Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Scrapped Princess


Alternative Titles

English: Scrapped Princess
Synonyms: Haiki Oujo
Japanese: スクラップド・プリンセス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 8, 2003 to Oct 7, 2003
Premiered: Spring 2003
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 18:00 (JST)
Producers: Kadokawa Shoten, A-Line
Studios: Bones
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.461 (scored by 30,448 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #18382
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1327
Members: 73,199
Favorites: 422

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 12, 2009
Skadi (All reviews)
Scrapped Princess has been a show sitting on my shelf for quite a while and for some reason I had never gotten around to viewing it. For that I am rather disappointed in myself as it turned out to be a wonderfully entertaining and charming series.

When starting the show you will be treated to what is seemingly your normal medieval era sword and sorcery fantasy adventure. And for the first half of the series that is exactly what you get. The second half in some ways almost feels like a completely separate show as mecha like combat starts to replace your standard read more
Oct 16, 2008
Maur (All reviews)
Overall/Enjoyment:
As you can see, I really liked Scrapped Princess. It's a familiar song played to a different tune. The way it starts off gives the appearance of being slow and uneventful, but it all depends on your point of view. The action is light, and it builds up gradually to some pretty big battles as the story progresses, but what the show may lack in action it makes up for with some really potent drama. In this way it excels beyond the usual sword and sorcery fare. If you prefer the myth and the magic over character dynamics then this may seem dull and ordinary read more
Nov 18, 2006
DarkLaila (All reviews)
Scrapped Princess is a quite interesting genre mix...in the beginning it is a fantasy world which gradually gets a few sf touches. This adds a nice touch to a story which is quite logical (if somewhat predictable) and has a satisfying ending.

The animation is quite average – nothing to complain about…a bit boring at times. Nice character designs even for some of the supporting roles.
Sound – the ending theme caught my interest, nice arrangement, a bit different. The beginning suited the series and the score was fitting too, although nothing that stuck longer.

Now, the characters are one of the strong points of this anime…I somewhat read more
Apr 11, 2008
lonestar6969 (All reviews)
Never seen another anime quite like this one, there are so many surprises thats it's unpredictable but not in a stupid fashion. It has a bit of everything, romance, war, parent/ child love, magic, sword play, memorable funny scenes and mecha, yep thats right, MECHA.

But for those of you who hate mecha anime, dont go just yet, cuase the anime's not heavily based on mecha, but more on the story (you'll understand why mecha was used in the end). The fanstasy land that the story is set is akin to animes such as Full metal alchemist or naurto, a mix of science and medievil theme. read more
Jan 11, 2009
Lucena (All reviews)
Scrapped Princess is an anime that's been overshadowed by many of the shows that have been released this past decade. Just because it's underrated doesn't mean that it's not good. In fact, it's quite the opposite.

The story of Scrapped Princess is very RPG-inspired; gamers who are familiar with the genre will feel right at home with this anime. The first half of the series is light-hearted, dedicating its episodes to introducing the characters and establishing the main plot. The second half of the series is much darker, with plot twists and turns every so often, character developments, read more
Jun 8, 2008
kawaiimisato (All reviews)
This is one of those anime taking place in older times, with knights and a medieval stuff, for a while anyway.

This show has a relatively slow moving plot, but once it picks up, you really start to get interested in it. I will admit though, even once it picks up, the plot still moves slow, but its the interesting things that happen that keep you wanting to watch more, and trust me, the ending is pretty sweet and worth watching.

The magic is pretty cool and the "bad guys" have some pretty unique talents that make battle scenes pretty fun to watch. there is read more
Jul 19, 2013
Lawuser (All reviews)
The thing about the fantasy genre is that, as far as I’ve picked up, a large focus is put on creating a fantastical world that the characters inhabit. There are numerous ways to go about this, whether it’s focusing a lot on the magical aspect of the world versus blending the fantasy elements with science fiction, or letting the audience know very little and have them figure out the history of the setting themselves versus letting them in on every little detail, or something else entirely. Scrapped Princess takes all of the wrong turns when it comes to this, but more of that later.

The synopsis read more
May 12, 2015
Dai_to (All reviews)
Join the "Scrapped Princess" Pacifica, her wise-cracking brother Shannon, and her sweet, innocent, yet dangerously powerful sister Raquel on their covert journey to find safe haven.

Story: 8/10
While Scrapped Princess has what can be called a traditional story, it takes some very untraditional twists and turns. There is a lot of emotion here as we watch Pacifica buckle under the pressure of having this existence thrust upon her, being hunted down like an animal for reasons she is not even certain of.

Art & Animation: 8/10
Scrapped Princess was animated by Bones, so it goes without saying that it looks beautiful. Though the show is a bit older read more
Jan 12, 2018
Doltra (All reviews)
Something that for some reason does really make me frustrated, is well-done job that could have been even better with just a little more effort and common sense (call me a perfectionist if you want). This series is an example of what I'm talking about.

Scrapped Princess presents an outstanding setting and plot, mixing both fantasy and sci-fiction in such a harmonic manner (as the writer Arthur Clarke says in one of his laws: any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic). The way in which the medieval scenario gradually turns into a post-apocalyptic world really gives a particular, immersive and surprising atmosphere to the show, read more
Jul 18, 2008
HiGHFLYiN9 (All reviews)
Scrapped Princess was one of those series where I got to that point that it's hard to stop watching. I'd just be thinking "I'll just watch another episode, what's one more? I gotta see what happens next".

