Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Saikin, Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashiinda ga.


Alternative Titles

English: Recently, my sister is unusual.
Synonyms: Recently, My Little Sister is Unusual, ImoCho, ImoCyo
Japanese: 最近、妹のようすがちょっとおかしいんだが。

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 4, 2014 to Mar 23, 2014
Premiered: Winter 2014
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Lantis, Magic Capsule
Licensors: Discotek Media
Studios: Project No.9
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.431 (scored by 43,073 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #57722
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #859
Members: 90,606
Favorites: 115

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 22, 2014
Asfaria (All reviews)
"Recently, My Younger Sister Is a Little Strange" is what you get when people try too hard to make an ecchi show. First of all, why would you even make a show revolving around a high school girl wearing a chastity belt if the chastity belt has to be blatantly censored almost every time?

This is one of those shows that you know is going to be horrible right from the premise. An extremely generic and oblivious guy, Yuuya, gets a new sister, Mitsuki, after his father remarries. Mitsuki soon runs into a ghost, Hiyori, who has amnesia and can only remember that she loves Yuuya. read more
Mar 22, 2014
TCTriangle (All reviews)
Saikin, Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashiinda ga (or the shorter English title "Recently, My Sister is Unusual") follows the story of a young girl and an older boy who become step-siblings due to their parents marrying each other. The setup is pretty standard, but the catch is that the younger stepsister gets possessed by a ghost who's in love with the older brother, is forced to make moves on the brother to send her new poltergeist companion to the next life, and ends up falling in love with him in the process. Mysterious missing parents and ecchi, incesty hijinks involving a chastity belt then read more
Mar 23, 2014
Baddie007 (All reviews)
Recently this anime is sooooo unusual, why? co'z it simply doesn't amount to anything. Let's see, there is no story, its plot was sooooooooo lame, fanservice were poor, comedy was too corny, so overall this anime was just tooooo pathetic to say the least, now, I really don't dig as to why this story creator, Mari, Matsuzawa was thinking, but frankly she isn't doing a good job in anyways, and only her "Inukami" was the best thing she ever created. Also, I don't dig as to why studio "Project No 9" would ever think about making this into an anime when there are other mangas read more
Mar 22, 2014
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Incest is a very interesting genre in the world of anime. For some reason, the japanese love the idea of forbidden love in their animations, attempting to twist the idea so they can still have said forbidden love so it abides by the law, kind of, with well-known titles like "Oreimo" and "Onii-chan Dakedo" taking the spot as the more well-known incest related animes. Today I will be talking about one of the more recent introductions to the incest genre, Saikin, Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashiinda ga, or, Recently, my little sister is unusual. Let's begin.

Story (6.45/10): The story of Saikin read more
Jul 11, 2015
ShadowsweeperX (All reviews)
This anime, unlike many other ecchi anime, has a story line that is not difficult to follow. Although, people seem to complain about not knowing the answers to questions, although they are right in front of them. For example, if you would simply watch the ending theme all the way through, you would learn all you need to know about Hiyori's past.

The art was not hard to look at, but some scenes were just a little off in appearance and the way characters bodies were drawn.

The voices were easy to listen to and matched the characters very well. I especially enjoyed the difference in Mitsuki's read more
Mar 24, 2014
Dalvoid (All reviews)
Saikin, Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashiinda ga comes in a season without any blow-me-away hypetrain anime to compete with, an as such many people may be considering whether to give it a go while they wait for the blockbuster mega-hype that is the spring 2014 season. Don't do it.

