Nagi no Asu kara


A Lull in the Sea

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: A Lull in the Sea
Synonyms: Nagi no Asukara, Nagiasu
Japanese: 凪のあすから

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2013 to Apr 3, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Thursdays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: P.A. Works
Source: Original
Genres: DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy, RomanceRomance
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.101 (scored by 187387187,387 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4272
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #263
Members: 456,768
Favorites: 8,849
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 8, 2014
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
The age-old idiom of "don't judge a book by its cover" never ceases to amaze me. Every so often you come across an anime that just blows your expectations out of the water and delivers something completely different. In the case of Nagi no Asukara, on the surface (or below the surface in this case) it mostly looks like yet another done-to-death high-school romcom. Consequently, if there was one thing I didn't expect coming into this, it'd be that it turned out to be the most beautiful anime TV-series I've seen aired since 2011.


--Story--
Nagi no Asukara (or Nagi-Asu for short) takes place in a fantasy read more
Apr 16, 2014
Palkaline (All reviews)
I made sure I watched it until the end even though I wanted to die, so that people would not say that I hated it just because I missed the best part.
It was crap from start to end, they took a nice idea about a fantasy world that could totally become decent and turned it into the most senseless idiocy about "love", a kid's fairytale with no goal whatsoever.

The best ideas such as enviroment and history were completely skipped and left unexplained, the setting under the sea could become absolutely awesome and they botched it, because instead of adjusting it to the situation read more
May 22, 2014
lollith (All reviews)
Moderator Edit: This review may contain spoilers.

When I first saw the description for Nagi No Asukara I really didn't know what to expect. The synopsis didn't really give off much of an idea of what this show was going to be like. So thinking that Nagi no Asukara would be another cheesy romantic comedy. I began watching with low expectations. Little did I know that what I was about to watch would be one of the most enjoyable slice of life anime I have seen in a long time.

A long time ago people lived read more
May 5, 2014
tukky12 (All reviews)
First a little background, having just watched Golden Time, I was on the look out for something new to watch and first came across Nagi no Asukara in the suggestions list. At a first glance at the anime and having read its description, I thought perhaps it could be worthwhile and decided to chance it. It didn't disappoint at all, this show was magical from start to finish and I couldn't have been happier to have stumbled across this gem. It certainly ranks among my top 7 favourite anime.

This show is a "slice of life, fantasy and romance" show in a nutshell, however it takes read more
Nov 1, 2015
defunctmaluser (All reviews)
Oh, I'm not gonna make myself any new friends with this review. PA Works is one of those studios that you either praise the shit out of or you just don't give a rat's ass about. Even for the number of "successes" that they've had in the past, I don't really find myself feeling anything but indifference toward the bulk of stuff that they've produced. Hell, I'm surprised I found myself giving this show a negative review. Granted, I've never truly liked a single show that they've ever released. PA Works' programmes aren't as visually enticing as A-1 Pictures', they're nowhere near as emotionally involving read more
Apr 7, 2014
AzureHakua (All reviews)
P.A. Works is known for delivering shows chock full of drama in a school setting; however, different from shows like Hanasaku Iroha and Tari Tari, romance is the primary focus in Nagi no Asukara. Why does this matter? Because P.A. Works really nailed it on the head with the drama this time around, and romance might have been the reason why. Compared to other romances, Nagi no Asukara's unique setting combined with its compelling cast of characters makes Nagi no Asukara a fresh entry into the established school romance genre.

Nagi no Asukara's setting revolves around two worlds: the land above the sea and Shioshishio, the read more
Apr 3, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
The ocean is a mass and mysterious place. It seems to be endless and stretches beyond our imaginations with its vast amount of creatures that lives within. If I was to live in the ocean, the possibilities would be endless to how my life would change. But in the world of Nagi no Asukara, living in the waters is not an uncommon sight to see. No, in fact it’s a way of life for sea people like Hikari Sakishima and Manaka Mukaido. Nagi No Asukara chronicles the lives of a group of young people as they go through stages of childhood, adolescence, and maturity that read more
Aug 8, 2014
mystrumpet (All reviews)
Since there are only good reviews about this anime, I thought it only fair to add in one that focused on the bad aspects of it. Keep in mind that this is only my opinion and that everyone is entitled to their own.

Let me start off with what I liked about the anime.

Art: 10/10
The art style was one that I'd never seen before, therefore it was very refreshing and overall very pleasing. Since turquoise blue is my favourite colour, the art was really a gold mine for me, seeing as all of the characters who come from the sea have turquoise coloured eyes. read more
Apr 16, 2014
Jammin_Rabbit (All reviews)
If I had to define "beautiful" with an anime, I would have to say Nagi no Asukara.

The anime industry often has a tough time dealing with the idea of love. Very few have ever portrayed it correctly, and even then it's difficult to move us. They either fall flat because of pacing issues or the plot fails to convey a character's motivation causing climactic moments seem melodramatic or forced. Nagi no Asukara doesn't face these issues. In fact, the show has been one of the most well-paced anime I have ever seen in terms of character and plot development. I will get to that soon read more
Mar 7, 2020
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
"Love is like the ocean. Not only happiness and endearment, but feelings of sorrow and pain mingle together, bringing into life new emotions. "

"Fate and destiny don't exist. It all begins from your actions."

Nagi no Asu kara ( A Lull in the Sea ) is a beautiful story that tells the tale about the love between humans beneath the sea and people on the surface. Mainly focusing on a group of childhood friends who were forced to attend a school on the surface. They faced many challenges in life as their surroundings began to alter.

