Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui!


Alternative Titles

English: WataMote: No Matter How I Look At It, It's You Guys' Fault I'm Unpopular!
Synonyms: Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaete mo Omaera ga Warui!, It's Not My Fault That I'm Not Popular!, WataMote
Japanese: 私がモテないのはどう考えてもお前らが悪い!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2013 to Sep 24, 2013
Premiered: Summer 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Silver Link.
Source: Web manga
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, ComedyComedy, SchoolSchool
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.171 (scored by 224487224,487 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #31272
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #183
Members: 433,722
Favorites: 4,147

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 29, 2013
Veronin (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

There is a scene in Watamote where the main character, Tomoko, experiences what she believes to be public molestation. She panics, unable to even breathe or call for help. The train suddenly stops, and the passengers begin to take their leave. Tomoko then realizes that the object pressing against her is simply a bamboo sword belonging to the girl behind her. After much public embarrassment, she finally breaks free, and moves on to yet another miserable day of her life.

To say that Watamote is an uncomfortable anime would be an understatement. Every minute involves Tomoko failing at something in the most awkward way read more
Oct 17, 2013
Pariah695 (All reviews)
WataMote is a painful story. That's the easiest way to describe it. It's the painful story of a painfully anti-social girl's painful life. There are very large pros to having a story like this, but there are also huge cons that can come with it. WataMote is no exception, it's amazing but also majorly flawed. So why did I give it a 9? Because the flaws with stories like this is that they are completely hit or miss, there's no in between. For me it was a home run, but it's very understandable that it can be a read more
Sep 27, 2013
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
WATAMOTE -No matter how I look at it, It's you guys fault I'm not popular- is a comedy aimed straight at dysfunctional geeks, or former dysfunctional geeks, who can laugh at their own faults and take them with a grain of salt. Its gallows humor centers around a socially inept mess of a protagonist who goes through life repeating the cycle of self-embarrassment and loneliness while learning nothing from it, and garnished with anime and pop culture references and parodies. It's a show that hits painfully close to home for anyone who has social anxieties, yet playful enough that it remains morbidly funny rather than read more
Sep 24, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Before you decide to watch this show, make sure you do the following:

First, lock your windows, close the blinds, and make sure you're in an isolated location (preferably soundproof). Also, have plenty of supply of water ready. Oh and don't forget some cough medicine. Now you're probably asking yourself, “why??” The answer is simple:

You're going to be laughing so damn hard in this series like you've never ever before.

Watamote, aka No Matter How I Look At It, It's You Guys’ Fault I'm Not Popular!, is an animated series based off the manga of the same name written by Tanigawa Nico. The series chronicles the life read more
Sep 27, 2013
Karhu (All reviews)
What happened? Watamote was a series about this socially retarded girl who came across with some social situations and acted retarded. Then what happened? This same thing over and over. Social situation, then retardation. This happened few times, then few times again and in the end few times happened few times too many, and that is what happened.

Main points where this anime fails are pacing, character development and plot. 1-cour series can achieve a lot, but Watamote didn't even try to get anywhere. Many criticize Slice of Life series for being pointless, even state that Slice of Life is meant to be pointless, but read more
Dec 16, 2014
rascorpia (All reviews)
Now I want to preface this by saying I'm not strictly reviewing the series. I find it hard coming from my perspective to be able to objectively rate the show overall. This is because I believe that whether you like or dislike this show heavily depends on how much you can relate to the main character, therefore your mileage my vary.

**The impressions I give do contain some minor spoilers however I do not believe they effect your enjoyment of the show**

The reason I really like Watamote is because it takes a particularly dark and depressing condition and gives it a light-hearted twist. See many people read more
Sep 24, 2013
Deadlightanime (All reviews)
I was all over this series when it first aired. Coming from someone who was in similar positions with Tomoko; its depiction of social reclusion and anxiety was perfect. Even with a blatantly cheap budget, the series is able to vividly and impeccably flesh out Tomoko’s character. Props to director Shin Oonuma as she makes the best out of her limited budget to use creative, well-directed visual tricks, that aren’t simply used for show, but to further our understanding on Tomoko.

Another great factor about this series is that when it comes to depicting Tomoko, it takes us into her life without trying to conform read more
Sep 24, 2013
45Ravager (All reviews)
~No Matter How I Look At It, It's You Guys Fault This Review Is Not Popular!~

But either way it doesn't really matter since this show is here to accommodate for that. On the surface, the Watamote series follows the everyday life of our fellow heroine Tomoko Kuroki as she tries her hardest to become popular with her new high school life. With it, we are presented with everyday situations and how Tomoko deals with these events.

Many factors such as the art and sound help to present these events in a comedic tone. You'll come across many references from anime today and a couple years read more
Dec 30, 2013
Demi_V (All reviews)
If you saw someone who is regularly alone, would you talk to or try to befriend him/her? Are you or did you used to be that lonely person? Or do you pity those type of people and tend to ignore them?

Watamote is designed to give the viewer a taste of the daily life of such a person with an excellent mixture of reality and comedy. Prepare to enter the world of an introverted, socially inept girl named Tomoko, who desperately wishes to become popular and get a boyfriend. Depending on the person, Watamote can appear depressing, funny, or ridiculous. It may be difficult to laugh read more
Sep 24, 2013
choukimochi (All reviews)
Along with Free!, Gatchaman Crowds and Danganronpa, Watamote was one of the most famous animes of Summer 2013. Everyone talked about Watamote. It was Watamote here, Watamote there. Everybody loved this anime. And I'm still wondering why.

The art is good, the animation is OK, the sound department is decent. The characters were well written and, even that I don't relate to her, Tomoko deserved to be a highlight.

