Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Clannad Movie


Alternative Titles

English: Clannad The Motion Picture
Synonyms: Gekijouban Clannad
Japanese: 劇場版 クラナド

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 15, 2007
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 1 hr. 33 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.311 (scored by 68,631 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #24742
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #852
Members: 125,417
Favorites: 421

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 20, 2009
KaminaKai (All reviews)
*An alternate interpretation of the Clannad story centered around the Nagisa x Tomoya couple.*

Did you get confused with the ending in Clannad After Story? Did you wish for a more realistic ending? Did you know that Clannad The Motion Picture might just be what you are looking for? Or perhaps you have heard of Clannad and Clannad After Story from all your friends, but you have yet to try it out? Clannad The Motion Picture (TMP for short) provides a great summary of all the major events that took place in the ~46 episodes (excluding OVA/recap) series between the two main protagonists. Please be mindful read more
Feb 16, 2009
bonnerton (All reviews)
I realize this came out before the series, but I highly suggest that if you are going to watch the series/are watching the series, DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE. The storyline was all over the place and non of the characters are developed well. The animation is mediocre at best and all it really does is spoil the plot of an amazing series.

I highly recommend watching both the Clannad series, and the Clannad After Story series. If you still feel the urge to watch this movie, at least wait until you get to about ep 18 in After Story.
Aug 13, 2010
RakiSama (All reviews)
After reading some of the other reviews, I decided to write my own to express my own views towards Clannad The Motion Picture. Before that, I would like to note that I will be comparing the movie with some outside facts and other points of view to prove my arguments.

Story:
People say I shouldn’t compare to the series because the series was release after the movie. So I didn’t, but instead I compared it with the visual novel. Before that, I think Kyoto Animation did a fantastic job in porting the story from the visual novel to the series with many of the original content still read more
Jul 14, 2015
Pakar (All reviews)
WARNING: SPOILERS WITHIN

NOTE: The purpose of this review is to compare the movie to the visual novel and the anime

It pains me to think of what this movie could have been!

I am a huge fan of the novel and anime series, but I always heard the movie was mediocre or worse, so I never took the time to watch it. However, when my wife and I bought the series on DVD, the movie was included, so we thought, "Why not?" I watched it, prepared to strongly dislike it, and I did . . . until the last half hour. I am not going to waste read more
Mar 11, 2008
Shuugo (All reviews)
I shouldn't have watched this at all. I've played the game, and I'm currently watching the series of KyoAni. If you played or watched that you will probably dislike the movie.

The only thing I found good was the story and the character development, but then again that was key's work and not TOEI. I didn't give it a better score on story because hilarious parts like most of Sunohara are gone, the movie does not explain any of how the relationship is made between the main characters and the side characters...

About the OST what can I say... I have over 400 songs (all clannad OST), read more
May 6, 2008
UkyoKuonji2010 (All reviews)
After playing the Clannad game and watching the anime, I decided to watch the movie and see what they did with it. After about 30 minutes into it, I started to look around the room. The movie gave me plenty of reasons to turn it off.

Story: 8
Even though the movie was not all that good, it still sorta went along with the story of the game and the TV series. I'm well aware that, because it's a movie, it couldn't put the other characters in like they should have been put in, so it's understandable that they only focused on Nagisa's story. The story was read more
Mar 14, 2008
Shia-Chan (All reviews)
I've just finished the movie. In general, it was great.
I don't think that the movie will spoil the series, because its alternative to it, but who knows. By the time I'm writing this review, I've
seen only 20 episodes, so I don't know how the anime ends.

Anyway, I'll start the actual review.

Art / Animation:
to tell the truth, it was horrible. There was time where I wondered if I'm watching a movie from the end of 2007, or a movie
from the early 80`s. Though the backgrounds scenery was pretty good, the characters looked awful, with a lack of proportion and made some read more
Mar 22, 2013
Elit3Blaze (All reviews)
After watching the whole collection of Clannad (both Clannad and Clannad After Story) I am very disappointed at this movie. This movie is a very big let down from one the best anime I have ever watched (yes, I cried -.-). The voice actors are different, the art is a bit 'off', the characters seem to act slightly different than to their attitude in the actual anime, and overall it just sucks. It is so bad that I had to delete it off my hard drive, which is something I don't like to do to my anime collection, but this movie is THAT HORRIBLE. So read more
May 17, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
Let's not mince words here: the first season of Clannad was fair enough but it spent way too much time on trivial bullshit that didn't even matter once After Story came into the picture. As for After Story, I absolutely adore the show but let's be real here: the first eight episodes were HORRIBLE and the way it all ended made it lose a LOT of points in my book and the books of many others. At the behest of one of my friends, I decided to give Clannad: The Motion Picture a try and it managed to do EVERYTHING that the TV series failed read more
Aug 23, 2016
Kns- (All reviews)
"Сlannad" begins from the visual novel released by Key studio in the 2004th year. After, based on the story, was published 4 manga series, animated film and two anime series.

So, if you're wondering whether to watch a movie after watching the 2-seasons of the series, this review will be helpful to you.

