Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Byston Well Monogatari: Garzey no Tsubasa


Alternative Titles

English: Garzey's Wing
Synonyms: Tales of Byston Well
Japanese: バイストン・ウェル物語 ガーゼィの翼

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 3
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 21, 1996 to Apr 9, 1997
Producers: BMG Japan, Sanctuary
Licensors: Central Park Media
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Fantasy
Duration: 30 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 4.211 (scored by 4,216 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #107922
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3985
Members: 10,908
Favorites: 68

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 19, 2015
PrinceHector111 (All reviews)
TL;DR - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_8Bhz5c224, SO BAD IT'S GLORIOUS!

This is not an anime to watch alone. This is an anime to watch on bad movie night. This is the anime equivalent of Tommy Wiseau's The Room. This is Plan 9 From Outer Space. This is the anime equivalent of hilariously campy.

The story offers little to no background in what is clearly a rather complex fantasy world. Don't bother yourself by trying to figure anything out. It won't do a lick of good. Just sit back and laugh at this comedy gold.

I don't give a crap about talking art-style and character read more
Nov 21, 2009
zawa113 (All reviews)
Strange case we got here: a show so bad that it's good! Make sure to watch this show dubbed though because ever single line is delivered with such horribly delivery that you can only question if the actors have ever held a normal conversation with a person before.

The story and characters in this show are just awful. The story barely makes a damn bit of sense and the characters reactions to it are just terrible. That's not to say that there is not enjoyment to be had here because there is plenty of enjoyment to be had here, everything is so bad it makes you read more
Jan 5, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

When you ask Otaku today what the worst anime in existence is, you get answers like Pupa, Mars of Destruction, and maybe Kis X Sis. When you asked otaku in the 1990s what the worst anime series were, you got one of 2 answers: MD Geist or Garzey's Wing. Since I already reviewed Geist, it was inevitable that I would one day have to review this pile.

The Legend:

Let us travel back in time to the 1990s when everyone was talking about this shitty movie called Garzey's Wing. You probably had dial up internet, and booting up a plain text site could easily take 15 read more
Jul 13, 2016
lawlmartz (All reviews)
"Heaven and Hell, all that's in between is a world called Byston Well."
That, and a metric shitton of fudgery that somehow got made into an anime.

Welcome to LawlMartz' shlockfest, episode iforgothowmany, where I watch garbage 80s and 90s OVAs, temporarily lose my sanity, and when they let me out of the asylum, I recount my experiences in review format- usually with destructive results.

Garzey's Wing is no exception. This is one of the most unequivocally, fundamentally awful anime with almost no peers, aside from Tomino's own creations. It wasn't even as hard to watch as Brain Damagd, but was just incomprehensibly and fundamentally bad read more
Nov 9, 2016
weeabooleahboo (All reviews)
“I MUST SOMEHOW MAKE SENSE OF OUR CONVOLUTED SITUATION!”

This anime is a horrifyingly hot mess. The story line is a disaster, the character development is all over the place, and at some point your brain just gives up trying to figure it out. Technically this anime gets a 1/10.

However,

That said, the dub is just so bad that it's ABSOLUTE GOLD. Watch it with a big group of people, you won't be disappointed. Its rare to find a show with the English translation and voice acting so horrible that you are put into a state of cringe worthy bliss. Worth the watch, 10/10.
Feb 3, 2018
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
On one rainy day at home in London, I decided to visits the deepest depths of the anime rabbit hole to the find anime that are considered to be the worst of all times. Inside the anime rabbit hole, I found of bunch garbage animes that I have seen before such as Big Order, Ousama Game The Animation and Mirai Nikki as well some that I haven’t seen yet such as Vampire Holmes, Hanoka, and Psychic Wars. Now out of all the anime that I dug out from the anime rabbit hole Garzey Wing was the most interesting one of the bunch due to the read more
Feb 19, 2019
HeadlessHorseman (All reviews)
Ah, Garzey's Wing, one of the most infamous dumpster fires in the animated medium; a notorious trainwreck of an OVA. As a brief introduction I will begin by saying that the dialogue within Garzey's Wing is some of the most ludicrous you will ever hear. From memorable lines like "My sword is unbelievably dull," to the main character declaring to a friend from high school "You certainly got sexy," to "I am bruised all over my body because I had to fight naked," the dialogue is unbelievably inane. It is ridiculous to such a degree that it is puzzling how so many poorly written lines read more
Jun 9, 2013
HybridMedia (All reviews)
You know, this isn’t just going to be a review, this is more of a warning sign of what not to do in an anime production or if you intend to watch this (and I know some of you curious enough to watch it will), you might as well be drunk enough to stomach through this one.
Garzey's Wing is infamous for having a minimally explained plot, so most ideas of the purpose must be extrapolated. The protagonist Chris is abruptly whisked away to a parallel world called Byston Well while his physical body remains in his home world. Chris' spiritual manifestation travels to a new read more
Aug 24, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a poor excuse for an anime I’ve seen. The story line is hard to understand and it’s nothing but fighting and dialogue, repeating dialogue and just poor creating. I never want to have to watch something like this again. This would have been better as a hentai, then at least it would have a reason to be bad. There is no romance in it like what I have seen other websites saying it should have it unless there is a romance between the little fairy that sounds like Navi and that’s just plain wrong.

By the way, the whole story line feels like it’s read more
Aug 1, 2015
AnnoKano (All reviews)
Imagine, if you will, that you've been transported to a fantastical alternative universe. In this world enormous creatures, resembling dinosaurs roam the landscape. Yet there are still people here: foreign looking ones though, and wearing clothes from the sixteenth century. And if all that wasn't depressing enough, your sword is considerably less sharp than you would have anticipated. Welcome to the world of Byston Well, and the exercise in terrible production that is Garzey's Wing!

