Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Non Non Biyori


Alternative Titles

English: Non Non Biyori
Japanese: のんのんびより

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2013 to Dec 24, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 02:05 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Silver Link.
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.001 (scored by 96,273 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5872
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #414
Members: 227,471
Favorites: 3,781

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 23, 2013
kuuderes_shadow (All reviews)
This anime is a panacea of the heart and mind.

Life too stressful? Worried or anxious about something? Just sit down in front of the screen and put this anime on, and all your concerns will dissolve away - probably within seconds. Everything - setting, plot, sound, music, art, humour - all of it is perfectly crafted at maximising this effect. And what an effect it is.

The story itself is a simple one. It follows the daily lives of four girls of various ages who all live in the same rural village and are in the same class at school. Almost everything that happens is following read more
Dec 27, 2013
theaveragemeans (All reviews)
This is my first review, but I'll try my best to follow the guidelines.

Ah. Non Non Biyori.

To be honest, when I first saw the concept art and previews, I was not impressed. Frankly, I dismissed it as yet another slice of life show, a genre so regularly plagiarized that one can't help but wonder if the anime studios are running out of ideas, as each subsequent series seems to be a cut and paste of an earlier show. It was only with great encouragement from Youtube pianist Tehishter that I began watching the show with the lowest of expectations. I was pleasantly surprised at how read more
Dec 24, 2013
tommy73 (All reviews)
Yes, I have a sweet spot for slice of life anime. I genuinely enjoyed the laid-back shows such as GJ-bu, Tamayura, Yuyushiki etcetera this year, but that doesn't stop me from saying that Non Non Biyori was one of the most conformist and loveliest experiences in the past few months. It's definitely great-tier in the slice of life section.

The simplistic story takes place in a rural area of the countryside. Eleven year old Hotaru Ichijou moves into the town from Tokyo with her parents, and transfers into a school consisting of only four more students; Renge, Natsumi and Komari (yes, it's a rather small read more
Dec 9, 2013
lollith (All reviews)
The slice of life genre was a captivating one. Having the ability to soothe the viewer. To give them that warm feeling inside. It was beautiful. But now slice of life is filled with big eyed, blob faced, cute girls. In other words, moe. If you don't know what moe is to put it simply its cute girls who do cute things. Although cute girls doing cute things isn't necessarily bad. Most lack a good story, meaningful characters,or both. In other words anime studios are focusing too much on making the show cute rather than focusing on the quality of read more
Dec 29, 2013
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Who are we to decide that Slice of Life is a genre filled with shows that are all the same? Isn’t there still a batch of examples that still have those same aspects of what makes Slice of Life and even create a fresh atmosphere and aura to its world and characters? The answer is quite simply: yes. There are still shows of this nature that do provide more than just cute girls doing cute things, though there’s nothing inherently wrong about it. To this, Non Non Biyori is one such show that fits the category perfectly as an instant slice of life classic.

One phrase read more
Dec 23, 2013
Kindle (All reviews)
Anime can fulfil many roles and act as many outlets for people. Non Non Biyori, simply put, is an experience that plays on the sweeter side of us all. For someone looking for a soothing, relaxing, cute and humorous adventure, there's a lot to get out of Non Non Biyori. Lovers of the moe slice of life genre will find something to love in this anime for sure.

Story: (7/10; Not important): The thing about Non Non Biyori and many other slice of life that come in this style is that there is no real deep plot line filled with twists and turns. The free-flowing read more
Feb 2, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
It doesn’t take a genius to figure out Non Non Biyori is a cute show about cute girls doing cute things. Even from the previews, discussion, and artwork, one can tell that the show depicts a slice of a life style circling a group of friends enjoying the time of their lives. It’s no surprise that they live happily without the burden of of saving the world, going through multi-love polygons, or killing titans. A life on the countryside is very relaxing and so is this series. Non Non Biyori brings you stories about a group of young girls having fun and living their lives read more
Jan 22, 2015
Stalker-tan (All reviews)
When first encountered by Non Non Biyori, I instantly had the thought that something mediocre were to appear as with (obviously a biased perspective) most modern slice of life shows. Boy was I wrong though, because if you're anything like me and enjoy a good, relaxing slice of life show that makes you feel good, cosy and just want to keep watching... Well, you're in the right place.

Non Non Biyori revolves around a really simple story, where we're met by Renge and her friends, and we follow them throughout their daily lives in the sticks. It really doesn't get any more complex than that, and read more
Nov 6, 2013
Shazy-Shaze (All reviews)
I felt at a loss when I looked at this season's anime lineup. It seemed crowded with a lot of action and supernatural-oriented shows, two genres I don't generally mesh well with, so when I saw Non Non Biyori it instantly stood out. Being a fan of the gentle, Ichigo Mashimaru-styled slice of life style, I decided to give it a shot and I was not disappointed.

STORY: 7/10
Story is never a strong suit in a genre that is based around nothing really happening. Non Non Biyori doesn't bring profound storyboard elements to the table, but you can't really expect that. It instead seems to read more
Dec 26, 2016
zombie_pegasus (All reviews)
Nothing can be objectively good, but enjoyment has to come from somewhere. Non Non Biyori is an anime that I really enjoyed but I don’t know exactly why. I will be comparing it to other anime to see if I can figure out exactly what made it so enjoyable to me.

