Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Log Horizon


Alternative Titles

English: Log Horizon
Japanese: ログ・ホライズン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2013 to Mar 22, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:30 (JST)
Producers: NHK
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Satelight
Source: Novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.091 (scored by 290,905 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4482
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #64
Members: 549,717
Favorites: 7,435

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 24, 2014
yahzee (All reviews)
What started off as what seemed to be a bland-version of Sword Art Online turned out to be one of the hidden gems of anime shows. Log Horizon starts off slow with the usual setup of a "no-faults" main character, but with a slight difference. That difference is how the main character, Shiroe, strategically approaches each situation that makes Log Horizon an exciting show to watch. Shiroe isn’t the typical shounen main character that powers up throughout the story and then overpowers his enemies. Rather, he’s the guy in the background, the “villain in glasses” who controls the flow and direction of battle. Overall, Log read more
Apr 4, 2014
Deiger (All reviews)
Log Horizon. The basic premise, as is evident in the synopsis, centres around a group of players who by some - as of yet - unexplained phenomenon, got stuck in an online massive multi player role playing game.

I can imagine anyone familiar with Sword Art Online doing a double take at this point, obviously comparing the two anime, itching to see how one holds up against the other. SAO lovers and haters alike will travel down this line of thought. To be honest, I was and is one of the latter. Infact, I went into the series hoping to find all I missed read more
Mar 26, 2014
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
There is a demographic of people who love to dabble in the virtual world of Massively Multiplayer Online games (MMO) to achieve escapism from stress and other struggles that plague their nature. Recently, there has been somewhat of a resurgence of interest for anime fans to watch shows that detail the life of gamers who play these sorts of games, with Sword Art Online being the forefront of it. Asking questions that detail whether the virtual world could become more real to us than what we originally thought of as real from when we were born should be the main theme for these shows to read more
Jan 28, 2014
eririri (All reviews)
Preliminary
Log Horizon is an enormous failure of a show from both an analytical and an MMO-lover’s standpoint. It is so incredibly juvenile, yet unfitting for children due to its jokes on perversion, lolis, and whatnot. Before you stop reading, know at least that I used to love MMOs, and I really wanted to like this show. Alas, Log Horizon is simply too plain, too banal, and too full of itself for any serious anime-viewer to not have their intelligence insulted by it.

Log Horizon is about a group of adventurers trapped inside Elder Tale, a massively multiplayer online role playing game (henceforth simplified as MMO) read more
Mar 22, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
There are certain degrees to which MMROPG series are adapted these days. While not an original concept, Log Horizon has been unanimously compared to another popular series known as Sword Art Online. It’s almost unavoidable considering both series are based off a light novel and relates to character in an MMORPG setting – an open world based off a video game. But really, that’s all there is to it and the similarities ends there. Log Horizon isn’t a rip off of SAO, .//hack franchise, or anything else relating to the MMOROPG theme. It’s a show that shines in its own way that makes its point read more
Mar 22, 2014
Asfaria (All reviews)
Log Horizon is the newest "stuck in a video game world" anime. Many people claimed before it began that it would be just like the extremely popular and hyped up "Sword Art Online." However, the first episode is enough to dispel any kind of belief that these two shows have anything in common. Take away the video-game-style fantasy setting, and comparing these two shows is like comparing an action/romance anime to a slice of life anime.

Log Horizon follows more of the slice of life route taking a laid-back and slower pace than many other fantasy anime where people are fighting for survival. In the beginning, read more
Jul 15, 2014
karamatsuuu (All reviews)
This is not Sword Art Online period.

I've decided to write a review because I severely misjudged this anime by assuming it was a cheaply made SAO knock off.

Although it has the same premise of players being stuck in a virtual world, Log Horizon approaches the theme in a different direction by mainly focusing on the impact and development the players have on the virtual world of Elder Tale. The author's approach on the subject of assimilation, which I personally felt SAO lacked, left me thoroughly satisfied with political and historical based struggles of settlement, such as laws, and cultural integration between Adventurers (Players) and read more
Jun 2, 2015
densilex (All reviews)
A review for Log Horizon, a show that for a long time has been my favourites, and is currently the only show I've ever fully rewatched. The 2nd season is a different story for me, but this is the first one, and this is the Log Horizon I love.
This review includes spoilers from only the early episodes, so I can freely explain the plot of the story.

Story: Plot 4/5, Development 5/5, Total 9/10

In the first episode Shiroe, a gamer that has been playing Elder Tale for soon 8 years finds out he is locked inside his game world. He goes on to find his friend read more
Aug 19, 2015
Scavrefamn (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is one that I went in with mixed expectations. I had heard it was like Sword Art Online, which I found to be 'okay' , I was not a rabid hater nor a blind fanboy... but there parts of it I really liked and others I really disliked. Now when I started Log Horizon I did so with an open mind, not expecting a retread of SAO but also expecting at least some level of similitude and that might be the biggest mistake I made.
(Some very minor spoilers ahead, nothing big I promise)


STORY:
Here is the big problem with this series. It is paced read more
Aug 4, 2014
glycerin8 (All reviews)
Log Horizon is very good anime it approaches the game genre in different. Most people say that log horizon is a virtual reality which it is not. It's a PC game that been going on for longer than a decade. SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT, There is a scene in the anime where it shows the opening screen on a desktop. They also show scene of the actual game through out the series and the game has the graphic of Runescape. Therefore it is not a VRMMORPG like SAO or Accel World.
Story: 10
Incredibly well done. Unlike sword art online they find out that this world is read more
Apr 2, 2014
Calitz (All reviews)
Hello buddies, why don’t we have a little chit chat over Log Horizon.

