Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mononoke Hime


Alternative Titles

English: Princess Mononoke
Synonyms: Mononoke Hime
Japanese: もののけ姫

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 12, 1997
Licensors: GKIDS
Studios: Studio Ghibli
Source: Original
Duration: 2 hr. 10 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.801 (scored by 302,850 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #282
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #79
Members: 455,122
Favorites: 9,735

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 12, 2008
Phill-z (All reviews)
Let me start by saying that I am not a Miyazaki-disciple. I do not view him as the "grandmaster of everything anime." When I say "yeah...Miyazaki is ok" I say it not out of ignorance (I've almost every one of his films) but because I personally find him to be incredibly overrated. However I find that when he has all of his stuff together, Miyazaki can destroy practically any other director out there, the man is incredibly talented, but his problem is consistency.

When I say that Princess Mononoke is his masterpiece, I mean it. It was the first film where read more
Jun 21, 2008
Zealouz (All reviews)
First of all I'd like to say this is my favorite Miyazaki Film. Why you might ask? Its the most powerful and thought provoking of all his films. It also communicates a message very differently since it has much darker overtones than his other lighthearted films. While they may be enjoyable and powerful in their own way they can never be compared to the stature of this film. I hold this one higher than the quality of Spirited Away. Which in my opinion is then most overrated Miyazaki/anime film. This is the one film that Miyazaki completed perfectly because it gave you that feeling that read more
Sep 10, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
For each new Studio Ghibli film I watch, I just get more and more convinced that they are the best animation movie studio out there. Princess Mononoke is by no means an exception.

Ashitaka, the last prince of a people called the Enishi, gets cursed while fighting a demon, and sets out on a journey to get rid of the curse, which can be lethal. He soon hears rumors of a forest spirit that can give and take away life, and sets out to find it. However, he soon finds himself in the middle of a fight between humans and animals, and he soon gets to read more
Jun 25, 2008
AlexanderZero (All reviews)
Warning: This review may contain significant plot spoilers and is really more intended for the thought and entertainment of those who have already watched the movie.

For a while now I've been hearing rave reviews about Hayao Miyazaki's films. He certainly has an impressive track record, having created the three most popular animated movies in Japan. Apparently his anime work is greeted with positive reception everywhere, for this movie was placed in Roger Ebert's own top ten favorite movies for 1999. It's about time I finally watched it for myself, but it's left me with a strange aftertaste, and I'll tell you why.

The movie opens with read more
Aug 29, 2017
KyoumaZ (All reviews)
“What exactly are you here for? – To see with eyes unclouded by hate.”

Effectively conveying a message through any sort of fictional medium can be quite a handful, however a handful of directors/screenwriters/authors etc. managed to carve their names in stone, understanding and mastering the art of storytelling in the medium they so choose to work with. Stanley Kubrick, Alfred Hitchcock, Stephen Spielberg and J.R.R. Tolkien are some names you’ll become tired of hearing after a bit of time, but the fact that their names alone are so prevalently mentioned when talking about “all time classics” speaks for one important aspect: They understood human read more
Apr 26, 2015
angelsreview (All reviews)
First off, I LOVE Hayao Miyazaki and a lot of his movies. I fell in love with Studio Ghibli’s artwork, music, and pretty much anything about them. This is one of my all time favorite movies in fact. Just the story line is so beautiful about how man and nature are supposed to live side by side but when one fights against the other, there can be both misunderstandings and consequences. The story is open to interpretation but it feels like a timeless tale. A lot of times, I found myself believing that he could have made the story in this time frame and it read more
Oct 30, 2008
VK11 (All reviews)
Ah, Princess Mononoke. It was one of the most earlier films, and anime in general, that I watched, and was captivated at first sight.

The thing I love about this movie is that I've seen so many different takes on what people viewed as the purpose behind the plot. I've read in a few different places that Miyazaki is not a fan of industrialization (or what it has evolved into) and clearly that is represented in the overarching plot in this movie. Whether or not that was the true meaning Miyazaki was trying to portray, he nevertheless sends a powerful message of the side effects read more
Jan 23, 2008
JeremyC (All reviews)
Princess Mononoke. Another classic from Hayao Miyazaki.

Before watching this, the only other Miyazaki film I had seen was Spirited Away. That was my favorite anime at the time. After watching Mononoke, I found a new favorite.

I think the english dub of the film is one of the better ones out there. Their choices for voice actors and actresses were good for the film.

The animation was superb, as was the music. The strength of Mononoke lies in the story. I really felt connected to the characters. When Ashitaka was searching for San, I felt the sense of urgency with which he was running. I was practically read more
Oct 30, 2017
simplereviewer (All reviews)
Script - Some dude is infected by a monster, goes on a journey and finds a quite problematic place where humans, animals and magical beings are fighting to see who's going to rule the land. The lore is quite basic, even though the subtle references to feudal Japan are more than present. So you have monsters who want to protect the magical forest, villagers who want to stay alive and work hard to get resources and habitation from nature and some samurai warlord who wants the head of a mythological god or something to become immortal and also some iron from the village. The atmosphere read more
Oct 23, 2017
CatchyUsername (All reviews)
Mononoke Hime is a wonderful piece of animation, not only because of its visual beauty or atmospheric seriousness, but because of its ability to connect both grey morality and magical optimistic ambiance. While Ghibli’s other works focus too much on either being shallowly pretty or pro-environment aesopish, this one is the fusion of straight themes and charming epicness. After all, if it is animation then animate. Use your visual creativity to convey messages that otherwise wouldn’t be able of being conveyed.

