Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?

Romeo x Juliet

Alternative Titles

English: Romeo x Juliet
Synonyms: RomeoxJuliet
Japanese: ロミオ×ジュリエット


Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2007 to Sep 26, 2007
Premiered: Spring 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Other
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older


Score: 7.851 (scored by 39,753 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #619
Members: 89,147
Favorites: 1,008


Apr 18, 2008
What can we expect from a title that says Romeo x Juliet? Probably a cheesy and draggy remade version of the original story that has no dept whatsoever.

But I was utterly wrong. Simply bear in mind that this is the Anime Version of Romeo and Juliet, and expect what you'll expect from most anime for eg, fantasy. I'm no fan of Shakespear's work but I do know the general outline of the story and the important scenes such as the balcony which audience will get to enjoy during the course of the series (although I'm guilty of laughing at that part).

Story wise - read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 12, 2008
Going into this series, I admit that I had braced myself for more of a tragedy than this. Having acted in the original play, I know just how depressing and plain ol' emo it can be. But this is truly something different.

Story: First off, the story is much more moving and uplifting than I was expecting. There were times when I was actually moved to tears by the responses of characters to each other. The story just barely follows Shakespeare's original story. Basically put, if you're looking for an anime rendition of his story, you're looking in the wrong read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 25, 2008
I'm sure the Bard is turning over in his grave several times. First they make a stupid movie about him being in love, then they butcher his already crappy play into an even crappier anime.

Romeo and Juliet is the world's most popular romantic tragedy. It tells the story of two lusty 13 or 14 year olds, who just couldn't wait to jump one another's bones, but due to family conflict, they end up offing themselves. I never liked the story before because I thought Romeo and Juliet were stupid and selfish, not romantic or tragic. So I wasn't going into this anime with a read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 4, 2007
Overall I believed it was a very good story. It goes along the basic storyline of the Shakespeare version, but I thought that the twists and extra pieces really made it unique and likeable.

I loved the music, it really went well with the anime and the mood of the story. I also loved the opening and ending music.

Each episode was a sort of cliffhanger, which made me want to watch the rest of them in a row (but couldn't). When I did, I felt kind of sad that it wasn't long enough.

Some of the characters that have more similar roles in both this anime read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 12, 2008
Title: Romeo x Juliet

Manga, Anime: Romeo x Juliet does have a manga spinoff, with art done by COM and story still done by Gonzo and Sky Perfect Wellthink, that began running in Kadokawa Shoten's Monthly Asuka on March 24th, 2007. It is still running at this point in time, and has yet to be licensed Stateside.

Romeo x Juliet is a twenty-four episode anime that was produced by Gonzo (famous for their work on Gankutsuou and Saikano) and directed by Fumitoshi Oisaki (this was his first major work as a director). It ran from April 4th to September 26th, 2007 on Japanese TV, and, read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 5, 2008
I decided to watch this series on a complete whim. As a lover of tragedies and angst, I've always liked the original Shakespearian play well enough, despite its many flaws. Unfortunately, if the original play had many flaws, then this incredibly loose adaptations has them tenfold.

STORY - There's no hiding from it. This series is a horrible bastardization of Shakespeare's play and retains very few similarities beyond character names, references, and the fact that Romeo and Juliet have the purest and most cliche love for each other ever! That said, the changes made are interesting, if nothing else. The fantasy elements don't seem important at read more
I found this review Helpful
Aug 31, 2008
Firstly, it's important to point out that the name of this series is NOT "Romeo and Juliet" for a reason, that being it's not a clone of Shakespeare's original play. Now, I for one find that there is absolutely nothing wrong with that, but for those who are either expecting the famous classic or cannot bear to see an exploratory remake, this series is NOT for you.

Okay, that out of the way...
Romeo X Juliet is a fantasy spin on its namesake with adorable characters and a team of well placed seiyū- including my personal favorite Ryōtarō Okiayu (e.g: Byakuya from Bleach). Much like the play read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 6, 2010
I went into this anime not expecting to like it very much. I am not a fan of Shakespeare. I am also not a fan of plots that showcase war and revenge. As it turned out, I am, however, a fan of Romeo X Juliet.

This is NOT your ordinary melodramatic love story. This is an adventure.

All of the characters are presented well and integrate with the story seamlessly, allowing this fictional world to brim with life, with living, breathing characters. Romeo and Juliet are portrayed as strong and brave protagonists that dynamically grow through each episode. The Capulets read more
I found this review Helpful
Jul 3, 2009
An anime version of Romeo and Juliet? Interesting.

But its a loose adaptation. Very loose. Don't expect Romeo X Juliet to be like the original Shakespeare play. This review, is written by a person who never read the play but has researched enough about it. Arguably, all the characters in this anime are made differently, unintentionally or not, from their counterparts. And from these traits we get an awfully plentiful disagreeing opinions.

Now for a detailed review...

Story: 6

The discussion of this part is going to be longer than the others because its the core of the anime, being an "adaptation." Let us begin with the basics; read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 2, 2007
From the name of the anime, you can tell what it will be about, based on Shakespeare's original work.

Even from watching the opening theme, you can see that the series does not appear to be like the original, so don't expect it and judge this series based on that. For example... flying horses?

