Koukaku Kidoutai Arise: Ghost in the Shell - Border:1 Ghost Pain


Ghost in the Shell: Arise - Border 1: Ghost Pain

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Ghost in the Shell: Arise - Border 1: Ghost Pain
Synonyms: Ghost in the Shell: Arise - Border:1 Ghost Pain
Japanese: 攻殻機動隊ARISE -GHOST IN THE SHELL- border:1 Ghost Pain

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 22, 2013
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Genres: Sci-FiSci-Fi, PolicePolice, PsychologicalPsychological, MechaMecha
Duration: 58 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.471 (scored by 2614226,142 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #16962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2239
Members: 53,660
Favorites: 75
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 24, 2013
Stellio (All reviews)
Bold and cryptic, the original Ghost in the Shell movie (1995) is considered by many fans to be the apex of sci-fi anime within its decade. Over time, Oshii’s adroit directing influenced a multitude of many abstract ideas, both ambitious and creative. However, it was Kamiyama Kenji’s Stand Alone Complex iteration of the series that helped further the franchise's reputation as a result of its superb action scenes, script, and sophistication.

With that said, Ghost in the Shell: Arise is a series that needs no introduction. But perhaps in an ironic way, it is essentially the introduction for the franchise. Although the franchise is largely read more
Dec 8, 2014
5camp (All reviews)
::NOTE:: This is a review of the entire of Ghost in the Shell Arise because splitting them up is only done by dumb people and MAL admins. So basically just dumb people.

Ghost in the Shell has gone through a few hands in its life. From the cyberpunk manga origins by Shirow Masamune, before he turned into a weirdo who only drew calendars full of pictures of impossibly proportioned naked girls covered in machine oil, it then went to Oshi. There it had its most visually striking entrant with a gorgeously directed movie, albeit one lacking a little in character. Then he made a second movie read more
Jun 24, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Perhaps this question may have popped into your mind one of these days: What happens to our future after the events of a world war? Perhaps we still exist but on the other hand, what would our new world be like? Well, it's a question that not many of us may care to know given our current circumstances. But world wars have happened in the past and they left devastating results. To quote from a famous German physicist, Albert Einstein once said:

"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones."

Well, it's read more
Jan 3, 2014
QuietDiscourse (All reviews)
At the top of the cyberpunk hill stands the Ghost in the Shell franchise. First formulated in concept by Masamune Shirow, it has been Mamoru Oshii's Ghost in the Shell (1995) film and Kenji Kamiyama's Standalone Complex series that have amassed wide and overwhelmingly positive reception. Ghost in the Shell: Arise—a four-part OVA series—is the most recent installment into the franchise, serving as a prequel set prior to Section 9's establishment. With high expectations coming from a new Ghost in the Shell title, it may not come as a surprise that Arise's first piece (Border:1 Ghost Pain) wields variable success.

Perhaps one of the most noticeable read more
Jul 9, 2013
LuckyKrystal (All reviews)
There’s something about reboots that invoke equal feelings of worry and excitement. Rebuilding on a premise from scratch opens up an enormous amount of potential to tell a brand new and exciting spin on an old tale. This is especially the case when the world is as interesting and layered as Ghost in the Shell. But that’s exactly what makes reboots so worrisome. It’s up to the creators to capitalize on that potential, but they don’t always do. Which one did Production I.G do, you may ask?

Ghost in the Shell: Arise Border: 1 Ghost Pain is the first part of a series of movies reimagining read more
Jun 24, 2013
Fintan (All reviews)
One of my first memories of anime really catching my attention for the first time was when I was about 10yrs old and I was in a video rental place and they had the original Ghost in the Shell movie playing on the TV. I was also obsessed with the Metal Gear Solid game for PS1 and something about what was on the screen just really struck a nerve. I immediately asked my dad to let me rent it, and my love of anime had begun. I had seen anime prior to that, but that was the first time I knew it was animation read more
Jul 29, 2018
AnjuRatty (All reviews)
-------------------------------------------------
| Ghost in the Shell : Arise - Ghost Pain |
-------------------------------------------------

Sadly, this is not the Ghost in the Shell that we all know and love. Yes, it is indeed a dystopian future sci-fi movie with androids. Yes, it has the same characters, (or at least the same character names.) Let's dive in shall we?

-Story-

The story of the new Arise series isn't a sequel or prequel to the existing Ghost in the Shell franchise by Mamoru Oshii, instead it's called a "re-imagining" of its older brother.
Let's start with the world and atmosphere - it's gone.
It's not the atmosphere you would expect to see from a read more
Aug 31, 2013
old_school (All reviews)
it's been a while since we last saw the major and Public Security Section 9
to long if if you ask me so you can imagine how excited i was when i first
heard about ghost in the shell arise the The four part series that takes place
years before the events of the first movie.

in this series we get to see a whole new side to motoko kusanagi as a younger less self confident version of herself she's still displays the same stone cold demeanor that makes her such a good protagonist at the same time she also displays strong emotions mainly derived from her read more
Aug 11, 2014
Po_and_Dong (All reviews)
I would summarize this movie as a blend of Stand Alone Complex and and an 80's detective movie. It's essentially a stand alone episode you might find in the series with alot more color and the new style that comes with the reboot. In this review I am going to talk of what I think about the first episode of this new GiTS film series, and the direction the reboot is taking.

