Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kaze no Stigma


Alternative Titles

English: Kaze no Stigma
Synonyms: Kaze no Seikon, Stigma of the Wind
Japanese: 風のスティグマ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 13, 2007 to Sep 21, 2007
Premiered: Spring 2007
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:30 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.401 (scored by 159,874 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20722
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #288
Members: 304,513
Favorites: 2,001

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 25, 2007
Bondius (All reviews)
Kaze no Stigma is a fun anime if you're interested into this genre. Battles, magic, comedy, kick-ass moments, KnS has it all.

Story
The story is fair, not really impressive since for me it was predictable towards the end. The "main" plot starts later in the series as the first 3/4 is filled with random missions and somewhat fillers like hotspring episodes and so on. Even though the lack of main plot overall disappointed me, I found the story overall satisfying.

Art
The characters are very nicely drawn, you can clearly see this is a 2007 anime. Effects are good, from flames to wind and other unleashed powers; plus read more
Jun 4, 2008
sugarplumfairy (All reviews)
I started this thinking "alas, another predictable action anime which I may end up dropping" but it had me sucked in to the very end. The reasons? I'll try to explain:

Storyline: 8.5/10
Most action fans would see the storyline as very cliched and predictable, having seen it all played out before. It's storyline does lack, with some filler episodes (such as amusement park visits and hot bath days), and random bad guys which pop up, get defeated, and so moves on to another scenario. However, even though it does lack originality, it's done well and to a good enough standard to enjoy watching it all unravel.

Art: read more
Nov 3, 2010
Sandrock04 (All reviews)
Kaze no Stigma I believe had a lot of potential. It started off interesting, not entirely compelling but interesting. Then it went downhill faster than I could write this review. There was also another thing that bothered me, which was the way they handled deaths. When someone not particularly important died, the main characters just shoved it past their shoulders and act like nothing happened. Human life doesn't seem to hold much importance here(particularly to the heroine). Then again what was I expecting? It wasn't entirely an disappointment, I didn't expect much from it but I didn't expect it to be this bad.

Story: 3/10
It read more
Apr 24, 2014
NipaahNyaa (All reviews)
A friend highly recommended Kaze no Stigma to me one day, so I finally got around to watching it. While it was entertaining, I was disappointed with the anime as a whole. It didn't match up to the high recommendation I had received. However, I do appreciate the fun, entertaining aspect.
Story: It was interesting, but not well done. Many things were highly predictable, but I do love the concept of element magic-users and whatnot.
Art: Fair art; some things did not flow well, and just in general, the art is simple. Not necessarily a bad thing, but I didn't enjoy all the fight scenes due read more
Jan 30, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kaze no Stigma has been brought up by me several times as one of my most despised anime, but I've never really had a chance to say why, partly because it came out during a time when light novel adaptations were considered good and any that actually weren't were purged from the collective hive mind that is anime fandom - barring the occasional fanboy who still tries to claim that Kazuma is someone that protagonists should look up to. I saw it during a time when Bakemonogatari was airing, so you can imagine it took a lot to make me hate something when I was read more
Sep 19, 2014
ElanMorin (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of the most generic, predictable anime I've seen. Kaze no Stigma uses the slightly underused approach of magic users and ninja clans in modern times, but, surprisingly, it's not meant to be wacky or childish like other anime of its genre. This gave me high hopes, and I remember catching myself thinking, during the first few episodes "this will really have to take a turn for the worse to prevent me from finishing it".

After sitting through cliché episode after cliché episode, I finally dropped it. While I like the main hero, Yagami Kazuma, the heroin, Kannagi Ayano is what ruined the read more
Nov 14, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
A somewhat decent Action, Romance with demons and the 4 elements. This anime is enjoyable to watch but it really lacks originality. ^_^

From the very first episode, the story is really easy to understand because there is nothing all that new about the premise. It is just the typical story of a boy and girl that team up to defeat the bad guys that randomly show up. From here it continues with the random mini adventures and it doesn’t really try to do anything special about it, so hardcore anime fans will feel like they have seen it all before. You may begin to wonder read more
Oct 4, 2009
theaustincritic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Imagine an anime where certain people have discovered how to magically control fire, wind, earth and water. One of them is Kazuma Yagami, a former member of the Kannagi clan, a group that uses fire. After being abandoned by his family, friends and clan for his inability to use fire, Kazuma returns to his clan, now a wind magic user. Believing him to be a traitor for his use of wind magic, the clan falsely accuses Kazuma of killing off members of their clan. It is now up to Kazuma to clear his name and hopefully regain the trust of his family. Add this story read more
Apr 24, 2007
Kraken (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, first let's be honest, I have only watched 1 episode of this anime so in the end I could change my overall rating to the entire different location. From a 7 to a 1 for instance, hey! It could happen! Making a review is pretty hard to do when there was only 1 episode which I have watched.

Story:
Let's look at the basic shall we? First there is a clan, called the Kannagi family. This are all Fire Mages, but one of them isn't cut out to become a Fire Mage. And seems to have better use for the Wind instead of Fire. So far, read more
Mar 26, 2015
abotreika (All reviews)
I can’t tell, why exactly I picked up this show. No, seriously, why did I? Maybe I wanted to see a big load of crispy action paired with a bit of romance and some comedy. I can’t say that I didn’t receive all of that. I had my fun with Kaze no Stigma, but I actually should’ve avoided this show. I’m going to tell why.

