Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Zettai Karen Children: The Unlimited - Hyoubu Kyousuke


Alternative Titles

English: Unlimited Psychic Squad
Synonyms: The Unlimited Hyobu Kyosuke
Japanese: 絶対可憐チルドレン THE UNLIMITED 兵部京介

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2013 to Mar 26, 2013
Premiered: Winter 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Manglobe
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.631 (scored by 41,133 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1062
Members: 94,128
Favorites: 320

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 25, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
When I first started watching this series, I originally thought, “Oh, it's just another anime with cool guys and girls using superpowers and flying around like Superman-wannabees.”. Of course, that was before I watched its parent story, Zettai Karen Children. But more so, it was before I fully embraced the spinoff known as Zettai Karen Children: The Unlimited - Hyoubu Kyousuke. This new piece of work that Manglobe is presenting here could be defined as their latest line in their evolution of supernatural phenomenon. In fact, Zettai Karen Children: The Unlimited takes supernatural with a world of super powers and transforms it into profound read more
Mar 25, 2013
Irenesharda (All reviews)
Preliminary
I waited until the end of the series to write my review, and all I have to say: This is one of the most underrated and also best animes of this year. Yes, I know that it's only winter season, but I don't care, I am going to steadfastly stand by that declaration. I have been watching anime for quite some years now, and I've seen some really good ones and some really bad ones. I've seen some that touch my heart and some that make me cringe. However, I have never had one that has consistently from beginning to end, roped me in and read more
Feb 4, 2013
Nipsirc (All reviews)
Preliminary
Why is know one watching this show? Literally not one person i know has even considered it.

I've not watched much of the original Zettai Karen Children, the age of the cast, and tone of the show, suggested i wasn't going to get remotely near 50+ episode interest levels.

But both short comings are now gone, the show is an appealing 12 episodes, the original cast are all several years older and supporting characters, with a significantly older cast put in place, and the tone seems far more serious. Think the difference between Fate Zero and Fate/Stay Night.

Any prior knowledge of the franchise seems completely read more
Feb 17, 2015
B3astpwn (All reviews)
This anime is 12 episodes long. It's fast paced with lots of action scenes, sarcastic moments, sad moments, pretty much everything. When i first saw the first episode i knew i was going to enjoy this anime. It has that compassion side towards it, where not many action anime's have it so early into the anime.

Story 9/10

I've rated the story 9/10 because for starters, it's 12 episodes long. It's fast paced which i like especially for a short series. The plot makes sense, and the pace is very smooth.

Art 10/10

The art you see in this anime may remind you of the newer animes, like read more
Mar 26, 2013
Toucanbird (All reviews)
The Unlimited - Hyoubu Kyousuke: It Has Its Limits

Zettai Karen Children: The Unlimited was actually one of the more surprisingly good series I watched out of the Winter 2013 lineup. One of the nice things about this series is while it does have the Zettai Karen Children name slapped to this series, you don't actually have to watch the original Zettai Karen Children to understand the story. I certainly hope that didn't deter anyone from watching this series, because it nearly deterred me since I originally had no interest in the series. I originally thought you had to watch the first Zettai Karen Children to read more
Mar 5, 2013
komic (All reviews)
Preliminary
(First review so you know the drill with these. not going to go into sound art and the other stuff, cause quite frankly I can't judge them).

When I first heard that Zettai Karen Children was getting a new anime I was delighted. Having read all the current chapters and watch the first series and OVA, I was disappointed to heard that it was going to be a spin-off. However that was soon changed after watching it.

Based during the time skip of the manga (when they went from elementary to middle school), the story following Andy Hinomiya as he joins Pandra, a esper terrorist group. read more
Feb 27, 2018
LightningComet (All reviews)
This review will spoil nothing outside of the first episode.

That said, the first episode has a great twist at the end that will likely have you raising your eyebrows in curiosity and shock, hopefully hooking you into it as it did me. Additionally, it's a super introduction to the series, so check it out if you know absolutely nothing about this show or the characters; it introduces the main cast, provides a taste of the series' dark tone, has a stellar climax, and a plot twist at the end to boot. Give it a shot, and then come back if you want to know what read more
Jan 31, 2019
Setrin (All reviews)
Preliminary
I got about halfway through this before I had to bail.

REVIEW NOTE: I only remember the name of our first main character, Kyousuke and didn't really bother to go back and look the rest up. I may edit this review to reflect that later.

The show starts off really interesting, with one of our main characters being chased down by the military and taking down troops, tanks, and helicopters by himself with a barrage of psychic powers. This showed off the show's one truly great aspect- the animation good and the actions scenes are kickass. However, then this same guy turns himself in to a prison read more
Aug 28, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Zettai Karen Children: The Unlimited- Hyoubu Kyousuke is a shounen anime based on a manga by Shiina Takashi. The studio behind this adaptation of the series was handled by Manglobe, the studio behind Deadman's Wonderland, Samurai Champloo and Ergo Proxy, along with a bunch of things I haven't seen. I have no idea what to expect from this one. I'd describe that as intriguing, but the last time I expressed excitement at watching something completely unfamiliar I ended up watching Cheesesteak Suppository. Let's just take a look.

