Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Rozen Maiden (2013)


Alternative Titles

English: Rozen Maiden: Zurückspulen
Japanese: ローゼンメイデン (2013)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2013 to Sep 27, 2013
Premiered: Summer 2013
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:58 (JST)
Producers: TBS
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.401 (scored by 24,149 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20932
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1563
Members: 58,843
Favorites: 199

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 7, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Everyone has his or her own talents. Whether you're good at drawing, playing a sport, or even making a simple meal, there's a special hidden talent within everyone. For a particular boy named Jun Sakurada, he has a talent too. We should all be proud of our accomplishments right? Well, that doesn't fit the case with Jun because after a particular embarrassing moment in his earlier school years, there's that fear of anxiety that followed him for the rest of his life. Has that ever happened to you before? Maybe but did it ever escalate it to a point where a person almost completely changes read more
Jul 6, 2015
Yuri-san (All reviews)
~~~~PLEASE READ IF YOU HAVE ALREADY WATCHED THE ORIGINAL TWO SEASONS OF ROZEN MAIDEN~~~~

This review is to shed some light on the direction of the anime as it is very different from the original plot and story, but it's so good and I don't want people to be discouraged by the first episode like I was!

I really loved the original story of Rozen Maiden. It was so addicting and I was completely on an emotional roller coaster, especially once the Alice Games really started. When I saw that they had made a new anime of it, I assumed they were doing what they did with read more
Sep 28, 2013
ChildHatchling (All reviews)
Because I'm feeling awesome today, I'm gonna write a review of Rozen Maiden: Season 3. May include minor spoilers. I edited a few typos.

I'm pretty sure most people are aware that Rozen Maiden (2013) is not really a season 3, but because most people called it that, I will leave it as Rozen Maiden: Season 3 for easy identification.

Story: 7

Let's begin. To those people who have watched Season 1 and Season 2, you will realize that season 3 has nothing to do with Season 1 and 2. Because, Season 3 is based on the Jun who did not wound the key. (Hey, at least that read more
Jun 27, 2014
Nek0 (All reviews)
“Will you wind it?”

Story
-----------------------
Fans of the Rozen Maiden series are already familiar with what happens when Jun circles “Wind”, but what happens when he chooses “Do Not Wind”? That is what Rozen Maiden Season 3 (as people are calling it) answers. We now see Jun grown up as a university student, with a job, and even a love interest. Personally, I enjoyed observing Jun’s life outside of his room. Based on the second series of the Rozen Maiden manga, I love the fresh take Peach-Pit took on this classic series; yet, in a genius way, they were able to tie together the older Jun with read more
Nov 3, 2014
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Rozen Maiden Zuruckspulen appears to function as a sort of reboot on the Rozen Maiden franchise as we are reintroduced to Jun and the Rozen Maidens as they deal with an enemy threat in the form of new Maiden Kirakisho and crossing into a parallel timeline where an adult Jun never gave life to Shinku. Before I address the new content of this addition to Rozen Maiden, I do want to address the major issue of this series coming with familiarity of viewers to the franchise. The show's creators make it under the assumption that you are already familiar with elements and characters to the read more
Oct 25, 2013
TheShehzoreZ (All reviews)
Rozen Maiden, a very perplexing anime. Firstly let me say that this does not feel like a sequel to Rozen maiden, ill explain later. My rating will be very different from yours if you have not seen the original series.Now to the review.

Story:
Frankly, if you've come to watch rozen maiden (2013) just because of the story you will be disappointed. In the entire series, it looks like the story is just like one chapter. It tell you nothing of what you want to know and frankly there is nothing that you want to know. There are no twists but that has its own advantage. The read more
Aug 26, 2014
-ShadowClaw- (All reviews)
Il try to leave as minimum amount of spoilers as i can

Everyone who is a fan of Rozen Maiden would agree it was nothing but in short as a miracle that this show was even made in the first place, considering the time gap between the last series which was over 7 years ago. Also what is even more amazing is that this one actually goes back and follows the Manga's plot and original story.

The first 2 seasons were great but had a few flaws, one of them being that they deviated from the main manga storyline and the other is the major cliffhanger the read more
Oct 16, 2015
Indari (All reviews)
I don't expect anyone to enjoy this show as much as I did. Fans of the previous manga or anime may find jarring the shift from slice-of-life/comedy to the moody atmosphere that this season presents. However, this was just the type of show I was looking for, so I suppose I fill a certain niche.

The story follows Jun as a young adult attending university (if only the bare minimum attendance) and holding down a job at the mercy of his douche bag manager's verbal abuse. This is quite the refreshing change of setting from his life as a hikikomori elementary schooler. We get to see read more
Sep 27, 2013
ylrd (All reviews)
** WARNING: this review may contain spoilers **

I was excited when I found out they were gonna remake Rozen Maiden... I always wanted to watch it but never found the time to do it.

I expected witchcraft, creepy scenarios or at least an eerie soundtrack... and honestly, I've never been so disappointed since Another. Here's why.

Story: 5/10
Like I said, the plot revolves around the Alice Game, that it's supposed to be a way to encourage the dolls to fight between themselves and find who's the most capable of becoming a perfect doll/girl. But they never explain why, or for who. They talk about some 'father' but read more
May 25, 2016
SleepingAyumu (All reviews)
The day I'm writing my first review had finally came, therefore don't judge me too hard.

I was never a big fan of Rozen Maiden. In fact, I've dropped it when I first attempted watching it years ago.As for today, I've seen all the seasons and still have multiple friends worshipping this anime for reasons I don't understand. Do I need to say I was reluctant to watch this new Rozen Maiden related thing? Because I truly was, and if not for my OCDs regarding anime kicking, I wouldn't. But, god, to think what a loss would it be!

The very first thing I've noted upon starting read more
Mar 9, 2016
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
Have you ever made a decision you regret? Something you wish you could go back on, now that you’re able to see the results of it through the power of hind sight? Maybe it’s something major, like you married the wrong person. Maybe it’s something a little less major, like a tattoo that you wish you could painlessly remove. Maybe you just don’t like the breakfast you ordered this morning. Maybe you wish you could take back that one comment you made that wound up having disasterously severe consequences. Well, you can’t take back your mistakes, but it may comfort you to know that when read more
Apr 3, 2016
RishRaff (All reviews)
Plot: 6/10

Rozen Maiden: Zuruckspulen has a plot that is a bit more complicated than the previous Rozen Maiden anime. While this definitely makes the plot line more interesting, dealing with multiple worlds, as well as providing a bit more backstory about the nature of the dolls’ existence, it does not handle these concepts as elegantly as one might expected. There is a very rushed introduction episode, which unfortunately assumes some prior knowledge of the manga, and the first few episodes have slowed down, but still very fast. There is also considerable time lapse numerous times in the early episodes, which can feel like chunks of read more
Jul 10, 2014
CookieBun (All reviews)
Rozen Maiden 2013 is an interesting case.

It is a well done, solidly directed series with a beautiful gothic atmosphere and interesting exploration into the hikikomori issue. Based on its merits, this series should deserve a bigger audience, but unfortunately its format makes it inevitable that this series remains inaccessible to a large number of people.

Few anime series that are adaptations are lucky enough to be able to adapt their source faithfully from beginning to the end. Many times the anime is forced to create their own material to finish the story. If the manga is popular enough , it may read more