Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Jigoku Shoujo Futakomori


Alternative Titles

English: Hell Girl: Two Mirrors
Synonyms: Hell Girl 2, Hell Girl Futakomori, Hell Girl Second Cage, Hell Girl: The Two Prisoners, Jigoku Shoujo: Futagomori
Japanese: 地獄少女 二籠

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2006 to Apr 7, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2006
Broadcast: Saturdays at 19:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Original
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.061 (scored by 41,513 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4662
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #813
Members: 92,161
Favorites: 612

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 26, 2007
Ranivus (All reviews)
Jigoku Shoujo Futakomori is the sequel Jigoku Shoujo. Its basically where the previous story left off. Enma Ai continuing her work as Jigoku Shoujo. The same job she has had for the past 400 years. This time around, it appears that the staff has listened to the fans of this show and pretty much made a brand new show. It still follows the same formula as part one, plot, retribution, and conculsion, but this time around they seem to mix it up alot more often this time around. Some episodes they progress it normally, in other ep\'s they tarintino it and start from the middle read more
Sep 18, 2008
Venneh (All reviews)
Title: Jigoku Shoujo Futakomori

Anime: Jigoku Shoujo Futakomori continues to be directed by Takahiro Omori and produced by Studio Deen. It is twenty-six episodes long and ran from October 7th, 2006 to April 6th, 2007. Futakomori has yet to be licensed Stateside.

Story: There is a rumor that if there's someone giving you absolute hell and you want to get revenge on them, there's a website that you can access only at midnight, known as Hell Correspondence. Once the name is submitted, Ai Enma (aka Jigoku Shoujo/Hell Girl) will appear to the client and give them a straw doll with a red string wrapped around read more
Mar 30, 2008
Tenchio (All reviews)
Jigoku Shoujo Futakomori, being the direct sequel to Jigoku Shoujo, offers more of the same but does everything much better.

The story centers around a website called Jigoku Tsuushin (Hotline to Hell), which can only be visited at midnight. If you type in a person that you hate's name and your hate is fierce enough, the red-eyed, black-clad Enma Ai will appear before you and offer you a straw doll. If you pull off the red string attached to the doll, your antagonist will be sent immediately to hell (after being punished for his/her sins if she/he has any). However, by doing this, you automatically read more
Dec 17, 2011
DraconisMarch (All reviews)
So, you people thirsty for a second round of Ai Enma action want to know if it's worth it, right? Well, the answer is: maybe. Read below and find out.

*I'm going to make a lot of references/comparisons to the first season (which I've also reviewed), so this review may not make a lot of sense if you haven't seen it. (Watching Futakomori without watching season one would be pretty stupid anyway.)

Story: 9. This time around, we're treated to the refreshing perspective of Ai and her helpers--as opposed to only the viewpoint of the victim resorting to desperate measures. The tradeoff read more
May 27, 2013
Growler (All reviews)
"Hey, did you hear about Hell Correspondence? They say if you submit someone's name there you can send that person to hell". These ever spreading rumors have given Enma Ai the chance to fill the pits of Hell with many a soul hardening her heart with every request sent to her.

The second season continues with more hatred and suffering as this well designed story advances revealing details about the main characters in an endless chain that mimics reality, it proves to us over and over again what hatred does to us, it turns us into something inhuman.

One of the various improvements made since the first read more
Dec 8, 2016
highfeel (All reviews)
Yami ni madoishi awarena kage ---Shade lost in darkness
hito wo kizutsuke otoshimete ---you hurt people
tsumi ni oboreshi gou no tama ---soul full of sins
ippen shinde miru? ---Would die once?

If you watched not dubbed version these words are probably got carved into your head. Enma Ai also known as Jigoku Shoujo is a girl keeping a huge hate herself deeply shut in her heart, mercilessly fulfills her duty. This time she continues to fulfill her duties of Jigoku Shoujo the same way, mercilessly, emotionlessly, decisively, washing people down into the hell.

