Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Romeo x Juliet


Alternative Titles

English: Romeo x Juliet
Synonyms: RomeoxJuliet
Japanese: ロミオ×ジュリエット

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2007 to Sep 26, 2007
Premiered: Spring 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Book
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.821 (scored by 45,257 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8332
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #693
Members: 106,892
Favorites: 1,080

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 18, 2008
kahhwee (All reviews)
What can we expect from a title that says Romeo x Juliet? Probably a cheesy and draggy remade version of the original story that has no dept whatsoever.

But I was utterly wrong. Simply bear in mind that this is the Anime Version of Romeo and Juliet, and expect what you'll expect from most anime for eg, fantasy. I'm no fan of Shakespear's work but I do know the general outline of the story and the important scenes such as the balcony which audience will get to enjoy during the course of the series (although I'm guilty of laughing at that part).

Story wise - read more
Jan 12, 2008
lillockey (All reviews)
Going into this series, I admit that I had braced myself for more of a tragedy than this. Having acted in the original play, I know just how depressing and plain ol' emo it can be. But this is truly something different.

Story: First off, the story is much more moving and uplifting than I was expecting. There were times when I was actually moved to tears by the responses of characters to each other. The story just barely follows Shakespeare's original story. Basically put, if you're looking for an anime rendition of his story, you're looking in the wrong read more
Nov 4, 2007
anii (All reviews)
Overall I believed it was a very good story. It goes along the basic storyline of the Shakespeare version, but I thought that the twists and extra pieces really made it unique and likeable.

I loved the music, it really went well with the anime and the mood of the story. I also loved the opening and ending music.

Each episode was a sort of cliffhanger, which made me want to watch the rest of them in a row (but couldn't). When I did, I felt kind of sad that it wasn't long enough.

Some of the characters that have more similar roles in both this anime read more
Apr 12, 2008
Venneh (All reviews)
Title: Romeo x Juliet

Manga, Anime: Romeo x Juliet does have a manga spinoff, with art done by COM and story still done by Gonzo and Sky Perfect Wellthink, that began running in Kadokawa Shoten's Monthly Asuka on March 24th, 2007. It is still running at this point in time, and has yet to be licensed Stateside.

Romeo x Juliet is a twenty-four episode anime that was produced by Gonzo (famous for their work on Gankutsuou and Saikano) and directed by Fumitoshi Oisaki (this was his first major work as a director). It ran from April 4th to September 26th, 2007 on Japanese TV, and, read more
Jun 5, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
I decided to watch this series on a complete whim. As a lover of tragedies and angst, I've always liked the original Shakespearian play well enough, despite its many flaws. Unfortunately, if the original play had many flaws, then this incredibly loose adaptations has them tenfold.

STORY - There's no hiding from it. This series is a horrible bastardization of Shakespeare's play and retains very few similarities beyond character names, references, and the fact that Romeo and Juliet have the purest and most cliche love for each other ever! That said, the changes made are interesting, if nothing else. The fantasy elements don't seem important at read more
Aug 31, 2008
Somiboo (All reviews)
Firstly, it's important to point out that the name of this series is NOT "Romeo and Juliet" for a reason, that being it's not a clone of Shakespeare's original play. Now, I for one find that there is absolutely nothing wrong with that, but for those who are either expecting the famous classic or cannot bear to see an exploratory remake, this series is NOT for you.

Okay, that out of the way...
Romeo X Juliet is a fantasy spin on its namesake with adorable characters and a team of well placed seiyū- including my personal favorite Ryōtarō Okiayu (e.g: Byakuya from Bleach). Much like the play read more
Nov 6, 2010
FauxAzn (All reviews)
I went into this anime not expecting to like it very much. I am not a fan of Shakespeare. I am also not a fan of plots that showcase war and revenge. As it turned out, I am, however, a fan of Romeo X Juliet.

This is NOT your ordinary melodramatic love story. This is an adventure.

All of the characters are presented well and integrate with the story seamlessly, allowing this fictional world to brim with life, with living, breathing characters. Romeo and Juliet are portrayed as strong and brave protagonists that dynamically grow through each episode. The Capulets read more
Jul 3, 2009
danceljoy (All reviews)
An anime version of Romeo and Juliet? Interesting.

But its a loose adaptation. Very loose. Don't expect Romeo X Juliet to be like the original Shakespeare play. This review, is written by a person who never read the play but has researched enough about it. Arguably, all the characters in this anime are made differently, unintentionally or not, from their counterparts. And from these traits we get an awfully plentiful disagreeing opinions.

Now for a detailed review...

Story: 6

The discussion of this part is going to be longer than the others because its the core of the anime, being an "adaptation." Let us begin with the basics; read more
Dec 2, 2007
ukiuki (All reviews)
From the name of the anime, you can tell what it will be about, based on Shakespeare's original work.

Even from watching the opening theme, you can see that the series does not appear to be like the original, so don't expect it and judge this series based on that. For example... flying horses?

The story is extremely well played out. The only reason why I didnt rate the story any higher was that sometimes, the fantasy elements were too much, and didnt always fit in *spoiler* (Escalus). Only at the very end do all the elements fit together. Although almost everyone knows how a Romeo read more
Dec 5, 2007
Huntsman (All reviews)
Added new depth to the classic William Shakespeare tail Romeo and Juliet.

I had a few doubt going into this series, but my misgivings were quickly put to rest, I thought it might turn out like the Leonardo DiCaprio movie Romeo and Juliet, the movie was pretty bad. Thankfully the anime series is a whole lot better.