But the story is what kills Watamote. Nothing happens during the series. I didn't expect a killing like Higurashi no Naku Koro ni. I didn't even want she to become popular, what would make the name senseless. But read more
Aug 19, 2016
JThePervSummoner (All reviews)
I simply wanted to say that Watamote is one of the most depressing anime I've ever watched. Just as I kept watching it, I couldn't stop wondering how much it would've took to reach the end. This anime has often been described to me as "realistic", "relatable" and "funny", and as a fool, I believed that it would've actually been a fun trip. It is even labelled as "Comedy" on almost every website.

The show itself is nothing but a lonley and geeky high-school girl ( Her name is Tomoko ) and her struggle to integrate herself into the society and make friends. At first, seems read more
Oct 5, 2013
r3quiem (All reviews)
Before watching this anime, answer yourself the following questions:

1. Do you consider yourself weird?
2. Do you feel like you don’t have any true friends?
3. Do you think of sex constantly all day?
4. Do you feel like people don’t understand you?

If you answered yes and no appropriately for a normal human being, skip this anime and watch something else...you're in for torture.

If you answered no to all of these questions, you're fine. Watch with contentment.

If you answered yes to all of these questions, though, slap on some naked butler porn and start whacking with toothpaste at the prologue of Episode 1—this anime was made specifically for you.

(Psst. I answered yes read more
Oct 12, 2013
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
We’ve all gone through a certain point in our lives where we just want to feel less lonely even though our abilities for social interactions are limited for some inexplicable reason. Shows that remind us of those dark times can be polarizing for the majority to comprehend and because of this we don’t see many shows try to tackle the subject. The reason being the fact that most people don’t like to revisit what made them so miserable for so long. Luckily for some of us, we always look back at those moments and laugh at how silly it was and thanks to the show read more
Sep 29, 2013
Gotsugo (All reviews)
Watamote overall has been proven to be a very worthy watch. Many people including myself have been able to connect themselves to the main character Tomoko in the sense of the frustrations that they have with feeling unknown to the rest of the world.

Watching this series, with the relationship between Tomoko and her younger brother Tomoki it had me thinking about how I see my relationship with my own sibling and I, how even though they didn't get along they still share memories together and take the extra step to tolerate each other.

Above that, the interactions between the background characters that Tomoko had observed shows read more
Jul 3, 2018
AltoRoark (All reviews)
An unfortunate truth that many fans of this medium can agree on is this: anime is generally not especially keen on addressing topics like social anxiety or giving them the respect and nuance they deserve. This is not to say this sort of thing doesn’t exist, just that it’s particularly hard to find. WataMote is an outlier, in how it confronts a legitimate issue and portrays it with utmost honesty, while utilizing comedy as a source of amusement and coping, not to make light of the situation. Through a collection of gags conjured in a fundamentally bleak scenario, WataMote finds amusement and humor in read more
Oct 25, 2015
TheBrainintheJar (All reviews)
If you live under a rock, you’re probably impressed by Family Guy‘s and South Park‘s ‘dark’ humor. They show you people suffering, dying and cursing. They expect you to laugh because people are dying, suffering and cursing. You’re supposed to be shocked that the creators don’t mind putting these characters though such a pain, but that’s not a major achievement. Terrorists do it all the time, but it doesn’t make them comedians.

A truly dark comedy is not that one avoids that darkness. It’s one that forces us to confront the darkness of it and still laugh. Even Borderlands, where the whole joke is that everyone read more
Sep 25, 2013
Nasty001 (All reviews)
Lonely......

I'm Miss Lonely

I have nobody, for my own

I'm so lonely

I'm Miss Lonely
Wish I had somebody, to text on my cell,

Now I'm in high school, in a lonely high school
Away from everyone, with no friends of my own
That's why I'm lonely, I'm Miss Lonely
I wish that I could just go home

Lol, Perdon amigos, if you think that it's some kind of poem, well, YOU'RE WRONG, it was actually something that I took from a classical song "Mr. Lonely" by Vinton Bobby that I modify it to fit the main character Tomoko. Ok so the anime "Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo read more
Jul 9, 2014
iwantcandy2 (All reviews)
I. Freaking. AM. This girl.

I have struggled with social anxiety most of my life. I've never felt like I belonged to part of a group, and I've always felt like more of a shadow than a real person in the eyes of others. I'm taking medication for it now, but that doesn't stop the pain of those memories.

So for me, Watamote was like reading a very embarrassing autobiography. I related to the main character, and it made me ashamed.

First off, this anime is hardcore cringe comedy. You WILL have to pause the show at least once just because watching this girl fail is so read more
May 24, 2014
DeeWonder (All reviews)
If you think the main character of this anime is pathetic, two things can easily be concluded from that:
1) You have a great life. Congratulations!
2) You're an insensitive prick. Congratulations...?

Now on to the review.

STORY : On the surface, this anime appears to be comedic tale of a loner who's desperate for attention and friends. Her situation is so bad that she can't even utter a word in public. That's it, right? No plot development, no cliché transformation to a beautiful/popular girl, and no happy ending.

No, that's definitely not it.

This anime is about a girl with social anxiety. Being someone who suffers from social anxiety, although read more
Apr 5, 2015
Skysweeper (All reviews)
Considering the anime I watched so far, there are 2 types of 'Slice of Life' anime: regular, and Watamote. Watching characters living their lives is one thing. But another thing is watching only one character TRYING to live her life.

And what a life it is. Kuroki Tomoko, antisocial otaku striving to become popular in her new school. We watch her as she struggles to interact with people in situations like… saying “Hello!” and “Goodbye!”. But there are also things she shines at - playing video games and watching anime...

That’s the part of her, I kinda liked. I must confess, I’m a shut-in myself. Of read more