Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ima, Soko ni Iru Boku


Alternative Titles

English: Now and Then, Here and There
Synonyms: Ima, Soko ni Iru Boku
Japanese: 今、そこにいる僕

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 14, 1999 to Jan 20, 2000
Premiered: Fall 1999
Broadcast: Thursdays at 19:00 (JST)
Licensors: Central Park Media
Studios: AIC
Source: Original
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 27,694 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10732
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1144
Members: 86,759
Favorites: 873

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 3, 2009
META_BODY (All reviews)
Now and Then, Here and There is a real wall-gazer. The kind of show that you pause to reflect upon, and then find yourself gazing deeply into the nearest wall. Spacing out, utterly deflated, with that melancholy soundtrack echoing through the halls of your mind—like an empty ballroom, with only you left sitting at the bar. The dance is over, but the mood lingers, and there's not much you can do but sit and sigh... and realize you're a little bit older.

The hero of this story, Shu, is actually not so much a hero as he is just another victim of an read more
Aug 12, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
"Now and Then, Here and There" seems to be a big hit with the more critical sections of the crowd. Scouring around the web, it's hard to come across reviews of it that are not overwhelmingly positive. But despite all these glowing reviews, I honestly didn't find the show to be that great, and since there's an abundance of opinions stating why it's good already, here's my take on why I don't think it's all that.

I don't really like the "Lord of the Ring" books all that much. One of the main reasons for this is that there are points in the books when it read more
Feb 16, 2009
Prede (All reviews)
Now and Then, Here and There is the most emotional engaging anime series I was ever lucky enough to watch. With it's amazing directing (Akitaro Daichi famous for directing Fruits Basket and Kodacha), and incredible writing (Hideyuki Kurata, famouse for writing Excel Saga, Bamboo Blade, and both the ROD OVA and TV series) this is a series that deserves a place in any anime fan's top ten spot. Don't let it's happy-go-lucky first episode or it's director or writer trick you into thinking this is a comedy or easy-going slice of life show. This is a dark, disturbing, and violent sci-fi/drama. It can become read more
Mar 14, 2015
Rqt (All reviews)
Very rarely does something come along with such detail, such characterization, such perfection that it is able to ascend being just something on a screen, canvas or a musical chart, truly reaching the pinnacle of what we call art. To be able to convey so much in so few episodes, Now and Then, Here and There is one of them. With this in mind, like any art, its not going to be appreciated by everyone. This is a dark, depressing series that masterfully - almost to a horrifying point - is able to illustrate the true terrors and setting of war. Understandably so, it is read more
Jan 16, 2010
thresholden (All reviews)
Simplistic Silly War Melodrama

Following rave reviews from plenty of sources I came onto Now and Then, Here and There with guarded optimism. I was promised a brutal and uncompromising look on the atrocities of war that would bring real emotion from characters. The only thing phonier than that statement is how absurdly fake the main character Shu is.

Coming back from a devastating loss in Kendo, Shu notices a mysterious girl on top of a precarious smokestack. Deciding to investigate, he climbs onto another smokestack and engages with a short one-sided conversation with the blue girl named Lala-ru when suddenly a giant rift in time-space read more
Mar 5, 2008
santetjan (All reviews)
Seldom have I found it so difficult to grade a series with a simple 'good'. Not because I found it difficult to provide a rating itself, but because I feel this series could have been so much more.
The basic storyline should be clear from the synopsis and the other reviews: boy from Earth travels to war-torn world lacking abundant natural resources, becomes embroiled within a war, of which some of the horrors are shown in some detail, and struggles to explain his own moral code to a society that has a tendency to name it baseless idealism unfit for the grim reality. All the read more
Nov 13, 2007
Bluesnow (All reviews)
This is one of those anime you really can't judge from the cover!!!
Its animation and music weren't spectacular, and its starts off like many other steryotipical "out of this world" Shounen development stories; but it is infact much more than that.

The basic plot of the story is; A young boy named Shu meets a mysterious young girl named Lala Ru, and is sucked into a mysterious choatic world that is engulfed in an Apocolyptic war. In this world, even small children are kidnapped from their villages and forced to fight in the armies. The mysterious girl seems to have a mysterious power the enemy read more
Jan 20, 2009
VoDKa (All reviews)
"Because ten billion years of time is so fragile, so ephemeral..it arouses such a bittersweet, almost heartbreaking fondness".

Let me preface this review by saying that very rarely have I met paths with an animation that potently sheds light on the very tragic state of our world by charmingly forcing it's viewers to remind themselves that they are a part of that reality. "Now and Then, Here and There" is one of such, and it truly is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Perhaps one of the most praise worthy attribute of this animation is the fact that it draws it's viewers into it's own world and it is read more
Jan 27, 2014
PoeticJustice (All reviews)
Anime is a medium, like video games and comic books, that has struggled to attain the label of "art." But what is art? Is it mere scribblings on a piece of paper? Is it the words in a book? Or is it much more? Can art make you question your perceptions of the world around you? Can it evoke strong feelings of sadness and joy? If that is what art is, then Now and Then, Here and There is the epitome of art. It is heartbreaking, and cruel but it never ceases to be starkly realistic in its depiction of war. It is a true read more
Feb 12, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Well, I couldn’t put this off forever. Whilst I’ve made it perfectly clear in the past that I think all non-Ghibli war anime, war movies, and war fiction in general can suck someone else’s critically acclaimed dick far away from me, I’m also aware that there are times when you have to step out of your comfort zone and review something that you only like because “based Shaft”, whatever the fuck that means. So let’s take a look at that late 90s tear-jerking piece of anti-war propaganda that everyone considers to be a classic but I consider to be exploitative rubbish.

