Hachimitsu to Clover


Honey and Clover

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Honey and Clover
Synonyms: HachiKuro, Honey & Clover
Japanese: ハチミツとクローバー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 15, 2005 to Sep 27, 2005
Premiered: Spring 2005
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:35 (JST)
Producers: Genco, Fuji TV, Shueisha
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, JoseiJosei, RomanceRomance, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.061 (scored by 6696766,967 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #694
Members: 215,886
Favorites: 4,121
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 24, 2008
TheCriticsClub (All reviews)
For many of us who watch anime, the medium can become something more than simply animated entertainment. Sometimes, we will find ourselves connecting on a deep emotional level with a character or characters in a show. Sometimes, the story will seem less like a fanciful escape and more like a reflection upon society or our individual lives. These are the kind of shows stick with us. They'll make us laugh, they'll make us cry, and sometimes they'll make us realize something new about ourselves. Honey and Clover is one of those kind of anime.

Based on the manga by Chika Umino, Honey and Clover follows the read more
Jun 28, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
Ever get that nice feeling after you finished watching a really good series? That’s how I felt when I finished watching Honey and Clover.


What a wonderful story. It’s a good mix of bittersweet growing pains, salty teardrops, and huge doses of soul searching, all brought about by Love. Ah yes, Love. That is what defines the plot of Honey and Clover. Through this anime, we see how love can go both ways – it can send you flying in the sky, or it can leave you with a knife in the back.


I can relate to mostly everyone in the story, and this is also why read more
Mar 4, 2007
Kopanda (All reviews)
Almost everything about Honey and Clover is unprecedented and perfected. From the unnerving OP to the moving ending narration, each episode is a dramatic and romantic take on the special lives of the six main characters. There is no action and there is no fanservice so the stereotyped teenage male audiences will avoid this series, however, the intelligent humor and very intricate intricate character development which dominates the show is sure to satisfy most mature fans who are sick of slapstick, perverted anime. At times it does get very similar to American soapies but I believe that Honey and Clover outdoes any love triangle stories. read more
Feb 15, 2008
Venneh (All reviews)

Title: Honey and Clover

Manga, Live-Action Adaptations, Anime: Honey and Clover was originally a manga created by Chika Umino. It began its run in Sueisha's CUTiEcomic maganize in June of 2000, and swithced over to Young YOU in July of 2001, and ran there until the magazine's demise in 2005, and finished up its run in Chorus in July 2006. The manga stands at ten collected volumes, and has been licensed Stateside by Viz's Shoujo Beat label; the first volume will be released on March 8th of this year. Honey and Clover also won the Kodansha Manga Award for best shoujo manga in read more
Nov 6, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Honey and Clover is a romance series created by manga artist Umino Chica. In 2005 it was adapted into an anime in 2005 by J.C. Staff. The same studio responsible for Nodame Cantabile and Aoi Hana, which is somewhat promising. As well as Shakugan no Shana, which is pretty discouraging. The only way to see whether this stands with their good romances or their creepily codependent rubbish one is to watch it. So let's check it out.

The story opens with our protagonist, Izaya (yes, I do know that's not his name, but the characters in this were so dull I never learned their actual read more
Oct 11, 2010
randomguy6 (All reviews)
Note: This review pertains to both Honey and Clover and Honey and Clover II, since II is a direct continuation of the first series.

What do you want to do with your life? Where do you want to go? How will you get there? What brought you here in the first place? Honey and Clover, a slice of life josei anime, addresses these types of questions. It tells the story of five friends in an art college and their lives and relationships throughout college (and some of them beyond that) as they face various obstacles. The show does a masterful job at exploring the lives and read more
Jul 17, 2016
kdbernie (All reviews)
Honestly I only came here because I have only written positive reviews so I felt like ranting about an anime that I thought sucked that apparently every other person on the planet loved.

Honey to goddamn Clover...fuck. Just typing the name irritates me. This review will be short and contain LOADS OF SPOILERS, so stop reading if you do not want that.

Anyway, this whole anime for me was one giant what the fuck.

So I love romance anime, but I kind of only want the romance anime to go well, which may not be a great trait to have but oh well I'm a sap read more
Aug 30, 2013
Indolence (All reviews)
Honey and Clover is one of the few slice of life series that deals with matters such as love and friendship very maturely, the everyday life quite realistically and the resolution with a better perspective.

It is hard for me to decide to give this show a number. With little bias in mind, with the satisfaction I received, with the delightful sound tracks, it is easy for me to give this show a 10. And my advice is, don't look at the numbers, but actually understand the wonderful story the show has to offer, the beautiful story where the little things in life are highlighted read more
Jun 21, 2008
darkwhisper (All reviews)
I started watching this anime..some of the guy characters were funny at first.. atleast until the middle part after they are almost late for school. However i lost my interest around the part where Hagu is introduced to the other characters. And, i just cant quite accept the fact that Hagu is 18... its kind of weird to watch. or gross. um.. ya i am already not a fan of this anime and i only seen one episode of it. heh i just cant understand why all the reviews for this anime are great reviews. I dont think this anime will ever pull me in read more
Jul 16, 2007
Gremshula (All reviews)
Some may say I like every anime that I watch but something about Honey and Clover really made me smile. Its about a group of students who attend an Art University, trying to become something related to art and creativity. Within this storyline you have love triangles, strange characters (Morita mostly *laughs*), and lots of character plots which allow you to become more enveloped with them on an almost personal level.