Log Horizon is an adaptation of a manga written by the fabulous Touno Mamare. Maybe you already knew him as the creator of Maoyuu Mao Yuusha, which by the way really is something.
The anime adaptation is directed by Ishihira Shinji who works on Fairy Tail’s adaptation, and some Full Metal ’O’ God Alchemist (Brotherhood version of course).

Now that the bases are set, let’s start the review.

Story: 9

The main lines are pretty simple.
Due to the arrival of a new expansion pack, a bunch of players are transported into a game read more
Jan 14, 2015
Aizen-Dono (All reviews)
Let's speak about Log Horizon: an anime that tells about, for the most part, the adventures of the characters trapped in a virtual world; definitely very pleasant for those who appreciate the genre, but with some underlying defects that can not be ignored ... But let's start, analyzing, specifically, every aspect.

STORY 5/10: Unfortunately the story is not the strong point of this anime. In fact, in my opinion, it is a bit abstract and lacking in depth, because this does not seem to have a definite starting point and evolves with a certain repetitiveness and carelessness. It's, essentially, a story based on how the characters read more
Feb 18, 2015
Blazestar (All reviews)
**The character development part of the review is not good.**

Yet another MMORPG anime.

People always compare LH with Sword Art Online. For me, I cannot find even the slightest similarity between them. They are two completely different show with distinct objectives and focus. I have not started season two as for the time this review was written thus tis purely based on my impression on the first season. All constructive criticisms are welcomed via PM or comment. They will be greatly appreciated.



STORY (Concept 3.5/5, Development 4/5) Rounded down

The series starts off with a terribly explained situation: random players get trapped in a fantasy universe. read more
Nov 20, 2016
RavenSkye (All reviews)
Log Horizon may be your ordinary action-adventure-fantasy series but it is not necessarily to say that it has nothing more to offer than temporary entertainment for it may as well captivate your heart with its light atmosphere, exciting and thrilling adventures. As it may have minor flaws, these didn’t stop it from standing out among its genre-related competitors such as Sword Art Online, Overlord, or even DanMachi.

Cutting through the background and synopsis...

Storywise, the plot is read more
Mar 28, 2014
Kaminari-sama (All reviews)
Thunder's Review no.2: Log Horizon

Log Horizon, another anime about gamers trapped in a virtual world. Concept that isn't new to the anime world, long before Sword Art Online there were few anime that tried to satisfy both gaming geeks and anime fans. Does Log Horizon succeed with that? Well, as both a gamer and anime fan I must say that I have mixed opinion about that.


The Story 6/10
The beginning is in fact quite interesting. Our main protagonist realize that he can't log out, find some friends and then the story proceed with exactly what it should be doing. It explains how the game(called Elder Tale) read more
May 29, 2015
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Log Horizon follows in the same path as Sword Art Online in being focused on a popular MMORPG game where thousands of its players find themselves incapable of logging off the game under mysterious circumstances. Unlike SAO though, Log Horizon is a bit more light-hearted in its focus on how players handle their rather unique situation and the serious moments are not as heavy-handed, the latter being the major reason why I never got drawn into Sword Art Online. Mainly focused on enchanter Shiroe and the members of his party, our leads strive to restore stability and order to the game as many players are read more
Jul 24, 2014
AnimeElitist (All reviews)
At the peak of my disgust of all of RPG Anime things, here comes the Log horizon. Unfortunately not saving the day just making it a bit better but that suffices for now. Let me clear up some things first before I will get to the review itself.

Usually RPG Anime genre which is at some point certainly very tempting but nonetheless vastly empty, except the fact that the story is happening in virtual environment nothing new nor awesome is going on by all means. Not mentioning all of the wasting of potential for fun-service which is understandable for the simple reason that most of Anime read more
Sep 14, 2014
MAND4 (All reviews)
While Log Horizon may not end up being in the list of favorite shows all too many times, and while majority of its characters won't have a long-lasting impact on the audience, it still manages to be a fun ride with occasional fantastic moments as well as some downfalls which all eventually balance themselves out.

When I first found out about the show, I, as many probably have, instantly thought "Oh look, carbon copy of SAO. *sigh*". Still, as I scrolled through some opinions, a lot of people have said that Log Horizon plays out as SAO should have. I'll leave that to your own decisions read more
Jun 23, 2015
WildNeptune (All reviews)
Log Horizon is an adventure anime where our cast is among the people who have been trapped in an online game representation of Japan.

The story is somewhat multi-faceted. It starts with the characters simply trying to figure out the working of their new world into trying to manage it. There are other small arcs that interconnect these things together. At the start of the anime I was very impressed with how it really seemed like they were in a fully functional MMO with rules and teamwork. Almost everything in the anime somehow focuses on different aspects of what you would know from an MMO and read more
Apr 19, 2014
arrazolavguille (All reviews)
People trapped in a MMORPG sounds like something we've seen at times especially recently, we have one of the animes that more polarized as the community:Sword Art Online

SAO is a similar premise, but still quite different in their implementation and development and it is not fair to compare one nor to the other.

What makes it different, Log Horizon show some implication from the first chapter, which will be the tonic that makes the whole anime, and its they're stuck in the game, what they gonna do now?

That's what makes it different, the lack of an objective/specific goal that leads them to be more outstanding fight read more