Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Vandread


Alternative Titles

English: Vandread
Synonyms: Vandread Stage One, Vandread First Stage
Japanese: ヴァンドレッド

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2000 to Dec 19, 2000
Premiered: Fall 2000
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 18:30 (JST)
Producers: GDH, Dentsu, Media Factory
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Original
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.271 (scored by 35,815 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #26592
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1473
Members: 66,226
Favorites: 404

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 21, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
While there is a lot of ecchi embedded in the plot (usual panty flashes, touching, talking about reproductive organs) there is something to the story of Vandread. I like the idea of men and women not getting along together, then throughout the series they learn to work with each other and win their battles. There’s also the theme of making a difference to prove you’ve existed, which is Hibiki’s goal throughout the series.

Now that I mentioned battles, I’m really not good when it comes to mecha battles. Intergalactic wars tend to either confuse or bore me, but because of the CG I was a bit read more
Jun 8, 2008
kawaiimisato (All reviews)
Vandread is an excellent space/sci fi/mech/comedy anime with a premise not found in any other show (that i am aware of anyway) and that is that men and women live on different planets and know nothing about eachother.

With that set in, the character interactions are amazing and comical. The show is more comical than serious, but it definitely has its moments of seriousness. The animation is done amazingly well with a mix of drawn anime and CGI space battles. Normally when the two mix it turns out pretty bad (Divergence Eve) but Gonzo managed to pull it off.

The story is read more
Apr 13, 2010
randomvoice (All reviews)
Vandread is a poor excuse for an anime.

I think the least an anime series should do is have some reason for existing. Vandread doesn't. It doesn't try to be an intelligent sci-fi series; it doesn't try to be a heartwarming, iyashikei slice-of-life one; it's even too weak to be considered a harem romance anime. All you get with Vandread is episode after episode of pointlessness.

(And if you're wondering, I only watched it because it was being screened at an anime society. Oh, hours of my life that I'll never get back.)

Story [2/10]
The men-are-from-Mars-women-are-from-Venus premise, while cheesy, could have gone somewhere. In theory. In practice it read more
Jul 7, 2008
Dick75 (All reviews)
You're probably wondering why I watched every episode of this show when I so clearly despised it. Because I'm stupid. So here's my review, I'll try to do it all in one breath (pardon the commas). This show contains the following sins, bad 3-d, stupid mech designs, "I'm the main character that's why" writing, a chosen one (anything with a chosen one is bad don't question it accept it), characters that act based on the story instead of their own beliefs (I know the characters are fake but it's your job as a writer to make people understand the characters beliefs), and Power ups (he read more
Nov 11, 2008
AironicallyHuman (All reviews)
After managing to get the OOP box set for £26, I started watching my Vandread DVDs a few days ago.

After watching the first season, while happy with the quality of the series for what I paid, the shallowness of Vandread makes me happy I didn't pay a huge amount for it.

Plot: 6/10

Women are an alien species; we (men) know this much already. Vandread takes what we know a step further, REALLY making men and women aliens by putting them on different planets.

At the start of the series, the men of Taraak and women of Mejere are about to start a war. The men read more
Apr 5, 2008
lonestar6969 (All reviews)
A war between men and women!!! wooooo hooo BRING IT ON. Set in the future, the age long contest between men and women will be fought in space and in mechas. Enters the hero where he finds himself on a ship full of women after accidently becoming a prisoner of war and then guess what... WHAM enters the unknown aliens... now what?? Whats great about this anime is the funny incidents that occur between ppl who have no idea what to do with the opposite sex. Intriguing plot where we see how these bunch of wacks work together to fight though the tough times.The animation read more
Mar 20, 2009
hanryuu (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is pretty much what you would expect from a futuristic, space anime. It's interesting because it makes you wonder what life would be like if men and women lived on different planets. However, the main problem I have with this one is the blatant and frequent sexual references. Nudity, as a result, is also a problem. In my opinion, it is not worth watching.
May 19, 2012
DrDoom389 (All reviews)
Vandread:

At first glance this seems like a classic sci-fi mecha, then it looks like a baffonish comedy, and finally like an epic romance anime. Now let me say i am no fan to any of the 3 genre's i just listed.I am also not a fan of ecchi or the classic 15 year old boy becomes all powerful scenario.

