Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Devil May Cry


Alternative Titles

English: Devil May Cry
Synonyms: Devil May Cry: The Animated Series, DmC
Japanese: デビル メイ クライ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 14, 2007 to Sep 6, 2007
Premiered: Summer 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: ADV Films, Funimation
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Game
Genres: Action, Demons, Fantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.081 (scored by 124,119 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #34072
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #418
Members: 223,283
Favorites: 1,586

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 13, 2007
moozooh (All reviews)
Devil May Cry is a very strange anime. It does its thing nicely for a bit but then goes and ruins it with some silly nonsense. I have no idea why or how that happened. I mean, the games are pretty consistently decent, so why isn't this show the same?

Let's start with that totally unnecessary thing called story. Honestly, you might as well forget about it, as you won't be getting any for about 9 episodes in a row. No joke—this is essentially a slice-of-life series about Dante being cool. And before you ask the obvious question—yes, it has less of a story than the read more
Apr 10, 2009
Illuminis (All reviews)
If you’ve never heard of Devil May Cry before and are looking for a good action anime, this is not it. If you’re a fan of the video games and want to see more stylish ass-kickery, prepare to be disappointed.

Story: Dante is running his business, performing mundane tasks for clients like demon-slaying, saving the world, the usual. Almost every episode starts and concludes one of Dante’s assigned cases, involving nasty monsters that inevitably end up dead. There is some cheap drama that focuses on a young girl whom Dante saved and a loser demon who wants to become a god, but you’re not seriously read more
Feb 29, 2008
Phill-z (All reviews)
Can you name a single video game that was turned into a movie that wasn't an extremely terrible film that failed in all regards? Now can you name a good videogame that was turned into an anime that wasn't terrible? Alright...you can probably name a whole bunch, alot from the choose-your-own-adventure genres. However Devil May Cry is more like a terrible video game movie. If you've ever played, or seen someone play, Devil May Cry then you know the style of the game quite well. The quality and feel of the anime is nothing like that of the original videogame.

Story: read more
May 18, 2015
VaasMontenegro (All reviews)
Devil May Cry: The Animated Series: Is it Worth It or Worst?

A Devil May Cry Game into an Anime? Really? H-How? H-How did you make this game into an anime. I-I-- (sigh)... Alright... Just, let me review this anime...

Devil May Cry: The Animated Series... Is by far, THE WORST ANIME THAT I'VE WATCHED IN MY LIFE... FROM MADHOUSE ENTERTAINMENT?! REALLY? THE ONE WHO GAVES US DEATH NOTE, AND KISEIJUU COMES WITH THIS HORRIFYING PIECE OF S... Ahh... Fuu-- (sigh) okay... Okay... Settle down, Vaas... Just... Let me... Just me relax and focus on my review... Okay (Inhaling) (Exhaling)...

Alright, let me review this, I was so read more
Jul 28, 2014
RipperJew (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a huge fan of the Devil May Cry franchise, I felt obligated to at least give the anime a chance. I didn't expect much, and to say the least, that's what I got.

There's nothing extraordinary about the show, no specific highlights worth mentioning or anything that sets it aside from other anime, while at the same time, there's nothing I could say is actually 'bad' about it either. The dub quality is good, and the familiar voices are enjoyable for those like me who love the Devil May Cry games, and even the personalities are on point. Each episode follows a scenario where Dante read more
Jan 13, 2008
fr0z3nshad3 (All reviews)
Story (6) - Well, to avaluate devil may cry in this aspect is a bit hard..if we look at the anime it has almost no relation between episodes, and thats a negative point. Well, there are some connections, but the way the story goes is not directly connected, it is like each episode has is own story. By the story of all anime i give a 3. But i think each episode story is well made, so i give a 8 as an average of each episode story.
(3+8)/2=5,5=6. If you like anime with good story, from the first episode to the last one, this is read more
Jan 15, 2008
Willypiggy (All reviews)
Story - The overall story left me wanting a bit more depth. It is borderline slice-of-life action, A wired combination and it doesn't work all that well in my opinion. There seems to be no plot going on throughout the first few episodes however the plot slowly develops a very tiny bit per episode until it reaches its climax in episode 11/12. the overall story had me a little bored however the last few episodes were some of the best anime I have ever seen. They were tense on the edge action and it is a great reward for sticking through the slow storyline.

Art - read more
Aug 4, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
Devil May Cry
I saw a lot of reviews hating this anime knowing nothing about the games and not knowing this was to promote DMC4 so one should keep in mind that, and also this was made by one of the writers of the game, so his personality is the same like in the games; The anime is set chronologically between DMC1 and DMC4, showing what heppened between the gap of the two and also how Lady and Trish met; This anime was refreshing and it's different from the games, less action than what the games offer but i enjoyed it, Dante doesn't even use all read more
Jul 8, 2008
MikariStar (All reviews)
Overall the Devil May Cry anime was pretty good. It's 12 episodes long. The animation and sound are good and it has action and humor. Many of the episodes look like one shots but everything is linked in the end. It won't confuse people who have not played the game and it won't bore those who have.

My criticism is that some of the action scenes are little cut. Dante starts fighting and a few seconds later fast forward, he's at home after winning the battle.

Another thing isn't really a critic as much as an observation, but I noticed after watching some game videos that read more
Jun 11, 2008
lastdavid (All reviews)
Preliminary
At the time of my writing this review, I have attempted to watch past the first episode of the Devil May Cry anime four times. After I completerd the first episode I decided to leave it for a while, hoping that one day I would be in the mood for a stylish but brainless anime. Months later... I have realised this will not happen.