The series is set is medieval times with the obligatory magic and dragons, however the world is post-apocalyptic in certain ways allowing some technology to still be available. I won't go into any plot spoiling details there. Anyway the Scrapped Princess (which means abandoned princess BTW, such a strange title), is believed by the religious leaders to bring about chaos and destruction to the world on her read more
Dec 1, 2009
Tetsuo3K (All reviews)
I first watched Scrapped Princess back when it was originally being fansubbed. I decided then that it was the best anime I had ever seen, and my opinion hasn't changed. To this day it's still my number one favorite and I've watched it over at least three times. Recently I decided to watch it again, and I was inspired to write this review from the perspective of a long time fan.

The story of Scrapped Princess is remarkably engaging. The setting, middle-age fantasy with elements of science fiction, is still believable. This is the kind of fantasy world I would like to live in. I find read more
Feb 12, 2014
Heralder (All reviews)
Scrapped Princess is 24 episodes long show produced by Studio Bones and aired in year 2003.

Story:9
Story of Scrapped Princess follows the life of Pacifica "Pamela" Casull and her guardians.Pacificas life is in constant danger due to prophecy told many years ago that on her 16th birthday Scrapped Princess will destroy the world.Story is unique and well told hence going more into it would be a spoiler fest.

Art:8
Even thou it's show from 2003 Bones knows their stuff so the show is pleasing to watch and animation is quite fluid

Sound:8
Well it's not really anything to write about it's quite average but it fitted the scenes well

Characters:9
Pacifica is read more
Jul 31, 2008
creamygoodness (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of the first characters introduced in Scrapped Princess is Leo, a naive, incompetent knight wannabe. He's annoying right away, but mercifully his role diminishes after a few episodes. The action picks up, the sci-fi world details become intriguing, and things start to look up. Based on the other reviews here, I figured that I'd made it through the "slow start" and could settle back to enjoy the show.

Unfortunately, as the series progresses, Leo returns to prominence, and two other main characters sink to his level. Shannon, the princess's brother, takes willfully stupid and rash actions, at odds with his "protector" read more
Sep 25, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
This is so much like Slayers and Rune Soilder but then, it’s not like anything that really has been done before. It is placed in a fantasy kingdom called Leiwan that’s pretty much under a religious order.

Pacifica always acts like a princess even though she grew up with her brother and sister. For a 15 year old girl, she pretty much acts like any normal 15 year old girl. Bitchy, whiny and all together bothersome in most places. She does get annoying at some times but in the end, you really feel for her. She was thrown away at birth and has only her read more
Aug 8, 2010
Tasolth (All reviews)
Scrapped Princess.... hmmm. This one is a bit of a mixed bag for me. Don't get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed watching it and bought the DVD's. It even made it as part of my favorites, although not top 5. A few minor spoiler hints but nothing too specific are included.

Wait... Why do I sound down about a top 10 favorite you ask? Well its simple really. I'm big on something called setting the scene. How do i mean ? That is also very simple. But first Lets talk about what I liked about the show.

The story is nothing too spectacular but it does have read more
Aug 5, 2009
zzs (All reviews)
you know when some people hear the word princess they think its all girly or they think that it will be full of happy ever after.
well this is something much different . this anime has vivid drawing and every move is very clear, you will not be confused at any cost .
this story is about a princess of course but she is not like all the other princess. the princess was suppose to be killed after she was born but she was not she grew up happily not knowing her fate. it is said that when she turns 16 she will destroy this world.
when read more
Mar 3, 2013
HybridMedia (All reviews)
I think I have been too harsh whenever I said that I’m not interested in any form of media that is close to an RPG or has Middle Earth elements but that statement still stand by me because there’s nothing remotely interesting about that genre, aside from most Final Fantasy games (I’m not sure about the other media with the Final Fantasy name) but I’m mostly willing to give one of them a shot especially with this particular title, which has recommended (sort of) from a fellow reviewer I know.

Pacifica Casull is the most feared and hated person by the followers of the God Mauser. read more
Mar 27, 2011
Black_Rose1809 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Scrapped princess is a good story, I personally think. While I may of only watched 2 episodes, I have read the manga half way when I was younger. So I know the back story of the characters and other details they didn't place in the anime. But I even though I read it years ago, I still can't forget the feeling of reading a good story. And I still feel that even while watching it. While it does have different ways of showing the story of Pacifica, I still good ol' Scrapped Princess. But I think it would've been nice if they showed the background read more
Jul 3, 2017
herine (All reviews)
Preliminary
My opinion is generally positive but I guess my enormous frustrations about the main character (Pacifica) won't be easily revoked. Review does include a slight spoiler to the nature of the ending, which I will mark with caps.

I enjoyed this anime more than I was hoping to. It was really decent and I have mostly positive attitude towards it. I was surprised reading that this seemingly fantasy anime had mecha in tags, but after few episodes I got to know why. It merges the genres surprisingly well. The pros would be:
- enjoyable characters (with one exception below)
- interesting storyline
- some amazing plot twists, which read more
May 10, 2019
Larbi-kun (All reviews)
Spoilers in this review.


This series really let me down. There were times when I downright loved the show, such as those moments early on with Pacifica and her siblings. One such moment was when Pacific, when feeling depressed, went up to Shannon and leaned on him. The way the scene was shot and executed really sold me on their relationship. Despite Pacifica always whining and complaining, the way it was played off with her siblings made it feel like they all loved and cared for one another.

One segment I particularly enjoyed was Episode 16, where Pacifica loses her memory and gets read more