Bartender
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Bartender
Japanese: バーテンダー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 15, 2006 to Dec 31, 2006
Premiered: Fall 2006
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Palm Studio
Source: Manga
Genres: DramaDrama, SeinenSeinen, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.401 (scored by 1936519,365 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #19412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1652
Members: 64,075
Favorites: 405

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 31, 2007
Anomalous (All reviews)
“In happy times, one cocktail is enough, because anything you drink will taste good. But if there are a hundred shapes of unhappiness, I want to be a bartender who will make a hundred cocktails to soothe unhappiness.”

An anime series about a bartender at work might not sound like anything worth paying attention to, but Bartender is a calm, gentle series that might be just what you need. Each episode covers the stories of customers that go into a bar to soothe their souls. Bartender Ryu Sasakura assists them with their problems by making them a cocktail with a history or taste that relates to read more
Apr 8, 2008
kufreabia (All reviews)
At first glance, Bartender appears mundane. It appears to be one of those self indulgent works that could easily turn you off. I mean, are we really going to spend 25 minutes talking about a bartender, and drinking? But you are wrong! This is one anime that is really interesting. We have here a work from someone who loves drinks and presents it to you in a very creative way.

The stories to me are real, and relatable. Each episode appeals to the mind and the emotion. There is no cheezy moment that you see in most slice of life anime. The writer of this puts read more
Apr 6, 2014
Maegil (All reviews)
Children have no place in a bar, and most youths prefer dancing in nightclubs to loud music and cheap booze... but for those who wish a calmer and more mature place, there is the bar.
Even among bars, there is a variety of styles: from seedy dockside dives, to beer halls where there is always a ball game or race being played on a large screen, to the dimly-lit classier cocktail bars...

What, then, is a bar? A place where they serve drinks, sure, but that's just an element of the whole.
A bar is a social environment safe from the rest of the world where one goes read more
Feb 16, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
Anime as a medium is very diverse; it covers every topic, premise, and concept under the sun. But for the most part, a majority of the shows that occupy the surface tend to be spastic in portrayal. Often using eccentric personalities and brightly lit set designs to draw the attention of passing observers. Like neon lights hanging outside a store window, each vying for the attention of new customers. This kind of presentation within itself is fine, but every now and then, we as an audience seek out titles with a change of pace, something to help us unwind from the schizoid bubbly madness of read more
Jan 18, 2009
Retro8bit (All reviews)
Two words: unique experience!

Upon first approaching this anime I was expecting this series’s "Bartender" theme to simply be a gimmick, but no it is actual everything you would expect from an anime that deals heavily with life in a bar. (minus the fist fights of course, since this is a small classy bar)

Story: 7/10
Bartender revolves around a young man named "Ryu Sasakura" and his many experiences working in a small town bar of his. The main chunk of the story will deal with one of two things the whole way through: Ryu listening to his customer’s problems, and giving a pretty in depth history on read more
Dec 10, 2013
pakoko (All reviews)
Before I get to the bulk of the review,

Imagine the thought of going to a bar for the very first time. Even after going through the trouble of eventually arriving at one, you stand outside the bar idly, wondering whether you should go in or not. Afraid that you’ll be made fun of, afraid you’ll embarrass yourself, you become anxious and the door handle feels heavy, as if it’s shutting you out. But mustering up the courage, you cautiously open the door and take a peek inside. Dim lights, gentle murmurs of people talking, occasional clangs of glasses, classy jazz playing in the background; all read more
Jul 20, 2008
kumarei (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, let me say that my rather middling score of this anime is in no way a sign of any deficiency on the show's part. The series was pretty much exactly what it set out to be. A slice of life show about a bartender helping people by serving them exactly the right drink. Although the show did wax a bit too poetical about the drinks for my taste, it was surprising how well they tied it together.

Rather, the score reflects the fact that this anime is not for me. In fact, I'm not exactly sure who it is read more
Mar 5, 2009
HeckoX (All reviews)
This is probably the best anime I've seen to date. Everything about it is just made of awesome. The opening song is catchy, the overall drawing style is beautiful without being "over the top", the scene changes are well made, the characters are likeable and relate-able, the voices are great (especially the narrator's), and the variety from episode to episode will keep you wanting to see the next one.

Throughout every single episode, you'll be laughing, crying, pondering, and a bunch of other "-ing"s, because it's just that good. I simply cannot praise it enough. I'm so sad it had only 11 episodes, but I also read more
Jun 20, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do you like going to a bar to relax and forget the world? That’s exactly what this show is about and the feeling I get from it. The first time I heard about this show was from Arkada from http://www.desudesbrigade.com (Which is not existing right now. If you wish to see his stuff, please find him at http://blip.tv/glassreflection/ ) and when I did hear of it, I thought that the main character would be mostly the focus and how he would get a lot of screen time but in truth, I was wrong and love it all the same. The main focus is not of read more
Jul 13, 2015
SolomonGoldstein (All reviews)
When I review or recommend an anime, I try to compare it to another from its genre. I simply can't do that with Bartender. Maybe it's because I'm considerably picky about the series's's that I invest my time into, so my frame of reference is limited, but I've never seen or heard of a series like this.