What this title does perfectly is bind some of the best things of all those genre's together.
It makes you feel for most of it's characters in a way that i couldn't understand. it seems like they are all shallow or repetitive at times but you can't read more
Apr 28, 2015
-ShadowClaw- (All reviews)
This a complete review of Vandread and Second Stage as i considerd tham as one . I will try not to spoil to much of the story but be warned some minor spoilers might be present.

Imagine A future where Humanity has spread out to the far reaches of the galaxy, settling on different planets for colonization after Earth has been rendered almost uninhabitable. Each planet forming it’s own type of society, Within this Society there are the 2 sister planets of Mejere and Taraak and both have been settled by humans except there is just one difference, One is only populated by man and the read more
Jul 26, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
I think that this show was well put together. It had its bit with comedy but also had a couple good lessons inside such as life can’t be token for granted and how man and women can balance each other out despite differences. Sadly, we don’t get much of the characters back stories like I would really like and I really wanted to know why Hibiki was so special though part of me feels like I can tell just by watching it.

The strange idea of men and women being on separate planets leaves a lot of fan girls thinking of Yaoi and Yuri and read more
Sep 7, 2012
Tzu (All reviews)
I believe that you have separate generations of anime. Strictly speaking between what was popular then and what is popular now.

New review for something old, buckle down.

My trip down nostalgia lane isn't a fun one, anime wasn't always there for most of the time. School, work and other sorts were always in the way of me enjoying myself. Honestly Vandread was probably the first title I followed around 10 years ago, unlike a good portion of viewers who found themselves in English dubs on Cartoon Network. Anime was popularized worldwide strictly by action, more bang and then some.

Vandread is a title I feel that is read more
Dec 20, 2018
WaifuLoser (All reviews)
Vandread to me is the cover poster of the mediocre early 2000's animation period, the shift between the charming 90's animation to the similar looking but very bland art style that dominated the period. Vandread while not terrible, unfortunately will succumb to being an anime that in the future most people will have no desire to watch.

The biggest issue with Vandread is the fact that it was one of the earliest animes to adopt the use of CGI, to quickly state, I myself do not find Anime CGI to be ever pleasant, to me it looks absolutely awful, even modern shows read more
Oct 25, 2015
Malhavok (All reviews)
Vandread is one of those shows that you really shouldn't like, but for some reason you keep coming back to it. The premise is absurd and the story itself is full of plot holes and rambles incoherently for most of the first season and the pacing is relatively uneven, but at the end of the day the reason why you enjoy it is because the majority of the cast are incredibly likable and interesting.

I would have to say that Vandread is mostly a simple boy meets girl story with a lot of window dressing on it and in that regard it does an efficient job read more
Mar 23, 2009
Tiger_of_Kai (All reviews)
Vandread is baically a really under rated mecha/romance [kinda] anime. It doesn't really seem all that arractive in the beginning, but it'll grow on you. There are alot of things you have to watch twice to get, but maybe I'm just slow that way. All in all, you'll have a great time watching it, ecchi for days, and a great love story, real cutesy. [The first episode two dudes talks of making a baby, I thought it was yaoi]

(P.S.: The mech fusions are awesome, hehe, Dita should bend that way for me ^///^)
Jun 24, 2013
phantosereviews (All reviews)
when you think of ecchi, the last thing you think of is seriousness. Vandread uses the fact it's allowed to talk about adult subjects (the body) to it's advantage. admittedly due to that same attribute it is forced to use sexual humour, but the downplay is so much that more comedy comes from non-ecchi moments than ecchi. the show actually deals more with racism, sexism, prejudice, social impairment and ones self-worth.

the animation is fluid with well hidden off models that come fue and far apart. it also shows a great use of cg which is used to give weight to combat. as
with all ecchi read more
Nov 21, 2017
DarkRavie (All reviews)
Note: This review is for Vandread and Vandread Second Stage.

Life sucks for Hibiki Tokai. Raised on a planet filled with just men, he is taught that women are the enemy. Working to build war mecha, Hibiki dreams of something more and will do anything to find a way to prove his existence. To prove to his comrades that he isn't the loser and screw-up they think he tries to steal one of the mecha and then suddenly finds himself in the middle of a battle that brings him face to face with the enemy.

My thoughts:
Vandread and Vandread Second Stage is good. I do like read more