Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Non Non Biyori


Alternative Titles

English: Non Non Biyori
Japanese: のんのんびより

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2013 to Dec 24, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 02:05 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Silver Link.
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.011 (scored by 84,390 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5472
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #395
Members: 194,022
Favorites: 3,300

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 23, 2013
kuuderes_shadow (All reviews)
This anime is a panacea of the heart and mind.

Life too stressful? Worried or anxious about something? Just sit down in front of the screen and put this anime on, and all your concerns will dissolve away - probably within seconds. Everything - setting, plot, sound, music, art, humour - all of it is perfectly crafted at maximising this effect. And what an effect it is.

The story itself is a simple one. It follows the daily lives of four girls of various ages who all live in the same rural village and are in the same class at school. Almost everything that happens is following read more
Dec 27, 2013
theaveragemeans (All reviews)
This is my first review, but I'll try my best to follow the guidelines.

Ah. Non Non Biyori.

To be honest, when I first saw the concept art and previews, I was not impressed. Frankly, I dismissed it as yet another slice of life show, a genre so regularly plagiarized that one can't help but wonder if the anime studios are running out of ideas, as each subsequent series seems to be a cut and paste of an earlier show. It was only with great encouragement from Youtube pianist Tehishter that I began watching the show with the lowest of expectations. I was pleasantly surprised at how read more
Dec 24, 2013
tommy73 (All reviews)
Yes, I have a sweet spot for slice of life anime. I genuinely enjoyed the laid-back shows such as GJ-bu, Tamayura, Yuyushiki etcetera this year, but that doesn't stop me from saying that Non Non Biyori was one of the most conformist and loveliest experiences in the past few months. It's definitely great-tier in the slice of life section.

The simplistic story takes place in a rural area of the countryside. Eleven year old Hotaru Ichijou moves into the town from Tokyo with her parents, and transfers into a school consisting of only four more students; Renge, Natsumi and Komari (yes, it's a rather small read more
Dec 9, 2013
lollith (All reviews)
The slice of life genre was a captivating one. Having the ability to soothe the viewer. To give them that warm feeling inside. It was beautiful. But now slice of life is filled with big eyed, blob faced, cute girls. In other words, moe. If you don't know what moe is to put it simply its cute girls who do cute things. Although cute girls doing cute things isn't necessarily bad. Most lack a good story, meaningful characters,or both. In other words anime studios are focusing too much on making the show cute rather than focusing on the quality of read more
Dec 29, 2013
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Who are we to decide that Slice of Life is a genre filled with shows that are all the same? Isn’t there still a batch of examples that still have those same aspects of what makes Slice of Life and still create a fresh atmosphere and aura to its world and characters? The answer is quite simply: yes. There are still shows of this nature that do provide more than just cute girls doing cute things, though there’s nothing inherently bad about it to begin with. To this, Non Non Biyori is one such show that fits the category perfectly as an instant slice of read more
Dec 23, 2013
Kindle (All reviews)
Anime can fulfil many roles and act as many outlets for people. Non Non Biyori, simply put, is an experience that plays on the sweeter side of us all. For someone looking for a soothing, relaxing, cute and humorous adventure, there's a lot to get out of Non Non Biyori. Lovers of the moe slice of life genre will find something to love in this anime for sure.

Story: (7/10; Not important): The thing about Non Non Biyori and many other slice of life that come in this style is that there is no real deep plot line filled with twists and turns. The free-flowing read more
Feb 2, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
It doesn’t take a genius to figure out Non Non Biyori is a cute show about cute girls doing cute things. Even from the previews, discussion, and artwork, one can tell that the show depicts a slice of a life style circling a group of friends enjoying the time of their lives. It’s no surprise that they live happily without the burden of of saving the world, going through multi-love polygons, or killing titans. A life on the countryside is very relaxing and so is this series. Non Non Biyori brings you stories about a group of young girls having fun and living their lives read more
Dec 26, 2016
zombie_pegasus (All reviews)
Nothing can be objectively good, but enjoyment has to come from somewhere. Non Non Biyori is an anime that I really enjoyed but I don’t know exactly why. I will be comparing it to other anime to see if I can figure out exactly what made it so enjoyable to me.

The story in Non Non Biyori is pretty simple: it’s about a girl from Tokyo who moves to a rural part of the country, likely a hamlet. Although it’s supposed to be about her getting used to her new lifestyle, this intent is lost fast and just like Akari from Yuru Yuri she eventually doesn’t read more
May 4, 2018
SillySunrise (All reviews)
My first time writing a review, and that tells you how much this anime meant to me. It's just amazing!

When I started watching it I was down, and really tired from work and life, and I won't be exaggerating if I said this anime helped me through it! Not many shows put you in a lighter mood right away, and Non Non Biyori managed to do that every episode! I would automatically relax, and prepare myself to smile for 23 minutes and 40 seconds. It became a habit of me watching every second of that show, and it's the first time I didn't skip the read more
Nov 6, 2013
Shazy-Shaze (All reviews)
I felt at a loss when I looked at this season's anime lineup. It seemed crowded with a lot of action and supernatural-oriented shows, two genres I don't generally mesh well with, so when I saw Non Non Biyori it instantly stood out. Being a fan of the gentle, Ichigo Mashimaru-styled slice of life style, I decided to give it a shot and I was not disappointed.