The story in Non Non Biyori is pretty simple: it’s about a girl from Tokyo who moves to a rural part of the country, likely a hamlet. Although it’s supposed to be about her getting used to her new lifestyle, this intent is lost fast and just like Akari from Yuru Yuri she eventually doesn’t read more
May 4, 2018
SillySunrise (All reviews)
My first time writing a review, and that tells you how much this anime meant to me. It's just amazing!

When I started watching it I was down, and really tired from work and life, and I won't be exaggerating if I said this anime helped me through it! Not many shows put you in a lighter mood right away, and Non Non Biyori managed to do that every episode! I would automatically relax, and prepare myself to smile for 23 minutes and 40 seconds. It became a habit of me watching every second of that show, and it's the first time I didn't skip the read more
Dec 25, 2013
Growler (All reviews)
Some people spend their lives searching for tranquility or peace of the mind.
Some end up never finding it, some walk right past it completely blind that it may be found in the simplest of things.

Everyone is so obsessed with making their own fortune or leaving their mark on the world that they forget what the point of life is to live it at its fullest. That may mean achieving a balance between career, the work of fulfilling yourself and relaxation, the work of being proud of what you did. Our enjoy life in a blissfull ignorance doing their daily chores or enjoying the little read more
Jun 3, 2016
saltedbutter (All reviews)
I honestly feel quite bad that I'm giving this such a low rating compared to everyone else. But oh man... I had to finish this anime on double speed just so I can finish it...
I am not a huge fan of slice of life, but I don't hate it either. And since Renge is such a meme on the interwebs, I decided to watch it... But oh my goodness. Definitely not MY cup of tea.

(Since this is a slice of life and there practically is no plot, I'll just decide to give 5/10.) I thought the art was quite nice. The scenery was read more
Sep 19, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

Anime is a medium that allows us to see some crazy combinations, from legendary heroes battling over an immortal object to drills that will pierce the heavens. But other times, anime allows us to sit back, relax, and mellow out to simply enjoy the fun antics happening on-screen. In Non Non Biyori, the show does just that, leaving you with a warm feeling when all is said and done.

STORY

Non Non Biyori sets itself up by introducing a new character in the beginning, her name being Hotaru. She just recently moved from the city to the country and has read more
Jan 27, 2015
Moog (All reviews)
I haven't enjoyed a slice of life anime this much since Azumanga Daioh. This is what slice of life is all about. I'm so fucking glad this thing exists. Non Non Biyori is heartwarming, funny, relaxing, and it captures the perfect feeling of beauty and nostalgia. The whole atmosphere the anime radiates is magical, and you owe it to yourself to watch it if you enjoy beauty and the simple things in life.

The anime follows Hotaru Ichijou, who has just moved from Tokyo to some isolated village in the middle of nowhere. Here she meets the other four characters that are to become the main read more
May 15, 2018
GamerUnglued (All reviews)
Simple mundane life can be a beautiful thing. We don't realize it, but every single day, we experience things that shape us as people, and we have always experienced those things, ever since we were born. While I love watching a heartfelt drama, a showcase of the bigger events that can inform our most important decisions and cause the most visceral emotions, we often take for granted how valuable and important the moments in between the drama are for us. Non Non Biyori, and its sequel series Repeat, highlight all of the meaningful moments that we often take for granted. It does numerous things to read more
Jan 1, 2014
TragicRomance (All reviews)
Important Note - Be sure to stick with this anime for at least 4-5 episodes before making your decision about the entire show. These 2 episodes are a bit dull and slightly boring but the rest is enchanting and remarkable. I won't say that these episodes are bad or anything but as compared to rest of show, a bit too normal. Don't immediately judge it even if you don't find it to your liking, give it a proper chance. This is surely not your ordinary moe-moe kyun show. Instead is sweet, lovable and rich.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Nyan-pasu!"

-

Have you ever felt,

"Wow, this show is simply spectecular. I need read more
Jul 21, 2015
johnbradshaw (All reviews)
If there were a competition about what is the most peaceful anime ever ? Surely the 2013 anime of studio Silver Link, Non non Biyori, would come out on the very top.

So you are tired after a long day working/studying? You feel bad after watching a top drama or you get a headache after watching mindfucking show? Just watch Non non biyori, its the chicken soup for the soul. It will warm your heart and cure your soul.

The story takes place in the countryside village of Asahigaoka, a place lacking the many of the conveniences that people from the city are accustomed to. The nearest read more
Dec 22, 2014
alexthetrex (All reviews)

Non Non Biyori (lit. Non Non Weather),
is a slice of life and a comedy anime that I would easily recommend to both young and older viewers. From the very first episode on to the end of season two, viewer’s interest remains captivated and soothed through the portrayal of pristine environments, thoroughly enjoyable and quirky adventures of its characters, and a calming soundtrack. There is much charm to the serene and slowly paced storyline, which is dynamically complemented by the incremented character development of a whimsical cast. Thus, if you wish to relax, laugh, and enjoy life; I couldn’t recommend this anime enough.

Story: 8/10
The story read more
Apr 12, 2019
eXterminator1 (All reviews)
My first slice of life. And certainly not my last.

Non Non Biyori may be seen as boring, a point many make about the genre.

Sure on the surface this is boring. Just following a group of girls going to school, as well as out of school activites. But it's more than that. The writers on this show are really something else. They are very funny, without clearly making jokes. Whether it's Renge shouting "Jumbo!" as a big dragonfly flies overhead, or Komari having a crisis over how short she is, there is something special about how the characters express themselves, that feels so genuine, you can't read more