Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yuyushiki


Alternative Titles

English: Yuyushiki
Synonyms: Yuyu-shiki
Japanese: ゆゆ式

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 10, 2013 to Jun 26, 2013
Premiered: Spring 2013
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Kinema Citrus
Source: 4-koma manga
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, ComedyComedy, SchoolSchool, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.421 (scored by 2988829,888 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20592
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1385
Members: 78,123
Favorites: 533

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 27, 2013
NotDolphy (All reviews)
There's something inexplicable about Yuyushiki that makes it a difficult sell. Frankly, the premise of "three girls goofing off" is about as original as "three guys walk into a bar". Furthermore, a considerable number of the jokes are patently unfunny, and the characters will probably find themselves laughing more often than the audience will. On paper, Yuyushiki sounds like every other largely forgettable 4-koma slice of life adaptation out there. So what makes Yuyushiki stand out in a veritable sea of similarly themed shows? Quite a lot, actually.

To start, good character dynamics are paramount in these plotless slice of life shows, and in that respect, read more
Jun 25, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Yuyushiki is like the main course for a comedy slice of fun. When you have breakfast, you're ready for the day. After lunch, you feel good and ready to tackle the afternoon. Then, there's the dinner as main course as Yuyushiki where it will complete your day with a good dose of laughter and fun. Indeed, the fun never stops with three adorable girls. This show only has less than 8000 people watching according to statistics at the time this review was completed. Let's try to raise that a bit higher, shall we?

The anime series is based off of a 4-panel manga written by Komata read more
Jul 12, 2013
Bristle (All reviews)
Yuyushiki is a feel good show and a half. At the same time I really started to get into this I was listening to a ton of David Bowie when I thought up of a weird analogy: Yuyushiki is to Slice of Life what Scary Monsters is to David Bowie's 70's career. It's a perfect combination of all the best elements with a fresh execution put into a neat package. Granted, I put Scary Monsters as the greatest Bowie album of all time but I don't put Yuyushiki as the greatest Slice of Life of all time, and Slice of Life Anime is no David read more
Apr 18, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Adorable pink hair idiot ✓
The shy Tsundere ✓
Rich airhead ✓

if I had a nickel... Ehh Hmm, That aside, Yuyushiki was exceptionally good despite the overused character types. I think my favorite thing about the show was the characters. Yuyushiki is full of common "archtypes" and have "typical" character personalities that are as stated before, overused. So I had a very difficult time at first, maybe around episodes 1-5 to get into the show because of this. That aside, what I found great about the characters was that it turned out to be one of those shows where despite their character types, the girls still read more
May 27, 2013
raritydash (All reviews)
Preliminary
The schoolgirl comedy genre has become somewhat over-saturated of late, but it remains something I very much enjoy when done right. I approached Yuyushiki with mild optimism, not really sure how it would stand up to the better entires in the genre. After delving into it, I'm quite happy to say it does very well. It's a thoroughly enjoyable series thus far.

It looks nice. The animation doesn't seem cheap as some anime in the genre can at times. The character designs are very cute but not too overstated. The voice actors deliver the lines naturally and believably. The OP and ED are also quite charming, read more
May 14, 2013
Kev_Vigoroth (All reviews)
Preliminary
Honestly, at first I was very wary about Yuyushiki due to the fact that the anime and story itself is really, really simple. But, I made the right choice in giving this anime a try. Of course as the majority of Animes focusing on girls in High School, you've got a crazy girl, a dumb and slow girl and a girl that is the most sane out of the three. Though their really isn't a development to the plot, it is very enjoying to be able to see all the misadventures of the three girls and the episodes are all very humorous. I recommend it read more
Dec 1, 2018
PIZZACHEEZE (All reviews)
This is honestly my most favorite anime of all time, but it is definitely far from a masterpiece, even though I love it to death, I genuinely cannot give it more than an 8 (and this is a really biased and generous score).

I found Yuyushiki through mountains of 音MADs that exist for this anime on Youtube and as a fan of Generic-4-koma-Slice-of-Life-with-3-to-4-Highschool-Girls anime/manga, I think this one's enjoyable to watch. The plot of the story (as if there is any) is just 3 girls in a club where they just ask weird questions, look up Wikipedia or just hanging out in or out of school.

For read more
Jun 21, 2013
catfish24 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yuyushiki is a comedy SoL anime about 3 high school girls talking about random topics, not much else to say about this series.

Story: 5/10
What story? It's a SoL anime, ain't much of a story in here. The episodes are mainly about the random conversations of the 3 main characters, one good thing is that the conversations feel natural or realistic to me, this could be a good thing or a bad thing, I found it quite boring because I don't find high school girls talking about random things very entertaining, but I'm sure some people would find it enjoyable.

Art: 6/10
If you're like read more
Jun 25, 2013
Reflex96 (All reviews)
As far as I'm concerned, don't watch Yuyushiki if you're going to take it seriously. That's not the point.

Everything is random, yet fun. Take this is as the main standpoint from watching it. Laugh at the humour of course, but don't treat it as something that's going to have a real story behind it. It doesn't. However this doesn't matter. It's meant to be relaxing to watch and if you're not going to see it this way, you're not going to enjoy it.

Everything can be commented on positively. Although it isn't amazing there is nothing I can fault. Everything is just right, and what the read more
Mar 7, 2015
Micsupreeme (All reviews)
~Just kidding Just slipped out...~

Yuyushiki sat on my PTW list for a considerable amount of time.
Why?
Well i hate to judge a show by its cover, but when i'm looking for possible anime to watch: the cover, blurb and some words from strangers are all i generally have for investigating...

