Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tokyo Ravens


Alternative Titles

English: Tokyo Ravens
Japanese: 東京レイヴンズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 9, 2013 to Mar 26, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2013
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: 8bit
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.671 (scored by 133,083 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12342
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #313
Members: 296,649
Favorites: 1,776

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 26, 2014
wumbmasta (All reviews)
Tokyo Ravens Review:

Sometimes shows come around that are completely generic and average on paper, but are unusually fun to watch. Looking at my 6 score for this show, many of you may think I didn't think the show was good. But this couldn't be further from the truth. Tokyo Ravens wasn't groundbreaking, memorable, or brilliant. In fact, it was pretty a pretty generic fantasy action anime with romance elements which is why I withhold too high of a score. However, Tokyo Ravens is without a doubt a very enjoyable show.

Story - 7.1:
Where Tokyo Ravens' story shines isn't through it's rather generic premise or predictable read more
Mar 31, 2015
Kaaviken (All reviews)
I´ll admit that I fell pretty stupid for putting this anime on hold for such a long time. As it started of with a meh and ended with a YEAH, this anime was surprisingly fun to watch.

As I started watching this anime, I had a feeling that the main character Harutora was going to be one of those boring mains to watch in the long run, but as I kept following the story, it became more and more interesting to follow this boring main and his friends. Taking on enemy after enemy, trying to become powerful shamans (exorcists) was only a fraction of what the read more
Mar 25, 2014
Jequ (All reviews)
-I'm going to skip the synopsis as you can go ahead and read that on your own - I'm strictly writing a review as to my reaction when watching Tokyo Ravens-

To be honest, when I first began watching this show I felt as though I was lacking originality, in both character and story. The originality wasn't so bad like 'I've seen it a million times' sort of deal, but It was interesting enough to make me want to watch the next episode. The characters seemed overdone and over the top, opening with the feisty chick friend of the male protagonist picking on him and his read more
Mar 25, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
There’s a saying that goes something like this: “two wrongs don’t make a right”. In Tokyo Ravens, this doesn’t apply as onmyouji magic is accepted by society as a form of dealing with spirits and apparitions in general. The show builds itself with the basic concepts and principles of a modern fantasy involving characters dealing with onmyouji, otherworldy beings that have been causing trouble in Japan. While most anime involving magic is forbidden, Tokyo Ravens takes the liberty to accept it as a form of art. Thus begins the adventurous tale of Harutora Tsuchimikado as he learns the truth about the world he lives in.

Tokyo read more
Mar 25, 2014
Satire (All reviews)
There's a certain feeling of mediocrity that arises from simply looking at Tokyo Ravens. It doesn't really look like anything new, innovative, or fresh. Despite its generic appearance Tokyo Ravens still manages to do what it's supposed to: entertain.

As far as story goes, there really isn't much of an intricate, deep, or immersive plot. The story is pretty sub par for a good amount of the first half, adhering to countless generic cliches like the childhood friend promise, amnesia, and what have you. Although it gets better during the second half, it's still not anything amazing. The key aspects that make the second half read more
Mar 15, 2015
KinoCowboy (All reviews)
I generally try to have an open mind when it comes to anime, and when I start a new series I attempt to take as few preconceptions into it as possible. That said, when I started Tokyo Ravens I had already pretty much given up on it. The promotional artwork and brief synopsis I read, while somewhat interesting, gave me the vague impression of a mediocre anime with throwaway characters and a wasted chance at a good plot. I write this review in an attempt to dispel those misconceptions in anyone else.

Tokyo Ravens, an anime with a plot initially not too unfamiliar involving magic users read more
May 5, 2014
Bz (All reviews)
I liked it overall, to be honest.

The story itself, I feel is pretty unique, I rarely see any anime with elements of Shaman besides Shaman King but I will admit that I haven't watch enough anime to actually warrant it unique. But, there were times whereby you would feel it's rushed in some episodes. I personally feel that some instances of the show might not have been explained properly. (I looked it up the forum to see what actually happened as some people read the light novel and kindly explained it in the forum.)

I personally like the art, animation of the characters and especially the read more
Dec 12, 2014
Cosmicblaze454 (All reviews)
Tokyo Ravens is surprisingly not entirely about ravens. Tokyo Ravens is about shamanism infused in the modern world. This show is apparently average at best but it did not fail to entertain me. In the end, I really enjoyed it.

Tokyo Ravens has no major problems in the story but its exposition sometimes is tedious. First half can be lacking in actual story and action but it was justified by the second half. The characters are created well but development seems rushed sometimes. Drama in Tokyo Ravens is basically the story’s weakest point. A good example of this is when Tenma was guilty in the Douman read more
Aug 26, 2014
Solcast59 (All reviews)
When I first heard of Tokyo Ravens from my friend, I was like OMG! I'm so going to watch it. But then, my expectations of this show died as the series progress. I was practically lost and confused as the series moved along which is something I don't like. Tokyo Ravens is not bad, but it's not good either. It is mediocre at best.

Story: 5/10

This show is about a teenage guy named Harutora who can't see spiritual spirits like his family. Then he met his childhood friend and the Onmyoji drama starts from there. Afterwards he moved to Tokyo and attended a school read more
Apr 3, 2014
korison (All reviews)
Preliminary
Expectations are scary...They can greatly influence someone's opinion on a show! If going into it with really high expectations, it can end up being way more disappointing! If you go into it with really low expectations, you might even end up enjoying it! I personally always try to watch with an open mind and try to not get hyped for a show too much so I can still enjoy it! For this particular show though, it is the exact opposite of my example earlier! This show did not end up being way worse than I had expected but the other way around! Ladies and read more
Mar 29, 2014
Nasty001 (All reviews)
*This Review Contains Spoilers*

Well then, that was a bitter sweet ending, so the anime has ended and quite frankly, I was part ecstatic but also part dissapointed as to how this 24 anime has come about, so I'm just gonna get down to the point, ORDER!!!!!


