Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Golgo 13


Alternative Titles

English: Golgo 13: The Professional
Synonyms: Golgo 13: The Professional
Japanese: ゴルゴ13

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 28, 1983
Producers: None found, add some
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 30 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.841 (scored by 4,472 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #43162
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4137
Members: 9,816
Favorites: 30

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 23, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
I'm amazed that there's no review for this movie, especially as Golgo 13 is pretty well known in anime circles. But then again, anime that are over 25 years old don't seem to get much love these days, no matter how good or bad they are.

Golgo 13: The Professional was released in 1983, a full 7 years after the manga by Saito Takao ended serialisation. During it's run the manga saw phenomenal success in both Japan and the rest of the world, with over 200 million sales in various formats. The series was adapted into two live action movies in 1973 and 1977, both of read more
Dec 1, 2009
D5 (All reviews)
As a person new to anime, Golgo 13: The Professional was one of the most recommended movies. It ranked in the top 5, along with Ninja Scroll, and later, Ghost in the Shell, Akira, Vampyre Hunter D, and other classics.

Over time, the graphics have come to appear a bit dated, so i would only give it 8/10 for graphics (unlike Ghost In The Shell, there doesn't seem to be a remake coming), but this is mostly in the CG sequences and, considering limits of the time, overall, it is still well presented.

However, the reason why I came to like this movie is because of read more
Mar 28, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

When you think of the most successful and best selling manga series of all time, you probably think of stuff like: One Piece, Bleach, Naruto, Dragonball, etc. However, there is a manga that has been running non-stop since the 1960s! That manga is Golgo 13, and it is basically unknown outside of Japan. Golgo is one of those series along with Lupin 3rd that is not just HUGE in Japan, but at the level of cultural icon, yet they are utterly irrelevant everywhere else outside of Japan. In Japan, Golgo has sold well over 200 million copies, which is more than Rurouni Kenshin, Yu Yu read more
Dec 5, 2015
herbeey (All reviews)
Trashy 80s action! Relentlessly visually innovative! Fun to laugh at!

Golgo 13 is the longest running manga ever. He's the Japanese James Bond, sort of. He's an assassin who tends to kill people in impossibly skillful and unpredictable ways, usually with just one shot, he's the ultimate sex machine even though he barely moves and keeps the same stern expression he always has... which is hilarious. Especially because of those trademark colossal stern eyebrows. He's cool. Too cool. Emotionless, meticulous, unchanging and amoral. He's the hyper masculine ideal. His codename is Golgo 13 but the name he goes by from day to day is Duke Togo, read more
Feb 11, 2012
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
There's so much wrong and mindless about this movie that it's laughable. I was familiar with the premise of Golgo 13 by reputation among older anime fans, so I decided to sample this movie via rental from Netflix and I feel like I wasted 90 minutes of my life on this. The movie features titular assassin Duke Togo getting entangled in a corrupt business tycoon's plot of revenge when Togo gunned down his son when hired for the job. The whole feel for this movie is quite over-the-top with its very violent gun fights; confusing direction of plot; ridiculous action sequences where Duke survives ridiculously read more
Dec 31, 2017
rip1234 (All reviews)
Golgo 13 is an underappreciated classic by the great Osamu Dezaki, one of the most important figures in anime history. Golgo 13 excels in not just one way, but in three. First of all, this movie is a masterwork of nihilistic neo-noir pulp. Secondly it is an auteur art-house film by a truly visionary director. Finally, it is a poignant meditation on the nature of evil. The three elements are all delivered masterfully and tie into one another with incredible coherency.