Story:
The premise is neither particularly good nor particularly awful compared to other pieces in the ecchi genre; our dense protagonist gets a new sister, who is then possessed by a girl who claims to have known Yuuya before she passed away, and who is in love with him. If this leaves you at all curious, read more
Jul 31, 2015
smokeyjoey8 (All reviews)
What a terrible piece of crap. Somehow they turned a show that could have been a hilarious, cute, silly show about a "forbidden" relationship into a total joke of a show. This could have just been Oreimo with a supernatural element, and a little more lewdness, and it would've been fine. Instead it felt like the staff didn't know what kind of show they were making, a supernatural-comedy-ecchi-incest-SoL, or a heartfelt-coming of age-incest-SoL. They failed on both accounts. Maybe it was the staffs fault, maybe the source material was already garbage and they didn't have much to work with, or maybe it's Japan's decency law's read more
Mar 29, 2014
9tehk1ll3r (All reviews)
Okay, plain and simple this show is bad, i myself have no clue why i stuck through the entire thing. I think i was waiting for something good to happen ;) but nope nothing. The Art is one of the worst I've seen, it looks like a "I made it in 5 minutes" type of art and it also seemed like the least amount of effort was put into the MC herself. The story is utterly pathetic, there is no real story and i feel that the main character should not have been the little sister. Imagine if "My little sister can't be this cute" read more
Mar 28, 2014
Happy24 (All reviews)
Saikin, Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashiinda ga, a typical, shitty romcom with the usual 'shy girl'. What to expect from this? Nothing, but pure fanservice and a shitty storyline. (Also, a horny ghost)

Story: 1/10

Story, yes there is a story, but it was horribly told. They focused more on the fanservice part, rather than the story. It was just about a shy girl (Mistuki) who was forced to love his step-brother(Yuuya) by a ghost (Hiyori). To sum it all up, Mitsuki just needs to fill out the chastity belt in order for the ghost to pass on. Yes, that's all there is to the story.

Art: read more
May 22, 2015
tyone123 (All reviews)
Art style was great 90% of the time, although Mitsuki's face was a little off on the edges in some scenes.

Story was barely there, as it was an excuse to throw in some more ecchi, although it was the only reason for her actions.

Sounds only get a 5 from me, as her voice was sometimes that generic high pitch. Although her normal talking voice was not. That was good.

Hiyori was probably one of the characters they needed to explore most, but never did. Mitsuki and her brother are pretty generic, but hey! Still nice. They only got a 6 for that reason. Otherwise, most of read more
Mar 23, 2014
Eminem2 (All reviews)
Before I get to the structured part of this review, there is one major gripe about this anime I have to get off my chest. It is best captured by a classic line from Shakespeare, namely "This above all, to thine own self be true."

That may sound a bit dramatic when reviewing an anime with a strong ecchi element, but that is exactly the point: this show did not *need* to be an echhi. Nor did it need the "imouto" element, since the writer did not seem to be all that interested in wiriting about a brother-sister relationship. (In fact, the only real brother read more
Mar 11, 2017
tdtv-bkt432 (All reviews)
Kinda "Deja vu, I've just been seen this anime before" or somekind... hmm...
Might be i've watched some episodes of it when it's being aired (TV ver) and dropped. Now i'm rewatching it (BD Ver). Derp drunk.

- Story: 7.
+ An adopted shy sister, an in-love lower grade maiden that was killededed in a "mysterious accident" - or not so mysterious because the ED after every episode have showed us why and the main guy, a "charming" brother. One family with were being half-lost came to each other.
A "sister-from-childhood", which also "in-love" with the "charm" brother.
+ An "far" "incest-in-law" Anime, Ecchi and stuffs. What can be read more
Feb 15, 2017
summitsama (All reviews)
When i started this show i was pleasantly surprised, because my expectations were extremely low. The first few episodes were really lewd, pretty funny, and the "gimmick" seemed like it could provide with some material to craft gags and possibly even *gasp* a story around. To put it simply, ImoCho is a really good terrible show.

Because it's bad, when you measure it objectively. It's just a succession of tropes and vapid unoriginal drama. However, it is a show without pretension. It knows it's terrible, it's not trying to be artsy or anything, it's just how it is. And that's read more
Apr 9, 2014
YipJeun (All reviews)
Saikin, Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashiinda ga. How shall i say put this... it is enjoyable, but it is also somewhat generic. It gave something new, and yet in a way everything felt like you have seen it before, in other words: predictable. I shall explain why.