Jigoku Shoujo Futakomori again follows the same pattern as prequel continuing episodic stories, but now stories read more
Mar 27, 2008
underMebius (All reviews)
The Story - It's actually pretty, well, not clear. Actually, Jigoku Shoujo's story line is about a girl who sends people to hell. Actually, The story plot only applies at episode 18 + or so. I'll give it a 9, though.

The Art -Are you kidding? The graphic rocks! It actually made it 3d like, kinda like the Haruhi Suzumiya graphics. It actually is believable, ah. I wish the Hell Girl exist. :<. Anyways, I'll give it a 10.

Sound -The Sound is fantastic. Indigo Dye actually got Ai's emotion coming and going. The Opening song is pretty good, too. 10.

Character -It clears all Ai's assistant's erm, read more
May 14, 2012
gdjdelacruz (All reviews)
"Ima Nanji Ka Oshiete Yume To Itte Dakishimete" sounds familiar, right?

The new Hate Cycle has improved & is better, faster & stronger.

IT'S THE BEST SEASON OF JIGOKU SHOUJO.
it truly is

The scenarios in most episodes are more well thought of than the previous season and this where we see how Hell Girl really feels for the humans. The "Shibata needs to stop Hell Girl" Team is
not present anymore and it's actually new to me ( well kinda ) because no one tries to stop Hell Girl & no one was actually able to stop Hell Girl in this time around.

Story - 9
As I read more
Sep 24, 2016
Pahatar (All reviews)
So... this is what disappointemt tastes like. Like piss-soaked cardboard, if you ask me.

If you're already familiar with my earlier review of the first season of Hell Girl, you should already know, that I loved the first season. It had it's annoyances, yes, but overall, it was very good piece of work. So, with no doubt, I was generally excited to hear that there indeed was a second season for one of my favourite animes... with original japanese voices, what whatever! I looked it up, watched it... and afterwards, I was so disappointed, that I actually cried blood!

As for a short recap... in the read more
Apr 28, 2011
Pink_Princess (All reviews)
The Second Season of Jigoku Shoujo has a few different names: Futakomori, Two Cages, Two Mirrors and my favorite Jigoku Shoujo 2: Electric Boogaloo. Ok I’m kidding on that last one, though Ai sending people to hell via break dancing would be entertaining .Regardless of what it is called it’s still the much improved second season of Jigoku Shoujo, so let’s dive right in.

The stories are the first big improvement, dropping the first season’s clear cut black and white morality for a more realistic grey morality. Gone is the pure innocent victim who is tortured by the big bad tormenter. Now both the victim and read more
Apr 1, 2008
fr0z3nshad3 (All reviews)
Story (7.7) - Well, this aspect is like the first season of this anime. Each episode has an own story, and theres almost no sequence till the last episodes. However, in this season the episodes are much less formulatic, i mean, in this one they give us new situations and the end is not always the same, i mean, there are some that dont seal the contract for several reasons, by other words there are more diferrences between the episodes..i gave 7.2 to the first season, and i gave +0.5 pts since it got slighty better.

Art (8.3) - Art is good, the design is nice, read more
Apr 11, 2009
mistah-manila (All reviews)
Before we get to my actual review, I would like the viewers to understand that I AM NOT A SUMMARIZER. If you want to know what's the plot, read the SUMMARY, and don't mark me down for not saying anything about the story. I tell you what elements are impacting in the story and what my opinion is. ANYWAYS...

The Second season of Jigoku Shoujo lived up to it's expectations and once again, delivered that supernatural and eerie feel that we love it for. Enma Ai's return to the business was gracefully reinstated after the ending of the first season and was even more "scary." Plus read more
Apr 16, 2010
Dredgy (All reviews)
“Hell still lingers around”

The Story...

After Enma Ai knowing her past, the Hell Hotline still give services to people who have grudges growing in their hearts. As she continues working as the Hell Girl, there are lot more tales to see along the way.