Yuyushiki is a prime example of an anime that can't be fully expressed by words. At a glance, many will be deterred from the relentlessly rehashed premise of "a bunch a schoolgirls being schoolgirls" - combine this with a cartoon-esque animation style and a vibrant colour scheme, and yeah, you've got pretty much every Slice of read more
Feb 7, 2015
LadyMillenia (All reviews)
Preliminary
Work days can be exhausting. Solution? A light-hearted anime to help you unwind!

Unfortunately, this isn't the right anime for me. It consists of three friends bantering and goofing off, which would be fine if they were witty and interesting individuals, but alas! they are dull as wallpaper. Their bantering is downright banal - in fact, the high point for me was the pun "mochi-vated". And I'm a person who LIKES banter!

The characters were: a normal, straight-laced kid; her two lesbian best friends who want to fondle her; and a big-busted teacher, who her friends also want to fondle. I am pro-LGBT, and it's annoying to read more
Jul 29, 2015
Lizard23 (All reviews)
Boke and Tsukkomi: The Anime

It may not have many ROFL moments, but Yuyushiki gave me more sharp chuckles than any other anime I've seen. It kept a smile on my face through every episode. And the characters have that quality that makes you laugh just by looking at them. Not because they look funny, but because they have a certain quirky charm to them.

I've heard the show likened to a group of crackheads formulating ideas and laughing at theirselves, and I'd have to say that's pretty spot-on.

Of course, this is a slice-of-life, so don't expect much plot or any deeper meaning behind anything. Even the read more
Jun 25, 2013
DustPotato (All reviews)
Clever, Humorous, and Random.

Those are the words that best describe Yuyushiki.

It doesnt have any story to follow at all, but the random events of 3 high school girls. Its funny to see all the different facial expressions that they show when they are paranoid, excited, or just plain lazy. Their laughing is contagious, and I laugh every time they Tehehehe... Because as they continue with their he-he-he's it goes up in pitch, and it ends as if it were a question.

Most of the jokes are hard to understand, but when they do something funny, its funny.

Art and sound were very good, because it read more
Dec 8, 2019
LostNomad4471 (All reviews)
Story 6/10

As a slice of life anime, there isn't that much focus on the story with every episode just being the man characters average daily life at school and their club meeting after school. By the way, none of the three girls know anything about data processing and they just spend their club meeting Googling random words.

What I liked about the story was it filled me with a lot of nostalgia from remembering when I was in high school and the pointless conversations me and my friends had like if Batman only fights crime at night, then wouldn't all the criminals catch on to read more
May 31, 2013
IdleSheep (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Do you like towels? I love love towels! Love love.. Love love. Love love milk? Love love! Love love does sound good."

I can't help but want to write a review for this anime although it hasn't yet been finished, Ii think there's enough material to create a pretty consistent opinion.

This is one of those light hearted animes that you watch when you're just taking a break, after you've seen some more intense things on TV, or just for you to relax and enjoy the pureness of anime with these loving girls.

The Story:
There's no story development around some concept, the episodes tend to be random and read more
Jun 1, 2019
moe_sama (All reviews)
Yuyushiki looks about as bland and cookie cutter as you can possibly get with CGDCT in a school life setting as you can imagine, but with some clever writing, some interesting characters, and short but abundant doses of GL and yuri manages to somehow retain originality.


Story: 5/10

The story follows three freshman in highschool and their conversations about various topics that can switch mid-sentence and often without any indication of where the conversation is heading through a slew of inside jokes and humor even the audience will feel left out on even though they just watched the formation of these jokes. It's interesting enough to keep read more
Dec 2, 2013
ReimuNuggets (All reviews)
yuyushiki is really about making someone smile and laugh which is the true form of happiness,and the anime does a great job with that logic.,an anime with slice of life and comedy just like nichijou…the only difference is that yuyuhiki is a seinen anime and filled with more mature themes,so is this mature version of nichijou worth it..?



Content- As of now the anime only has 12 episodes,with a possible second season eventually,Yuyushiki is based off a manga that uses the 4-panel design of comics as seen in many other mangas of the same genre. speaking of genre this anime is more of a peaceful anime read more
Oct 21, 2015
Sombrefloe (All reviews)
Occasionally entertaining dialogue between characters is a hallmark of slice of life series. In Yuyushiki's case, the series consists almost entirely of that. Compound it with the fact that characters are constantly either in/near school or in Yui's house, and you get a considerably static anime.

Even in Lucky Star, commonly criticized for having bland dialogue between characters, or in Joshiraku, which pokes fun at itself for being made into an anime although it's a dialogue-heavy series; there are numerous occasions where characters are shown in environments that differ from the usual school/house setting (shops, school trips, camping trips, city trips, other outings, the beach etc.). read more
Jul 1, 2014
Temere (All reviews)
A normal school life is a boring school life. But you will always have those friends who make it fun and interesting with occasionally going so far off the original conversation topic you don't even remember how it started or how it got so random. Regardless, it's a time you wont forget.

The story of Yuyushiki could not me more of a typical school slice of life story. Apart from the overly random pieces put throughout the anime, it could not be any more of a normal life story of the high school lives of the three main characters from the start of their first year read more
Jun 17, 2017
Falonthorne (All reviews)
Preliminary
I just can't describe how absolutely horrible this anime was for me.
I like little sister anime, cringe with charm.
THIS however was cringe for the sake of "comedy" and they failed miserably.
They recognise their own stupidity and try to make it a Cligé "oh that girl is dumb but cute" moments and that is what angers me.
the art is pretty okay, nothing great. but the characters are dumb as a potato and not cute as they try to make them to be.
Please if you want to want better anime go watch "Boku no pico" i found that more enjoyable than this.

Judge me how you want, read more