Golgo is a stoic assassin with little to no personality. He exists to kill and get paid for it, and is always inexpressive and cold. read more
Jul 13, 2016
FAKEANIMEGIRL (All reviews)
I’ve been wanting to dip my toes into the Golgo 13 franchise for a while now since it sounded cool, and simply chose to start here because MAL called it a prequel to the 2008 anime series. Now that I’ve finished this movie I can say that was probably only meant chronologically and should be changed since I doubt there’s any continuity, but I don’t regret my less common starting place. In this 1983 film, the professional assassin Duke Togo AKA “Golgo 13” is hired to kill the son of a wealthy oil baron. However, Golgo 13 has gone in over his head this time read more
Jun 2, 2016
camay1997 (All reviews)
The Professional: Golgo 13, I'm a little biased as I count seeing this motion picture among my happy childhood memories. The art is beautiful, a refelction of why we watch anime to this day. The simplistic beauty is enhanced by vibrant colors. But I want to take a moment to mention the soundtrack. I love the soundtrack to this film. It is the reason I started paying attention to who does the music in anime. It's 70's tyle stoic badassness and that's what makes it great. Only... having seen it dozens of times I can say watching it now; it's not really enthralling me. read more
Jul 9, 2017
thec0re3 (All reviews)
Golgo 13 is actually one of my first forays into motion picture anime and as such holds a very special place in my heart and for many good reasons. Duke Togo is still among my top 10 in terms of very dark anti-hero's and he is a big reason why Golgo 13 left such a big impression on me.

The story is pretty simple Golgo 13, an assassin for hire, is contracted to kill the son of a big oil tycoon. As a result, the tables turn on the assassin and it all goes downhill from there.

It's important to note the the art style read more
Nov 18, 2015
BeebopJazzAttack (All reviews)
Golgo 13 is a man among men. He is slick, hard faced and brutal, and only goes by his rules. He is an assassin for hire, and he's very good at his job. His latest venture has him going after a mafia boss lord named Dr. Z, after killing a mans entire family Golgo is hired by him to take out the entire organization. But once he gets involved with Dr. Z's daughter Cindy, a lushes goddess of a women who, like many other women, fall into his spell. But it seems Golgo's past is catching up to him, as he is being tracked down read more
Mar 21, 2016
senorsyzygy (All reviews)
Golgo 13: The Professional.

To me, its was The Eighties: The Anime.

Golgo 13, an assassin who lives by a samurai code and never breaks his word, shoots his way through a Sicilian mafia and uncovers that a mysterious organisation is trying to put him 6 feet into the ground. He's a mix of James Bond and Agent 47, which makes him even more badass.

This movie has all the action you could wish for, and more. He pulls off seemingly impossible shots with his rifle, gets into fistfights with special forces and extremely sinister villains, engages in high speed car chases where he drifts round the read more
Sep 2, 2018
josh_dd (All reviews)
I finished the Golgo 13 series (50 episodes) and wanted to watch some more Golgo. To my disappointment, the manga does not convey the same emotions as the anime !

I decided to give this 1983 movie a try. Surprizingly it was quite enjoyable, despite being more than 35 years old!

If you like Golgo you will certainly like this movie. However remember not to judge this one as harshly as the anime you may see in the 2000s, as the animation is a bit dated and janky.

The music is fantastic and very 80s though. Golgo, always the same : killing without emotion, sleeping with beauties read more
Aug 23, 2012
BAYAMANACO (All reviews)
This is just way too kool man, this film is better than the entire new series of golgo 13, this is more hardcore, much better script, better lighting, much more effort put into this, music is way better, i gave art an 8 because theres about 30 seconds that hurts the eyes with the helicopters scene. apart from that the film is just a pleasure to watch. Great characters in this. if your a woman,or womanly man, stick to your new jap animation for little kids, but if your a man, watch this on youtube, right about now... peace
Sep 15, 2012
barcaman101 (All reviews)
Duke Togo is an assassin for hire.He"ll take almost any job at the right price.His latest assignment is to eliminate a crime boss by the name of Dr Z, a thug with almost limitless power and who"s appearance is shrouded in mystery.His already difficult assignment gets even more complicated because after killing the son of the world wealthiest man he becomes public enemy number of some of the U.S.A most powerful government organization.

Firstly this anime is more than just mindless { shoot to kill},the plot although straight forward has elements of mystery and betrayal where nothing is what it really appears.It has the action of read more