STORY: 7/10
Story is never a strong suit in a genre that is based around nothing really happening. Non Non Biyori doesn't bring profound storyboard elements to the table, but you can't really expect that. It instead seems to read more
Jan 22, 2015
Stalker-tan (All reviews)
When first encountered by Non Non Biyori, I instantly had the thought that something mediocre were to appear as with (obviously a biased perspective) most modern slice of life shows. Boy was I wrong though, because if you're anything like me and enjoy a good, relaxing slice of life show that makes you feel good, cosy and just want to keep watching... Well, you're in the right place.

Non Non Biyori revolves around a really simple story, where we're met by Renge and her friends, and we follow them throughout their daily lives in the sticks. It really doesn't get any more complex than that, and read more
Dec 27, 2016
Jaguar-chan (All reviews)
This show, all by itself, easily, definitively, and singlehandedly defines the entire purpose, appeal, and point of an entire genre of anime... or at least a good subset of it.

To me, there are four main subsets to slice-of-life (which I totally didn't steal from Subsonic Sparkle): gag-driven, character-driven, moe, and pure iyashikei. This show fits very well in the gag-driven category with its abundant (and incredible) use of humour. It does have aspects of the other three subsets, but don't expect the show to share the same mood or style as shows of the other categories tend to have. There are definitely moments when the read more
May 15, 2018
GamerUnglued (All reviews)
Simple mundane life can be a beautiful thing. We don't realize it, but every single day, we experience things that shape us as people, and we have always experienced those things, ever since we were born. While I love watching a heartfelt drama, a showcase of the bigger events that can inform our most important decisions and cause the most visceral emotions, we often take for granted how valuable and important the moments in between the drama are for us. Non Non Biyori, and its sequel series Repeat, highlight all of the meaningful moments that we often take for granted. It does numerous things to read more
Jun 3, 2016
flooter (All reviews)
I honestly feel quite bad that I'm giving this such a low rating compared to everyone else. But oh man... I had to finish this anime on double speed just so I can finish it...
I am not a huge fan of slice of life, but I don't hate it either. And since Renge is such a meme on the interwebs, I decided to watch it... But oh my goodness. Definitely not MY cup of tea.

(Since this is a slice of life and there practically is no plot, I'll just decide to give 5/10.) I thought the art was quite nice. The scenery was read more
Dec 25, 2013
Growler (All reviews)
Some people spend their lives searching for tranquility or peace of the mind.
Some end up never finding it, some walk right past it completely blind that it may be found in the simplest of things.

Everyone is so obsessed with making their own fortune or leaving their mark on the world that they forget what the point of life is to live it at its fullest. That may mean achieving a balance between career, the work of fulfilling yourself and relaxation, the work of being proud of what you did. Our enjoy life in a blissfull ignorance doing their daily chores or enjoying the little read more
Sep 7, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Are you all ready for another slice of life comedy about a group of ladies? I've reviewed quite a few of these and, to be fair, they're usually enjoyable enough. Non Non Biyori came out, in anime form, in late 2013. It's based on a still ongoing manga by Atto that started in 2009. The anime was brought to us by Silver Link, the same studio behind Baka to Test, WataMote, Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry &, the only good thing I've seen from them thus far, Yuri Kuma Arashi. I have to say, that pedigree does not inspire confidence. But let's take a look at read more
Mar 7, 2018
Tringapore_98 (All reviews)
An anime recommendation from watching Yuru Camp so I thought I'd check this one out.

Story: The story is similar to Yuru Camp's in that, it's casual and relaxing. Moreover, it highlights the daily happenings of the characters' lives. how they spend their times having fun but at the same time their struggles as students. Quite a good storyline,. Only criticism i can give the storyline is... its too slow paced at parts. Hence a 9 for the storyline.

Art: Again, similar to Yuru Camp in that the animation of the scenery and the art is beautiful, especially the sakuras. Character animation cant really compare to Yuru read more
Jan 27, 2015
Moog (All reviews)
I haven't enjoyed a slice of life anime this much since Azumanga Daioh. This is what slice of life is all about. I'm so fucking glad this thing exists. Non Non Biyori is heartwarming, funny, relaxing, and it captures the perfect feeling of beauty and nostalgia. The whole atmosphere the anime radiates is magical, and you owe it to yourself to watch it if you enjoy beauty and the simple things in life.

The anime follows Hotaru Ichijou, who has just moved from Tokyo to some isolated village in the middle of nowhere. Here she meets the other four characters that are to become the main read more
Oct 30, 2015
Anetzan (All reviews)
Non Non Biyori is a work of art.

Everything is so well done, the soundtrack is so soothing and calm, the background art is gorgeous, and all the characters are very likeable, original and most importantly very varied. I'd be lying if I said this anime didn't make me feel warm and happy inside, because that's exactly what it did. The whole setting is very nostalgic, there isn't a whole lot of story if that's what your into, though the creators do make an effort to keep it interesting.
It's definitely worth the watch, I'm hoping I can say the same about the second season as well.
Sep 19, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

Anime is a medium that allows us to see some crazy combinations, from legendary heroes battling over an immortal object to drills that will pierce the heavens. But other times, anime allows us to sit back, relax, and mellow out to simply enjoy the fun antics happening on-screen. In Non Non Biyori, the show does just that, leaving you with a warm feeling when all is said and done.

STORY

Non Non Biyori sets itself up by introducing a new character in the beginning, her name being Hotaru. She just recently moved from the city to the country and has read more