Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dokidoki! Precure


Alternative Titles

English: Glitter Force Doki Doki
Synonyms: Doki Doki! Precure, Doki Doki! Pretty Cure
Japanese: ドキドキ! プリキュア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 49
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 3, 2013 to Jan 26, 2014
Premiered: Winter 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Asahi Broadcasting
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 6.871 (scored by 3,663 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #41652
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3825
Members: 11,300
Favorites: 90

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 26, 2014
MahouS (All reviews)
Doki Doki is the worst season of Pretty Cure in the franchise. It would already be a bad enough show on its own but also decides to tread on the spirit of Pretty Cure, be something it's not, and ends up as everything a season of Pretty Cure shouldn't be.

The show is much more plot focused than any other season and here is the first major problem. While heavy focus on the plot isn't inherently a bad thing, in Doki's case it unfortunately comes at the cost of developing the characters and their relationships with each other, especially in the first half of the read more
Jan 26, 2014
ihateeveryone (All reviews)
If you were to go back to the beginning of 2013 and asked a general Precure fan what the worst season was claimed to be, the chances are they would've said Suite, and usually for the universal reason that it wasn't the well-acclaimed Heartcatch season. If we're to go back to the present and you asked a general Precure fan what the worst season is, you'll probably hear them say DokiDoki, except for very, very good reasons.

DokiDoki Precure is a Precure season that not only fails to be a good show in general, but it fails to be a good show for this franchise in read more
Dec 23, 2014
X10A_Freedom (All reviews)
There is a natural human tendency to be complacent and repeat the same formula over and over again. This includes the Precure franchise with the previous Smile Precure being nothing more than a rehashed Yes5, according to reliable sources. The inability to adapt to a changing world has been the cause of failure of governments, corporations and society. Dokidoki has shown that even a well-established franchise is able to change with the times and cater to Generation Z children who have evolving and different needs.

The first and foremost difference is that the Pink cure, Mana takes a far stronger leadership role in read more
Jan 27, 2014
SeibaaHomu (All reviews)
Once upon a time when the topic of the worst Precure Season was brought up, I'd have no idea what to say. Even putting aside my lack of experience with the franchise, I had no idea what would drive me to think so negatively about a light hearted kid's show with healthy morals. Even when I went and watched past seasons that were looked upon unfavourably I still enjoyed them for what they were despite their flaws. And now we come to the present day. While I've still yet to make my way through every past season of the show, I can now confidently answer read more
May 14, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
You know, as long as I've been doing this I'm surprised that this is the first Precure series I'm looking at. For those of you who are unfamiliar, Precure or Pretty Cure is a long running magical girl franchise from Toei animation. It all started with Futari wa Pretty Cure and the most recent installment is Happiness Charge Precure, which is currently ongoing. Most of the series within the frranchise don't have anything to do with one another aside from a similar aesthetic and Doki Doki Precure is the tenth series within the franchise. The writing for this one was handled by Yamaguchi Ryota, read more
Sep 23, 2013
wowsermax (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dokidoki Precure is a typical shoujo anime, involving a young girl who transforms and fights evil. Full of predictable outcomes, fillers and frustrating transformations, this show certainly just floats with the rest of the like.

Story (4)
Like previously stated, this story is too typical. It concerns a young girl who discovers her ability to become a PreCure. With her newfound ability, she influences her friends to join her as they fight the evil Selfish. Nothing really struck me nor was it awful, but it has just been done too many times before, and like mentioned above, it consists of way too many fillers. Actually, it's basically read more
Nov 4, 2015
J_Aka (All reviews)
When I started watching this series, I was aware of how most people consider it "the worst Precure series ever". However, I didn't feel it that way. I enjoyed the series from start to finish. The characters are loveable, the story advances in a quick pace and even though there are some flaws, I can let them slide.
The story focuses on two opposite human emotions: selfishness and love. If the villains try to take over the world by manipulating people's selfishness, then the Precure counter it with love. As the series goes on, we see that almost everyone has a bit of selfishness in read more
Jun 8, 2015
fraulinefive (All reviews)
(spoilerish)

I'm not gonna lie, this was a terrible show that I enjoyed sitting through. But it. Was terrible.

