Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai


A Good Librarian Like a Good Shepherd

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: A Good Librarian Like a Good Shepherd
Japanese: 大図書館の羊飼い

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 9, 2014 to Dec 25, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Visual novel
Genres: HaremHarem, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.911 (scored by 4529645,296 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #40132
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1359
Members: 109,187
Favorites: 205
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 25, 2014
McRib (All reviews)
The idea in which equating popularity to greatness is disappointingly common in our modern world. Many people will claim that 50 Shades of Gray is high quality literature and many others will consider Drake to be a great rapper. They are blinded by the delusion that something being popular automatically makes it good. Obviously those people have never looked further into the media that they claim to be an aficionado of and have never read Infinite Jest or listened to Yung Lean before. This leads to Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai, an unfortunately overlooked show in the Fall 2014 season. It did not stand out and the read more
Dec 27, 2014
gilder1985 (All reviews)
Initially, I'd written a review halfway through the show, now that I've completed it, here's an updated version.
Firstly, this is very much a slice of life show. If you're not a big fan of those, you may not want to watch this one. I enjoy slice of life, romance, comedy, fantasy, sci-fi, and other light-sided genre, so it appealed to me.
This show also incorporates a fantasy element - a magic library. I won't go into a lot of detail, so as not to ruin the story, but this library (while only briefly and periodically mentioned) is a theme that is important to every read more
Dec 24, 2014
ironcarrot2 (All reviews)
everything about this anime was fine, just fine. the story was fine, the characters were fine, the art was fine. truly mediocre and the genre of this mediocre anime is school/harem/magic/slice of life.

story: kakei(the main character) reads books to not be scared of anything and his goal is to find the magic library. sounds somewhat interesting. nope it is not.

art: average just average.

sound: average.

characters: typical harem.....their looks are average. also the MC is boring.

enjoyment: average. i know i used that word a lot, but it perfectly describes this anime. never really laughed hard or smiled much or thought i cant wait till read more
Dec 27, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

During high school, it's a time to really start thinking about one's future: pursuing higher education, finding a part-time job, volunteer work, and extracurricular activities are all in the realm of setting one up for a successful life later down the road. Along the way, friends are made and decisions are chosen. Sometimes, though, teenagers need that tiny extra "push" to get them going down the right path. Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai will most definitely "be telling this with a sigh" that the path they took was "the one less traveled by."

**STORY**

Daitoshokan follows the life of Kakei, a young read more
Dec 29, 2014
Social_Elitist (All reviews)
Preliminary
A Good Librarian is a Good Shepherd:

MINDSET:
First glance: seems interesting. Second glance: it failed with the potent material and became Slice Of Life garbage.

SYNOPSIS:
Bland protagonist was shown this random ticket from his Dad for no reason. Finds a chick to join her club, thought about it, then joins it with his newly found friends. Now do a bunch of random shtuff to apparently spread happiness for the school. And yeah, there's a supernatural element thrown for no reason.

REVIEW:
Fortunately, there was a sense of risk in this project, or at least it tries to be interesting from the first episode with this girl trying to be read more
Dec 29, 2014
Otaku_Buster (All reviews)
Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai is an anime about Shirasaki, an introvert girl who wants to create the "Happy Project" with the help of Kakei who she met in an inconvenient accident with a boob grab in front of the school. The accident happened due to Kakei's seeing the future power. With Kakei and Shirasaki meeting, the two embark a typical school life journey towards the completion of "Happy Project as they meet new friends. But here's the catch, a mysterious entity called the "Sheppard" stirs things up that either helps them or hinders them along the way.

Pros:
- Slice of life and Supernatural genre blended well in read more
Aug 3, 2015
reizenchuu (All reviews)
before i start talking about the story i need to clear out something: out of my own experience am sure most of you guys will get the wrong idea of the show when you'll see the anime's cover up there. because the first impression i got of the show when i saw it was another romcom harem that will end up as every harem series. not like it's not true but, there's still a genres tag missing that makes the anime more entertaining. and it is the Supernatural tag.


as most of you may know, the story is set in a prestigious high school academy with read more
Dec 25, 2014
Tres_Bandidas (All reviews)
Feliz Navidad, muchachos! You know the moment I've watched this.................thing, well, I could say plot wise it was good. It kinda have some similarities with the movie "The Adjustment Bureau" where shepherds does the job of guys with hats and that instead of a door to another portal , in this anime it was books. Here the main protagonist Kakei is a just a regular guy who is just another one of those bookworm characters who somehow got involve with Shirasaki's "Happy Project" and where his simple and ordinary life starts to go upside-down and he and his club members/ harem wonders about read more
Dec 26, 2014
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Ah, harems. One of the most subjective anime genres that exists, as well as one of those that can be both hit or miss. On this review, I'll b talking about Daitohokan no Hitsujikai which...falls into the latter.

Story (5.11/10): The story of Daitoshokan, or "A good librarian like a good shepherd", a boy by the name of Kakei Kyotaro enters a prestigious school with the thought of going to school and sort of delving into the crowd, spending his time in his books. However, one day, he meets a girl by the name of Shirasaki Tsugumi, and gets invited to her little read more
Aug 27, 2019
hexashadow13 (All reviews)
tl;dr: A really good story that's a slice of life with interesting mechanics, but one that feels like it was only partially told in a rushed manner.