The story is extremely well played out. The only reason why I didnt rate the story any higher was that sometimes, the fantasy elements were too much, and didnt always fit in *spoiler* (Escalus). Only at the very end do all the elements fit together. Although almost everyone knows how a Romeo read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 10, 2014
I figured that I should write my first review with one of my favorite stories I've ever seen/read. Romeo x Juliet is one of the most romantic and tragic anime ever because it's derived from Shakespeare's play, Romeo and Juliet, duh. But the anime's story is a little bit different than Shakespeare's, with the addition of mythical creatures and magic to add even more drama into an already dramatic story.

Story: The love story between Romeo Candorebanto Montague and Juliet Fiammata Asto Capulet. But instead of their parents being enemies and forbidding their love, the Montague family killed the entire Capulet family, except for read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 5, 2007
Added new depth to the classic William Shakespeare tail Romeo and Juliet.

I had a few doubt going into this series, but my misgivings were quickly put to rest, I thought it might turn out like the Leonardo DiCaprio movie Romeo and Juliet, the movie was pretty bad. Thankfully the anime series is a whole lot better.

Romeo X Juliet is a extraordinary anime series. There is the same story of two waring families, and the two children from the families falling in love. There are so many things that make this a great anime series. First the story, sure there's the same classic story, but GONZO read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 4, 2008
When i first saw the title, i though it would be quite a cliche anime since the story itself is quite well known. But i must applaud the effort put in by the studio in adding a lot of extra detail while still being able to maintain the original storyline. Myself being a fantasy lover was immediately taken in by the flying horses and mythical tree. I think that they made the story more interesting and enhanced the mood,especially the drama in the show. So in terms of the story it was quite well done in my opinion and should not be taken lightly because read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 31, 2007
In a word: disappointing. The early episodes showed the potential to be an exciting and imaginative spin on an old classic; but it wound up being dragged down by serious pacing problems and a plot that was all over the place. There were too many things that seemed to happen for no particular reason other than they needed a dramatic plot development at that moment.

Sometimes a mediocre story can be saved by the characters. The characters in this series are likeable enough and several have the potential to be interesting, but most of the time their development is too lacking or rushed read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 19, 2015
Have you ever seen Romeo and Juliet? It’s a really popular play written by William Shakespeare. Countless variations of the play have been adapted in different mediums. Movie, book, TV Series, Anime. You name it, they have it. It’s considered by many as probably the best romance story in all of literature. But does it live up to the hype? Is it really THAT good? Is it worth watching when I already know what will happen in the end? If this is a Q&A, I would’ve easily answered that, but this is a review so just find out as you read along. Romeo x Juliet: read more
I found this review Helpful
Sep 27, 2010
"Just another adaptation of one of Shakespeare's most popular plays. Boring." This was more or less what I thought when I stumbled upon Romeo x Juliet a while ago. One look at the opening credits of this anime suggested that I may have judged it too hastily, and 24 episodes later I knew I was definitely wrong.

It's a difficult task to improve upon the original story of Romeo and Juliet, a tremendous tale full of romance and tragedy. This anime adaptation pays a lot of respect to Shakespeare's famous work, and yet also manages to throw in so much of it's own ideas. Unlike the read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 16, 2016
"For never was a story of more woe than this of Juliet and her Romeo.."

Well, somewhat.

Now, at first glance, one would think that this was just another adaptation of the tragic/romantic play.

However, dear viewers, not all is what it may seem. The creators of this show (and the manga, of which I figure there is one) takes the story and twists it into more of a sort of Hamlet adaptation than a Romeo and Juliet. The forbidden, star-crossed love is still there, but there is now a revenge plot to reclaim what was lost.

Even so, the story was still entrancing, as were read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 15, 2016
I went into this anime really wanting to like it. And I did - fo about half the show.

The story is focusing on the classic romance between Romeo and Juliet, and mixes in fantasy elements.

Juliet starts out as a vigilante-type character who opposes the oppressive rulers, the Montague family, and is in the beinning really cool and driven, who eventually finds out she is the last Capulet - the former rulers of the nation.
Romeo is the heir of the Montague family and is a compassionate, kind young man who wants to grow up to do the best for the people.

Now, this read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 4, 2016
As a big Shakespeare fan and an even bigger fan of "Romeo and Juliet", I have been wanting to watch this series for quite some time. In order to do this, I had to overcome my initial wariness of all the deviations from the original work.

From the noble origins of the main characters to their ties and relationships with all the other characters as well as the names for some new questionable characters (see Lancelot, Ophelia and even... Hermione!?), I was willing to overcome these changes and additions as they would seemingly make for a more interesting and far more developed story than Shakespeare's read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 24, 2008
The OP song of this anime is very suitable for the theme of the love story of Romeo and Juliet. I don't think any other music would perfectly fit this very emotional and somehow classic anime.
However, the ED song for the first half of the anime is a rock/loud music, contrasting to its OP song, and it's not that suitable. However, I cannot totally judge this song because I never tried to listen to it completely. The second ED song is, i think, more suitable, because it has a nice melody, and the meaning of the song fits the story.

The flying horses read more
I found this review Helpful