that read more
Dec 19, 2013
Kundalini (All reviews)
I'd rate this somewhere between 6 and 7 out of 10. For the purpose of critiquing, I'm putting it at a 6, but (for now) in my own list, I've rated it 7. I've done my best not to give spoilers, so at times it may feel vague, but I've revealed my concerns.

While Kyoto Animation has always handled its art and animation amazingly well, taking 2D frame animation and its characters towards a more realistic depiction, with much fluidity, pacing, and expressive body and facial language, it feels as if they're falling into the trap of exhibitionism. I'd watch them any time for aesthetic service. read more
Dec 20, 2013
Mikashimotaku (All reviews)
Following their high success with "Free! Iwatobi Swim Club" Kyoto Animation has done it again with the stellar fall anime "Kyoukai no Kanata". Overall, the series works with supernatural elements, such as the "spirit world warriors" and the "youmu".

Story: 8
The story of Kyoukai no Kanata is about protagonists Kuriyama Mirai and Kanbara Akihito. Students in high school, both extraordinary in different ways. Mirai is the only living member of the 'cursed' spirit world warrior clan that is able to manipulate blood. Akihito is a half-youmu, half-human, making him immortal. The story revolves around these two and their adventures, and the even mysterious "Kyoukai no Kanata" read more
Apr 20, 2015
TheRuine (All reviews)
To be honest, when I finished this series, I did not expect myself to be so intrigued in the anime.

The storyline isn't one that is revealed until about episode 6, so I recommend you watch until there to get a gist instead of dismissing it as any other typical anime.

Of course, this is just an opinion.

The plot is very intriguing, as well as some small plot twists that might not be considered. It's ok. BUT this is not it's best trait: The way they are able to convey the character's emotions and feelings to the viewer in many ways got me attached. Some episodes read more
May 12, 2020
Shippunohmai (All reviews)
Kyoukai no Kanata was a promising show with an interesting premise but overall bad execution that has ultimately disappointed me.

I'll try not to include major spoilers from now on, but I'm not promising anything!

I've heard about this show and then looked for it on MAL. I've read a few reviews before watching it, some said it was good, others not so much. Whatever, I was bored and I decided it couldn't be so bad. Indeed I was mistaken.
The show started pretty well, there's no mistake in that. Like I said, the premise is rather interesting and you really want to find out more about read more
Dec 19, 2013
defan752 (All reviews)
Kyoukai no Kanata. The very name conjures cryptic mystery and fantastical wonder. The world is divided into humans, and youmu. Here's my personal review of this fast, strange experience.

Story: 7/10
The concept of humans and monsters struggling for control in the same world is not unseen. In fact, it's used extremely often. Kyoukai no Kanata is no stranger to this tradition. Touting a common concept and developing from it, Kyoukai takes us on a somewhat unique look towards a familiar yarn - losing some charm in the process.

Art: 10/10
Kyoto Animation's animation and art are not to be trifled with. Known for masterful eye-candy such as Free!, read more
Feb 20, 2015
Leopah (All reviews)
Kyoukai no Kanata/Beyond the Boundary was one of my first animes (my fifth to be precise), so I'm probably a bit biased, but here I go anyway.

Story: 6/10
The show starts off in an unexpected way: A girl backflipping over a fence and stabbing our male lead in the heart. Extremely surprising, to say the least. However, he isn't dead. Akihito Kanbara is immortal so needless to say, being stabbed in the chest doesn't kill him.
And here we are introduced to our two main characters. We have Mirai, shunned due to her blood manipulation powers, and Akihito, existing as an immortal half-youmu.
So what's a youmu? Similar read more