Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shinkyoku Soukai Polyphonica


Alternative Titles

English: Polyphonica
Japanese: 神曲奏界ポリフォニカ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2007 to Jun 20, 2007
Premiered: Spring 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Ginga Ya
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.901 (scored by 8,770 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #41522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2614
Members: 27,451
Favorites: 46

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 5, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
There aren't many anime that heavily feature music. The most well known would be Macross (any of them), Nodame Cantabile and La Corda Doro, and those anime that do rely on music are often reasonably straightforward affairs. Every so often though, an anime basen on music will appear that deviates from what we've pretty much come to accept as the norm. Happiness! is one such show, as is Shinkyoku Soukai Polyphonica.

The series is based on the highly successfuly visual novel created by Ocelot in 2006, which spawned several light novel adaptations, a manga version in March 2007, and finally an anime in April 2007. Since read more
Dec 8, 2007
kagome57 (All reviews)
okay. my first review. let's see how this plays out.

STORY
the story was cool. kinda like a master has a spirit fairy like thing and you give it the ultimate power by playing music. some people are preppy and others are emo. as you watch it, later on a story unfolds.

ART
this show was umm... colorful. i didn't pay much attention to the art. simple clothing, jumpsuit and a school uniform. i like the wings on the spirits though.

SOUND
something that can not get below a 10! if the master has no song to play, the spirit that they made a read more
Aug 5, 2009
N41X (All reviews)
Writers note: This is my first review so be “gentle” =D

Firstly let me start by saying that I´m not the biggest romance/school/drama genre fan there is but from time to time even I need to take a break and watch something just for the sake of seeing something “different” from what I usually prefer/watch and as luck would have it I managed to stumble upon a jewel that nicely surprised me.

Now that the intro is done let me get straight to the point. Shinkyoku Soukai Polyphonica (later only SSP) can be seen as your every-day normal romance/slice of life/fantasy anime with all the basic read more
Jan 11, 2011
DrAgNmAsTr (All reviews)
Well what can i say, Downright Disappointing?
From it's promising setting of a boy who made a contract with a special spirit when he was young, got seperated, has grown up, and then got reunited with the spirit after about ten years to do what, some random job that helps people? There is absolutely no story in this as it is episodic and the only thing you can hope for in a next episode is for some good music that they'll hopefully play(since they dont each ep even though it's a music focused anime).
At least they did have some decent music in there with read more
Jun 24, 2011
6Leinad6 (All reviews)
Firstly, I have not read the manga. I have heard that it is much better.
Secondly, this is my first review. Figured I've got to try it out sometime.

Shinkyoku Soukai Polyphonica was, to sum it up in four words, downright disappointing but intriguing. This anime had a lot of potential, and might have been a wonderfully fulfilling anime if not for the plot and characters. Both were lacking majorly.

======
Story (3):
======
The plot in Shinkyoku Soukai Polyphonica skipped all over the place. It had no real direction. Characters, events, problems, and other details were sifted through like the director was going through a pile of useless toys, playing read more
Jun 27, 2010
Meow-kun (All reviews)
Not much to say about the story. They were episodic and didn't really have anything significant to them. A couple of background episodes was the only highlight. The rest were a kind of 'been there, done that'.

Art was fine. Sound was fine, though the singing thing kind of weirds me out with the protagonist. Nothing spectacular with the characters, they were pretty flat.

The main reason I watch a series most of the time is for the romance, unless I get bored of that genre and go looking for action or some sort. Four hours, yeah, four hours of my life and all I get is read more
Sep 10, 2019
KiliianSleipnir (All reviews)
first of all, Diomedea did a MUCH better job on Polyphonica Crimson S than Ginga Ya did on this anime. I've looked Ginga Ya up and apparently all they've ever done is support animation. AND IT SHOWS! frankly, this 'first anime' in the Polyphonica franchise sucks. it's barely passing as a medium grade anime from 2007.
///
Sentai Filmworks did the sub on this one and it's terrible. I watched this one on KissAnime AFTER I watched Crimson S. Sentai wrote the nicknames of almost all the characters wrong in the subs. plus their grammar and writing/translating/localization was terrible. the music was good, but it didn't read more
Sep 9, 2009
jenalla (All reviews)
This is solely my opinion and i do not care if some poeple think otherwise. This anime started out very nicely, the Story seems to be very unusual but do not let it discourage you, it might be a little boring in begining but middle part and ending are absolutely amazing. Art looks pretty good, nothing too fancy and not too plain it is well within standarts. Sound, sound was absolutely gorgeous. I do not think i've ever heard this much beautiful and romantic sound in any anime. I greatly enjoyed this anime and if you are into anime with abit of romance,superpowers and decent read more