Anyone who has ever dreamed of creating a work of narrative fiction: be it a film, a novel or an anime, would be well advised to watch Garzey's Wing, because read more
Aug 10, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Byston Well Monogatari: Garzey no Tsubasa is a notoriously bad OVA. It was brought to us by J.C. Staff and the creator of Gundam, Tomino Yoshiyuki. Is it as bad as people make it out to be? Is it, at least, entertainingly bad? Let's have a look.

Story:

We open with our protagonist, Chris, riding off on his motorcycle. While on his way home, the bell necklace he wears starts ringing and he finds himself being whisked away leaving his clothes and bike behind. He winds up in a fantasy world just in time to assist a slave revolt. With the assistance of magic wings he read more
Nov 28, 2018
retrometroid (All reviews)
Let's start off right: Watching this in Japanese is torture. Watching this in English? The best decision you've EVER made. In your life.

To wit:

One day, Yoshiyuki Tomino, creator of Gundam, went "hey what if i wrote a prequel to that Aura Battler Dunbine thing I did". So he did.

Sometime later, someone went "let's adapt that prequel into these OVAs". And Tomino went "lol sure dude".

And lo, GARZEY'S WING was born.

It's so quintessentially bad. Legend says it pierced the veil of time and H.P. "Racist McGee" Lovecraft saw it and went "that's less explainable than Cthulhu".

So where to begin? Story? There's a story? I mean this read more
Dec 11, 2015
animimosa (All reviews)
the short ova got very unfairly treated on this site. now, thats not a big surprise many other animes are, just to mention Gintama as an example. But contrary as many mediocre products are hyped for no good reason, this fragile movie got trampled brutally.

made a few years earlier than turnAgundam it is taking on again a material which got so distorted in the first animation under the pressure of the producers that Tomino felt it should be made once more without all the additions of aura battler. and so the story is presented in the harsh and brutal inviroment of a medieval world with read more
May 1, 2017
TheFlashmaster (All reviews)
Preliminary
Those of you who have been anime fans for a while probably know that Garzey's Wing is one of the most reviled, known-to-be-awful anime titles of all time, and, quite frankly, I don't intend to change that opinion. I think that, if you need a reason to watch Garzey's Wing, that's gonna have to be your reason going into it. But you have to be ready for it, because even preparing yourself mentally might not be enough. And that's because Garzey's Wing is so unrepentantly terrible. In fact, the dub will immediately let you in on what you're in for. I've had my shares of read more
Oct 23, 2012
blackelectrix (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was laughing the entire time I was watching this anime. It's so terrible it makes you laugh! It's a real doozy. In a bad way.
Sep 5, 2015
Sean_Murphy_PWx2 (All reviews)
Oh man. Oh geez. Oh no. So I heard about this little gem a while back, and got around to powering through the 3 episodes into the wee hours of the morning...which is the perfect time to watch this thing, of course. That little period between 2 o'clock and 4 o'clock in the morning, that time when anything's funny? That's Garzey's Wing Time. Also, getting fucking WASTED is encouraged (please drink responsibly). The problem was, when I decided to show this to my friends, they weren't exactly into it. Moral of the story? Get good friends. Anyway, Garzey's Wing...not really much to say about this read more
Feb 18, 2016
foriku (All reviews)
Haven't watched this one for over 2 years, but in the face of all the hate I've been forced to write this review. Not my first, but hopefully my first that doesn't get deleted.

Anyway, you're probably looking at my score of 9/10 for what is one of the most hated animations on this site and thinking "what is this fella smoking?". Well laugh while you have the chance punk, because I'll prove to you that this is one of the greatest animations ever.

The primary reason this is a great anime is its storytelling. This may sound dead wrong to anybody who has actually seen it read more
Oct 27, 2016
NargleAdvocate (All reviews)
This OVA is not remotely good from a serious point of view, but it made me laugh more than I have in a while. It speeds along too fast for you to understand, the plot is sub-par at best, and you don't get a good feel of the characters at all. Yet, it's one of the more enjoyable series I've seen.
This is one of those that you watch when you just want a good laugh, or when you're hanging out with friends. It makes no sense, but you'll be rolling around on the floor in laughter, mostly due to confusion.
Jan 30, 2018
TheEdgelord (All reviews)
If you have ever dreamed of your other you being abducted by a duck to the world full of dinosaurs, godzillas, Egyptians, fairies and dreamed of having rainbow sparkling wings growing from your ankles ...

I feel sorry for you.

BUT ! If your dream haven't come true, don't be sad, this anime will meet your expectations and you can live your dream !

Story :
Totally messed up.
I think that creators picked up a dictionary, searched for random words and decided to make an anime from it. That's it.
But yeah, dadaism is art too !

Characters:
Characters don't even think like humans. I am confused read more
Oct 27, 2013
Heavens_Newtype (All reviews)
Preliminary
Where do I start? I was inspired to watch this anime when I read other inspiring reviews. I was thinking,"ha this gonna be one of those mars of destruction animes". Well...it was. But I rarely laughed and cried instead. I wouldn't wish this anime on anyone,seriously. I was determined to finish the anime because I always like to follow up with something I started. I lived through 2 episodes and I was done. Haven't been happier after finishing an anime. My head was hurting while I was watching. At first I laughed at the voice acting for the english dub,I might as well have voice read more