Kaze no Na wa Amnesia


A Wind Named Amnesia

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: A Wind Named Amnesia
Synonyms: Kaze no Namae wa Amunejia, The Name of the Wind is Amnesia
Japanese: 風の名はアムネジア

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 22, 1990
Producers: Japan Home Video
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, DementiaDementia, DramaDrama, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Duration: 1 hr. 20 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.401 (scored by 58895,889 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #62942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4127
Members: 13,839
Favorites: 38
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 21, 2008
jonathanlane (All reviews)
Don't you absolutely HATE it when you find a movie online with an absolutely irresistible plot that's almost too amazing to be bad, and then see it only to realize the person who made it had no artistic talent whatsoever? I don't know about you, but it happens to me a lot, and all I can think when finished is how much better I could have made it.

A Wind Named Amnesia is one of those kinds of movies. Set in 1999, six years after the movies original release, humanity has been completely devastated by a mysterious wind which blows across the world, wiping clean the read more
Sep 26, 2009
Prede (All reviews)
This is a movie I’ve wanted to review for a very long time now. But I wanted to take my time with it and get everything down right, because I wanted to do it some justice. Anyway this movie is called "A Wind Named Amnesia" and it’s easily one of my all time favorites. I first saw this movie on Comcast’s Anime Selects on Demand Channel. CPM used to put tons of titles from their catalog up on Anime Selects, but I still think I was lucky to find this movie and watch it. I just randomly watched this movie, because the title seemed interesting, read more
Apr 9, 2015
Sippyteacups (All reviews)
The title caught my attention, but sadly the story did not. I did quite enjoy Wataru and Sophia’s short travels together through the wastelands of the American West and the characters they meet along the way in the first half the movie, but there’s not much else here. A Wind Named Amnesia portrays the outcome of humanity losing their memories with society reverting towards a primitive and barbaric state. It’s a pretty jumbled mess in the latter half, and I all I came away with is that humanity got screwed. Don’t bother watching this one.
Aug 10, 2008
Scallion (All reviews)
While watching this movie, I could easily see it being adapted into a TV series on Sci-Fi or CBS. The premise is so good that you'd wonder why nobody thought of it: the whole world is overtaken by a wind that gives them amnesia so severe, that they have forgotten everything that makes them human. Language, science, art, all of it, gone. Mankind in its entirety is no more advanced than a neanderthal. At one point, the main character describes how he was frightened by his own reflection, because he had forgotten the very concept. It has the makings of something like Jericho or Lost, read more
Nov 12, 2007
stenchlord (All reviews)
To be fair I saw this a really really really long time ago and only added it since recently a friend returned my VHS copy of the movie. From what I remember I enjoyed it quite a bit but back then I hadn't watched much anime and compared to today's standards I'd assume it is pretty low.

Taking into consideration when it was made it's a decent little flick. Story is rather weak, animation isn't bad sound I can't really remember but I gave it a 6 since if it was bad I'd probably remember it.

Overall I'd say worth a look but nothing to strain yourself read more
May 10, 2013
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Think about the best way I can describe A Wind Named Amnesia is wasted potential. While I don't find it to be as bad as some folks are making it out to be, the movie does carry some pretty significant flaws that I will get to in a bit. It looked like Wind Named Amnesia was trying to explore the depths of human morality when a mysterious wind causes all of humanity to forget all their memories from basic skills of living to even communicating through speech. Wataru, a young man able to regain the capacity to think and speak rationally, and a mysterious woman read more
Jul 13, 2012
Shaja (All reviews)
The story is beyond interesting, it follows a apocalypse that isn't cliche made from war,nuclear fall out and etc. This is a more quiet apocalypse where everyone's just become cave men again. It follows one semi intelligent human beings quest to understand what happened to the world and of course survive all the things left behind. There is a fair amount of action and philosophy thrown in to make you think and relate to this world which you can enjoy a fair bit. It touches on the natural evolution of barbarianism and religious worship of primitive people as well. The mystery involved with Sophia is read more
May 15, 2017
TheCompletionist (All reviews)




We are going back to an old school U.S. Manga Corps release.