This anime is based off of a visual novel. At the end of the day, adapting a visual novel into an anime is a game of compromises. One of the advantages of a VN is that they're such a slow burn, building up characters and plot lines slowly in ways that feel natural and that get you really invested in the characters. It's pretty much impossible for an anime to have everything from a VN due to time constraints read more
Apr 20, 2020
lolibolt (All reviews)
Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai was a good story that showed different types of characters and was more or less a stereotypical harem anime. The difference in this was one was that it gave a little something more on the harem plot and it was an interesting story.

Story: The story about all of the characters wanting to find themselves and become someone they want to be proud of is nice. Adding the romance on top of it helps it all go together quite nicely and gives something that was enjoyable.

Art: The art for this anime was good, I liked the designs of the characters a read more
Feb 12, 2015
esofdiamon (All reviews)
I watch this anime because I like anime about a bunch of cute schoolgirls with male lead as the center of attention. If you like Grisaia No Kajitsu you might like this but I doubt you will enjoying this because I think some of the episode are so so boring, and its totally different compared to serious Grisaia, this is a not-so-comedy anime. I intend to drop this anime since episode 10 but there is always something interesting happen towards the end so I cancel my decision and give this a try and to be honest its so tiresome. For me, a plot about a read more
Nov 15, 2016
Vaenny (All reviews)
This series made me realize just how many harem series I've watched, to the point of knowing what the series was gonna end in just a few episodes. But for some reason, I enjoyed it a lot.

This was perhaps because of its concept of "having the ability to see the future" without anything relating to time travel. Also, its idea of becoming a being who can change the fate of a person to create a better world is not something anyone can come up of on the fly. I swear, this series had potential... if only it didn't become a harem series.

The reason why I read more
Mar 22, 2017
daimonfo (All reviews)
Its been a while since I wrote another "review". Oh well...

There is nothing wrong or right about this anime. Its another harem where MC is being liked by everyone and is the best because the writers said so. The story is sort of interesting and there is potential here, though I feel its squandered on the harem genre.

I liked the characters though there is nothing special about them. The MC is also nothing special, maybe the whole reading books is kind of cute, in a nerdy way. I like it, its nothing special.

You aren't missing much by not watching this, but its a cushion anime read more
Dec 31, 2017
Slivko (All reviews)
In my anime List I rated 9 but overall objectivly I think its an 8.

This will be the most simple review that I will do in any anime I personaly reviewed.

So when I finished this anime wich was a few minutes when Im done with this review my first thoughts on it were "How did I missed this" cause it was just that good IMO. The story is interesting I think it focuses on some Japanese Folklore probably other cultures but lets say its Japanese on something called the Sheperd, and the Sheperd consists on some Transcendent Being that helps people be happy while taking read more
Jul 23, 2019
anim_ai (All reviews)
Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai (A good librarian like a good shepherd) falls under a category I can only describe as "visual novel-y" (VNy). Within the first few minutes, I somehow knew there must be a VN of this somewhere (prior to writing this, I checked, and lo, there it was). You'll get the same feeling from "Shukufuku no Campanella" or "Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate", for instance. Anyway, this class of anime tends to be largely slice-of-life, with a comedic harem romance being the main attraction. Some kind of mystery is hinted at throughout the show, and in the last few episodes, some major plot events read more
Nov 18, 2018
ReikaUchiha (All reviews)
Even if the Sepherd thing spices up the story, there was no good connection between this and the realife those students follow.
Maybe that happened because the anime is 12 ep long, and the only option was to cram it all up and make it shallow.
Pros:
The harem it was, I expected girls with a variety of personalities, just flirting with the main character, not evolving. Most of them learnt something with their interaction with him, and developed.
The main character wasn't a wuss, but a normal intellectual, although after the 3rd episode he started behaving like a typical boring, clueless, read more
Nov 5, 2018
theotakuparade (All reviews)
a story simply curious but in the end a rather big disappointment, from a neutral point of view if the story had risen what it raised in the end would have been more interesting, the story begins with a fairly common development but progressing begins little by little to improve good until the chapter 7 where we put that lighting with such mediocre results that I hurt to see it, the series has enough decency in animation as soundtrack I find it very good people are quite direct but as they fall in love with our protagonist I found it easily bad, in conclusion a read more
Nov 4, 2015
Zaku88 (All reviews)
What would you do if you could sense the future? I don't mean the fake future as in Glasslip but the real future like in Kara no Kyoukai Mirai Fukuin. Well, in the world of Daitoshokan there is a secret Men In Black type organization that wields magic and can guide people to a "good" future. This organization of "shepherds" takes an interest in our particular protagonist, a bookworm named Kyoutarou, who happens to save an innocent bystander from a horrific future, and ends up conveniently fondling her in front of a massive crowd just for good measure.

Daitoshokan is the latest August work to be read more
Feb 5, 2018
TheRealNormie (All reviews)
Story- Had potential but, the characters never get developed. The romance is terrible. All the girls like the MC but, are to pansy to say it. They try to give them compelling stories that i didn't care for. You feel like it's going to turn into a harem but, we don't even get that. The real story is barely explained and can be completely ignored. The ending is very cheap and unsatisfying. 4/10

Art: Meh, slightly below average not amazing, but nothing to cry over. 4/10

Sound: Don't remember a single track (Just finished it 7 minutes ago) Sound effects were average. Great voice acting. 4/10

Characters: The read more