You could say the main character is Takemoto, a striving artist who is still struggling to find out what type of future he\'ll have. He moves into a dorm-like apartment not far from the campus read more
May 5, 2016
roscoe1234 (All reviews)
Spurred by good reviews to watch this anime, I picked it up and continued to watch hoping that the reviews would be justified. Towards the end, I toughed it out, but was ultimately greatly disappointed.

In a nutshell, this anime is a bore to watch. Unless you count graduating from college and getting a job as exciting and significant developments, every character is almost in the exact same spot they were in at the beginning of the series.

Watch one episode and you basically get the gist: A bunch of friends in art school talk, eat (a lot), get drunk (a lot), pine after this one read more
May 6, 2013
Vella9 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Look, the animation looks amazing the colours etc, but this was not enjoyable for me. It is slow and hard to stay interested.maybe i didn't give it enough of a chance as i stopped by ep 4.i love the shyness of characters in love etc but honey looks like a child and i can't get over it.especaially with the way she behaves its too much! i just couldn't take it anymore. its obvious that it will take forever for anything profound to happen, maybe i'll try again someday.
Apr 1, 2014
jawnmewn (All reviews)
It is not uncommon to worry about the future. What is my purpose in life? How will I change as a person and affect both my loved ones and those around me? Questions like these are thought about frequently and many begin to come to terms with the answers to these questions in their university years. Hachimitsu to Clover, or Honey and Clover, explores this idea, mixing in romance and relationships for a nice slow paced slice of life; it tells the tale of a group of college friends and colleagues as they spend their days growing close to each other, dealing with the outside read more
Sep 30, 2008
lovescream (All reviews)
Wow. Honey and Clover is a somewhat long series (considering it has two series), and watching all of it is definitely time-consuming, but I guarantee that it will be worth it.

Story: 9/10. I can definitely say, without a doubt, that this is the most inspirational and moving anime I've ever seen. At times, there is that typical shoujo-romance thing going on, but other than that, everything else is just too amazing for words. Also, the story is a bit plain at times, but I loved it nonetheless. It's very unique in its own ways -- the way it creates dramas, the way the read more
Oct 14, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

From an early age, people often have their own dreams and aspirations. Kids may want to grow up to be astronauts or they may want to be super famous in the world of sports. But as they mature, reality sets in and they begin to worry less about their future and more about the present. With this shift in mentality comes an important question: what is truly, in my heart of hearts, important to me? Honey and Clover sets up as a nice slice-of-life show in order to answer this ever-lingering thought.

STORY

HC stars a main cast of five: read more
Aug 20, 2018
Seelly (All reviews)
Monologues.. a lot of them.
Sad piano music... a lot of that too.
They are very sad... and they like to show it.
Hagu is sad... the main character (don't recall his name) is sad cause she sad.
the idiot (also don't remember his names, i think he won an oscar?) is just an obnoxious idiot (pls go away).
the other chick is also sad (she makes a lot of plates) cause she likes guy that likes other sad woman with crutches (she wears heels...),
but he also sad cause other chick is sad.
professor says stuff... sometimes (i don't know what he teaches)
he also smokes (not the bicycles).
Bicycles


i wont even mention read more
Jun 19, 2012
moonstars (All reviews)
I first picked up Honey and Clover one school break during my college days, during the days when all I can think about is friendship/love/pressure to succeed/family woes, and then I found an image of myself in the story. This is how Honey and Clover succeeds to become a heart-warming slice of life series, I think it gave me a glimmer of hope despite the fleeting nature of youth, HnC assures me that you can make wonderful memories even when youth is long gone.

The pace of HnC is slow, but relaxing. It is animation in poetry form, the details and soft colours paint a character's read more
Feb 1, 2015
ran614 (All reviews)
In life, there’s always moments of happiness. Happiness, in general, can be achieved quite easily; receiving an unexpected gift, having great success in your career, and most especially, falling in love. But have we once thought that every time happiness comes our way, there will always be someone around us that will be on the opposite side of the coin? Failure comes with success, bitterness come with love. These are bundled facts in life that no human being is immune to. In my first review, I’ll be talking about Hachimitsu to Clover or Honey and Clover. A series that tells the story about a group read more
Jun 9, 2020
DarkOdyn (All reviews)
"Where am I going?"
"Am I truly content with the way things are? "
"Is this really what I want?"

Those type of questions are probably not so unfamiliar to most of us. Perhaps even some of us dread having those lingering thoughts in the back of our heads. But what if we could get insight from someone that dealt with life's hardships?

That's where Honey and Clover comes in and thats also why I believe it's not something everyone will appreciate. The series talks about the lifes and problems of a group of five art students connected with read more
Oct 27, 2012
Black_Rose1809 (All reviews)
The key to happiness is something we humans long to find in our short time in this earth. It's something that can't be seen nor touched, but we want to find it. A way we find this key is to go through our lives searching it, but like a four-leaved clover, it takes some fumbling around the grass to find it. In Honey and Clover, our main characters do just that, fumbling around life to find that key to happiness while life keeps going forward, no matter if they find it or not.

While this is a story of not battles to save the world, read more