**Minor Spoilers**

A Wind Named Amnesia is a post apocalyptic film that takes place in the United States where an unforeseen event causes all of humanity to lose their memory and literally lose any and all of their abilities that they have learned through their evolutionary process. Humanity is literally reduced to a primeval Neanderthal state in which the basic need to survive is the only thing that is keeping any human being alive even though humanity has been reduced to wild beasts struggling to survive in a world that has no rules or morality.

The read more
Mar 27, 2020
lethargilistic (All reviews)
Very much a road trip movie, and I'm tempted to say that it feels like it should have been a road trip miniseries instead. However, it was already rather slow and I'm not sure it would have had enough meat on its bones to sustain anything longer than this. The premise is cool. I liked the vignettes that explore a primitive culture ruled by manipulated superstition and an advance culture ruled by manipulated design. The only big problem that drives through the movie is that Wataru and Sophia themselves are not that compelling as protagonists. They don't really learn anything. They just go place to read more
Aug 3, 2010
RisingSan (All reviews)
This film has an interesting concept, which it also materializes quite well.

With animation and sound still clearly in the 80s style, the film presents a non-linear sci-fi theme, but does it in a rather earthly, non "over the top" fashion. It does not put the emphasis one might expect on its sci-fi aspects, but rather it stays closer to the realistic portrayal of mankind and humanity. Indeed the main character is a rather mundane one, which fits the above premise.

It is well executed, throughout three distinct subplots along which the story develops, as the main character travels through the US. Some details about the read more
Jun 19, 2017
vanburu0 (All reviews)
[SPOILER ALERT][THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS]

Honestly, I hate when a movie tries to be almost literally everything it is not.
Tries to be philosophical in some aspects, but it's shallow, flat. The only "philosophical" aspect in all the useless one hour and 21 minutes of movie is some outdated and cliché life lessons;
Tries to be great, revolutionary, deconstructed, conceptual... But it's fails miserably. The show failed in almost ALL the aspects it tried to innovate, and, amazingly, the best parts of it are the 1980s generic american movie parts;
Tries to be post-apocalyptic, dystopian, but it's climate is just badly done. Simply mediocre, it seems more read more
Aug 2, 2018
versace_miyazaki (All reviews)
SPOILERS AHEAD:

Everything was going good in the movie until they didn't expand on what should've been Wataru's contempt for the ones responsible for the amnesia. Not only is there not enough mixed feelings from his character, he goes on to have an unnecessary sex scene with said person of the responsible party.

Absolute bogus.

And then at the end, Sophia the alien extends a handshake out to him before she leaves. He apparently rejects it. (It might not have been a handshake but an invitation for Wataru to join the aliens)

Like, dude, you just sucked on some alien nipple and now you're showing some kind of read more
Feb 27, 2018
Mar33p (All reviews)
It now being 2018 and seeing this anime for the first time, it gives me nostalgia to see the anime in the older form and all its glory. The story concept is good for the time it was created. The sound affects are old as expected, but I don't mind at all considering how old this movie is. The story development is alright and of course the main character is a total hottie. I'm happy I got to cross this off of my anime list, it was totally worth the watch.

I'd define this anime as Mecha and Action.

If I had the choice, I'd read more
Jun 13, 2017
Sidewinder51 (All reviews)
Rate a 5
English Dubbed

Story
Man kind in my opinion has evolved in wide spread areas from how to make it easier to get around to curing illnesses. Although, one of the many different areas we have improved on is ourselves. Creating things around us to simplify matters does just that and no more. But with simplifications we lose a bit of ourselves. To better understand consider the present vs the past. If you are like me and you believe in evolution to some extend one could say we were the animals that some of us shoot and hang as trophies. Whether it be a deer or read more