It is a continuation of the preceding series which still focuses on taking revenge, giving chances, second thoughts, and bringing entertainment on its mystery, supernatural, and horror with better drama on it. As the story moves along, there are a lot of changes and slightly improvement happened, as making the short tales pleasing by putting better depth on it, which becomes entertaining read more
Oct 1, 2010
hangbin9 (All reviews)
The direct sequel to Jigoku Shoujo, and Enma Ai is back. Ai and her followers continue the job of sending off people to hell, but this time a new, mysterious character is introduced and another incredible season starts again.

Upgraded story, upgraded characters and upgraded tragedy! The Futakomori will show the horrifying evil sides within you. Again like the first season, the second season comes back with more stories full of remorse. It won't let viewers down and the story is AMAZING!!! The series is similar to its prequel and instead of the Shibata family, a new family will be involved deeply with Hell Girl.

The characters read more
Jun 5, 2011
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
The second season of Hell Girl is a great improvement over the first season. While it is still marred with the repetitious developments with the victim and tormentor at a number of points, many of the character stories that Ai and her companions become entangled in are a bit more grey in their developments this time around. Characters among both victim and tormentor in many episodes for this season do come off as flawed this time around where the victim doesn't always come as righteous in their justifications of wanting to banish their tormentor and the tormentor does come off as having redeemable traits that read more
Jul 4, 2017
seekster (All reviews)
Jigoku Shoujo Futakomori or Jigoku Shoujo Season 2 does some things better than its predecessor and some things worse but in the end I think Futakomori is a worthy successor to the first season. I am still not sure myself if season 1 or season 2 is better but maybe at the end of this review I can make up my mind.

Story: 8
I gave the first season an 8 for story and given that the general formula does not change in season 2 I see no reason not to also give Futakomori an 8. Once again an episodic format is used and once again it read more
May 6, 2017
RulezAPower (All reviews)


I was really becoming tedious by the time I watched this series. Having barely finished Season 1, I thought this series was getting really repetitive, but still, I decided to give it a chance... And I ain't regretting it for a lifetime! Seriously, the story development is simply amazing. It's the only series of Jigoku Shoujo that is actually worth in my opinion, because the changes in the characters' personalities are really surprising, besides non-superficial at all.

The plot takes long to develop, but when it does, you simply won't take your eyes read more
Jun 25, 2008
Emilio_Rodo (All reviews)
The following review is for both seasons of Hell Girl, because they are really part of the same story;

Ok, so we've all read the Lord of the Rings.We all know the trick to it: as soon as a description passage starts, skip 5 pages and continue reading.Same is true for this anime: if you're not prepared, you'd be in serious danger of dropping it, because both seasons , at least for their first halves are so awfully repetitive: Person hates somebody, person contacts Hell Girl, Hell Girl sends said somebody to hell, black mark appears on the contractor's chest in order to remind them that read more
Mar 12, 2012
Fourklift (All reviews)
While this is a continuation of the first Jigoku Shoujo, it is quite different.
For one, the main character from the last season isn't here (not really surprising), and the story is told predominantly from Jigoku Shoujo's point of view.
Two, the authors were obviously annoyed with the one-story-per-episode format from before, so... they kept it, and toyed and played with it (very successfully, I might add).
Three, this series is noticeably darker that the previous, and if the previous depressing stories mostly ended in happy endings (of sorts), then these ones don't always follow that rule.
This is pretty much everything you need to know about Futakomori
Jun 27, 2013
AkiyeHanasaki (All reviews)
Well, basically this is the sequel of Jigoku Shoujo, so I bet everyone who watched the first part is expecting a much better story, with deeper characters. Was the plot any better? Honestly, I cannot answer that question.

There are these episodes in the beginning that kind of irritate me. I mean, as soon as I started watching Jigoku Shoujo, I figured that Ai's companions are just mythical creatures, made up so they can fit the action. I wasn't really expecting any explanation as for what were they, where they came from, why they were helping Ai and such. Just like when you read a fairytale read more