Story (5/10)
The story of Kaze no Stigma is divided in a few arcs. We got to see some entirely comedic episodes, some episodes focused on investigation and few ones with a highly serious undertone. Yep, there is pretty much no read more
Jun 12, 2015
quicksuper (All reviews)
Ah, with the wonderful story of Kaze no Stigma fresh in my mind, I believe now is the perfect time to write a review for how I wasted my day.

Story: 5
Well, the story, nothing special, but not too bad. Mediocre is the perfect word to describe it. I'm not going to go too in depth with it, but I had high hopes upon reading about an overpowered person who comes back to a family who disowned him. To me, sounded pretty good, so I gave it ago. A few flaws. Earliest flaw I noticed was the fights, which might just be me, but the fights read more
Jun 29, 2010
DanteDevilDan (All reviews)
Kaze no Stigma for me has a near to perfect setting to how the male protagonist is shown...starts weak, banished, but then returns as a badass master that rivals the best.

Art and Sound:
I liked the explosive sound effects for the powers being from Kazuma's power up wind ability to the explosive crashes of buildings sliced in halve. By the same token the look of the magic used especially the elements of fire make it awe inspiring to watch...nearly artistic in my opinion

Characters:
What made me fall in love with this anime series is the english dub for the Kazuma and his choice of sarcastic words, read more
Oct 18, 2014
AshleyBorden (All reviews)
Kaze no stigma is a decent anime but it's hard for me to say that it was an excellent or even great anime. The only reason I could think for telling someone to watch it would be if you were really bored and had nothing else to do.

Story:
Despite ending the series leaving a lot of questions unanswered I just personally couldn't get myself to care that much. It's very predictable but I feel that way about the majority of the anime that I watch so if that sorta thing doesn't bug you, you'll enjoy this. On the other hand I felt like the cousin dating read more
Mar 27, 2015
DBroad01 (All reviews)
I really didn't like this show. I'm sorry. But it had a hype to it when I first read the summary (yet not any reviews, unfortunately). The characters were monotonous, the fight scenes were hard to follow and sporadic, the storyline was okay, but could have been better portrayed, and it was just an overall weird show. Wooden sword that catches fire? Not the weirdest I've ever seen, but still... Wood? They coulda done better. A lot better. Nuff said.
Sep 2, 2008
fr0z3nshad3 (All reviews)
Kaze no stigma is an Action/fantasy anime that got some of my attention, but it has some flaws.

Story (7.2) - Not amazing. Its just an average story. In my opinion lacks originality, as this story is very cliche. It has some fillers, some episodes with no sense at all that appear out of nowhere and where nothing important really happens. In the final episodes, it gets a little better in this aspect, but still story is not an aspect that got my attention.


Art (8.4) - The characters are well designed, and the effects are pretty good. You can see it when the characters use read more
Apr 20, 2018
Otaking09 (All reviews)
Boy, oh boy, trying to advertise, let alone making a solid case as to why one should watch this dinosaur stab at the light novel adaptation romp is an amusing enough attempt for anyone to humor I would say.

A Relic of its Time?:

Make no mistake, my case isn't so lofty since it's down to this reality: In riding the trend that more or less started from the Rie Kugimiya/J.C. Staff works (Shana, Familiar of Zero, Index, Toradora, etc), Kaze no Stigma was one of the few cases that got all the raw basic components to bounce off each other in juuuust the right chemistry balance. read more
Apr 26, 2009
Savage1 (All reviews)
Alrighty, here it goes, my second review:

*Story* 8/10
The story for Kaze no Stigma (KnS) in my opinion was going to be stereotypical: cool awesome guy, possible love interest girl, his brother, a vengeance type plot relating to his family, etc etc... save the world and the anime gets 5/10... however after watching the anime can i say wow... sure it had some plot holes, for example the Stigma of the Wind is never really explained, and Kazuma's past seems rushed, however this does not really matter, because the story has enough twists and turns to keep you watching, and of course the usual love/romantic side read more
Sep 25, 2009
shirayuki-hime (All reviews)
i dont understand why everyone is giving it bad ratings! i really enjoyed it, kaze no stigma had it all, action, comedy, romance, cliches and yes, fillers. but there is no such anime without cliches and fillers...but i personnally loved it and would like to re-watch it. the art is good (with extreme colors like blue and flaming red hair) the sound is good too, the wind and fire, the voice actors really did a good job and the director chose the right people to do the right job. the only negative point i can see in it is that there could hae been a read more
Sep 14, 2008
mcjazzman32 (All reviews)
When I read the summary of this anime and saw the characters, I thought it was going to be a ripoff of Shakugan no Shana or Zero no Tsukaima, two excellent anime in their own right. Well.... to be truthful, this is a lot like both of those anime. And to be frank, the red-haired tsundere in this anime (Ayano) doesn't measure up to the leads in the others. She's not nearly as badass as Shana and not nearly as adorable or lovable as Louise. However, it's Kazuma, the other lead, that really makes this show fly. It's really refreshing to watch a show where read more
Dec 15, 2012
LoveArrowShooto (All reviews)
Storyline: 8/10
Few filler Episodes such as the Amusement Park and the Hot Spring, but nothing really to ruin the flow of the Series. The first half of the series are just assignments and later on in the series is where most of the major plot elements begin. However, I would have liked It If they have gotten deeper into Kazuma's past because It seems like they don't explain as much. Overall, the story of Kaze No Stigma kept It interesting till' the end.

Art: 7.5/10
I'm overall impressed with the Artwork for a 2007 Anime, but the animations and/or effects could have been better. Mainly, where Ayano read more