Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Devil Survivor 2 The Animation


Alternative Titles

English: Devil Survivor 2 The Animation
Synonyms: DS2A, Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
Japanese: デビルサバイバー2 THE ANIMATION

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2013 to Jun 28, 2013
Premiered: Spring 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Bridge
Source: Game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.991 (scored by 62,109 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #37672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #768
Members: 133,936
Favorites: 509

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 1, 2013
GaryFrost (All reviews)
Neon Genesis Evangeli- I mean, Devil Survivor 2 the Animation, is a great example of an adaptation from a video game to television gone wrong. Having beaten the video game myself, this anime adaptation was a severe disappointment from start to finish in many off-putting ways. The writing in this anime is childish as it constantly uses well-known clichés, character archetypes who never develop past their cardboard cut-out selves, spills melodrama all over the floor, and everything feels rushed and unconvincing. It is rather, to put it simply, a monstrosity. Now, the story of the video game wasn’t exactly original nor was it interesting, so read more
May 25, 2013
raritydash (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was very excited when I heard a Devil Survivor 2 anime was in the works, having recently played and loved the DS game on which it's based. Watching it now, I can say that my feelings for the anime are overall good, if somewhat more mixed than I had anticipated. I'm certainly enjoying it, but there are a few places it seems to fall a little flat.

The anime looks and sounds great. The art is solid; the characters and demons look exactly as they do in the game and the animation is never not satisfying in the action sequences. The voice actors all fit read more
Jul 10, 2013
Keirik (All reviews)
I had my share of problems with Persona 4's anime adaptation. Actually, I had a truckload of problems with it. Scratch that, I was finding stuff to complain about every single episode. And yet, I look back on it and think "oh wow they actually didn't do that badly, considering they condensed a 70-hour RPG into 25 episodes". Indeed, Devil Survivor 2: The Animation served to put Persona 4 into perspective for me. In spite of all its issues, it really didn't do that much wrong. The story was well developed, the characters all got their moments to shine, and there was still time left read more
Jun 27, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
You know you're in for a ride when you read that first line of the synopsis and realize that the world is about to end thanks to some mysterious invaders. These invaders are called Septentriones want one thing: your life. It all takes place on the holy day of Sunday where the lives of the main characters are in danger. Why? Because the world is about to end and their only chance now is to survive. That's right....

Welcome to the world of Devil Survivor 2, where survival is a word that you'll be hearing more than meets the eye.

The series is based off the video read more
May 10, 2013
OtaCon-TJO (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime seems to be getting a lot of hate but the anime itself is pretty credible and somewhat enjoyable. As someone that hasn't played the Devil Survivor games I was somewhat pulled into this anime but it still feels like it is lacking something. By reading this review I have only seen 6 episodes and so this review wouldn't be valid but can be credible to the anime itself.

Story
The story is fine and there isn't too much to complain about. The anime presents itself with our usual high school protagonist with his high school friends. It's pretty basic and isn't anything new or read more
Jun 27, 2013
Asfaria (All reviews)
Devil Survivor 2 aired from April to June of 2013. What starts off seeming to be similar to Mirai Nikki as the characters’ cell phones are given a “future sight” ability quickly turns into a “save the world from demons” kind of show. Unfortunately, DS2 has many problems with pacing, characters, and just an overall confusing plot. It is based off of a game by the same name, which I have heard is much better.

First I want to mention one thing. Whenever I say anything is bad in this show, it excludes Jungo and Airi who are two supporting characters and who are gems that read more
Jul 2, 2013
evelynie (All reviews)
Overall the anime was good I enjoyed it, I watched it in one day which may skew my perception of it. Probably if I had to wait week by week for this anime I would have dropped it at episode 3. I do not know anything about the game, nor did I read the synopsis of the anime beforehand, so I had no expectations.

Story (7/10) The story was very shounen like, if I could compare it, the 13 episodes seemed fairly similar to a first arc in a shounen manga. The characters are introduced, the main character is more awesome that the read more
May 9, 2013
njjn (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well,this anime has it all. Lame story(basically nonexistent, its just one boss figth after another),boring characters, with no motivation, no interest and no development and mediocre music thah really wears off after one time. Even the animation, its strongest aspect, its nothing special and you can not even enjoy it because is lost from all the stupidity of the above.

However, that its not this anime's biggest problem.The thing that really bugged me it is the fact the show never escapes from its gaming origin. It keeps remind you that its a game: the hero receives quests from the director, performs them and then returns for read more
May 25, 2013
Democracy (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a great series, people need to understand Shin Megami Tensei is a non-casual and non-mainstream rpg series.

This was clearly made for fans of the SMT saga. But it is still enjoyable for people who actually want an anime that doesn't revolve around Friendship Power > everything. The characters are varied and likable but that's not what the anime is about.

This anime is about a group of NORMAL teenagers who end up involved in an Apocalyptic survival of the fittest scenario. This is a realistic what-if series.
-What if demons suddenly appeared in your city?
-What if you had an app on your phone read more
Jun 27, 2013
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
I picked up Devil Survivor 2 because the summary sounded interesting and not because I've played the game it is supposed to be adapted off of. The series is similar to Mirai Nikki and the two Persona adaptations. Unlike said series the plot of DS2 doesn't flow well at all, so I know the problem doesn't lie with it being an adaption off a game, particularly since both Persona adaptations turned out well despite being a game. I've also seen a few other series with a similar plot line and I was quite fond of said series. This though I was not, and that is read more
Jun 7, 2013
Archdaine (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm a fan of Atlus games as well, including Devil Survivor series. What I like in the second game, is that it is more light-hearted than the first one. The first one is the exact definition of horror. I still love the first one though.