Admittedly, it’s kind of awkward read more
Nov 8, 2007
Huntsman (All reviews)
You're thinking not another end of the world anime...wrong. Now and Then, Here and There is probably the best end of the world anime I've seen. Even better than other great end of the world anime i.e. RahXephon, and Saikano. Heck it's one of the best anime I've seen.

Before I go on let me say this, this anime in my opinion isn't for anyone under 16 years old. There is a great deal of violence, rape, torture, and language. If you are older than 16 than this anime is a must.

The story is like nothing you've seen and will keep you read more
Apr 26, 2007
amaity (All reviews)
Tired of mentally unstable and whiny mecha protagonists? Or the ubiquitous bitchy damsel in distress? Well fret no more, "Now and Then, Here and There" has neither.

This is an anime that blew me away the first time I watched it. A deceptively gory and disturbing piece with perhaps the most proactive and "ballsy" hero of all time. The story is nothing spectacular, quite cliche really, with subtle political undertones, the animation is mediocre, the sound is satisfactory but the character design is absolutely brilliant. From the insanely narcissistic and delusional dictator to his most basic minions, every character read more
Nov 9, 2012
mahoganycow (All reviews)
If you hadn't heard anything about this series beforehand, watching it would be a hell of a shock. The cover image depicts only a determined looking young boy with a stick standing protectively in front of a fragile looking young woman, and the first episode of the show gives no indication of the radical tone shift and hellishly bleak atmosphere that sets in during episode two. I weep for anyone who, lacking the forethought or desire to read a brief synopsis, thought this was going to be a "for kids" show, only to find out that it is an all-out assault on the state of read more
Jun 24, 2008
stu-do (All reviews)
Modern anime seems to have taken a favor to 'eye candy'. 'Eye candy' is profitable after all. Huge budgets, gratuitous fanservice, and bright colors have surely made many rich men in Japan; else the industry wouldn't be drowning in such scum. Refreshingly, "Now and Then, Here and There" could be called the 'anti-eye candy'.
As such, NTHT is decidedly understated in its visual aspects. There are no panty shots here, nor are there glorious, shiny, ten minute battle sequences. NTHT achieves something much more elusive: powerful, compelling storytelling.
Foremost, this is a story about war. And there is nothing romanticized about read more
Oct 12, 2010
Gipphe (All reviews)
Preliminary
Almost everything that has happened until now are on my "please don't let THAT happen"-list. I hate everything that has happened; in fact, I hate the whole show. But the sheer emotional impact each episode leaves me with is enough for me to want more, hoping for the "please let it end well" or something similar. Each episode has its own denouement, only to be completed by the best ED I've ever heard: Reiko Yasuhara's "Lullaby...". It's a true tear-jerker, I must say.

Whether or not you like emotional animes, concentrating on the character's psychology rather than immediate character development, this is an anime that will read more
Dec 6, 2011
milkman57 (All reviews)
“Because ten billion years’ time is so fragile, so ephemeral…it arouses such a bittersweet, almost heartbreaking fondness.”

“Wow,” I thought as I saw these words in the opening, “what sort of deep, philosophical questions is this show going to tackle?”

I was shocked to learn that the list included children being forced to fight, rape, kidnapping, starvation, and an insane dictator who wanted nothing more than war. After reading a few reviews, I was optimistic that I was really going to enjoy the show, especially since it covered such dark themes. Being “dark” isn’t always the easiest thing to pull off, and this show may be a read more
Dec 23, 2008
Sheepdude (All reviews)
Want to watch a happy, feel-good story? This isn't it. Want to watch children getting murdered, kidnapped, and raped? No, you don't, but Now and Then is going to shove that harsh reality down your throat.

This show is immensely flow-inducing. Every episode, I arrived at the ED before I knew it. That's how immersed I became in the NTHT world.

This isn't a pretty world. The moral is anti-military, but the story is military horror. I almost threw up watching some of the scenes. NTHT invokes sympathy like no other show I've ever seen.

Now and Then is utterly and completely an anti-miliary tragedy. You will be read more
Sep 14, 2016
uebo7 (All reviews)
Akitarou Daichi: a man who has spent his entire directing career working primarily on shoujo manga adaptations, comedy anime, and countless other long running gag series. Many could be familiar with his work on the Kodomo no Omocha anime where his influence was hard to miss, as the comedy had been ramped up to absurd levels when compared to the source material. You see, comedy was kind of his thing. So, what in the hell compelled him to create such a grimdark reimagining of a Miyazaki work? That has got to be one of anime's greatest mysteries.

Now and Then, Here and There is arguably read more
Jul 16, 2015
SirHellfire (All reviews)
We know when immediately finish an anime, and you just don't know what to do for a while? That will happen after you finish this show and try to process what you've seen onscreen.

The Short Version:
(+) Story is very gripping beyond episode three.
(+) Great Villain
(+) Voice acting is on point.
(-) The MC doesn't development in any way.
(-) Some of the content is hard to stomach. (aka, show is kind of fucked up.)

The Story (8/10): The story starts off pretty simple; boy meets girl, girl needs help for guy. Then, out of nowhere, massive snake mechs come out, and after a small fight against them, the read more
Dec 7, 2013
1231415333 (All reviews)
Now and Then, Here and There is said to be a masterpiece, but is it? I was curious to find out without prejudice. I watched the entire series quickly thinking I would love it and its characters. The first episode made this series look cool, but then it went from bad to worse. Heck, its title is unmemorable with no other associations.

Story:

The main character is pretty much a pinball protagonist. He starts the plot by talking to a blue-eyed, blue-haired plot-device girl (a complete stranger), and failing to rescue her when she is assaulted by mechanical snakes, which take both of them to a wretched read more