Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mononoke Hime


Alternative Titles

English: Princess Mononoke
Synonyms: Mononoke Hime
Japanese: もののけ姫

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 12, 1997
Licensors: GKids
Studios: Studio Ghibli
Source: Original
Duration: 2 hr. 10 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.811 (scored by 260,124 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #272
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #75
Members: 383,212
Favorites: 8,452

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 12, 2008
Phill-z (All reviews)
Let me start by saying that I am not a Miyazaki-disciple. I do not view him as the "grandmaster of everything anime." When I say "yeah...Miyazaki is ok" I say it not out of ignorance (I've almost every one of his films) but because I personally find him to be incredibly overrated. However I find that when he has all of his stuff together, Miyazaki can destroy practically any other director out there, the man is incredibly talented, but his problem is consistency.

When I say that Princess Mononoke is his masterpiece, I mean it. It was the first film where read more
Jun 21, 2008
Zealouz (All reviews)
First of all I'd like to say this is my favorite Miyazaki Film. Why you might ask? Its the most powerful and thought provoking of all his films. It also communicates a message very differently since it has much darker overtones than his other lighthearted films. While they may be enjoyable and powerful in their own way they can never be compared to the stature of this film. I hold this one higher than the quality of Spirited Away. Which in my opinion is then most overrated Miyazaki/anime film. This is the one film that Miyazaki completed perfectly because it gave you that feeling that read more
Sep 10, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
For each new Studio Ghibli film I watch, I just get more and more convinced that they are the best animation movie studio out there. Princess Mononoke is by no means an exception.

Ashitaka, the last prince of a people called the Enishi, gets cursed while fighting a demon, and sets out on a journey to get rid of the curse, which can be lethal. He soon hears rumors of a forest spirit that can give and take away life, and sets out to find it. However, he soon finds himself in the middle of a fight between humans and animals, and he soon gets to read more
Apr 26, 2015
angelsreview (All reviews)
First off, I LOVE Hayao Miyazaki and a lot of his movies. I fell in love with Studio Ghibli’s artwork, music, and pretty much anything about them. This is one of my all time favorite movies in fact. Just the story line is so beautiful about how man and nature are supposed to live side by side but when one fights against the other, there can be both misunderstandings and consequences. The story is open to interpretation but it feels like a timeless tale. A lot of times, I found myself believing that he could have made the story in this time frame and it read more
Jun 25, 2008
AlexanderZero (All reviews)
Warning: This review may contain significant plot spoilers and is really more intended for the thought and entertainment of those who have already watched the movie.

For a while now I've been hearing rave reviews about Hayao Miyazaki's films. He certainly has an impressive track record, having created the three most popular animated movies in Japan. Apparently his anime work is greeted with positive reception everywhere, for this movie was placed in Roger Ebert's own top ten favorite movies for 1999. It's about time I finally watched it for myself, but it's left me with a strange aftertaste, and I'll tell you why.

The movie opens with read more
Oct 30, 2008
VK11 (All reviews)
Ah, Princess Mononoke. It was one of the most earlier films, and anime in general, that I watched, and was captivated at first sight.

The thing I love about this movie is that I've seen so many different takes on what people viewed as the purpose behind the plot. I've read in a few different places that Miyazaki is not a fan of industrialization (or what it has evolved into) and clearly that is represented in the overarching plot in this movie. Whether or not that was the true meaning Miyazaki was trying to portray, he nevertheless sends a powerful message of the side effects read more
Jan 23, 2008
JeremyC (All reviews)
Princess Mononoke. Another classic from Hayao Miyazaki.

Before watching this, the only other Miyazaki film I had seen was Spirited Away. That was my favorite anime at the time. After watching Mononoke, I found a new favorite.

I think the english dub of the film is one of the better ones out there. Their choices for voice actors and actresses were good for the film.

The animation was superb, as was the music. The strength of Mononoke lies in the story. I really felt connected to the characters. When Ashitaka was searching for San, I felt the sense of urgency with which he was running. I was practically read more
Aug 27, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Mononoke Hime is a 1997 Studio Ghibli film written and directed by the legendary Miyazaki Hayao. It's also frequently brought up alongside Nausicaä & Spirited Away as one of Ghibli's classics. Does it hold up as well as those two films? Let's take a look.

Story:

We open in a small village coming under attack by a demon God, which looks kind of like a boar covered in small, squat tendrils. In order to protect his people, Prince Ashitaka rides into action. He manages to stop the rampaging beast, but its tendrils grasp his arm, leaving a scar that won't abate and continues to increase in read more
May 1, 2013
FullmetalCowboy (All reviews)
*This is an archive from my Anime-Planet account*

Critic's Log - Earthdate: December 2, 2012. Review #24: Princess Mononoke

Throughout the months and days that I have been reviewing animes, I have been reviewing anime shows and OVA's, and I just previously reviewed one movie which would be Resident Evil: Degeneration. I will say that I was not originally planning on reviewing this movie this time around. I was actually hoping to do a series of reviews of Studio Ghibli films someday. This review was actually requested by a good friend of mine and today just so happens to be her birthday. She did not request the read more
Oct 23, 2014
ChrisMuser394 (All reviews)
Princess Mononoke was the second Ghibli Studio I ever saw, and to this day remains one of my most favourite works of all times and styles.