Story 7, Art 8, Sound 9, Chara 6, Enjoy 8, Overall 8

The story is quite simple, so I won't comment much. What I like about the story in the anime and the game, is because the anime diverts itself from the game. Lots of different dead clips and events differ very much. I actually like that, since it makes me wonder read more
May 15, 2013
nevetsgnow (All reviews)
Preliminary
booooringgg. the first episode was quite enjoyable and i had quite the expectations for this series. the intro and outro were also quite good, so my initial impression was quite high. however, the coming episodes (i've watched 6 so far) have led the anime astray and I'm left with easily predictable scenes and cheesy dialogue that bores me like no other anime. since the first episode my impression for this anime has exponentially dropped and unfortunately, I don't see it getting much better. 6/10
May 26, 2013
trannon1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm playing the game while watching the animation just to compare them and the two can't even be compared. The reason for the 5 on the story is that the anime feels so rushed. I know it is 24 episodes but they could have filled those episodes with the "conversations" the protagonist has with various characters from the anime. And worse, the animators just keep killing off the various characters that I find interesting like Otome who loves teasing Makoto about her "crush" on the protagonist, Joe who is so whimsical, it makes the gameplay fun, and Keita who is such a lone wolf he read more
May 20, 2013
gumi-tan (All reviews)
Preliminary
When the preview for this anime came out, I practically fangirled like crazy because I played the game version of this. I actually didn't finish it because I didn't like spoilers, so I decided to finish the anime before I continue playing. I seriously thought it would be awesome. The first game was pretty nice and I expected the anime of the second game to be just as good. BUT BOY WAS I WRONG. Most of the characters were lame, story was predictable, and everything was just plain boring. Seriously, Hibiki's actions are SUUUUUPPPERRRR predictable, I had to fast forward the anime just so I read more
May 11, 2014
EyeBall1844 (All reviews)
Oh man, going into this anime I honesty had high hopes. I really should have known better.

Story
The start of the anime was pretty good. It starts with two normal high school living their normal lives, while going to someplace somewhere to do something they see a beautiful girl by herself. While talking about her, they get a video showing their own deaths and the show begins. It starts somewhat strong and interesting but as the story continues it starts making less sense and becomes extremely boring to watch.

Characters
All the characters are bland and weak except for Hibiki (he's boring, just not weak) the protagonist. read more
Aug 14, 2013
Goukakyo (All reviews)
Devil Survivor 2 is an adaptation of the game developed by Atlus. Opinions about this anime will be different from person to person

This review shall be made taking into account the game, I played it long before seeing this adaptation.

The anime had potential to become one of the best of this year 2013 if the creators had taken more seriously the game, in my opinion i believe that neither they played it and only guided themselves by summaries of the game (who knows? Seems like it to me).

I'll start by comparing the anime and the game in several areas:

Story: The story in this anime read more
Jun 15, 2013
ajlashleigh (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am in love with this anime at the moment! The use of supernatural powers and the characters who are so easy to fall in love with. The story line is like a breath of fresh air and its not too difficult to follow as the events unfold.

To begin with i assumed it would be yet another predictable anime but as each episode is aired something unexpected turns out. There is a strong theme of power and hierarchy, although it is not overwhelming as it has the portrayal that the power would be easily taken away.

This anime is one that you can read more
Mar 1, 2015
Shiro-tama (All reviews)
I honestly cried at the end because even when everything was sad during the story, they made the ending a super happy one and I seriously think this is one of the best Anime about Devils ever made. I liked it because the art was cool, the story plot was weird yet amazing, in the English version the voices weren't bad, and the characters had new surprises in every episode with great personalities fitting each of their looks. I loved and enjoyed it so I hope you will watch it and feel the same way I did watching Devil Survivor 2: The Animation!!!
Jun 22, 2015
SNaG21 (All reviews)
Note: Spoilers are in this review. I tried my best, but I can't really give a good critique without implementing them.

Furthermore, I could not avoid comparing this to the game. Still, I reviewed this on its own merits. I have played Devil Survivor 2: Record Breaker for the 3DS for 100+ hours, so I have a good grasp on the game’s strengths and weaknesses.

I’ve sometimes wondered why Shin Megami Tensei games don’t get adaptations, but then a bit of thinking always leads me to the answer: many of them would be the same. See, since the core SMT series typically boasts multiple endings, the read more
Jun 27, 2013
Toucanbird (All reviews)
Devil Survivor 2: Dubious Massacre Too

After Seiji Kishi's wildly successful anime adaptation of Persona 4, it was only natural we would see him tackle another popular Atlus video game franchise, right? That's what we got with Devil Survivor 2, a 13 episode series produced by a relative unknown in the anime industry, Studio Bridge. Considering the success Kishi had with Persona 4, we could expect the same great things with Devil Survivor 2...ah expectations...how you never cease to fail me.

This series is the very definition of the phrase "all style and no substance." Devil Survivor 2 is a GORGEOUSLY animated series with production values through read more