Romeo X Juliet is a extraordinary anime series. There is the same story of two waring families, and the two children from the families falling in love. There are so many things that make this a great anime series. First the story, sure there's the same classic story, but GONZO read more
Jun 4, 2008
ethann (All reviews)
When i first saw the title, i though it would be quite a cliche anime since the story itself is quite well known. But i must applaud the effort put in by the studio in adding a lot of extra detail while still being able to maintain the original storyline. Myself being a fantasy lover was immediately taken in by the flying horses and mythical tree. I think that they made the story more interesting and enhanced the mood,especially the drama in the show. So in terms of the story it was quite well done in my opinion and should not be taken lightly because read more
Dec 31, 2007
andrael (All reviews)
In a word: disappointing. The early episodes showed the potential to be an exciting and imaginative spin on an old classic; but it wound up being dragged down by serious pacing problems and a plot that was all over the place. There were too many things that seemed to happen for no particular reason other than they needed a dramatic plot development at that moment.

Sometimes a mediocre story can be saved by the characters. The characters in this series are likeable enough and several have the potential to be interesting, but most of the time their development is too lacking or rushed read more
Sep 27, 2010
tazillo (All reviews)
"Just another adaptation of one of Shakespeare's most popular plays. Boring." This was more or less what I thought when I stumbled upon Romeo x Juliet a while ago. One look at the opening credits of this anime suggested that I may have judged it too hastily, and 24 episodes later I knew I was definitely wrong.

It's a difficult task to improve upon the original story of Romeo and Juliet, a tremendous tale full of romance and tragedy. This anime adaptation pays a lot of respect to Shakespeare's famous work, and yet also manages to throw in so much of it's own ideas. Unlike the read more
Oct 10, 2014
Lydiia (All reviews)
I figured that I should write my first review with one of my favorite stories I've ever seen/read. Romeo x Juliet is one of the most romantic and tragic anime ever because it's derived from Shakespeare's play, Romeo and Juliet, duh. But the anime's story is a little bit different than Shakespeare's, with the addition of mythical creatures and magic to add even more drama into an already dramatic story.

Story: The love story between Romeo Candorebanto Montague and Juliet Fiammata Asto Capulet. But instead of their parents being enemies and forbidding their love, the Montague family killed the entire Capulet family, except for read more
Mar 25, 2017
mrbeckham09 (All reviews)
Romeo X Juliet

Synopsis:
The story is an excessively exaggerated remake of the popular Shakespeare play Romeo and Juliet filled with happiness, strife, an ambitious evil emperor, and the drive for love. The plot itself is about two lovers who were never meant to be together because of their opposing families, but love cannot keep them apart. They will find a way to live together even if it means defying their family name.

Besides the beautiful story line, I did have a few pet peeves with the overall style of the anime. Yes, the action can be intense at times with sword-to-sword battle, but being allowed to jump/fall read more
Feb 13, 2017
rachelcharis (All reviews)
I discovered this anime by listening to the theme song on an anime playlist I have saved on Youtube. The song is called "Inori" - which is the Japanese version of "You Raise Me Up", one of my favorite songs. This wasn't the first time I fell in love with a song from an anime that lead me into watching it ("Angel Beats!", "The World is Still Beautiful", "Uta no Prince Sama"). I dove into the anime and thought "what could go wrong?"

A lot of things apparently. 

First off, I had a really hard time keeping up with this anime because there were some times where it bored me read more
Jan 24, 2008
rainbow_heart (All reviews)
SOUND/SONG/OP AND ED SONG...
The OP song of this anime is very suitable for the theme of the love story of Romeo and Juliet. I don't think any other music would perfectly fit this very emotional and somehow classic anime.
However, the ED song for the first half of the anime is a rock/loud music, contrasting to its OP song, and it's not that suitable. However, I cannot totally judge this song because I never tried to listen to it completely. The second ED song is, i think, more suitable, because it has a nice melody, and the meaning of the song fits the story.

ART/ANIMATION:
The flying horses read more
Jun 9, 2011
HadenaZubon (All reviews)
***This is a Spoiler-Free Review***

Alright, for better or worse, shelve what you know about Shakespeare's Romeo & Juliet, this anime is a fantasy-action and romance story loosely *inspired* by the timeless play, not quite an adaptation. If that doesn't sound appealing or you were expecting Romeo & Juliet: the Noh Drama / [High School] Musical, you may leave. The rest of you...have a seat.

Story [6/10] - It should go without spoiling anything that the focus of the story is our hero Romeo and our heroine Juliet falling in love and the events that transpire before and as a result of this. Towards read more
Apr 15, 2016
PhantomBea (All reviews)
I went into this anime really wanting to like it. And I did - fo about half the show.

The story is focusing on the classic romance between Romeo and Juliet, and mixes in fantasy elements.

Juliet starts out as a vigilante-type character who opposes the oppressive rulers, the Montague family, and is in the beinning really cool and driven, who eventually finds out she is the last Capulet - the former rulers of the nation.
Romeo is the heir of the Montague family and is a compassionate, kind young man who wants to grow up to do the best for the people.

Now, this read more
Mar 10, 2010
JesterInk (All reviews)
I was recommended RomeoxJuliet as "something to poke fun at." For the first three episodes, I felt pained by how bad it felt and really did just poke fun at it. But when I went back to it, I realized that it was "funny" in and only in that it was how I was expecting it. Also, the script in the first few episodes is a bit jolty in its wording from modern to archaic and back. That levels out pretty soon, and is very smooth and beautiful. Sub and Dub are both done quite well, and I do believe that Chris Burnett as Romeo read more