A cross-story of love and hate, nature and humanity cohabiting or failing to do so. The story of the wolves and the spirits of the forest is halting; their determination to fight, each of their respective personalities and their respective decisions as to HOW they will fight, were halting. The Mother Wolf fighting to protect her young ones, her forest, her home, despising the humans and then finally handing her only daughter over to one of them, handing her home read more
May 20, 2015
KaosReigns (All reviews)
This is likely one of the few animes that exist I will give the title "Masterpiece" to. There are a few reasons for this.

1) The story actually has substance. It isn't some little kid being sent off on a fool's errand to collect treasure or magical items.

2) You could consider this one of the more..... artistic works available. Think of old Disney vs new Disney. The solid outlines that bring definition to the characters.

3) Sound..... well this one is a personal thing, but sound doesn't actually matter to me. If I can tell read more
Sep 9, 2016
Leafyos (All reviews)
I believe Princess Mononoke can be underrated as one of studio ghibli's films. Although movies like Spirited Away and Howl's Moving Castle are great, Princess Mononoke gives a different vibe that deals with the battle between man and nature. I really fell in love with the characters; San who tries to protect the forest along with her wolf tribe-family, and Ashitaka who takes no sides and wishes for peace. There's definitely scenes that I found scary as a child, but even now I'd get goosebumps when the movie takes a darker turn. I think the music fits well with the movie as it should, rich read more
Nov 2, 2008
-FlameHaze- (All reviews)
Introduction
I feel as if i wasted 2 hour of my life watching this but I will try to review it fairly...

Story
Ok, it wasn't too slow moving and it wasn't too quick, bonus points for rating. It had a nice sort of nature vs ironforge vs empire sort of story. It wasn't simply good vs evil, nature and ironforge both had their fair points to war, bonus points. The princes adventure... fair story... But I think the biggest let down was my expectations of the whole..."The Star Wars of animated features" and besides that the cool action sort of action style cover...yea...I can no't recall more read more
Jan 28, 2017
BluePhire1 (All reviews)
I'll make this review short and sweet. This is my favorite Ghibli film by a mile. I have only seen 2 others - Spirited Away and Howl's Moving Castle. This one is my favorite. It is the LOTR of anime for me.

Story 9/10
The only thing not really 10/10. The story isn't really original. It is the same as Avatar (the "blue people" movie) or really any story about humans encroaching on nature. But that isn't to say it is well told. The fantasy elements bring a nice touch and the story never drags.

Art 10/10
Not necessarily a 10/10 for today's standards, but this art does stand read more
Mar 28, 2015
DanteMustDie8907 (All reviews)
Princess Mononoke - 6/10

it's one of the few Midzayaki cartoons that isn't really for children as much as the others, has some very violent moments, but thankfully they aren't the centre of attention of this movie.
The plot follows a boy from a village who gets cursed during fighting a demon and is now seeking the spirit of the forest to beg for a cure.
Instead he gets tangled in wars between regions for resources, and this is where the main point of this movie comes in, it's greed that makes humans want to claim things. "Everyone wants everything, but i might actually get it" and they read more
Apr 15, 2016
CinnamonPunk (All reviews)
I personally adored this film, as I do most Ghibli films!
Story
I loved the story of this film! I have always been one for mythology and folklore and this film gave me just that! The historical aspect to the plot makes it even more enticing as does the message behind the conflict.
Art
read more
Jan 20, 2013
animelambie (All reviews)
Princess Mononoke is going to be difficult for me to talk about because it is such a perfect film. Probably Miyazaki’s magnum opus.

This is not to say that I favor Princess Mononoke over the film that would follow, Spirited Away. That film is Miyazaki’s other magnum opus. What I mean is that in looking at Hayao Miyazaki’s work, his ability and interests range from grand-scale, mature, fantasy epics in which the theme of man versus nature is the centerpiece to wonderland through the eyes of a child in which the child learns to grow and mature and come into their own read more
Nov 6, 2016
AtomicAnarchist (All reviews)
Mononoke Hime. This movie went higher than my expectation for a traditional Ghibli movie. I would have to say this movie is intriguing and amazingly well built. The art in this movie is fantastic and the soundtrack too. Its better than the traditional Ghibli movie. The plot is also intricately developed and very well built. The story begins with the prince of a small town somewhere in feudal Japan. Take in to matter than most ghibli movies contain some sort of spiritual or magical aspect within the story. On one normal day, a rampaging boar suddenly starts going berserk and heads toward the village. The read more
Feb 1, 2015
jzmcdaisy (All reviews)
The best part of Ghibli films is honestly rewatching them. Doing a dry run and seeing just everything that happens and taking in the artistic story and the pleasant but thought provoking plot is the first step. But taking a deeper look and tearing at the frays of deeper themes the second time around. While this is important to fully take in all the information a film like this throws at you, watching it is still fun anyways, and the rewatch helped me also enjoy the film as simply a modern creation in the style of telling an epic cultural myth. Princess Mononoke got bumped read more
Aug 31, 2016
Another_Nobody (All reviews)
Wow what can I say? This is now one of my favourite movies of all time.

The story is amazing and the characters are great too, everything is just spot-on.

The setting even though ist isn't very new since this is a 1997 movie, the moral is very modern and everyone should learn.

Technology and evolution should be always in harmony with nature, without destroying each other for both are necessary. This movie us there isn't a good or evil side, both sides are simply trying to achieve the best and trying to protect equally important things.

Simply put both sides must achieve a balance so that humans and read more