As you could probably guess, it's about a bartender. Ryuu, known by some as the "Glass of the Gods", is a passionate bartender who tends to the inconspicuous bar of Eden Hall. One way or another, troubled souls find their way into Eden Hall, and with his unwavering read more
Jan 2, 2010
lordnorton (All reviews)
Being a teenage girl, perhaps this anime wasn't right up my alley, so to speak. I admit, I do not like alcohol all that much. So, seeing as the entire basis of this anime was around specific drinks, what's in them, and their history I found it a bit boring.

Story: 4
Bartender is one of those series where the story changes from episode to episode. Each one deals with a different person, where they are in life, and how Sasakura's bartending skills help them. I found that the stories tended to be hard to follow or even practically nonexistent. Even with the episodes that had clear read more
Dec 6, 2008
noteDhero (All reviews)
Animation- 6
The look of the show is fine. There really isn't anything visually interesting about the show with the exception of the presentation of the drinks I suppose. Everything works fine, and you feel like you've seen a lot of the characters and places before. Whether or not this feeling of familiarity is intended still gave me rather ho-hum feelings toward the look.
Sound- 7
Again, not much to write about here, the opening and ending are both forgetable. On a refresher listen on youtube, it was as if I was hearing the opening for the first time. The ending is better, giving a suitable tone for read more
Jun 29, 2010
geno93n0 (All reviews)
A rare gem of an anime, made for people who are mature enough to enjoy a calm and slow-paced but inspiring drama.

The musical score is breathtaking, and quite appropriate for the gritty city setting of the bar, with a lot of nice jazzy tracks.

The characters in Bartender are very colorful and human, each with their own flaws and problems.

On a whole, little about this series is idealized and dumbed-down for the masses; on the contrary, it's a very classy anime that has a certain maturity requirement to watch. If you don't appreciate this show for what it is, then it's your loss.
Apr 28, 2014
Javyer (All reviews)
If you want long reviews detailing every detail of the anime read another review, this review is based on what the bartender Sasakura, Ryuu taught me.

I'm a bartender, I have been for 2 years by now and it's a job I love, you chat with a lot of people and have lots of fun, but there are times that you can't read a situation and how to deal with certain types of clients. What I had learn of watching Sasakura changed my way of dealing with customers, I have become a lot more friendly and charming to them, and I have received a lot of read more
Oct 18, 2013
LOTSo_ (All reviews)
It was good and I liked it.
The moral of the story is that alcohol solves everything story 10/10
The art style wasn't too impressive except for all the drinks art 10/10
The music was nice jazzy stuff, good for getting drunk to 10/10
Characters all loved getting drunk 10/10
Enjoyment 10/10
Overall 10/10
Best show ever.
It was good which makes it not bad.
Jun 17, 2011
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Not too often I see an anime of an acquired taste on caliber with the likes of Bartender. While I'm normally not into drinking alcohol, Bartender's large focus on the drink and its influence on the customers that visit Ryu's tavern made me somewhat tempted at points to consider the idea. Much like similar titles such as Mushishi and Mokke, Bartender offers up episodic stories of Ryu conversing with and tending to the woes of his customers with a drink that compliments and relieves them of their conflicting situation. The situations with each character Ryu meets throughout Bartender are fleshed out enough where you get read more
May 11, 2015
oscer191 (All reviews)
How can a show that relates itself around alcohol be interesting?

A basic question, but one i was curious to know when I started this show. The creation and history of alcoholic drinks that can relate to a person's life, but how? Well like all my reviews Ill keep it short and sum everything up trying to be as spoiler free as possible.

~STORY~

The show follows a common slice of life trait being.....theirs no real overarching story. The show revolves around problems that the characters are facing in life and how are genius bartender helps them through it. The shows problems are nothing of extreme, they read more
Apr 19, 2019
iTry (All reviews)
So beautiful and heartwarming and healing. I didn't want it to end and yet, it was the perfect length.
The animation during the mixing was a bit dorky.

But the stories and the characters. They took my breath away because they felt so viscerally real and beautiful. I think i can honestly say that i related a tiny bit to every single one of them.

I love how the story was told and the calm feeling of it all
The recipes at the end with the live action outro was the cherry on top.

Art wise, it's nothing groundbreaking but it feels familiar and warm like a good hug

Now i read more
Aug 8, 2011
rojocharmander (All reviews)
Story: 10/10
I adored the story! I like the unconventional way that each person's story is told, it draws you in and you feel relaxed. Comforted in the atmosphere of the bar, the characters, it grabs you right on the heart strings. It's just amazingly written, if I had to name a bad point is that sometimes it can be hard to follow but, at the end it all makes perfect sense. You just need the mind to read into things a bit deeper than is spoken aloud.

Art: 9/10
It was standard art for the most part, but what got it a 9 overall was the eyes. read more
Oct 29, 2008
AlmightyED (All reviews)
So I went into this anime expecting so much. I mean an anime called bartender brought up hopes of the seedy underbelly of a city that is all told in moments spent at the bar telling the bartender each individual storyline that will somehow connect the entire city into a crime filled hub.

Though I suppose I am too influenced by pulpy fiction.

This anime is nothing like that. It is calm and slow moving; designed specifically not to give you action and idle entertainment, but instead to make you stop and appreciate drinks for what they are. Bartender is a varitable history of drinks; a dictionary read more