Firstly what are the characters like? It is simply about Kanzaki Yuuya, a simple and a rather generic male character. He is not one of those perverted generic characters, but one of those characters that tries to retain his own morals and honour as a man. He is always forgiving and does not let his emotions get the read more
Sep 13, 2016
Casi_Miro (All reviews)
Ok, weird anime is weird.

That´s pretty much all I can say about "Saikin, Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashinda ga".

I mean, look at the plot: A girl is obligated to wear a chastity belt until she can seduce her older brother (of course, not blood related) and send her ghost friend to heaven.

It´s pretty stupid, but I always give a try to stupid looking anime, because they might actually make me laugh. And this anime...made me laugh, at least a bit.

Story: 6
Look, even though there seems to be a story, most of the anime is just fanservice, scenes where it looks like I´m watching a read more
Feb 19, 2016
Dominick_Destine (All reviews)
There are people that review sleazy anime with standards that would be more fitting for top shelf anime. These people do not understand the concept of reviews because an anime , as well as any product, should be reviewed with standards appropriate to its medium and genre. With that opening out of the way, let's talk about saikin, imouto (etc etc.) "Recently my sister has been acting unusual";


ART (And animation):
It has some of the most boring, pedestrian, mediocre art and animation I've ever seen, on the plus side I didn't see any blatant animation shortcuts but it makes sense that they didn't take any read more
Dec 6, 2017
SovietWeeb (All reviews)
This show honestly tries too have the cake and eat it too and it kind of ruin a part of the main show.

Recently My sister is Unusual isn't a bad show. Their is certainly worse. But with a mixture of elements done badly it just kind of leaves the show in an awkward state.

This show is very much Echi but at the same time it censors itself. It has stuff like shots of the MC's chastity belt but it censors it. It will censor the most random stuff at times too. I don't know why if they aren't o'k with showing sexual scenes read more
Mar 27, 2014
burnsanimal (All reviews)
I just finished the current season of Saikin, (Recently, My Little Sister is Unusual) *THIS MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS*
Here's my review
A romance comedy, a girl named Mitsuki Kanzaki lives with her step-brother Yuuya after her mother remarries. One day, Mitsuki (Yes she looks like Ruri! But I wish she had her personality) is possessed by the self-proclaimed spirit of a young girl, Hiyori Kotobuki. Hiyori (in Mitsuki's body) must fall in love with Yuuya to move toward the "Gates of Heaven" or rather, Hiyori is hoping to have relations with yuuya through Satsukis body. Attached to Hiyoris spirit possessing her, is a chastity belt, that has read more
Apr 16, 2014
quentin464 (All reviews)
First of lets say if there is not gonna be a second season the score wont be as high. This review doesn't have any spoilers.

overall I think this story is very good, but there are some problems I have with this show. 1) they've never showed the back story or the memories of hiyori. 2) didn't have a proper conclusion to any of yuuya's relationships with any characters.

The art of this show is really good it reminds me of Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai.

the sound also amazing!!! I really love the most of the songs: the opening, the ending, and some song they use during read more
Jan 1, 2017
hachiman09 (All reviews)
Skip this anime else...........

Hear to my rant to convince yourself to do so..

Ok 1st of all lets start with my expectations before watching this anime.
I wanted to watch a good rom-com preferably harem themed. I was okay even with one-on-one rom-com if it had good story.

Story[1/10]:

The story had some potential. Initial episodes were quiet good and I thought the series might build on a good foundation but alas that didn't happen.

The story ends with an anti-climax which is totally crap. Its like "WTF, Cmon, really??"

Art [9/10]:

The only thing that's good in this trash. Honestly Mitsuki was one of the cutest characters I have seen. The read more