Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Diabolik Lovers


Alternative Titles

English: Diabolik Lovers
Synonyms: DiaLover
Japanese: DIABOLIK LOVERS

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 16, 2013 to Dec 9, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Zexcs
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 15 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 5.741 (scored by 74,030 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #76232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #525
Members: 137,694
Favorites: 1,277

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 17, 2015
zombielolcats (All reviews)
I just marathoned this abomination (which wasn't too difficult considering each episode is under 14 min) and first of all, men: if you hate women and like to see them abused you will love this show, ladies: if you are masochists you will also love this show. If these descriptions do not fit you, you will just be vomiting your brain cells out the entire time.
From reading the summary, you would (obviously) think this story would evolve to the brilliant anime equivalent of the Mona Lisa or the Sistine Chapel but no. Let's go through this using the provided elements.

Alright, I KNOW the art is read more
Dec 9, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
This series....or rather this abomination is what I would call a trainwreck that never had itself on rail. Visual novels aren’t easy to adapt. In fact, recent years has shown that many anime series never lives up to its original material that result in disappointed fans. However, there are also some VN adaptations that are so horrid, so atrocious, so dreadful, so disastrous, so unappealing that it can be in a category of its own. Diabolik Lovers belongs to the category for failure with all its rights. This show is something of a tragedy - an anime adaptation that is almost an insult to the read more
Jul 9, 2014
Shuritana (All reviews)
Preliminary
(It says I only watched 1/12 episodes but I finished most of it, couldn't force myself to watch last few though; so I'd say this review holds valid.)
Anyway,
I'm not going to lie, I watched this because I love reverse harems, and I *ehem* adore nicely drawn male characters. But this?! This is an insult to all my brain cells.

The plot isn't even worth mentioning because there isn't any. This anime is so pointless and consists of the female walking around getting her blood drained like 5 million times. How is she not dead? This anime is rate r because there are a lot of read more
Oct 15, 2013
modernjosei (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was going to do a first impressions review of this show, but I've decided to play a different tune for this one. What seemed to be a harmless vampire romance at first glance, turned into something much more sinister that left my stomach turning.

The show follows Yui who ends up in a house full of vampires as she was directed to by her father. But now that she had fallen down the rabbit hole there is absolutely no escape for her. All the vampire brothers there keep her as their sadistic prisoner, each taking turns at torturing her. It's not surprising for vampires to read more
Feb 28, 2015
MoeAllNighters (All reviews)
I never intended to ever write any reviews, but i just couldn't stop myself from giving a heads-up to people who are intending to watch this shitty anime. This anime is basically a waste of everybody's time, it's so bad that ill probably get more enjoyment in watching Dora the explorer.......


Story-1/10: Story follows a highschool girl who unknowingly walks into a "Rape Mansion," that inhabits psycho fucks that takes extreme pleasure in assaulting the girl and making her feel like shit. I would rather watch Twilight for a better vampire story.

First few eps just shows the girl getting played by each one of the brothers, read more
May 7, 2014
WitchyCat (All reviews)
In the beginning it seems to be a lot of fluff, though as you progress through the show the plot reveals itself. The only thing wrong is that the flashbacks need to be explained more, and there are many holes and unless you read it up on the wiki or have played the original game, you'll be left with questions. The plot itself was originally well written and pretty deep, though somehow when made into the actual anime it came out confusing and somewhat hard to follow, especially when the episodes are only 15 minutes long at most, and it is a full plot in read more
Mar 1, 2014
inuzuka-k (All reviews)
If you are considering watching "Diabolik Lovers" and you're sensitive to rape, dubious content etc., then do NOT press "play".

The story is overall ridiculous; there are so many plotholes it hurts, the resolution is utterly stupid, and almost nothing gets explained. The main female character, Yui, is treated in such an awful way it's actually painful to think about it. She gets molested and told that she's worthless basically every time any of the vampire brothers talks to her. Even more so, not only Yui does absolutely nothing to stand up for herself (which could be explained by saying she didn't want to read more
Feb 15, 2015
GabbyLovesAnime (All reviews)
If you're looking for a good reverse harem with vampires DO NOT WATCH THIS SHOW.

There was no true plot to this anime at all. All that happened was that the main protagonist, Yui, lives in a house full of vampires and is borderline raped almost everyday. I don't understand how this show would slightly be considered "enjoyable".

Do not let the beautiful artwork fool you. The show is full of sexy vampires to draw you in and the episodes are 12 minutes each, but don't let this persuade you to watch the show. It is a complete waste of time!

You would expect a girl read more
Jan 5, 2014
kuuki (All reviews)
Don't let the first episode fool you - this is not a romance anime. Not at all.

I watched the first episode and I was satisfied: Yui, the main character, looked cute and clueless and the vampires, she was sent to under mysterious circumstances, were shown off as ignorant and frightening beings. I was sure the story would revolve around how the vampires start to like Yui one after one.
But no. I came to realized that this wouldn't be the standard reverse harem story once Yui was bitten by a vampire. And how the scene was depicted, made sure there could be no atonement for the read more
Aug 16, 2014
Sepiyu (All reviews)
Diabolik Lovers was brought into live action from their original dating sims, leaving the story to be scattered and confusing, as well as forcefully awkward. The characters were dull, leaving us to be unsympathetic when needed be. It would only be delivered to us as fan-service for anyone who was interested in the original game, or was interested in randomly placed perverted rapey scenes, leaving everyone else behind in a disappointed mess.