Story and enjoyment: Good 7.

Ok, it might be just your typical good vs evil run of the mill plot, where magic was involved. But unlike the typical run of the mill kinda thing, this has has romance that involves an incest where it was among cousins and it has a lot of suspenses as to how each climax comes about read more
Jun 18, 2014
TempestOfSpades (All reviews)
Ah, surprises. Don't we all love them? Whether good or bad, they always add something in our life - something that spices it up and moves it out of the monotone stillness we are ever so used to.

Good surprises are common, and usually with very little significance attached to them. However, a slight surprise can put a smile on your face and leave you in awe of our large world.

When I first started watching this series, I expected a typical shouen that would keep me entertained for a while. I really liked the magic system present in this show, along with its impeccable execution. read more
May 17, 2016
Kyantoweru (All reviews)
Tokyo Ravens is often described as a prototypical high-school fantasy style anime. While the description is accurate, it is far and away better than most of the stereotypical high-school fantasy anime that are rolled off the factory line every year. Tokyo Ravens does an outstanding job creating a universe in which you feel fully connected to both the past, present and future of many of the characters and their world. Although I do not do much reading of manga or light novels, I will be pick up the Tokyo Ravens light novel where the anime left off as the anime leaves little closure.

{Story} - Easily read more
Aug 9, 2015
animegirlism (All reviews)
I've loved magic since the time I was a child. I don't know why but I always dreamed of having some cool powers, being able to cast spells etc. That's the reason I, for instance, love Harry Potter, Avatar, I used to love Winx, and now I came across an awesome anime that is also about magic. This time, as promised, I have for you Tokyo Ravens.

Plot and Storyline
In the beginning of this story we have the main character Harutora, a boy born in the prestigious Onmyoji (Magic) family Tsuchimikado. Although born in such a family he still isn't able to see "spirit read more
Feb 17, 2015
BritishAnimeGirl (All reviews)
As I don't actually use reviews when decided whether or not to watch or read something, my reviews probably aren't that helpful, I just use them to say what I like and what I didn't like.
Sorry :/

Honestly, I started watching this anime because it was on my to watch list and it looked good, that's all there is to it.
After the first episode, I was hooked, sometimes it takes me a lot longer to decided but with this I knew straight away I would love it.
And I did, I really like anime with magic and that fantasy element so this one was up my alley.
I read more
Apr 21, 2014
fadinglotus (All reviews)
Excuse me in advance for there will be minor use of profane language; I do not intend to offend anyone or anything. However, given that the review guidelines only consider the use of "crap" every three words, profane, I think (...I hope) I will be all right.

Crap...crap...goose!

Alright. Attempted humour spree go!

It was the best of anime; it was the worst of anime.

Now when I say that, I mean it. This is probably the most conflicted I've ever been about an anime. Half of me is like this was awesome, and half of me is like...what the hell is the other half of me talking about.

All read more
Oct 16, 2015
Darkskies (All reviews)
Here's an easy review to sum up the strengths and weaknesses of Tokyo Ravens--SPOILER FREE for your enjoyment!

OVERALL--
Tokyo Ravens takes about five episodes before it really finds its footing; however, once it does, this show progresses with a great pace that will keep viewers interested through all 24 episodes! The ending is slightly open to interpretation, but comes to a satisfying conclusion. It leaves the viewer ready to continue on with the characters into their next big adventure, while still bringing the current story arc to a close. Overall, a very enjoyable show and well worth the watch!

MAGIC SYSTEM--
A huge part of this anime is read more
Jul 17, 2015
nnarcus (All reviews)
OBSERVE : A score below 7 doesn't mean its bad, it means whatever that score originally is supposed to represent. Score five is mediocre. That means that you will still probably get some enjoyment out of it.

RATING: 7.68 - Read rest of my review/rant to see my reasons why

- - - - - - - - -

As many others have mentioned, this anime starts off quite weak with a rather non-unique setting, but then during its second act has a very, very exciting plot development that keeps you striving for more. Although unfortunately, there isn't anything more, and you are left with a read more
Apr 3, 2014
Marthgun (All reviews)
If you are planning on watching this series, you should be aware that its packed full of drama and romance. Even amid the wild action scenes and slice of life school backdrop, it's intention is to cause emotional reactions from its viewers.

I usually avoid shows like this b/c i don't like to feel down or depressed after watching sometihing, and that is exactly how you will feel unless you are an akuma.

I would say the drama is a little over the top as well, overplayed, drawn out and a little confusing. And that leads me to the second point i'd like to make.

This read more
Dec 6, 2014
TheEmptySky (All reviews)
This is a story where one of the main characters is one of extraordinary birth. They are born as the reincarnation of a legendary magician. The main cast consists of 6 magic students and a teacher. There is Harutora, Natsume, Touji, Kyouko, Suzuka, Tenma, and Jin. Each character has their own secrets that is gradually brought to light for the viewer. They all get to know each other better as they go through some comedic moments. While the plot does seem very overused, which makes the story seem lacking...until episode 13. That is where the plot picks read more