The story of Zettai Karen Children: Unlimited, henceforth referred to in this review as ZKC:U for the sake of read more
Feb 14, 2013
Fate25 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Score: 8/10

"Hyoubu Kyousuke is just freaking cool"

I'm very surprised, at the lack of reviews for this anime avaliable at myanimelist.net. Since this is a pretty good show, evidenced by the average high score by the reviews at myanimelist.net

Maybe viewers avoided this show due to the name "Zettai Karen Children". An anime with a more kiddy style, aiming for a lower age group. From what I have seen from "Zettai" (which isn't much to be honest). "The Unlimited" could almost be a separate anime itself, Art style, Pacing, Character Design and Music are all different. Maybe the action sequences are similar in that the battles are read more
Feb 7, 2017
Ketamigo (All reviews)
First things first:

This is a standalone anime. By no means do you have to know anything about the original series to understand or enjoy this one. In fact, I never had even heard of the original series, and when I did look into it, it seemed totally out of my interest zones due to the Loli and little girl bullshit. I hate cutesy anime, and I don't even really like typical Shonen/fighting anime, so I don't plan on watching it anytime soon.

The unlimited is, sadly, relatively unknown and therefore under appreciated.
It's equal parts mystery, fighting and alternative history, and it does almost read more
Jun 20, 2016
NG_Chloe (All reviews)
I was browsing crunchyroll one day and cane across the unlimited Hyoubu Kyousuke. The description had sold me when it mentioned a silver hair, which for me Silver/white hair is my favorite color of hair. I had no idea what to expect when entering this series.

So what I got was awesome. Hyobu is an extremely entertaining character who is not only OP he also tends to be a bit of a troll. Though his can character can be very serious at times in the later parts.

The co-star of our story is Andy Hinomiya (a guy who looks strangely like Shun Asanaga from Endride), a character read more
Mar 29, 2013
Arixaya (All reviews)
First: I didnt watch more then 1 ep of the original "Zettai Karen Children" and in my opinion it is not necessary to do so. This spinoff is nothing like it.

The Anime has an overall "Dark" feeling, and you will like to watch it if you like :
→ mysterious powers
→ badass (esper) guys fighting, maybe not for the world peace, but for esper freedom ^^
→ to solve the secret behind unlimited Power!
→ a great storyline and explanation about how espers got introduced into the present society


Its the story about Hyobu, and how he started to read more
May 8, 2015
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Unlimited Hyobu Kyosuke is a spinoff to Zettai Karen Children that tones down on much of the comedy to the series, focuses more on its darker and serious elements, and shifts major focus from the Children of BABEL to our series titular anti-hero and his comrades among the esper resistance organization known as PANDRA. An esper by the name of Andy Hinomiya with the power to negate esper powers winds up joining PANDRA during one of Kyosuke's missions, being a secret agent sent to infiltrate the organization and finding his loyalties to come into question as he becomes more acquainted with PANDRA's familial environment and read more
Jun 11, 2013
Notalice (All reviews)
I have yet to finish the original but The Unlimited H.K. is pretty stand alone as its spin-off focusing on Kyousuke, a sort of enigmatic criminal from Zettai Karen Children. Despite the somewhat lack of depth in plot, character development and just not exploring all the settings to the full extent, there're a few things I really like in this series.

First the protagonist is ideally imperfect, strong and likable. His character is significantly enriched through the 2 episodes about his past as well as throughout the entire anime where he takes on a lot of burden to protect his crew. Here, the flashbacks are read more
Apr 21, 2013
rightyjen (All reviews)
One of the most important things that I loved about this series was that although it was a spin-off, you did not need to watch the original series, Zettai Karen Children, to understand the storyline. In fact, having not watched the original may make this series all the more enjoyable to watch because everything will be new and you’ll be able to watch without previously formed opinions.

The artwork is extremely visually appealing. It leaved the childish, overly cartoon-like appearance of the original Zettai Karen Children and enters a more realistic and alluring style. The characters are drawn with dramatic features that draw you in and read more
Mar 26, 2013
Kruh (All reviews)
Zettai Karen Children: The Unlimited - Hyoubu Kyousuke.
Such a long name for this short anime :P.
Anyways I enjoyed every bit. :)
If you like some super strong Main Characters with Super Powers, Fighting for there own kind, You will surely like ZKC: The Unlimited.

The Story was good, Not gonna complain on that. I gave it a passing 7.

The Art was good, Nicely designed. Colorful, Beautiful Environment.
A big 7.

Sound, I liked the OST, The sounds we're good. Not much to say about it. 7.

The Characters, They we're Okay. Different. Unique, But I didn't enjoy them as much I did for some other Anime, Although, I gave it read more
May 15, 2014
icloudy (All reviews)
ok what i can say..
first of all the one thing that made me gave those high rates is Hyoubu Kyousuke and no one but him..

the story really not that fabulous or interesting at all, I was able to completeits the Series bc of kyosuke -this guy make go crazy xD literally-

i enjoyed watching kyusuke, listen to his voice, looking at his eyes and believing in his words (︶ω︶)
i actually don't Recommend it , BUT if you like character with white hair evil eyes and with yusa kouji voice >v< than you must watch it!
Feb 27, 2013
Aloha101 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am really enjoying this anime. It is visually awesome, the story is pretty good and the characters are likeable for the most part. I have only just watched episode 7 so cant really say its great just yet as it could all go horribly wrong but the end of the series...I hope not.

Its a bit of fun, nothing to take seriously and an easy watch - so far 8-9/10
Apr 8, 2013
KelseyWhiteleaf (All reviews)
Wow....the unlimited - Hyobu Kyousuke..... I watched the first episode and I was just immediately hooked. I must admit though that I did not see the mother show, Zettai Karen Children. I had found this and just thought that I had to watch, even though I am still unaware what the mother story actually brought to the table.

Story:
Ok, I gave the story an 8, but don't expect the most intricate storyline ever. So don't expect a puella magi madoka magica. but it's actually not that bad, a little standard but also some little twists to keep everyone hooked. I was and I can't read more