Story: 2/10
You would think that since this is a game already, the story would be set up already for the writers to just cut and paste into the animation. Yet, we were left read more
Dec 13, 2014
phs_togusa (All reviews)
Let me just state for the record that this is without a doubt THE most misogynistic and abominable thing I've EVER watched standing alongside the likes of Itazura na Kiss. Make no mistake: this show is among the absolute worst that humanity has to offer and yet... it's just SO entertaining! I'm not even going so far as to call it a guilty pleasure because for it to be a guilty pleasure, I'd have to be ashamed of liking it in the first place. I can safely say that I'm *NOT* ashamed to admit that I like this abomination that was churned out from the read more
Apr 8, 2016
ThatCrazyElitist (All reviews)
Some anime have zombies. Others have witches. This show has a set of perverted sadistic blood-sucking handsome supposed-to-be-vampires. I've said it. This show reminded me of a horrible Twilight fan fiction, written by a masochistic (and also very horny) woman. I can imagine only two kinds of people who would like this show. The first one is a group of men who love to see women suffering and being inferior to men. The second kind is, like I already mentioned, masochistic women. If you're part of any of these cliques, I'm sure you'll love this show. If not, do me (but above all, yourself) a read more
Dec 15, 2013
Aines445 (All reviews)
To say anyone was expecting a masterpiece out of Diabolik Lovers would be a big fat lie, and not just because it happens to be a reverse harem (which, granted, is a fair enough reason to lower your expectations). The premise itself gives no room for one to think this will be remotely good: some girl named Yui Komori gets moved into this mansion full of vampires and they're all lusting after her (blood). Of course, something can always surprise you, but this is not at all the case with Diabolik Lovers.

It's exactly as you're supposed to expect it, if not worse. As a reverse read more
Mar 6, 2015
sunnierskies (All reviews)
Preliminary
So a friend of mine recently wanted to start this anime, and that was when I realized that other people in the world would think that was a good idea as well.

I beg of you.
Please think about what you're about to do.

Do you really want to lose your sanity? Do you really feel the need to watch possibly the stupidest MC in the world lose more amounts of blood than biologically possible? Do you really want to sit through such an offense to mankind when you could literally watch, oh, I don't know, paint dry, or ice melt?

Did you take a look at the read more
Dec 9, 2013
Baddie007 (All reviews)
Bueno, what can I say, everything about this anime "SUCKS" and I gave all of its category a flat 1 as in everything "PATHETIC." So question, if it was this bad why did I even watch it at the first place? My answer, it was because, at first I was hoping that some miracle or something will save the main protagonist ( I'm referring to the chica, Yui), but, the end result was the main character ends up being one of them despite of the near death horrors she underwent in the hands of six bastard vampires, frankly only the life story of them six read more
Dec 10, 2013
Nasty001 (All reviews)
OOOOOh Shucks, this anime was really a drag, quite frankly, I ask myself as to why did I ever bother watching this horrible thing.......I guess it has something to do with the female character, Yui as she was made into this sacrificial lamb by the very institution who should be protecting her and should consider vampires as an abomination, I guess it was my pity for that character were she finds herself in such appalling situation which it involves them Sakamaki siblings, who are in fact a bunch of cool blooded sucking SOB's, so, how do I rate this not so good thing?

Here's how:

Story, art, read more
Sep 15, 2016
winterella (All reviews)
Preliminary
OMG WHAT IS THIS ??? I CAN'T STOP LAUGHING.

What on earth is this anime exist? I have never felt like this actually i can't even understand my feelings right now. When i started to watch this anime i really thought Diabolik Lovers was in a comedy genre ,absurd comedy, even tough i knew DL was in a vampire/shoujo genre. So if you want some funny things to make you happy i guess you can watch it.

My friend recommended me this anime but I'm sorry (not sorry),i'm not going to finish it. I couldn't stand.. This anime isn't a good choice if you want read more
Jun 14, 2015
cthulhuhuhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off, let me just say this: don't let the fact that this is based on a romantic otome game fool you. Do NOT watch this expecting romance because wow, there is not one sliver of romance in this series.

However, if you were to go into this - unlike me - viewing it as a horror series, you might be able to handle this better.

Now, how to describe this anime? I'm only halfway in, I don't like vampires, and the only thing that has been happening in this flick is that every.single.male in this show has done nothing but abuse the female lead and drink read more
Jul 29, 2014
Swantje (All reviews)
EDIT: REVIEW UPDATED AS I PLAYED THE OTOME GAME IT WAS ADAPTED FROM. And I can say, this anime is a disgrace to the game. The game it was adapted from is a dating game called 'Diabolik Lovers: Haunted Dark Bridal' The game itself is actually pretty good, starts bitter but gets sweeter in the end. But this? This stays bitter.

Let's start by saying one of the only positive things about this anime; It actually portrays vampires as they really are. They won't protect nor love you, but will suck your blood. So if you're expecting a Twilight-like Harem romance, you're completely wrong. This anime read more
Feb 18, 2016
freeharu (All reviews)
Surprisingly, I clocked this anime with hope that it would get better but alas I was fully let down.

The synopsis cleverly obscures the true colours of this total disaster of an anime which is a girl thrown into a den full of sadistic vampires that all seem to be irrevocably obsessed with her blood. The plot gives off the assumption that it has some sort of romance however it is substituted for the vampires' meaningless attraction to her blood.

The words "draining experience" as quoted from the synopsis have a literal meaning to them. Unless you're okay with hearing ghastly sucking/slurping noises when Yui read more