Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Aku no Hana


Alternative Titles

English: Flowers of Evil
Synonyms: Aku no Hana
Japanese: 惡の華

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2013 to Jun 30, 2013
Premiered: Spring 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Zexcs
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.171 (scored by 44,974 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #30002
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #801
Members: 124,464
Favorites: 1,907

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 30, 2013
Polyphemus (All reviews)
DISCLAIMER: FOR THE SAKE OF THIS REVIEW I WILL BE OPERATING UNDER THE ASSUMTION THAT THERE IS AN UPCOMING SECOND SEASON. The anime said there would be a part two and I’ll trust that for now. If there is no season two then I'd have problems with the conclusion and the score would have to be lowered. But the anime created interest in the manga, they haven't exhausted the budget, they previewed pt. 2 scenes that they've supposedly finished, some of the most powerful scenes have yet to come, etc. At this point, it seems very safe to assume there will be a second season read more
Jul 6, 2013
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Whenever people watch a film or show, regardless if it’s anime or not, they want to be enticed into a deep and complex world that is full of mystery and wonder that they can solve for the benefit of their own humanity. It seems as though Aku no Hana was meant to be something that was going to be the “change” some people were looking for in the wake of entertainment controlling the masses. But boy did it fail at doing that on almost all accounts.

To get this out of the way, no the animation is not horrible. It is flawed yes, but not to read more
Feb 19, 2015
crawforda7x (All reviews)
I normally don't write reviews, but because this series got so much hate, I felt obligated to say something. I thoroughly enjoyed this series for many reasons. First I'll address the elephant in the room that got this series so much hate: the art style. At first I couldn't stand the art style myself. I thought it was going to ruin the series the minute I saw it, but to my own surprise I was completely wrong. After getting into the story, I felt the art style fir the show perfectly. By not having cartoon-looking characters, it made the show much more believable that these read more
Dec 25, 2013
Unbold (All reviews)
Aku no Hana is by far the most controversial Anime of the Spring Season 2013, receiving by far the most hate and still having quite a big fan base that does like it. Which one of the two sides arguing against each other is right?

Story: The story of Aku no Hana takes place in Japan and revolves around Kasuga Takao, a quite normal boy, who goes to school, loves books (especially Baudelaire's "Aku no Hana") and has a crush on what is supposed to be the beauty of the class. One day he finds her sport clothes as he wants to get the book read more
Jun 11, 2013
potatopet (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is not an anime for the fainthearted. It is the single most disturbing piece of fiction I have ever been witness to, and rightly deserves to be named a psychological horror.

But this is not an easy anime to watch, as it is broken and incoherent at times. What you can expect is a lot of cringe worthy moments which build an incredible tension that borders on fetishism. The protagonist is placed in a position of utter despair contrasted with sheer bliss. He goes from one to the other at a moments notice, further adding to the tension we are witness to.

Animation: read more
May 6, 2013
wtfisyourproblem (All reviews)
Preliminary
OVERALL-realistic plot, art and characters where everything is comprehensible, fitting music during the anime, unusual but cool end-theme
what does it make interesting? the realism combined with good characters, which make you experience intense emotions

STORY-I have to say that as far as I've seen it, the story is very good. It shows in a realistic scenario how a simple, impulsive action can bring one in a very ugly situation. There is an atmosphere of despair and hopelessness throughout the whole anime and you can basically feel the emotions of the characters.

ART-Well, the Art. What to say about it. It definitely is unusual. I wouldn't say that read more
Aug 24, 2013
Kjeldoran (All reviews)
"You piece of shit!" " Eat shit and die!" Nakamura constantly screams these words, or some variation of it. To whom, you ask? Mostly to Kasuga, the ever spineless and submissive male protagonist in the midst of budding puberty. To the audience as well, who silently watched Nakamura wither away in a boring, stagnant town, in which she chooses to embrace all that is depraved and immoral. Twisted, perverted, unnatural, yet oddly beautiful. Loathed by all who know her; loved by those who think they understand her. These are feelings towards Nakamura, or maybe befitting of the anime itself. It's awkward. It's dark. Frustrating and read more
Jun 29, 2013
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Aku no Hana's been the Spring season's most controversial title among anime fans and a great deal of that has to do with the anime's choice of animation style coming in the form of rotoscoping. I might as well address this issue before remarking on other aspects of the anime. Rotoscoping's been a controversial style of animation for years. While the style allows for one to animate more lifelike characters and movements, there are acclaimed animators that don't consider it a legitimate form of animation since live-action shots are animated over in order to accomplish the style and such animators think it kills creativity in read more
Jun 25, 2013
RadiumPoisoning (All reviews)
Preliminary
In most cases the manga for a story is better than the anime. What most people don't realize is how difficult it is to interpret a manga into an anime and still stay true to the story. Scenery in a manga doesn't translate very well into anime and most readers of manga could care less about how long it takes them to read a chapter.

Aku no Hana has received a lot of mixed ratings due to its slow pace and long annoying scenery shots. Most people comment about the rotoscoped animation or the fact that the characters don't have big read more
Jul 24, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Aku no Hana was originally a manga written by Oshimi Shuzo, named for a collection of poems from the French poet, Charles Baudelaire. The anime adaptation was written by Itami Aki. It's a psychological drama, which is a genre I like when handled well. Of course, it's usually not. The adaptation was handled by Zexcs. The only anime I've seen that they were involved in have been Mushi-shi and My-Hime. Which is somewhat encouraging, but there were other studios responsible for the major aspects of those anime. So I have no conception as to what a work they're primarily working on might be like. I read more
May 11, 2013
tsubagakure (All reviews)
Preliminary
Confronted with this dark-realistic and melancholic Japan, i find myself somewhat comfortable and flowing. Pacing on the impulses that the story gives, it feels irresistible to try not to break through Kasuga's soliloquy and Nakamura's obsession.