The story begins as the original, Tomoya Okazaki studying in senior year of high school. As he been a child, his mother died, because of this, his father had started drinking. Later, in a fight with a drunken father Okazaki injured his shoulder and was forced to give up basketball, relations between the two read more
Oct 23, 2008
stormchasar (All reviews)
What the hell guys.

How do you ruin some as awesome as Clannad.

Well, they did. There are so many things wrong with those movie I don't even know where to start, so I'll do each category sequentially.

STORY:
Meandering, directionless, and totally boring until the last half hour or so. Except for the last thirty seconds or so(which were actually pretty heartwarming) the ending was the lamest attempt at a feel-good ending I've ever seen. It's hard to say more without spoiling anything, but let's just say if I were Okazaki I would have been really pissed off at what my friends did to "cheer me up".

ART:
Okay, it's read more
Mar 14, 2008
Pokedude97 (All reviews)
Before I say anything, I think the Clannad TV series is amazing, I know i'm going to end up comparing parts of this to the TV series on accident, just because a subbed version of the movie didn't show up until the series was in the late 20's.

Instead of the usual format of explaining each of the 5 categories (Story, Art, Sound, Character, Enjoyment), i'm just going to tell you what I was feeling right after I watched it.

The first hour or so of the movie was ok, I found a little boring to be honest. I paused it for a second and ended up read more
Apr 5, 2008
aghagjhakjghakg (All reviews)
I just finished this movie, and it was great. If you plan to watch this do not count on that it will resemble the series. It has a small part of the story that is near the serie but when you watch it you will se that they focus more on nagisa and okazaki then the series did.

Story: in short, I loved the story. It was alot better then the one in the serie, why? Because they focus more on the Nagisa & okazaki relationship and they dont focus on the other characters so much like the series did. And because of that the movie read more
Dec 18, 2012
henry96 (All reviews)
After watching Clannad, and Clannad : after Story, I decided to continue to Clannad movie as well. It thought it would be pretty cool. However, it turns out to be a bit of disappointment.

I though it would focus on a specific point and make me feel something again. But no, it didn't. This movie is like a 90 mins summary of the Clannad series, season 1 and season 2. It follows the similar pattern. But they are not the same. It seems to be a Clannad world upside down. Everything is slightly different. Also the solution is each problem is different .This is read more
Mar 12, 2008
Bondius (All reviews)
The anticipaded CLANNAD movie turned out a bit less than I thought but I don't regret watching it. It wasn't a waste of time, in my opinion, but it could have been better.

Story
Basically, the story is about the sole relationship of Tomoya and Nagisa. It stars just as in the CLANNAD anime, with them meeting on the hill towards the school. The main thing I liked about the story was that it changed the lines and the events. The secondary characters didn't get too much time to actually have a story but that's normal in a movie (take a look at AIR the movie) and read more
Jun 18, 2012
AndrewDesu (All reviews)
I am not surprised that this movie would not do the series justice. It's actually quite nieve to believe it would.

Clannad as a TV series with two seasons over 1000 hours of information, the show lets you grow with the characters, while this movie makes it very difficult to grow that attachment to the characters, which really hinders the emotional effect it has on us viewers.

It very vaguely explains the story although the flow is average, which isn't the best but better then a flow that is terrible.

If you did watch the series watching this movie would be pointless. You'll be left thinking read more
May 4, 2010
Rah_Tilt (All reviews)
I've seen Clannad 1st season and those two chapters and I can say that I'm not big fan of it. I had a free time so decided to see the movie, don't know why. I don't know why the serie is more popular than the movie and why this movie is so underrated. Personally I think this movie is much better than the anime. The anime is kinda slow and boring with lots of nonsense elements not to mention very childish. The movie on the other hand is more realistic and the story is amazing and emotional. I mean I was crying like nuts read more
Nov 3, 2014
Benku (All reviews)
Clannad fan I watched this version to see what it was worth. I must say that I was disappointed ... The designs are ugly and way below compared to drawings of Kyoto Animation.

The film format is also ill-chosen to fit a VN and there is a lot of change that does not comply with the VN (like Dango music that was where the nightmare of change Tomoya which I think is not present in the VN).

Moreover, the film is sloppy it does not release the emotions we had with Clannad (especially After Story and is increasingly the most part intérresante was the most read more
Jul 21, 2014
darknessfruit (All reviews)
Clannad The Movie, when I first found out about the movie my first thought was " I have to watch it!!!!" but after doing it I couldn't help but feel a bit uneasy with it.

"Clannad The Movie" It's like they picked the 2 series (Clannad and Clannad After Story) and mixed them all together to form this, and although some people may disagree at this point but I HATED the movie. `
Clannad After Story to me was the perfect anime, with a wonderful story that made me cry and laugh and after watching the movie my only feeling was of hate!!! how could they do read more
May 1, 2015
Lemons-Chan (All reviews)

I always felt this movie was so underrated because of the series. I think the main reason why is because the movie is basically a summary of the entire series, but the movie is so well paced and doesn't feel rushed at all unlike most other anime summary movies. The ending is even more realistic. Well let's get this review going!

Story: Like the series this movie revolves around a high school boy named Tomoya who meets this young girl named Nagisa at a hill on the way to school underneath cherry blossom trees. He decides to talk to her and from then on their relationship read more