Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kaku: Outbreak


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: When They Cry - Outbreak
Japanese: ひぐらしのなく頃に拡〜アウトブレイク〜

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 15, 2013
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Light novel
Duration: 52 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.321 (scored by 22,004 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #24462
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1924
Members: 46,316
Favorites: 94

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 23, 2013
iHitokage (All reviews)
So I watched the first and probably also the last episode and I decided to make this short review for those who are not sure about this OVA.

Basically you can think of it as another world where things went bad but this time you will see how everything continued until the end I guess. Who knows how will it end. We can meditate about it.

The style is similar to the previous Higurashi series but different from OVAs that were more like parodies. Kaku is very serious and you can see again everyone (yeah especially Rena and her insane face) covered in blood. You will meet read more
Sep 26, 2013
Diassia (All reviews)
I was actually very excited when I heard about a new Higurashi. I have been a die hard Higurashi fan since I watch the first series and have now almost read and watched everything that even sllghtly related to Higurashi.

Considering how disappointed I was with a large proportion of Kira, I was trying my best not to get my hopes up for this OVA but upon seeing the trailer, I found it difficult not to. It looked serious, it looked exciting; Rena had her cleaver and Keiichi is armed with the bat. What's not to instantly get excited about?

In general, it was an interesting read more
Aug 6, 2014
Lord_Rutsah (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

- Director: Alright staff! Lets recup: What did the audiences like in the Higurashi series?

-Staff 1: I know, I know! The mystery and never really knowing what's going on.

-Staff 2: How human and full of flows the characters were. Even the killers had times when they were afraid, confused and in complete disarray about their emotions.

-Staff 3: How the community was a quiet, eerie place on the surface, full of dark secrets and people who moved in the shadows in the background. Also how cut it was from the outside world!

-Staff 4: How the characters are slowly slipping into insanity, starting read more
Oct 6, 2013
Siyuan (All reviews)
Well, in short, This wasn't what I expected.
The thing I am most disappointed with, is the story. I really loved the whole Higurashi series, and I was very happy, when I heard that Higurashi didn't end yet, and there will be a new OVA soon. I looked forward to watching it. But now, after I finished it, the movie seems to be a trailer for something bigger. It just simply seemed short. I couldn't find the curve of the story. There was no beginning. It jumped right into the middle of the story. There was no problem to develop, because it jumped right into a read more
Sep 29, 2013
nox7 (All reviews)
So I'll start by getting to the main point that might help you decide on whether to watch this or not. It was a great addition to the first two original Higurashi seasons. Not a continuation, but it gives you the same vibe.

However, there are key things that need to be pointed out. Just note that some of these points might only apply to the unknown fact of this OVA being the only one to come, or if it will have more episodes following it.

The story moved very fast (if it's a single OVA, then that's more understandable) and the mystery vibe of the Oyashiro's read more
Apr 1, 2015
Rayyken (All reviews)
Another Higurashi OVA. Been waiting for this.

Well, you could say I've been waiting to review it. This OVA has been out for like two years or something.

Set in 1983 (like every other Higurashi) an unknown virus has spread around Hinamizawa, and Keiichi and Rena go kill mother fuckers everywhere to try and escape. That's pretty much the story. But, the funny thing being that while killing people they don't even give a shit. They keep a straight face while doing it. Well, not straight face... Not like that buff parasite in Parasyte -the maxim- who was smiling while killing an entire group of people.

That read more
Jul 27, 2015
BenvolioLV (All reviews)
This OVA is a sort of take on the whole end of the world scenario in the setting of Higurashi. It's set in a parallel Hinamizawa where things took a turn for the worst.

I think this OVA hits home more the vibe of the first Higurashi season the n the second, because of the the fact that Kai didn't hit home with me as being horror the way the first season did. Also we see Rena in her creepy mode again.

A pleasant surprise for me, that I didn't notice before was the length of the OVA. The fact that it's twice as long as a read more
Apr 16, 2016
YakuKikyo (All reviews)
In short : Higurashi fans, run away !!!

I've been a fan of this fiction for a long time : anime, manga, visual novels.... I love them all and am probably biased toward them, but I don't care. Little did I expect to one day come across something related to it that would be this horrifying. Because under this pretty design mimicking the Anime, this is very far away from the original material, in an awfully negative way.


Story :

Did you ever come across an original fiction that seemed like a fanfiction to you ? I did : The Knights of Emerald, Akame ga Kill, Zenbu read more
Feb 29, 2016
murut87 (All reviews)
Well have you watch Higurashi?
First of all, ignore Kira because its just a Spin-Off.

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kaku, or simply said : Kaku,

The story is similar from Hinamizawa, except this is from Outbreak, like virus spreading into the town, like Zombie outbreaks. Story has been forward, like its a story where you understand what is the Parallel World should be, and try to get the ideas how this happens. In short form, how the "virus" effects the person, rampaging and kill anyone. Its like a Speciment A vs Speciment B, killing is common.

But if you know the flow of the story, this not read more
Sep 29, 2013
PandaJerk007 (All reviews)
Read the other reviews if you want a more thorough explanation of everything, I'll just keep this short and sweet.

Story:
This OVA sets up a really cool apocalypse type setting. The characters do make some pretty reckless/insane choices, but it's entertaining and kinda needed for the story, so I guess that's okay. The story was good, but it really needs to continue on longer. If they make more after this OVA, then everything about it will be more awesome, but right now it gets you excited and wanting more, and then it stops.

Art/Sound:
The art and sound were fine, and stayed familiar to most of the rest read more
Mar 19, 2015
BlancaXLobo (All reviews)
I'm gonna warn everyone: this isn't a story about the curse of Oyamiro-sama. The story is about the villahe of Himazawa being in quarentee by the goverment and the villagers go crazy. Keiichi and their friends has to manage to survive and escape. The story is good, and i was glad it was different. And don't worry, you're gonna see Rena kill some people.
Aug 12, 2017
Tyrannicswine117 (All reviews)
Warning possible Spoilers

The final piece of the When They Cry is a nice throwback to the usual situations we knew and loved or terrified of from the first two series and what I really liked about this 1 hour OVA is that it could make way for a new story in the future.

The story is set in another one of Rika's worlds where she is trying to break the cycle except this time the village has been quarantined and our group of characters must find a way to escape the village.
I really liked the way this OVA went because it felt like the usual situations read more
Dec 30, 2016
TimTheGamer (All reviews)
“It was like a can of air refresher after someone took a nasty shit” [Godzillathon #24 “Godzilla 2000” Cinemassacre]

You obviously have to watch the original Higurashi and Higurashi Kai (or play the visual novels) before watching this OVA. Also, there'll be some spoilers for those two seasons in this review.

When I first watched this OVA, I was pleasantly surprised! I had just been watching Rei and Kira, so I was naturally skeptical of anything beyond the first two seasons. Rei and Kira were the "nasty shit" mentioned in the quote above, by the way.

This OVA is an interesting take on Hinamizawa Syndrome. It shows how read more