Ghost in the Shell is not a series that is new to reboots. Almost every other installment in the franchise is in someway a retcon of the original work, or a work based on read more
Jul 3, 2015
SentiOnikawa (All reviews)
Disclaimer: As another reviewer said, splitting up the Arise-Border miniseries into separate parts is just silly. This will cover the entire thing.

So what is Arise-Border? What should have been a straight-forward "re-imagining" of the cult classic turned international favorite strays all too quickly within the first few minutes. Instead of giving us a faithful "re-telling" with our characters being better-developed (a short-coming of SaC) and the story being old-news, Arise-Border seems to want to be something else while knowing it can't. So, basically the odd child in the family nobody knows what to do with. Just nurture them or something.

Arise-Border is what I think the read more
Oct 23, 2015
merryfistmas (All reviews)
The most common complaint I see about Arise is that it isn't Stand Alone Complex, it's not consistent with SAC, and it doesn't capture the same feel. This is all true. Arise is a different timeline, a different spin on section 9 and while it may act as Section 9's origin story, and it is, but not one consistent with SAC. Know this as you watch it.

The second is Motoko Kusanagi's character design. This is a bit more valid, as the major is one of the most memorable and iconic characters in cyberpunk, and probably all of anime.

I liked both SAC and Arise, and read more
Dec 8, 2014
thefunkhunter (All reviews)
a prelude to the sac series, the arise ova fills in a much needed gap between the gits films and the sac series. However, story remains dense with its political fodder. Characterization is emphasized more so than the SAC series which helps to newcomers. Veterans of the series will feel they are treading similar water but will feel at home in the gits world. There can never be enough GITS it's a fascinating series that continues to intrigue even after it's release in the 90s. However, The arise series is nothing new and doesn't expand the overall gits world. It plays it safe to not read more
Jun 26, 2013
korison (All reviews)
The Ghost in the Shell Franchise is known for crimes that exceed the complexity of most Anime of this kind by far. It keeps provoking thoughts about the series in every movie and every episode, with mostly unpredictable plot twists making it a really good franchise. The newest part of it, being Ghost in the Shell: Arise, is the prequel to everything else.

Story: The Story is set in the year 2027. A high military high ranked man gets murdered in the streets and Kusanagi Motoko who was his subordinate wants to take it over. The movie follows her solving the crime, but soon enough she read more
Jun 16, 2016
FAKEANIMEGIRL (All reviews)
They finally finished dubbing all of these right under my nose late last year. The original release dates got delayed suspiciously close to when it was revealed the Arise movies would be reworked into a TV series. If I were on the production team for the dub that’d certainly kill my spirits, but I’m glad they saw the project through to the end because I’m so used to watching Ghost in the Shell dubbed. That doesn’t count for much this time, though. Unfortunately, the original voice cast has been completely replaced. A pointless endeavor since the new cast tries their hardest to imitate the old read more
Jul 15, 2013
iHitokage (All reviews)
Well as a GITS fan I had to watch this. I didn't expect much from this. I really loved the original first film. The series and other films were not bad either. Who wouldn't fall in love with Motoko right? :D

Anyway, this piece was not that bad in the end. It was really interesting to see what happened before all the things in films etc. How Motoko met young Aramaki (well, younger than in the films and series, he has still brown hair here O_O) and the rest of her future team.

I really appreciated that they draw all the characters according to the first film read more
Jan 6, 2016
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Do note that this review covers all four episodes of Ghost in the Shell Arise as a whole. That being said, on the review.

Ghost in the Shell Arise is another spinoff of the Ghost in the Shell series franchise that bases its setting around the time that Section 9 officially formed and features the group tackling a series of crimes in each OVA episode that involve hacking of cyberbrains in some form. While maintaining the same themes of earlier Ghost in the Shell anime with corrupt political elements and debating the nature of one's humanity if they heavily convert their body into a machine, the read more
Nov 8, 2015
JohnTittor (All reviews)
Full disclosure: I like anime with a clean narrative, witty dialogue, enthralling visuals, and clear direction. I really wanted to favorite this variant of GITS, but alas, my search continues

Story: 5. This is really what really let me down about the GITS Arise series. It might just be that I'm thickheaded, but I feel like the narrative is needlessly complicated. What is equally disappointing is that the convoluted story detracts from my ability to take in the (IMHO) beautiful animation that shrouds the narrative. Well crafted TV and anime shows each episode should have both elements of discontinuity (entertainment value without watching prior episodes) read more
Jan 24, 2021
Ciaran_Zagami (All reviews)
Just like the rest of Ghost, his movie feels really average.
I'm not sure why people like it so much.
Its not even a satisfying mystery plot.
It suffers from a lot of generic anime cliches. MC with amnesia, obvious plot twist characters (with silly hair cuts), constantly explaining what we're seeing as we're being shown it.

The biggest problem is that the whole plot feels completely un-signposted, which kills any mystery. Since the main character can't rely on her own memories and nothing ever hints at that INCREDIBLY IMPORTANT CLUE. Because of this warped perception multiple scenes are highly confused. Are they flashbacks to REAL memories? New scenes read more