The story - or lack thereof - is disgusting. Fair enough, the DMC series never was known for its plot lines, but there is a huge difference between playing and watching (which is highlighted particularly by this anime). I actually had read more
May 7, 2008
DarK_LiGhT (All reviews)
This 12-episode anime was produced by Mad House, who had a hand in shows like Death Note, Hellsing, Chobits, etc.

So what went so @#%& WRONG?! Come on, people, you have 3 games, 2 books, and 2 manga volumes worth of background to draw on and you give us Dante playing... death poker?? Are you @#%& kidding me??

The series has one story per episode for the first 10 episodes, and only develops a coherent plot in 11 and 12. The stories are boring, the action is practically nonexistent, and Dante is more of a cameo than the main character.

Who the hell is the read more
Dec 23, 2007
rainbow_heart (All reviews)
MUSIC:

The OP theme is fantabulous! (READ: Fantastic and Fabulous)
It really suits the anime, the theme of the anime. Somehow, I feel nostalgic every time I hear that instrumental song. But yeah, it's really nice.

The ED theme is a mellow"Engrish" song, but I don't get its meaning. Anyhow, it's a nice slowing down song for an action-packed anime.

ART/DRAWING/ANIMATION:

The art is superb! Even though it's based from a game, the animation/art of the characters is very nice, unlike other animes that are nice but fails in art, this one's great!

The animation is great! Being action-packed and blood-oriented, it's really captivating!

STORY:

It really doesn't have a plot, but in read more
Jan 22, 2008
Lieila (All reviews)
I finished watching the whole series last night. DMC was simply awesome!

I was looking for an anime that is shonen or seinen with a genre of action and with top priority on cool graphics - so I picked Devil May Cry with a lot of hesitations.

I also thought I would never watched this kind of anime because I was tired with so detailed-like graphics and animation TV series I used to watch back then. But then again I thought, I'll give it a try. Man, I was wrong! I was hooked up right after I watched the first episode.

I'll break down my read more
Apr 4, 2015
Luquillo (All reviews)
I'm not surprised one bit. No, really I'm not. It's a video game to anime/movie translation. Normally, these types of projects are horrible anyway. I'm sure many people know that this is based on the game of the same name, as it followed Dante completing missions by exterminating demons in some very stylish ways. Unfortunately, although the demon killing is present in the series. The greatness that was found in the games is completely lost. Those out there who sat through the Street Fighter Alpha series, Fatal Fury movies, or heaven forbid Art of Fighting. More than likely shouldn't be surprised and already have an read more
May 5, 2009
Silent_Follower (All reviews)
Basically, Devil May Cry is about a half demon half human who takes on a job as a Demon Hunter. If you love shiny guns, motorcycles, blood and shiny swords, this may be the anime for you.

Story: (6/10)
The story isn't really bad. It has the right materials which are pretty substantial. In other words, the background of the story was great! It's very interesting; European setting, demons, Demon Hunter and so on. But then, the materials weren't used properly. So the story flow became really dull. The story development wasn't really visible. It was only until the 11th episode that the climax was drawn. read more
Jan 16, 2019
Destroyer-3 (All reviews)
I have a lot of mixed feelings about this one. I'm a pretty big fan of the games, 3 being one of my all time favorite games. So there is a lot of fun to be had as a fan seeing Dante going through these villain of the week stories. They do a good job subtly fleshing out his character, and there are some really cool concepts in play here. But the execution is just really flat. The animation is very bogstandard and rigid, which is a shame being in the hands madhouse. The main cast is as fun as ever but a lot of read more
Nov 9, 2009
nobody_knows (All reviews)
Have you guys ever heard that video game base on movie are just merely a product? Well, i remember some crappy video game base on movie game like Transformers, or ET. But maybe some game like Lord of the Ring or maybe the recent Wolverine game for the PC is good. Speaking of game, now i going comment a anime that was base from one of the best game from Capcom call 'Devil May Cry' (wahhhhh.....), and how that i think about it; well, let's find out!

DMC, when it say it going to become an anime; i like any other DMC player are jump for read more
Feb 20, 2013
SigiltheBee (All reviews)
Devil May Cry is something I desperately hoped would turn out great. Most things based off a video game- whether it be a movie, a book, or even an anime- are damned to fail. So for Devil May Cry, based on the video games of the same title, my hopes were that this work might succeed in its attempt to become a great anime. They might have been foolish, selfish wishes, but I wished that it at least would at least try.
Was this anime as good as it could have been? The general consensus is no, as it seems. Why? To illustrate how an anime read more
Jan 10, 2018
ktulu007 (All reviews)
A lot of gamers are, at least, familiar with Capcom's Devil May Cry. The franchise is pretty beloved, except for that reboot one where Dante had dark hair and was, objectively, a piece of shit. In 2007, after the third instalment but before the fourth, our old friends at Madhouse started releasing an anime based off of the games. That's right, the studio that brought us such adaptations as X-men, Metropolis, and FF Legend of the Crystals was behind this. Well, maybe this one isn't a pile of garbage like those were. Well, except Metropolis. It was just sub-par.

Story:

We open with Morrison bringing Dante read more
Sep 20, 2015
Sapphire (All reviews)
This anime was recommended to me by a friend who absolutely adores it! I realized when I was finished watching it, she meant the video game and not this. Oh well...too late.

Story:

No plot. Seriously. There is no plot in this anime. Now I don't know what the video game is like so I won't dwell into it, but I was very disappointed in the fact this this anime, as good as it looks, lacked a simple plot. It was only 'filler' and 'subplot' episodes until at least the last two episodes. I just wished it came close to what my friend told me about read more