So far the story fulfills the void in which we seem to fall and the music emphasizes it amazingly well.
the animation is, in my opinion, superb! though you may find a new depiction world in these lines and colors, one mirroring nearly reality, and many people will not be able to embrace it.
The characters definitely catch your eyes being something you see day after day. Erupting their emotions from a read more
Jul 3, 2013
Asfaria (All reviews)
The psychological genre is my favorite genre in anime. I love the emotions characters show as they go through the ups and downs and trials and tribulations of the story. Unlike many people who hate the “real life” backgrounds and scenery or the fact that the characters are “ugly”, the thing I hate most about this show is the lack of emotion shown by the characters which I have come to love from similar psychological stories.

I started Aku no Hana shortly after the season ended not knowing what to expect and with no idea whether I would hate it or love it. I had been read more
Aug 18, 2013
Kaan1234567890 (All reviews)
Well, frankly best psychological anime I have seen in years, though I am not a big watcher of the kind. I am out of words really, because anime tells so much I feel like telling any feeling, any detail would be a spoiler. I will attempt to summarize what I have seen in this anime that makes it different from the other stuff out there. Then I will try to touch more specific issuses like story, art etc.

What makes it different overall?

First things first, this anime is NOT for enjoying your leisure time; because they use visual imagery both as the narrator of the story read more
Apr 14, 2015
androgyny (All reviews)
When it comes to the latest and greatest TV shows, sometimes I feel - as Nakamura would put it - like I'm "drowning in a sea of shit".

My 10/10 rating is ultimately based on this show's potential. Ah, what could have been. It's obvious from the final episode that the creators had every intention to make a second season. Based on the manga, the second season would have been earth-shattering. This first season was just laying the foundation for all that excitement - and what a great job it did!

Let me say, the flack this show gets totally goes over my head. Poor adaptation? Are read more
Aug 14, 2013
Deadlightanime (All reviews)
Teenage angst, love triangles, and melodrama are all really tacky aspects for a series to handle, but if there’s one series that does a near impeccable job handling these aspects, it’s Aku no Hana.

The pacing is slow. It’s really, really, really slow, but it works. It works brilliantly. It was a little jarring at first with how slow events were taking place, but then it became clear that this show just would have never worked if it paced itself faster. Aku no Hana takes its time building up the atmosphere, beautifully fleshing out the characters and bringing them to life. Aku no Hana doesn’t like read more
Jul 3, 2013
Orsonius (All reviews)
Zexcs has probably done the most bold thing of the season by animating Shuuzou Oshimis manga, Aku no Hana.

Apparently the manga was quite popular in advance and many people were looking forward to the adaptation. Yet after the first episode an uproar of many angry fans has shaken the industry. People were pissed and the show suddenly went to the lowest rated TV series on MAL.

I on the other hand finished the episode and it left quite a good impression on me. After I went to the forums I saw the gigantic flame war and was confused. Why are people so mad?

The answer lies in read more
Jul 20, 2013
5camp (All reviews)
I appreciate anime trying something a little different when it's appropriate. Flowers of Evil is a pretty good example of the kind of manga you should be doing this with. A teenage boy idolises a pretty girl in his class but then gets roped into stealing her gym clothes by nothing more than his own secret desire to defile her. It's a reactionary piece to trends in popular culture that references a 19th century poem which was also a reactionary piece to trends in poetry and art at the time. The mangaka didn't want a straight adaptation of his work, and only accepted when the read more
Jun 30, 2013
TrustyFryingPan (All reviews)
Either the worst eyesore you have ever witnessed in your entire life, or your salvation from a miserable existence without ever having witnessed this gracious account of a teenage boy's descent into evil. In the "Reviews" section of this fairly revolutionary-wise visual presentation, those are the only two kinds of reviews you will ever find. In the "Ratings" section, however, you will find a wide range of different people, who have either enjoyed, endured, or dropped this newly classic saga of adolescence. Those traitors! How could they have rated Aku no Hana as anything BUT a 9.0 or higher?! How could they have not savored read more
Jun 10, 2013
LunoA96 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Aku no Hana is the sort of anime that makes you feel nasty inside, but you still feel like you have to know what happens next - like looking at gore for the first time, it's real and it scares you, but you're so curious as to how it looks, that you keep exposing yourself to it.

Now, Aku no Hana's plot thus far can be noted as impressive. The continuity of themes and information is all there. If you start watching this anime sometime after the 1st episode, I guarantee you won't know what's going on. It is also well paced, making sure that the read more
Oct 19, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Flowers of Evil is a coming of age story that borrows its title from the very famous volume of poems by Charles Baudelaire. This was based on a successful manga and directed by the same guy that did Mushishi. These elements seem like they would combine to make an absolute masterpiece of universal acclaim...unfortunately that isn't quite what happened.

Production:

When the original mangaka, Shuzo Oshimi, talked to director Hiroshi Nagahama, they had some creative differences that in my opinion adversely affected the anime. Nagahama felt that the story was very personal and realistic, so it would lend itself more towards a stage production or perhaps a read more