If you're unfamiliar with Precure, I'll give you a rundown: Toei Magical Girl Cash Cow about girls who fight evil by utilizing powers bestowed onto them by little floaty creatures that are usually some brand of sugary cute. It's standard shoujo, extremely formulaic, and often features stories of friendship and Girl Power (tm). Think Sailor Moon, but with new stories and continuities every season. You're free to look up the movie poster for Pretty Cure All Stars Haru no Carnival♪ if you want to know the beast read more
May 27, 2018
MelodyFire (All reviews)
Preliminary
Doki Doki Precure is tied with Kira Kira Precure a la Mode for my favorite Precure season and is one of my favorite anime of all time. The overall tone of this show is uniquely happy and up lifting. All of the protagonists carry this optimistic attitude towards achieving their goals. Aida especially is a great role-model for both child and adult viewers with her forgiving nature and constant desire to help others. She's the perfect type of person to lead a group of heroes. Although I typically don't enjoy lackeys of the main villain in anime, my personal favorite character is Ira. His smug read more
Nov 2, 2016
Emufour9999 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let me be very clear, here, this show is awful. It has a contrived and awful plot, 2 dimmensional characters, and badly conceived monsters and enemies. And it is for those reasons that I love this show. You'll notice I rated it as bad, so don't get me wrong thinking I am trying to defend it or something. On the contrary, I want people to watch this show because it is awful.

Sometimes, in between all the drama and heart crushing plot of other, decent anime, you just need a terrible traffic light monster to lighten the mood and give you a good laugh. They probably read more
Jun 3, 2014
MajinAkuma (All reviews)
This is one my favorite seasons with my favorite Cure, Cure Heart. Many fans dislike her because of she gets the most focus, but she's really an awesome character. I like the specific combat roles of the characters and I like the heavy les yay moments.
The story is heavily focus on the plot and has very little fillers. The season also introduces my favorite villain, Regina.
Aug 30, 2015
RLinksoul (All reviews)
Doki Doki Precure is the 10th season in the Precure, or Pretty Cure, franchise. Like all but two of the Precure seasons, it takes place in a completely separate universe and continuity from the others, allowing it to be easily picked up by viewers who have never seen another Precure season. As with most Precure seasons, Doki has a unique style to it that should be viewed as its own thing, rather than be compared to previous and future seasons.

=== Story ===

Our story begins with a lone warrior known as Cure Sword, gazing out at the ruins of her home, a magical realm known as read more
Aug 6, 2015
Firechick12012 (All reviews)
The first Pretty Cure series I watched all the way through was Heartcatch. I got into it because of a blogger's recommendation, and I never looked back. I recently got into the Pretty Cure fandom last year, and as of now, Doki Doki is the 4th Pretty Cure season I finished. It would have been 3rd had Suite not completely won me over. I've seen a lot of hate for this series, and...well, in some ways I can agree on some things. I agree that there's a lot of potential that it could have used but wind up becoming completely wasted because of other things. read more
Jan 14, 2019
judarx (All reviews)
SO, the story is the same old thing. Boring. But over all, pretty good, just the story was too easy to catch on to. I knew what was going to happen because in Glitter Force, this is the same thing. Its kind of just boring, like I dont even want to watch the episdoes again anymore. They should include different personalites, not the same old cliche. Ive created an entire squad of glitter force ocs, and instead of the blue haired girl always being smart, I made mine an airhead. Instead of the pink haired (the pink one for mind has blue hair actually) being read more
Nov 23, 2013
sentience (All reviews)
Preliminary
Unforunately, doki doki overpromises, and ended up causing people to fall out of love with it. Many will remember being impressed by the first episode, however that high was a one-time and things have since never reached that high.

By the point where I stopped the characters have unfortunately turned stale and are not as endearing as previous instalments of Precure. This is a shame since the series started off promising. The only few things that I do like about this is the animation of the henshin/power-up sequences, which look dynamic.

I will point out that the introduction of the 5th Precure (Cure Ace) complicated things. The read more