The story follows a protagonist who’s searching for solutions to some sort of illness he happened to acquire while fighting against a giant hatred-possessed boar. read more
May 1, 2013
FullmetalCowboy (All reviews)
*This is an archive from my Anime-Planet account*

Critic's Log - Earthdate: December 2, 2012. Review #24: Princess Mononoke

Throughout the months and days that I have been reviewing animes, I have been reviewing anime shows and OVA's, and I just previously reviewed one movie which would be Resident Evil: Degeneration. I will say that I was not originally planning on reviewing this movie this time around. I was actually hoping to do a series of reviews of Studio Ghibli films someday. This review was actually requested by a good friend of mine and today just so happens to be her birthday. She did not request the read more
Aug 27, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Mononoke Hime is a 1997 Studio Ghibli film written and directed by the legendary Miyazaki Hayao. It's also frequently brought up alongside Nausicaä & Spirited Away as one of Ghibli's classics. Does it hold up as well as those two films? Let's take a look.

Story:

We open in a small village coming under attack by a demon God, which looks kind of like a boar covered in small, squat tendrils. In order to protect his people, Prince Ashitaka rides into action. He manages to stop the rampaging beast, but its tendrils grasp his arm, leaving a scar that won't abate and continues to increase in read more
Nov 2, 2008
-FlameHaze- (All reviews)
Introduction
I feel as if i wasted 2 hour of my life watching this but I will try to review it fairly...

Story
Ok, it wasn't too slow moving and it wasn't too quick, bonus points for rating. It had a nice sort of nature vs ironforge vs empire sort of story. It wasn't simply good vs evil, nature and ironforge both had their fair points to war, bonus points. The princes adventure... fair story... But I think the biggest let down was my expectations of the whole..."The Star Wars of animated features" and besides that the cool action sort of action style cover...yea...I can no't recall more read more
Sep 9, 2016
Leafyos (All reviews)
I believe Princess Mononoke can be underrated as one of studio ghibli's films. Although movies like Spirited Away and Howl's Moving Castle are great, Princess Mononoke gives a different vibe that deals with the battle between man and nature. I really fell in love with the characters; San who tries to protect the forest along with her wolf tribe-family, and Ashitaka who takes no sides and wishes for peace. There's definitely scenes that I found scary as a child, but even now I'd get goosebumps when the movie takes a darker turn. I think the music fits well with the movie as it should, rich read more
Oct 23, 2014
ChrisMuser394 (All reviews)
Princess Mononoke was the second Ghibli Studio I ever saw, and to this day remains one of my most favourite works of all times and styles.

A cross-story of love and hate, nature and humanity cohabiting or failing to do so. The story of the wolves and the spirits of the forest is halting; their determination to fight, each of their respective personalities and their respective decisions as to HOW they will fight, were halting. The Mother Wolf fighting to protect her young ones, her forest, her home, despising the humans and then finally handing her only daughter over to one of them, handing her home read more
Jan 20, 2013
animelambie (All reviews)
Princess Mononoke is going to be difficult for me to talk about because it is such a perfect film. Probably Miyazaki’s magnum opus.

This is not to say that I favor Princess Mononoke over the film that would follow, Spirited Away. That film is Miyazaki’s other magnum opus. What I mean is that in looking at Hayao Miyazaki’s work, his ability and interests range from grand-scale, mature, fantasy epics in which the theme of man versus nature is the centerpiece to wonderland through the eyes of a child in which the child learns to grow and mature and come into their own read more
Apr 20, 2013
KingIK (All reviews)
Miyazaki has got be one of the greatest filmmakers of time. Not just anime, but films in general. Without a doubt, definitely in my top 5 directors of all time along with Scorsese, Kurosawa, Hitchcock, and Leone. Including Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke is one of his masterpieces. The plot here is about our main protagonist, Ashitaka, trying to find a cure for a curse given to him by a boar god, after an attack on his village. During his journey he meets a monk named Jigo, who tells him that his best chance to rid himself of the curse is to seek out read more
Jan 30, 2011
Cornholio77 (All reviews)
First off all, my FIRST Review ever and I would like to say: This was EPIC!

This Anime Movie is produced by Suzuki Toshio and directed by Miyazaki Hayao. Same couple that directed and produced the award-winning Spirited Away, and How's Moving Castle. This couple, have blessed us with the best and most known Anime Movies ever. And I'm personally very grateful for the experience I get from watching these.


Story: 10
The story was amazing, unique, exciting, warm and also, a little traditional.
It is Action, Adventure, Fantasy genres. I would say minor Romance as well.
Humans, spirits, demons, and conversations between them.

It's about a young prince (Ashitaka) read more
May 20, 2015
KaosReigns (All reviews)
This is likely one of the few animes that exist I will give the title "Masterpiece" to. There are a few reasons for this.

1) The story actually has substance. It isn't some little kid being sent off on a fool's errand to collect treasure or magical items.

2) You could consider this one of the more..... artistic works available. Think of old Disney vs new Disney. The solid outlines that bring definition to the characters.

3) Sound..... well this one is a personal thing, but sound doesn't actually matter to me. If I can tell read more
Jan 28, 2017
BluePhire1 (All reviews)
I'll make this review short and sweet. This is my favorite Ghibli film by a mile. I have only seen 2 others - Spirited Away and Howl's Moving Castle. This one is my favorite. It is the LOTR of anime for me.

Story 9/10
The only thing not really 10/10. The story isn't really original. It is the same as Avatar (the "blue people" movie) or really any story about humans encroaching on nature. But that isn't to say it is well told. The fantasy elements bring a nice touch and the story never drags.

Art 10/10
Not necessarily a 10/10 for today's standards, but this art does stand read more