1 year ago I dropped this anime after read more
Apr 19, 2015
theflogat (All reviews)
Nagi no Asukara is a story about two races of humans. One of them lives on Earth the second in the sea. I've got to say, the setting is actually a great one and can give birth to a good story but it failed to do so.

Story: 3/10
As stated before, the setting is original. The plot line however fails to bring forth anything. To put it in simple terms, it was crap from start to end. Basically, we follow a few youngsters and their romance. There is no goal whatsoever and the romance isn't even properly developped. They completely scrapped the idea within the setting read more
Apr 3, 2014
wumbmasta (All reviews)
Nagi no Asukara Review:

Are ya ready kids? I can’t hear youuu!!! OHHHH!!! Who lives in a village under the sea? Hikari Sakishima! Ill-tempered, in love, tsundere is he! Hikari Sakishima!
Joking aside, my first impression of this show was that it was going to be just another slice of life anime, this time set in Bikini Bottom rather than in your average high school… Oh how wrong I was. Nagi no Asukara turned out to be sooo much more, and is not only currently my personal favorite show of 2014 so far, but also a future classic if enough people are smart enough to decide to read more
Jul 4, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

Well, for anyone who is a fan of the romantic drama genre, Nagi no Asukara (or “A Lull in the Sea”) is definitely a must watch. Personally though, I have never been a big fan of the genre for a wide variety of reasons, including its dependence on sappy melodrama, the abundance of clichés, and a lack of general depth in the plotlines. However, after witnessing the massive influx of monumental praise for this series, I couldn't resist giving it a try. Quite frankly, it's not hard to see why this anime received such high praise; beautiful animation, memorable characters (sort of), a read more
Apr 17, 2014
yeslelno123 (All reviews)
This anime was rather dull and childish. "Emotions" and "change". This didn't really carry any message with it except the repetition of these two motives that aren't even deeply explored. Same shit you see everywhere except that here they actually even managed to contradict themselves a few times and have opinions that are logically wrong. Did they reach any conclusions on either of the subjects they tried to explore? Oh gosh they did, "the world is filled with beautiful shining emotions that are passed down and surpass time". A lot of attempts to be serious sound like a badly written essay of a 14 year read more
Oct 12, 2014
MeowPower (All reviews)
STORY
The story may seem like a typical romance, with a sea people twist, but it's so much more. At first, it was focused on the children and their feelings for each other and the surface. But as the children realized they were apart of something much bigger, the series was about accepting change and how some people wish for it and some fear it. More importantly, I thought this series told a good mixture of fantasy romance quite well. I loved the characters and was interested in the story's lore. The themes of unrequited love, change, and acceptance, were mashed around well. But, there lies read more
Nov 2, 2014
Takuya_Kanbara04 (All reviews)
Presenting a Phantomhive review of [Nagi no Asukara] for your reading pleasure.

Story(9): Nagi no Asukara has a very interesting story that will convey both heart warming moments and heart breaking moments. Much of the story is strongly driven by romantic entanglements of the various characters present. In a world where there are two types of Humans in the form of land dwellers and sea dwellers, when 4 sea dwelling teenagers are forced to attend school alongside land dwellers; the internal struggles as well as the emotional impact of trying to adapt to the new situation, results in an interesting Slice of Life type of drama. read more
Oct 23, 2019
captjoe213 (All reviews)
Robert's Too Late Reviews rolling through again! Get the tissues out for this one folks, because it's a total tearjerker. I am, as tradition, reviewing the dubbed version. Nagi no Asu kara has such movement, such deep character arcs and tense drama that I wholeheartedly recommend this anime to anyone. Let's go fishing and break this thing down.

Story: 10
As the synopsis states, this series is set in a time when humanity, who were all native Sea People, have split off to live their lives on the surface. This migration of people from the ocean to terra firma causes a deep, and lasting, schism between read more
Jul 30, 2014
Meshi_chan (All reviews)
A lot of my friends were talking about Nagi no Asukara and at that time, I haven't started it. I wasn't very interested. But, as long time progress, I tried it. And I was mind blown. P.A Works have done a really, really great job by making this.

Story : Well, you might considered the background story a bit strange when you first watched it and then you raised your eyebrows. I mean, underwater villagers? It's a bit strange right? But, I promise you, with that kind of background, you'll be super amazed as the story progressed.

Nagi no Asukara served you a really interesting drama read more
Dec 27, 2014
jdbe (All reviews)
Harem anime's are very popular aren't they? Some create a real frenzy when it comes to fans "shipping" certain relationships, in which a certain sect of the audience drool at the sight of a certain relationship developing. But with any drama, unpredictably can arise, and Nagi no Asukara really does break the harem stereotype.

Nagi no Asukara follows the story of Hikari and friends, whom live in an underwater city called Shioshishio from the help of Ena (a skin covering helping them breathe underwater). It documents them making the jump from going to school in the sea to on the surface, as well as showing the read more
Jun 12, 2015
nasebear (All reviews)
I struggle to understand how others enjoyed this when I couldn't. The concept was great. It really was and I wanted to know how they'd explain the mechanics of the sea village. For example, how was gravity working to keep they food from floating out of their bowls and mingling with the sea. What did they do with trash and bodily waste?

But they never focused on those and instead spent an entire 26 episodes dragging out the romantic drama between various characters. I'm Sorry, but I live in Japan and the 14 year olds here are not so wrought with frustration, full of deep reflecting read more